Volkswagen Beetle – updated Bug in M’sia, fr RM137k

Back in January, Volkswagen Passenger Cars Malaysia (VPCM) promised the new Tiguan, a facelifted Beetle by the second quarter of the year and limited editions of its core CKD models. The SUV’s debut is done and dusted, and today we have special editions of the Vento and an updated Beetle to show you.

Joining the Vento Allstar and GT editions at its roadshow in Midvalley is the updated Beetle. The iconic model is once again available here with a 1.2 litre TSI engine pushing out 105 PS and 175 Nm of torque from 1,400 to 4,000 rpm. The turbocharged four-pot is mated to a seven-speed DSG automatic gearbox.

The Beetle can be had in a wide range of colours, which includes Blue Silk, Habanero Orange, White Silver, Tornado Red, Dark Bronze and Pure White. Blue is a new colour for the Bug in Malaysia, and that hue is on display at the roadshow. Two line variants are on offer – the RM137,620 Design and the RM148,620 Sport that you see here. Prices are on-the-road excluding insurance.

This round of minor updates to the Beetle was first announced last year. It includes redesigned bumpers that are flatter/sportier in Basic (which we don’t get) and Design lines. The R-Line equipment line gets its own new bumpers as well, with an additional vent opening above it. We’re not getting the R-Line, yet.

New colours announced then included the very nice Bottle Green Metallic and White Silver Metallic – we get the latter. There are tinted LED rear lights, too. Inside, brighter instrument panel lighting, a new dial and dashpad styling for the Design Line are the subtle improvements.

We come to kit for the local Bug. Standard across the board are things such as electronic folding heated wing mirrors, fog lamps with (static) cornering lamps, “Whirl” 16-inch alloys, body-coloured interior trim, leather-wrapped multi-function steering wheel and a “Composition Colour” 5.8-inch touchscreen head unit with USB, Bluetooth and eight speakers.

The costlier Sport adds on App Connect (Apple CarPlay, Android Auto, MirrorLink) to a “Composition Media” 6.5-inch touchscreen head unit, “Vienna” combination leather seats, bi-xenon headlamps with LED daytime running lights, cruise control, paddle shifters, “Climatronic” dual-zone auto air con, front sports seats with height adjustment and lumbar support.

As is the norm with VPCM, the CBU imported Beetle comes with a five-year manufacturer’s warranty (as opposed to the old 3+2 extended warranty programme) with five years of free roadside assistance. The service interval is 15,000 km, which means less visits to the dealership.

GALLERY: Volkswagen Beetle Sport in Blue Silk

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• gti owner on May 24, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Volkswagen Beetle more iconic than Optima GT. And will become collectible cars orso

https://paultan.org/2017/05/08/volkswagen-to-pull-the-plug-on-beetle-and-scirocco/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • YB Kunta Kinte on May 24, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Spend RM137k for your VW but spend all your 21 days annual leave in the SC sorting problems.

During the year also, have to call boss about 10 times for emergency leave cause car broke down somewhere. Boss also marah gila gila

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 19
    • I wud buy it and stick it into a display. Gonna worth more than ur 2nd hand EX5 since VW stop production.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 3:25 pm

DSG…bahaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
    • Double Value on May 24, 2017 at 9:06 pm

Semi Value is a poor chap who doesn’t afford to own a VW. Macha, all 2014 models above are completely fine. Don’t need to believe me. Go and speak to owners directly. Willing to bet with you if you can just show me 1 single prove that your claim is true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • CarBuyer on May 24, 2017 at 11:56 pm

You must have missed the fact that the problematic VW DSG gearbox, specifically the DQ200, was subject to a very well publicized global recall in 2013 to fix the issue. The fix required the replacement of some electrical conponents within the gearbox that was short-circuiting in cars that had an incompatible synthetic automatic fluid filled at the factory, and to replace the offending synthetic lubricant with “regular” mineral based fluid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Last chance to own a Bug. VW is pulling the plug.

• Dale Ismail on May 24, 2017 at 3:43 pm

I thought the production has already been discontinued?

• Minyak Naik on May 24, 2017 at 3:44 pm

De-glorified Porsche 911.

• thepolygonal on May 24, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Actually this is a very nice car. It’s an iconic car. Something VW can be identified with. Sadly, VW will end Beetle production in 2018. Get it while you still can!

• Carazy on May 24, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Dry DSG ?

• Zuchie on May 24, 2017 at 4:12 pm

Still like to see Hitler car legacy

• Zuchie on May 24, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Still like to see Hitler car legacy…

• oh mak lu on May 24, 2017 at 4:28 pm

what R&D? Ertiga? Accordana? Punch?

http://www.thestar.com.my/business/business-news/2017/05/24/govt-to-reimburse-proton-rm1pt1b-as-grant-for-rd/

• RavenAii (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 6:32 pm

In a few years time, I’m gonna get one of this. Really love the Beetle looks and design.