DRIVEN: 2017 Proton Iriz first impressions review

Remember the Proton Iriz? I’m sure you do – it was launched three years ago to much hype and fanfare, and was supposed to herald a new beginning for the national carmaker. We certainly tempered our expectations when we drove it (we’ve been down this road many times before), but we emerged with the impression that despite a number of minor niggles, it was still a very impressive effort, with plenty going for it.

I don’t need to bore you with the details of what happened in the ensuing years, but in short, the market pretty much turned away from the handsome little hatchback. The combination of those small flaws (sluggish CVT, refinement issues) coupled with a spate of quality and reliability complaints from customers meant that Malaysians went back to doing what they’ve been doing for the past 12 years – buying Myvis.

Proton has worked hard to fix those errors, first with last year’s Persona sedan, then with the updated 2017 Iriz you see here. And while we can’t tell you what the ownership experience will be like a few years from now, this preview drive has allowed us to experience just how deep these improvements run, and you’ll know what our impressions are later on.

Strangely, however, this also feels like a bit of a swansong. Just hours prior to the media preview, it was confirmed that Geely will swoop in to acquire Proton, with sweeping plans to turn the company around. So in many ways, this will likely be one of Proton’s final products as an independent carmaker – our last truly homegrown car. How does it fare under our judgement? Read on to find out.

You likely won’t be able to tell just from looking at it that this isn’t any other Iriz that’s been driven through a vinyl wrap shop. Proton has spent most of its efforts under the skin – so much so that all the hardware on the outside has been left untouched, with the aesthetic changes literally amounting to different paint finishes.

The only real way to spot a 2017 model is through the gloss black grille garnish, which replaces the previous silver (on 1.3 litre models) or chrome (on the 1.6) trim. The more prominent three-dimensional Proton badging front and rear, introduced on the Perdana, is also new.

Also introduced are two new paint finishes, the more vibrant Ruby Red (from the Perdana) and Carnelian Brown (from the Persona) – as a result, the previous hero colour, Citrus Green, has been dropped from the palette. The two-tone colour scheme you see here is exclusive to the range-topping 1.6 Premium variant, and incorporates a Quartz Black finish on the door caps, roof and rear spoiler.

The tweaks are more noticeable inside, with a number of items having been taken from Persona. These include a new gearlever with a side-mounted unlock button, along with a revised instrument cluster with new graphics, white (instead of red) multi-info display backlighting and an ECO Drive Assist indicator for CVT models. The carpets also get a rougher backing on all models to stop them moving all over the place.

Other changes are more aesthetic in nature, chief among which being the new fabric upholstery with red stitching and blue-and-red stripes. They bear a striking resemblance to iconic Martini Racing liveries, and are proof that even in these austere times, there are still one or two people left within Proton who can have fun. I’d love to know how they snuck that little flourish under the management and bean counters’ noses.

As it turns out, quite a few other things have not – a number of practical “value-added” features have unfortunately been removed from the Premium variant, such as automatic headlight activation, auto-folding door mirrors and the auto-up function on the driver’s side window. These items weren’t strictly necessary, but they did help make the Iriz feel classier than other cars in the price range, and they are sorely missed.

The Premium model also swaps its full-leather upholstery for part-leather, with fabric trim on the inner seat panels and door cards. That might seem like a downgrade, but the cloth feels soft, smooth and grippy, so it really doesn’t feel like you’re losing out on much. You also get red stitching on the leather-wrapped steering wheel, along with red outer trim on the floor mats.

But the biggest change on the Premium model is a new touchscreen infotainment system that ditches the previous Android-based unit. Customers apparently complained about the old system’s unresponsiveness, so the new one is said to be faster in its operation. It’s not a particularly attractive interface, but you can flip through the new unit’s functions with relative speed and ease now, so it is an improvement.

A new feature is Smart E-Link screen mirroring for Android smartphones – essentially, it’s MirrorLink under a different name, and it works well enough as long as the phone you’re using is fast enough, as the whole thing is run by the smartphone. The head unit does have the annoying tendency to kick us out to the main menu, however, at least on the car we were using – we’ll have to wait for further testing.

We’re previously reported on the streamlining of the entire range – before this, the Iriz was offered in 1.3 Standard, 1.3 Executive, 1.6 Executive and 1.6 Premium trims, all of them available with either a five-speed manual transmission or a CVT. Now, the 1.6 Executive has been dropped, and the manual gearbox option is only offered on the base 1.3 Standard, cutting down the total number of variants from eight to four.

Equipment count on the 1.3 Standard is the same as before and includes projector headlights, LED tail lights, 14-inch alloy wheels, fabric seats, reverse sensors and a 2-DIN radio/CD head unit with Bluetooth connectivity, USB and auxiliary ports and four speakers.

The 1.3 Executive now receives front fog lights, keyless entry and push-button start on top of a bodykit, rear spoiler, body-coloured door handles, rear wiper, rear seat USB chargers and adjustable rear headrests. As before, the 1.6 Premium throws in LED daytime running lights, a dual-tone bodykit, a larger rear spoiler, 15-inch two-tone alloys and steering wheel audio controls, along with the other bits mentioned earlier.

Safety kit is unchanged, with dual airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist, front seat belt reminders and ISOFIX child seat anchors. The 1.6 Premium also gets side and curtain airbags (making it six airbags in total) and seat belt reminders on all seats. Unfortunately, the Advanced Drive Assistance System (ADAS) that was tested on an Iriz a few years ago hasn’t made it to this car – although given that Proton isn’t in great financial health at the moment, that’s not a surprise.

Further-reaching improvements are to be found mechanically, most of them taken from the Persona. The same two VVT four-cylinder engines soldier on as before, of course – the 1.3 litre mill continues to produce 94 hp at 5,750 rpm and 120 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while the more powerful 1.6 litre unit pushes out 107 hp at 5,750 rpm and 150 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

However, the engine control unit (ECU) and the CVT’s transmission control unit (TCU) have been remapped for a quicker, more linear response, improving drivability. Proton claims that with the new updates, the Iriz now takes a shorter time to hit maximum acceleration, which itself is higher than before.

As such, in a head-to-head drag race the 2017 model will accelerate past the old car after one second, the company says – although no specific performance figures have been released as yet. They should compare favourably to the old car, which ran from zero to 100 km/h in 11.1 seconds for the 1.6 litre model and 13.1 seconds for the 1.3, both with the CVT.

Proton has also taken the time to give the Iriz a number of noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) refinements. These include a reduction in the number of engine mounts from four to three, a new exhaust system from French supplier Faurecia and higher-quality sound insulation – including the application of filler foam in the pillars. It is said that with all these improvements, the Iriz is now five decibels quieter than before.

Right from the get go, all that effort gone towards addressing the outgoing model’s subpar refinement is keenly felt. Gone is the nigh-unbearable vibration that courses through the steering wheel and the seats under acceleration, so the car feels calmer and much less fatiguing to your senses.

You’ll also find that the car is noticeably quieter, with a less boomy exhaust note and reduced road, wind and engine noise. No, it’s still not quite hushed enough to trouble something like a Honda Jazz, but it’s still a decent improvement from before. All this means that the Iriz will be a much more comfortable car to drive longer distances in – something you wouldn’t have wanted to do much of in the older model.

We’ve often praised the Iriz’s dynamic capabilities, but one bugbear we had was the on-centre vagueness from the electrically-assisted steering, which made the car feel less stable on the highway than it actually is. That seems to have been cured somewhat – there’s a numbness that is still present, but there appears to be a bit more weight in the first few degrees of steering input, which helps lessen the nervousness.

Proton’s engineers said that there were no changes to the steering or chassis, but the tyres on the 1.6 Premium model have been switched from 195/55R15 Silverstone Synergy M3s to narrower 185/55R15 Goodyear Assurances, so that might have played a factor. We’d need to test both the old and new models back-to-back to be sure, however.

Past updates to the TCU have turned the Iriz’s CVT into something that’s just about bearable to use in everyday driving, and the latest round of improvements have provided another step change in the right direction. The car is now much more eager off the line, and less hesitant to respond to sudden throttle inputs, so overtaking should be less heart-stopping this time around.

Both the torquey 1.3 and 1.6 litre engines now feel like they’re up to the task even when paired to the CVT, no longer exhibiting the sluggishness that was evident when we first drove the Iriz all those years ago. At last, the car now has a decent alternative to an old-fashioned torque converter automatic, and all those “you should only buy it with a manual” provisos can finally be wiped clean.

A month ago, I had a go in the outgoing Iriz just to revisit what was good about it and what needed improving. The strengths were plenty – square-jawed good looks, class-leading safety features, compliant ride and sure-footed handling – but I just couldn’t live with the lack of refinement and numerous other tiny flaws.

This much-needed product update has righted many of the reservations we had of the Iriz, bringing it much closer to achieving the latent potential that was so evident when we first drove it. The lack of visual changes mean that most people might just walk past the 2017 model thinking that Proton has just given it a lick of paint, but that would do it a great disservice to the work that has been put into it.

More than that, it’s proof that Proton has listened to criticism, both from the press and from customers – and that’s a great sign as it prepares for its next phase under new ownership. It’s early days and there’s a lot that can happen over the coming years, but if the new Iriz is any indication, we can all breathe a sigh of relief.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2017 at 8:49 pm

People are waiting for the IRIZ EV. 4 years ago Proton showcased the car to everybody. As usual, they ask few hundred million research from gomen to do final details.

Where is the Iriz EV? All car manufacturers are moving towards hybrid, EV or PHEV. We all, 10 year old technology like hybrid also tarak.

Wait till Geely question Proton on things like this….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 70
    • U tidor kah? Last week Proton ‘R&D’ just came out with Saga bodykit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 26, 2017 at 1:10 pm

Wira should have been Proton’s last product.

• ahmad on May 26, 2017 at 2:17 pm

ooi john. u tidor ka? Kunta talk about EV,but you talk about Saga body kit???????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
        • Duit tarak. Even big cmpany like your overlord totota saved by bail out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Actually its ready for production. But battery tech still too exp for the price point of iriz. Projek on hold until battery tech gets cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 9
    • Michelle Tan on May 25, 2017 at 11:33 pm

Find a new life bang. Do some meaningful thing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • X jual, u bash.
      Tengah jual, u pun bash.
      Dah jual, u masih bash.

Balik lah gua toyota lagi baik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 35
    • Albert on May 26, 2017 at 1:11 pm

This will be the last SOUVENIR PRODUCTION Iriz for Protong fanboys BEFORE GEELY dump the entire obsolete protong range,and bring in their own MADE IN CHINA Geely vehicles ,with a new NAME, VOLTRON.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Dontspeakifyoudontknow on May 28, 2017 at 11:59 pm

Would you buy an EV?? Given that there is no widespread charging infrastructure and very little ownership benefit, would you buy an EV?? I don’t think so.

• paparadzi (Member) on May 25, 2017 at 9:06 pm

“….. the 1.6 Premium throws in LED daytime running lights….”.
    Why is DRL only for the premium version? Is it an ornament or a safety feature? It should be made standard across the range. Heck, it should be made standard for all new cars sold in the country.DRL is very useful during low-visibility conditions such as dusk and dawn, where it helps to improve the visibility of the vehicle to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • Najibun on May 26, 2017 at 1:45 pm

Agree. It’s not like the LED requires some special system to operate anyway. It doesn’t cost much add, and they can reduce the cost by scaling up the production/purchase.

• Nasi Lemak 2.0 on May 25, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Eeee… geli nye tengkok kete nie… whenever there is a nasi lemak management, there will be a problem.. so juz close shop n dont waste rakyat money anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 83
  • Aku harap dapat beli iriZ la satu, suda byk bosan dgn myvi ni, korner racing selalu kelaut dalam.
    Mekasih

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 10
    • Perghhh kete selam. Rare..

• Myzi is already more than 10 years model. Naturally, it is out. But, it is still selling. Thus, cannot complain much because the competitor is also out.

• Boohoohooo on Oct 18, 2017 at 3:38 pm

How’s your myvi sales by the way mr perodua salesman?

• Jason on May 25, 2017 at 9:27 pm

What is the pro and con between 3 engine mounting vs 4 engine mounting…

• Voiddance on May 26, 2017 at 9:55 am

Less vibration via 3 mounted engine as proven in the new Persona. Same frame so quite easy to retool.

• ahmad on May 26, 2017 at 2:20 pm

cost saving. one part less.

• Bernard on May 25, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Unless there is a 1.8 Gti with manual transmission, this car does not fulfill its purpose and people will still buy the Myvi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • Nasib baik lu tak corner dekat dgn longkang. Nanti masuk tu krana takde ESC. Lepas tu, nasib le klau selamat krana hanya 2 airbag je.

Cepat cepat tukar. Raya dah nak dtg ni

• After 3 years of launching, should it be facelift together with the improvements?

• Aero (Member) on May 25, 2017 at 10:32 pm

As always, dua tangan thumbs up to Proton on their latest efforts. Despite the economic pressure, political drama and whatnot, Proton has stuck to their word and delivered. It’s not difficult to tell that Proton is trying their best to fix, refine and all-round improve their cars with what little money and manpower they have, while they work on their FSP plans and also their GDI engine (btw, anyone have any GDI engine news update ?).

Proton only has a few hundred R&D engineers at any one time (800 engineers in 2015). Meanwhile, a big company like VW has 20,000+ engineers, and even Geely has over 5,000.

Proton’s small R&D team has so much on their hands; they have to design new Protons, improve current ones, work on the future engines and transmissions, and find solutions to improve quality control… plus many other things I’m sure.

Proton’s achievements with their latest models (excluding the Perdana and Ertiga) are all very well and good. But taking into consideration that only a few hundred engineers managed to accomplish it all, it then becomes even more impressive and praiseworthy.

Anyway, I hope Proton can somehow roll out this TCU/ ECU update for current Iriz owners too. Perodua will be launching their all-new Myvi this year or next, so I think Proton will have to launch their full-blown Iriz facelift sooner than later…. this 2017 Iriz is more of an ‘appetiser’, if you will. But a nonetheless tasty and fulfilling appetiser, I guess ! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 8
    • What?? on May 26, 2017 at 9:51 am

The GDI engine testing is slowed down prior to Geely being FSP. I’m guessing progress will be back to full speed soon now that Geely is around to help Proton. I’m guessing by end 2017 the Iriz will have the GDi engine+Jatco CVT to keep up with the new Myvi especially in terms of fuel efficiency.

• azhar on May 25, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Can service centre remap the old Iriz tcu & ecu according to this new Iriz?

• Jinjang Geely on May 26, 2017 at 3:03 am

Shud have been new Iriz of 3 doors hot hatch variant

• The first photo on the last row show why this car is a failure. No leg room and this fault cannot be rectified. It also show proton designers arrogance since this shortcoming should be evident during design stage but they just ignore and put it into production.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
    • U do realise the front seat can be adjusted further forward?

• What?? on May 26, 2017 at 9:43 am

Mazda 2 also no legroom compared to City and Vios yet people still buy those. Point being, space & practicality is good but not necessarily a main point to some carmakers & buyers.

• tokmoh. on May 26, 2017 at 8:17 am

What was the rpm @80kph and @110kph?

• For 1.6 cvt, 110kph at around 2.5k rpm, cruising. Higher rpm for manual

• Voiddance on May 26, 2017 at 9:58 am

With Geely coming in, hopefully they can replace the ageing engine with a better one which hopefully can improve on fuel economy. With that alone I think Proton can recover a bit. Most of the time, the engine is the deal breaker for Proton. Current engine sucks big time.

Give an EEV certified engine for this Iriz and sales might improve.

• intermilan on May 26, 2017 at 12:02 pm

Proton is a real story of nasi sudah jadi bubur and customer is king.

Dulu bila kau hebat, kau ketepikan suara pelanggan.

Bila mula kena pulau, kau buat-buat tak perasan.

Bila dah panas bontot kena pulau, baru nak improve.

Kan dah kena pulau sampai bankrupt dan sekarang dah kena jual.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Dylan Ch'ng on May 26, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Proton stop developing your own systems. Instead use Andriod Auto or Apple Car Play

• As mentioned by PT, AA & CP only mirrors the screen to the HU. The HU itself still need to run on something, and Android HU is most used system.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jun 16, 2017 at 12:18 pm

True, ok in that case then they should still include android auto and apple car play

• Personaian on May 27, 2017 at 9:56 am

The biggest loses of proton car compare to others their engine are still running with timing belt. Some might say don’t emphasize time chain, volkswagon also using timing belt..blah blah. But your car are using timing belt, u will need to spend time and money to change it every 80km. Now almost 2020, improves from the 90’s technologies will u…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • best kan bash proton. yerlah. proton ni segalanya tak bagus. apepun. aku masih guna SAVVY. walaupun dah 10 tahun, connering lebih baik sekalipun takde airbag. dan pelbagai sensor.

dan kalau nak expect more than price, tolong la pakai guna buatan jerman.

john pakai kereta ape?

• Still belt+noise campro engine and bad Punch CVT transmission (jerk&roar).tyre upgrade frm lousy silverstone to good year.more insulation apply to fender.Proton think good enough?and then new perdana just put old 5 speed A/T really for hundred thousand value???they think malaysian CONFIRM ACCEPT n PROUD any messy simple job+high profit because malaysia product??

• Proton is Underrated on Aug 06, 2017 at 4:03 pm

Test drove the car. Compared to an earlier Iriz that I own, this one is noticeably quieter, more linear acceleration and improved fit and finish. The driving dynamic is largely unchanged which is a good thing since it achieves balance between comfort and handling. Overall a good improvement from Proton!

• Ahmad Osman on Sep 12, 2017 at 6:46 am

Just bought iriz 1.3 executive run abt 650km. Comsumption is not so good, like 2000cc ‘s car (rm120 ron95 can go only 650km). CVT gearbox not confortable/lagging. Need to push fuel harder.

• John L on Nov 24, 2017 at 3:18 am

How the eff you pump RM120 Ron95 in September 2017 into an Iriz? My Iriz full tank only about RM80 at that time. Want to tipu also do it more cleverly la…