2017 Kia Optima GT debuts in Malaysia – 2.0L T-GDI engine with 242 hp, 350 Nm, priced at RM179,888

The Kia Optima GT has made its debut in Malaysia, carrying an official price tag of RM179,888 on-the-road with insurance.

In terms of specifications, there’s not a whole lot different from the car we saw at Naza Kia Malaysia’s PJ Red Cube showroom. Under the hood of the Optima GT, there’s a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbocharged T-GDI petrol engine with 242 hp and 350 Nm of torque. The mill is mated to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission that sends drive to the front wheels. The 100 km/h sprint is done in 7.4 seconds.

On the exterior, the Optima GT seen here comes with LED headlights with Dynamic Bending Light and LED DRLs, LED rear taillights, a rear diffuser, twin oval-shaped exhaust tips and 18-inch fan-design alloy wheels shod with Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres (235/45).

As for interior equipment, there’s red leather sports seats, a seven-inch touchscreen display, a dual-zone climate control system with Clean Air ioniser, ventilated front seats (cooling and heating function), multifunction steering wheel and electrically-adjustable front seats (lumbar support and memory function for driver’s side).

Other bits of kit include rear air-con vents, rear charging and power outlets, a panoramic sunroof, sun shades for the rear side windows, a navigation function for the car’s infotainment system, a 4.3-inch TFT-LCD multi-info driver display, wireless smartphone charger, keyless entry and start, and a drive mode selector.

Safety wise, the Optima GT comes with six airbags, electronic stability control, ABS and automatic brake hold. Driver assist features include front and rear parking sensors, along with a reverse camera.

GALLERY: Kia Optima GT at PJ Red Cube showroom

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Johnny on May 24, 2017 at 11:14 am

350nm torque at what RPM please?

• karam singh on May 24, 2017 at 1:27 pm

at 1400-4000 rpm

Bro, just wait 2-3 years
      U can get this car under 100k then its a bargain ;D

• safety 1st on May 25, 2017 at 5:39 pm

mr karam singh, its a bargain if u want a used car. On a flip side, u buy this and can change to new car every 4 yrs…..still get the same power and solid cabin interior of a 5 series, minus the huge depreciation

• 850 GLT on May 24, 2017 at 2:44 pm

RM180K? Rather save $$$ for Proton XC60 T6 RM140K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Sama L00 on May 24, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Buy from me better, don’t waste your hard earned money on depreciation.

• Depreciate money or depreciate life? Hmm…
        At least with my unsafe P2, u still have special package eventually.

• Nazri on May 24, 2017 at 11:15 am

Really encourage all to buy new kimchis.

It will spur the used car industry. 1 year on, this kimchi will trade in for RM25k max

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 78
    • Mikey on May 24, 2017 at 11:33 am

I like Sarcasm but 2 trade in for 25k after 1 yr is a bit “too” much. Hehehe. Cheers anyway.

• youfail on May 24, 2017 at 11:35 am

my k5 2014 trade in price this year is rm93k , bought at 135k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • nelly on May 24, 2017 at 1:00 pm

i pay u rm5k commission if u get someone to buy a k5 for 90k. lol

• karam singh on May 24, 2017 at 1:19 pm

market selling price now around 73k+
        trade in value gonna be 60-65k only.

3 years , 50% deppreciation already.
        just admit it.

• Henry on May 24, 2017 at 12:12 pm

I will pay you 3k commission if you can find me one at this price. Thank you in advance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • karam singh on May 24, 2017 at 1:21 pm

I give u back 15k back if u buy optima 2014 for 95k

• Mikey on May 24, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Bro Henry, I also like your Sarcasm. The problem is even if U pay him 30k, he also cannot find bcos it’s just launch. Cheers bro cheers…

• At that price point, even Beemers can be had. Only kimchi shippers here will drool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
    • If KIA gips unlimited mileage warranty plus 7-year Free Service + Repair Inclusive. Then maybe…

• Fare n square on May 24, 2017 at 11:26 am

Oiiii…. tell me which beemer with same spec selling at this price….. u kunta member ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Tunggu BMW open day. Audi pun sampai 70k dapat.

• safety 1st on May 25, 2017 at 5:41 pm

aiyo.. next time u find a 20years old bmw n can compare price with brand new viva

• Henry on May 24, 2017 at 6:34 pm

I think he is comparing a five year BMW 5 series with this brand new Kia. LOL.

• Bernard on May 24, 2017 at 11:37 am

So expensive!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Top of the line price at
    Korea = around RM130K
    USA = around RM150K
    Malaysia = around RM180K

• Because in USA, Optima GT has a lot of spec. RM150k is base spec that some feautures stripped out like LED headlamps (replaces with bi-projector headlamps).

• Henry on May 24, 2017 at 11:44 am

A good package other than the fact that the design is a bit dated.

• Paying slightly more could get Passat 2.0 6 speed wet clutch DSG. That is more worth it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 21
  • Mokmok on May 24, 2017 at 11:59 am

Lame interior design..if that’s what you going to look everytime you drive with that price tag, better buy a P2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • AverageJoe on May 24, 2017 at 12:00 pm

Hope this model would push all other brand models at that price range to step up their game.

• the advert music is so annoying.

• Ahock on May 24, 2017 at 12:10 pm

One must gone bonkers to pay 180k for a piece of korean metal! For me, i still won’t buy from AP King.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Mikey on May 24, 2017 at 12:14 pm

The top D-segment sedan has ARRIVED with price that will make most man cry for sheer beauty & performance to boot. Be afraid Honda/Toyo/Mazda/Peugeot bcos it will eat into your market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • RM179,888 with or without insurance?
    Earlier article says with insurance and this says without….

• Gracke on May 24, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Always changing and saying what they want in just 1 day!! So, with or without???

• Deus Ex on May 24, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Video ad says “red leather sports interior”. Showroom unit with all black upholstery & red stitching only. Procurement dude/lady must be colourblind.

• the dark blue model will come with black leather, while the black model will come with red leather. not sure about the white model.

• andrw on May 24, 2017 at 1:17 pm

all so pandai bash, padahal only read online review. its not like u used no money to buy one and experience it.

• lolpanda on May 24, 2017 at 1:24 pm

absolute power figures look impressive, but real world performance (in gear response, driving dynamics and composure still yet to be seen..of it’s anything like the regular Optima, not great.). plus the design looks a bit drab inside and out.

looks like the on-paper performance is the only selling point..

• Gaviny on May 24, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Cool fact , this is first project for Albert Biermann ex engineering boss of BMW M division

• Ong Alvin on May 24, 2017 at 2:00 pm

242 hp & 350 Nm is really not bad. The Koreans are catching up with the Germans.

• Chan yik hang on May 24, 2017 at 5:44 pm

But this much horsepower and torque still 7.2 to 100km/h

• stasta on May 25, 2017 at 10:11 am

because this is front wheel drive and 6 speed auto. compare with germans who have rwd and more efficient transmission.

• Sammy Loo on May 24, 2017 at 8:27 pm

0-100km/h is 0.1s slower even with 58 horses and 60/50Nm more than the C200 and 320i is not good.

With the horses, it is at the C300 / 330i region which the century mark should be done below 6 secs.

• Ugly magazine pocket

• looking for d segment on May 24, 2017 at 3:35 pm

red interior for black and white exterior, black interior for blue exterior…that’s what red cube salesman in PJ told me.

• holofanboi on May 24, 2017 at 3:52 pm

Awesome pricing for this car! As a bonus Naza decided to shove Michelin PS3 as the default tires.

Man, once again this car is a freaking bargain.

PS: I am aware the PS3 has been replaced by PS4 but its mostly just a naming-consolidation by Michelin. The performance of PS3’s are really great.

• stasta on May 25, 2017 at 10:13 am

you are too easily impressed. my 2009 peugeot 308 turbo (cost RM 113k 8 years ago) already came with michelin ps3.

• BowArrow on May 24, 2017 at 6:59 pm

We get sharkfin antenna =D

• Ahnyonghaseyo on May 24, 2017 at 8:20 pm

I know the designer is ex bmw kuli, but but that interior is more like bmw e90 era…comon la kia, originality pls ..copy 90% just 10% original design…but that 350nm torque is massive

• choha on May 24, 2017 at 8:45 pm

BMW already ditched the fugly ‘broken-nose’ design, you are late to the game

• Frankly to say, from my view, in term of comfortable, Accord,Camry or Teana are much better than Kia and Hyundai. I’m always using DiDi(Uber) services in China… so, I can feel the difference.In fact, Teana also not bad, but hard to see on the road in Mysia, perhaps marketing strategy need to be strengthend! I’m wondering why no Honda Hybrid in Malaysia? Thanks.

• LordLancer on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:10 pm

Should i wait for Kia Stinger GT 2.0turbo? Anyone know when it will launched, or just go for Optima GT?