FIRST DRIVE: G30 BMW 530i M Sport video review

The latest G30 BMW 5 Series was launched in Malaysia just two months ago, in a single fully-imported (CBU) 530i M Sport guise. It’s priced at RM398,800, pitting it squarely against the W213 Mercedes-Benz E-Class (RM349k-RM459k), Volvo S90/V90 (RM389k-RM459k) and Audi A6 (RM328k-RM488k).

In the video above, you’ll find our thoughts and opinions on the G30 530i – how it compares to its predecessor (F10) and class rivals in terms of driving dynamics, comfort, interior features, quality and space. It’s an improvement over the F10 in most, but not all departments. Watch the clip to find out the details.

It’s a rather lengthy review – we’re trying out a new approach for simple, quick to produce yet informative video reviews, so do let us know your thoughts on it in the comments section below.

You can also browse the G30 BMW 530i M Sport’s full specifications and equipment, and compare them against its rivals on CarBase.my.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• That’s because IT IS the real exhaust. None of this Merc wannabes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 30, 2017 at 3:01 pm

The trapezoid outlets are still considered exhaust tips/finishers, just that they’re more integrated with the actual exhaust pipes compared to what we’ve seen from other brands.

You can zoom in to see the pipe here: https://paultan.org/2017/05/30/first-drive-g30-bmw-530i-m-sport-video-review/bmw_530i_ext-39/

• fake exhaust on May 30, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Tak best, if like that it is worse than Perdana

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
      • OK lar on May 30, 2017 at 8:44 pm

Fair enough. But technically it still exhaust gas. It’s not putely cosmetic like the bloody tasteless C-Class.

• 5er not good enuff

Next. XF

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • polotanlovekfc on May 30, 2017 at 8:16 pm

any reason to choose this over messydisc W213 series?

• BeemerFreak on May 30, 2017 at 2:52 pm

BMW 530e iPerformance. Open for booking..

• Why was the boot size, dimension etc. not being reviewed as well? For that 30 mins length video, I would’ve expect that part to be covered as well.

It does come with powered boot rite?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 30, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Apologies for missing that out. Must have skipped my mind when I saw the dark clouds coming!

Anyway, yes it does come with a powered boot – a given in this class.

As for the boot itself, it’s 530 litres. That’s 30 litres more than the Volvo S90, but 10 litres smaller than the E-Class. Beyond raw numbers, the boot aperture is larger and wider compared to the Mercedes, but the floor area is rather narrow – so loading wide items may be a challenge.

Also, there’s no under-floor compartment like you do get in the E-Class, and just like the F30 3 Series, the rear seats can’t be folded down.

Here’s an image of the 530i’s boot: https://paultan.org/2017/05/30/first-drive-g30-bmw-530i-m-sport-video-review/bmw_530i_int-69/

• Lcians on May 30, 2017 at 3:18 pm

For same money, Volvo XC90.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • Mikey on May 30, 2017 at 3:23 pm

In a nutshell, the 5 series have only one choice other than the M5/GT. There is no more 520/528 to choose unlike the E-class where there is the E 200/250/300.

Looks like BMW is loosing out to Mercedes in terms of choices. Common BMW, U can do better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
    • Paul Tan on May 30, 2017 at 3:28 pm

The G30 is a new car and it’s normal for it to be launched globally with a smaller variety of engines. Then more engines will be added later.

Even globally, the 520i was just announced this month (May 2017) and availability is only from July 2017. So it would take some time for it to reach Malaysia.

https://paultan.org/2017/05/12/g30-bmw-5-series-gains-new-engines-and-variants/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Mikey on May 30, 2017 at 4:36 pm

WOW, I have none other than Mr Paul Tan himself replying to me today. Thanks for the info PT. It must be my lucky day. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
  • ZAMER on May 30, 2017 at 3:48 pm

2014 BMW 520D RM209,800

RM150,000 DROP IN 3 YEARS. HMMMM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 29
  • real richman car > pretender of richman car

• Jonathan on May 30, 2017 at 4:01 pm

After so many video reviews, this guy is still so bad at it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • Anti tin kosong on May 30, 2017 at 4:08 pm

I see nothing wrong. If u can do better share with us your video

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Haters gonna hate. Dun mind the basher, Haf. Kipidap!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 30, 2017 at 4:35 pm

No worries, guys, all good.

It can, and will be refined further in our next videos :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
        • Mikey on May 30, 2017 at 4:41 pm

That is the spirit Friz. Take all comments & critics as a token of appreciation for their time commenting/feedback as Positive.

U will learn more when U are humble & take all comments with Humility. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
          • Constructive critism, helps.
            Bashing critism, dun.

• Najeeb on May 30, 2017 at 9:49 pm

Have always enjoyed your video, but particularly in this video you seemed not paying full attention and lost somewhere else.

• like you’re perfect in your job right?

• Fenix on May 30, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Hasty comment . Unwarranted. If it’s bad , please point out where and when. Constructive feedback. I cant imagine how you are raising your kids ( if any) the way you comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Jonathan on May 30, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Fenix, the fact that you got it mixed up with kids shows you have poor judgement. If someone doesn’t have career progression and retire as a clerk, does it mean they are poor parents? Before you start to comment as if you’re a good parent, learn to be constructive yourself too. Walk the talk, don’t bark and sound like an empty can.

As for the video, the review and points should be fluid, spot on. The idea is to have it straight to the point, concise rather than feeling nervous and sound repetitious. There’s a reason why people make short review videos and doing it long doesn’t mean it’s better.

Last but not least, I couldn’t imagine someone like you to have much success at what you do. Even the author has no hard feelings and took it positively. Learn from him, it’ll help you become better :)

• Pls read back what u said @4.01pm. How is that constructive criticism?

• Yeah, true dat. Now we knows why younger generation is a mess.

• Winnie the Po-oh on May 30, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Superb piece of engineering. Bosses cars, no doubt.

• Jonathan on May 30, 2017 at 8:15 pm

BMW makes great cars and it’s indeed an ultimate driving pleasure, a driver’s car. Mercedes on the other hand is quickly catching up.

• BowArrow on May 30, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Its CBU right but how come don’t come with HUD…?

• Car Fanatic on May 30, 2017 at 8:45 pm

As usual, BMW malaysia think we malaysians are not up to that standard yet and take out many things before shipping here, i.e. HUD, surround camera, remote parking etc. I will rather wait for the recon to come rather than buying a rip off version.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • myvipower on May 30, 2017 at 9:01 pm

My myvi comes with big HUD even car driver at my back can read it!

• polotan on May 30, 2017 at 8:03 pm

any convincing reason to choose this over mercedes W213? *serious buyer

• Free service. Fullstop

• Advice for polotan on May 31, 2017 at 9:27 pm

The m sport suspension is amazing. With 19 inch wheel it ride like s class air suspension in comfort mode and sharp in sport and the sound insulation is way better. The latest e class ride like bmw 528i f10 in comfort plus mode at best as my brother bought the first batch. The 530i steering wheel feel full and elastic with grip unlike e class thinny and harder compared. The e class feel heavier while the 530i feel very light n agile. Pity i m used to 528i hud n variable turning steering which 530i came without but the digital tachometer can substitute the hud and u got free display lcd key. The f10 feel heavier with more pause during take off in comfor n comfort plus mode. The 530i feel eager even in comfort mode and even come with adaptive mode just like audis auto mode. The new e class can only compare to f10 528i with variable damper. The new 5 er feel like a class above in every direction. Believe me. I currently still own 528i f10 turbo since 2012, merc s400h since launch, audi a6 hybrid since 2013, audi a4 1.8t b8 since 2010, bmw 530i g30 since last month as i book since 2016 end, took delivery of mini cooper s f55 a month ago. Btw, if u did buy 530i be sure to tune down the collisions safety feature because of the motorcycle behavior in MY will surprise it and u ll get heart attack when it brake for u . So..my advice, 530i is better since f10 era till now. Im surprise 5er can come near to s class ride. Just that the seat is so much more comfort n soft in s class. About the ambient lighting, u can see the bmw ambient light stripes from outside but hard to see e class ambient light frm outside. Dont bother about most commenteer here, frm my view most of them far far away frm this market class they talk without owning one. Even PT did not do long term review. 1 or 2 weeks drive cant really tell a car. I Can tell u the fastest car here is a6 hybrid when battery is enuff. Audi interior quality is exagerated just so so and tend to squek on the passanger air cond cover n suspension noisy after 3 years both a4 n a6 n gearbox not a prob at all. S class rear aircond not enuff fan power but driving feel light n agile however the burmester system not that good u cant do herzt tuning like in bmw. 530i steering too light like audi in this generation in comfort mode and the harmon kardon tend to loud n soft when travelling highway even htough i minimise the speed dependent volum and the gesture control u just need to turn it off because its a gimmick and too sensitive u ll get mad, mini cooper s is a fun rocket but sport suspension very stiff n surprisingly good and solid build quality overall. Audi a4 rear suspension is a pain becoz bushing got problem for the 2nd batch n they wont tell u. Apart frm that, all no major problems. Note that i did not compare with e class right? Because its just not up to. Cheers. Go buy a car n enjoy. Hope that help a bit.

• BMW newbie on Dec 18, 2022 at 9:39 am

Great review comparison based on real driving and long term experience.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 31, 2017 at 12:41 am

this car is so much better to drive than its rivals

• Rahman on May 31, 2017 at 7:36 am

Paul Tan, please terminate the person who wrote the subtitles. Unless he/she was trying to make us laugh

• Rahman Hariri on May 31, 2017 at 6:06 pm

In general, I concur with Hafriz, except in a (minor, moot) point. Having test driven both 5 series and E Class within a couple of hours of each other, my conclusions are as follows:

1) Transmission in 5 Series is way better than E Class – the Merz, while the current 9-speed transmission is not as jerky as the previous 7-speed counterpart, it is still not as smooth as 5-Series and at low speed, start-stop or fast-slow condition, it tends to be hesitant in choosing the right gear. No issue with the BMW; it is as smooth as silk.

2) Engine – I had not driven F10, so I can only compare with E Class. I think engine sound is more refine in the 5-series. IN the cabin, even when you push the throttle, you can hardly hear the roar (which is the way I prefer the engine sounds; some may have other opinion), while in the E Class it tends to be louder and the sound is coarser.

3) Handling – Yes BMW is way ahead here, the handling in E Class can be a bit uninspiring

4) Comfort – The 5-Series offer a very comfortable ride, even with M Sport; I am not sure if it is more comfortable than E-Class though

5) Seats – Merz seats are way more comfortable with many electronics adjustment needed for long distance traveling. BMW seats are too basic and are very disappointing, to say the least. Back seat is worst. Like Hafriz said, it is too upright. Merz is way better in the comfort category. My pilot son commented that the BMW back seat reminds him of the jump seat in an aircraft!

6) Cabin in Merz again oozes with class, love the dash board and the light display in E-Class, while cabin in BMW is unexciting. It is too familiar for BMW owners, never mind that it is taken from the 7 series. NOT!

7) Driving assistance – Merz is very bare,too bare save for the parking assist, which the BMW also have. I think if you are paying RM383,800 for the Classic E-250, one would expect a lot more gadgets. BMW has the blind sport warning and active (adaptive) cruise control which I believe should be handy and a few more gadgets to justify its RM398,800 pricetag

8) Disagree with Hafriz’s view on the fat steering wheel. We like the thicker steering.

9) Yes, The Harmon Kardon on the 5-series is much better than the Burmester on E Class which is a surprise to me. Who would have thought!

Anyway, well done Hafriz for an honest review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Marcus Ong on Jun 06, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Time: 6.15 mins

It is better than the MB E Class “on both ride comfort and road handling.”

Are you sure, Hafiz?

• romulus on Aug 22, 2017 at 10:54 am

so,when 540i would be available on our shore ?