Peugeot Traveller previewed in Malaysia – 2.0L diesel, eight-seater MPV, CKD launching in Q3

The Peugeot Traveller has been officially previewed in Malaysia by distributor Nasim Sdn Bhd. Previously announced and spotted in the country, the Traveller is part of the fleet of cars Nasim and parent company Naza is providing to the Kuala Lumpur 2017 SEA Games and Para Games that will be held in August. The Traveller was present at the official car handover ceremony at Peugeot’s Glenmarie showroom today.

Nasim officials were tight lipped on the eventual specs, but the Travellers on display came with spec sheets, which matched the SEA Games liveried units. The MPV seen here is powered by a 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine with 150 hp and 370 Nm of torque from 1,750 rpm. The oil burner is paired to an Aisin-sourced EAT6 Quickshift six-speed torque converter automatic gearbox with steering paddles.

This Traveller measures 4,956 mm long with a 3,275 mm wheelbase, which means that it’s the Standard variant. Elsewhere, the MPV comes in 4,606 mm Compact and 5,309 mm Long forms. To compare, a current-generation Toyota Alphard is 41 mm shorter (4,915 mm) and has a 275 mm shorter wheelbase (3,000 mm), so you’re looking at a giant people carrier.

Like the footprint, the Traveller’s cabin comes in various configurations in Europe. The unit you see here comes with three individual sliding seats in the second and third rows, making the Peugeot an eight-seater in a 2-3-3 formation. Each of the six seats in rows two and three has its own three-point seatbelt and Isofix mount for child seats.

It’s very well-equipped. Listed equipment includes directional bi-xenon headlamps with LED daytime running lights, 17-inch “Phoenix” alloys, twin electric sliding doors, keyless entry and push start, front/rear parking sensors with 180-degree reverse camera, leather seats, dual panoramic roof, second row window blinds, plus a seven-inch touchscreen head unit with Bluetooth, Apple CarPlay and MirrorLink.

Also in are eight-way electric seats for the driver and front passenger, head-up display, and a three-zone air con with second- and third-row air diffusion (ceiling-mounted vents). Safety wise, the Peugeot Traveller comes with six airbags, ESP, hill start assist, blind spot monitoring, Driver Attention Alert and tyre pressure monitoring.

The Peugeot Traveller is expected to be launched in the third quarter, as early as July, in CKD form.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Iloveproton2death on May 25, 2017 at 7:27 pm

100% no resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2017 at 10:10 pm

This diesel car needs to use Euro 4 or 5 diesel. Our bodoh Government should make it compulsory for all diesel vehicles to be upgraded.

Currently, 90% of all busses and lorries, all of whom are crony owned, use Euro 2M diesel. Euro 2M is Euro 1.5. In EU, it was abolished like 20 years ago cause the EU categorized it as extremely toxic and carcinogenic. 100% confirm causes cancer.

Still Malaysian Government is happily selling Euro 2M diesel. Very very few diesel cars use Euro 4 or 5 diesel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • Mikey on May 26, 2017 at 9:13 am

U are absolutely RIGHT. How 2 have RV when U didn’t buy?!!

• Kancil Hybrid on May 25, 2017 at 8:02 pm

Good car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • No gear shifter?

• Paul Tan on May 25, 2017 at 8:18 pm

It uses a rotary knob as a shifter.

https://paultan.org/2017/05/25/peugeot-traveller-in-previewed-in-malaysia-2-0l-diesel-8-seater-mpv-ckd-launching-in-q3/peugeot-traveller-preview-60/

• Ooh. Da bos man reply me. im honoured. Thanks for the explain!

• Geely Kaur on May 25, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Its will be any other legend, same like the reliable workhorse Peugeot Citroen Berlingo..

• Is this somewhat related to VW Transporter? Kinda have the same aura

• Traveller, Transporter, at least sounds better than hellfire.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Maria on May 25, 2017 at 8:47 pm

Wow!! European version Alphard, not bad at all with spec and equipment…But you should think twice with not so good after sale …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
  • sohhai on May 25, 2017 at 10:41 pm

Ugghh, the interior looks so….Korean

• Jimmy on May 25, 2017 at 10:51 pm

1. In general, continental vehicles tend to have smaller interior spaces for the similar exterior dimensions.
    2. Aftersales support is very important. Scanty resale value nevermind, but there must be no headache. Learn from Mercedes.

• TimeNewsMonger on May 31, 2017 at 8:18 am

Dealers appointed with no money or know-how to properly service customer’s cars. Naza management must be more hands on and hire people who know what they’re doing.

• GPone on May 26, 2017 at 3:36 am

Alphard is shorter? No, this van is smaller. I’ve spent 15,000kms with this car as a rental. Although its drives as good as the Vito the build quality is nowhere near Toyota’s. The rear seat is broken just after 3 times removing from the car.

The version that they’re showing right now(in Malaysia) and probably bringing in is the standard wheelbase. The long wheelbase version wont even be out in France untill next year.

The 2.0 diesel engine on paper sounds powerful but in reality wont power the van past 165km/h (I’ve tried it on the Autobahn) the Mercedes vito 2.2L will easily do 195kmh with 8 adults and luggages.

In summary, great car for medium family, dont pint too much hope on build quality, sell it before the warranty period is over.

• Looking at the interior, I like to think it’s more rival to Starex…It is bigger than Alphard but I don’t think equally luxury.

• Bernard on May 26, 2017 at 12:03 pm

I may buy second hand after 5 years:)

• Why would someone wants to buy this, cause I bet the price minimum would be around RM200k where you can get Starex cheaper than that. Plus, its from Peugeot and as long as the service centre controlled by Nasim or Naza, for sure got lots of problem.

• TimeNewsMonger on May 31, 2017 at 8:19 am

Go to Jalan 222. That one is managed by the boss directly you can get good deals.

• Isuzuki on May 26, 2017 at 2:33 pm

I book the used unit after seagame? Worth it? M

• henry on May 29, 2017 at 10:55 am

looks good!

• peugeot turbodiesel engine (in the case of 508 gt 2.2) seems very reliable, no problem as compared to thp prince engines. seems that this is a good buy with great features.

RV? i suppose still okay than petrol thp one (problematic some said, but not me. peugeot owner here)