VIDEO: 2017 Proton Iriz – first drive impressions

You’ve seen how the updated 2017 Proton Iriz looks, and read the range of updates that have been performed both superficially as well as under the skin. Now, you can find out how it drives through our first impressions video right here.

Exterior changes are fairly minimal and include a new black grille garnish, plus a two-tone colour scheme that’s limited to the range-topping 1.6 Premium model. Inside, there’s new striped upholstery, a redesigned instrument cluster and gearlever from the Persona as well as new, less slippery floor mats. The Premium variant also gets a new touchscreen infotainment system with smartphone screen mirroring.

More importantly, Proton has made several improvements in terms of refinement, such as the reduction in the number of engine mounting points from four to three, a new exhaust system and higher-quality sound insulation. The engine control unit (ECU) and CVT transmission control unit (TCU) have also been retuned for quicker, more linear response – addressing some of the biggest complaints on the previous model.

So, have these updates actually worked? Has Proton excised all the annoying bugbears that blighted the otherwise impressive Iriz? Watch the video to find out.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ducatiscrambler on May 24, 2017 at 9:16 pm

2 Thumbs up! Pre-geely Iriz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Imagine Volvo’s 1.5L Drive-E with 6-speed manual in this car.

It’ll be a serious Fiesta ST rival.

• farghmee on May 25, 2017 at 7:52 am

Osemm! Iriz GTI!

• Malaysia driver on May 25, 2017 at 1:20 pm

Couldn’t agree more Tokmoh. Iriz has a fantastic chassis, all it needs is a competent powertrain to make it a superb hot hatch.

I personally feel this chassis can take 200+ponies without a sweat.

• My Mivi crying more. No more sales alredi. huhuhu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Pak lu on May 25, 2017 at 7:12 am

Kejedah ny xde sale…. Myvi yg dah nk phase out tu pon forecast smpai 4000 car set… Iriz persona xsmpai 2000 car set… Saga lg teruk… Xsmpai 1000… Vendor nk break even pon xdpt… Pastu habehkn duit suap ko ngn dedak utk jd macai xd otak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • Matover on May 25, 2017 at 7:55 am

Tabik Pak lu…straight to point.

• Tok Guru on May 25, 2017 at 8:46 am

Pak lu. Gua respek lu

• Couldn’t agree anymore. i have sales statistic from MAA on my hand right now. The ratio is 1:3 . Which mean if one person buy Iriz other 3 person will buy Myvi.

• Habih tu nape tadak nampak mivi lagi best lagi baru lagi facelift kat jalan? apesal semua dtg tanye axia biza axia biza? Ko jual P2 ke ku jual P2?

• AngPow on May 25, 2017 at 9:37 am

asyik myvi myvi myvi myvi…x bosan ke?…dh 12 tahun dok myvi situ x abis2…padahal rebadge je pon…bngga mcm p2 pny yg rnd…sigh*

• Presenter can make do with some rehearsal. After watching, I am not convinced with the comments made. I hope paultan can improve on this. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 10:39 pm

The video was done in a rush due to very tight time constraints.

Rest assured, we will make improvements along the way, and stay tuned to our new Driven Web Series very soon!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 18
      • Keep it tight dudes. Those Great Wall media moneybags are looking..

• Daniel Tan on May 25, 2017 at 9:32 am

My chest hurt from listening to him. Ive applied to be at Paultan since im an actor and loves cars.. but they got this guy instead. Pitty.

A real presenter can do great reviews without any hiccups like him even on a first try.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • Totally agree with you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 11:00 pm

At least it doesn’t look scripted and artificial.

A spur of the moment kinda review, that’s as honest and raw as it gets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • too many AAAAA like cina bukit salesman selling cars.. not professional at all and I can see he’s tried his best to be manly.. good try anyway

• old horse on May 24, 2017 at 10:38 pm

junk yard worth down the road for sure, and might scrap as well..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 31
  • Rocketman on May 24, 2017 at 10:49 pm

Potential huge market in China for the farmers and factory workers.

• james on May 25, 2017 at 10:18 am

hell yeah. you absolutely right dude. Millions of farmers and factory workers there. DRB Hicom will showering money soon…

• AkooIm on May 24, 2017 at 11:21 pm

The previous Iriz with much much more superior spec can’t even shake the King Myvi… i dont know what they expect with this “downgraded” version…
    One thing for sure, when Perodua actually launch the next gen Myvi, thats the time when proton pull off the plug for the Iriz… such a sad fate for a good product with a bad decisions making…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Silthice on May 25, 2017 at 7:58 am

As long the “downgraded” version comes with “downgrade” price tag as well

• What?? on May 25, 2017 at 6:10 pm

That’s stupid thinking to discontinue a car just because the competition might be better. That’s the reason why P1 is developing the new engines to be released late this year so that it’ll continue to keep up with the new Myvi. And besides, they didn’t remove any major functions off the car so even if it’s a downgrade, it’s only a minor one.

• Peter on May 24, 2017 at 11:36 pm

Finally done it right, I think there’s also some merit from paultan.org to nag p1 to improve.

• phoslophuc on May 25, 2017 at 12:29 am

Old Iriz rattling dashboard noise too much, this new Iriz need to test at least half year to confirm.

• Junkyard Master on May 25, 2017 at 7:25 am

No matter what they do, it’s still a proton.

• rosmah is rich on May 25, 2017 at 8:20 am

so the rat noise, smelly fuel etc gone or not?

• Ben Yap on May 25, 2017 at 8:37 am

4:11 did he call the Iriz a civic?

LOL…. got confused between Iriz and civic?

• Exterior looks good but hey full leather ( abet fake ) was gone and it was now fabric + leather

No more auto light and auto folding mirror ( although it can be done aftermarket easily ) not sure whether there is any price increase

Nice new head unit tho, looks much better on my 2015 iriz

• look at 5:01..funny

• pandaulat on May 25, 2017 at 6:34 pm

aiya i must have failed my english SPM… “new” gearlever and “new” instrument cluster…. from old Persona. Owai…