2017 Honda CR-V makes first Malaysian appearance – 2.0L NA to join 1.5L Turbo, live gallery from Penang

Things usually slow down a little in the month of Ramadan, and so it is in the local automotive scene. Not this year however. Honda Malaysia (HM) is maintaining its relentless pace in previewing and launching new models, and this week saw the on-form brand open the order books for the 2017 Honda CR-V, even as the Jazz facelift launch is just around the corner.

In an effort to keep up with the company’s VTEC Turbo pace, we’re reporting live from Gurney Paragon in Penang, where the fifth-generation Honda CR-V is making its Malaysian debut. We have here a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated variant, which will join the 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo version. Prior to this, HM only mentioned the latter, so this confirms that a 2.0L NA will join the 1.5L Turbo in our local line-up, just like in Indonesia.

The 2.0L NA engine in question should be the 155 PS/190 Nm R20 SOHC i-VTEC unit, mated to a CVT automatic. The CR-V is free for all to view and touch, but the doors are locked and the windows have been blacked out in typical HM preview fashion. This car could be the higher of two 2.0L variants, while the top 1.5L Turbo will be have all the bells and whistles, but it remains to be seen if there are intermediate spec 1.5L Turbos.

The turbo engine is from the current Civic, but makes 193 PS and 243 Nm of torque from 2,000 to 5,000 rpm in the CR-V, which is 20 PS and 23 Nm more than in the sedan. It’s mated to a continuously variable transmission (CVT) automatic. The downsized motor’s output also shades the 190 PS/222 Nm of the outgoing 2.4L NA engine.

Measuring 4,584 mm long, 1,855 mm wide and 1,679 mm (4WD 1,689 mm) tall, the new CR-V is 55 mm longer, 35 mm wider and 6 mm lower than before. Our neighbouring markets get a third-row seat option to make it 5+2, but HM has elected to offer the CR-V here as a five-seater. Max cargo load capacity with the second row folded flat (one-touch operation) is 1,084 litres.

To arrive at the decision to offer the CR-V without the third row, HM must have reckoned that not many buyers in this particular segment (they’re an affluent lot, CR-V customers) require the two small emergency seats. If it was a bet, my money would be on that being true. Those looking for more than five seats in a mid-size SUV have the Nissan X-Trail and Hyundai Santa Fe to choose from, aside from pick-up truck-based models like the Toyota Fortuner. Of course, Honda now has its own seven-seater in the BR-V.

For the first time in our market, Honda Sensing will be available. This suite of driver assistance systems uses a millimetre wave radar in the grille in conjunction with a monocular camera positioned at the top of the windscreen to provide seven active safety features.

These include Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with stop-and-go Low Speed Follow (LSF), Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS) with Forward Collision Warning (FCW), Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Lane Departure Warning (LDW) and Road Departure Mitigation (RDM).

Honda Sensing is not present on this car, and is reserved for the 1.5L Turbo, but all variants now get six airbags, up from four on the outgoing 2.0 2WD and 4WD variants (the range-topping 2.4 4WD model has six). As before, Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA) is standard across the range. Also available across the board are goodies such as keyless entry and push-button start and a reverse camera.

The 2.0L high-spec car you see here gets LED headlamps and daytime running lights, 17-inch dual-tone five-spoke alloys (with 235/65 Goodyear Efficient Grip tyres) and a single exhaust pipe. This means that dual exhaust outlets, the 18-inch spinner-style wheels and Honda Lanewatch (live feed from the left of the car) are exclusive to the 1.5L Turbo.

The 2017 Honda CR-V is now open for bookings. Those in Penang can view it today at Gurney Paragon. The SUV will then be at Mid Valley in KL from June 7 to 11, Imago Mall in Kota Kinabalu on June 11, Aeon Tebrau City in JB from June 16 to 18 and Plaza Merdeka in Kuching on June 18.

GALLERY: 2017 Honda CR-V 2.0L in Malaysia

GALLERY: Indonesian-spec Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo Prestige

GALLERY: Indonesian-spec Honda CR-V 2.0L

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Brazbuz on Jun 04, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Wow, i though they gonna bring 2.0 2WD, 1.5 2WD and 1.5 4WD line up. But mid spec with full LED headlight is already great. Hoping the price within the previous model bracket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 25
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 04, 2017 at 4:09 pm

I hope Gomen keep their promise to reduce car prices by 30%. I hear this CRV is starting at RM150k. Already we are paying the highest car prices in the world, we really need the 30% price reduction promised to the rakyat 4 years.

RM150k less 30%= the CRV will be RM105k as RM45k will be knocked off. In Australia, CRV is about RM95k. So, if Malaysia sells it at RM105k also, they are making a lot of UNTUNG.

Let us home the promise is kept. Simple promise like this also gomen cannot keep, I wonder how big promises also they can keep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
      • komarad on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:43 am

the 30% reduction for car produced in the year those statement being made….

• Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
        Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:30 am

wahai john, why gomen reduce car price for luxury cars? Reduce also should be for Saga, Myvi and Axia.

But Saga, Myvi and Axia all go up in price. Pakai otak sikit. No point prices of luxury cars go down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
          • Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios! But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well try ukur baju di badan sendri…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
          • Fenix on Jun 05, 2017 at 5:49 pm

I know right Vios the smart grads choice.

• Cuz they got taken in by that drifting advert. Not mind its a deathtrap but yeah, kids & advertisment berpisah tiada.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:04 am

can u compare with Thai n Indo? They are a lot cheaper rite. U should show this to boleh pipu

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:36 am

Thai PM and Indo PM DID NOT promise their rakyat 30% price reduction

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
          • Theres a lot of unkept promises the other side did, but not like ur gonna hold them for it. So why…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:51 am

Just compare lor..because bolehland pay highest car price in the world. Many want to see ur revelation. Thai/Indo suppose have low tax..this is ur time to show ur it.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:38 am

This is a car blog. We talk everything related to cars here. Especially on car prices which is No 1 concern for most Malaysians.

PM is running the country. He promised to lower car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
          • As u can clearly see, anybody can promise anything. Both sides play the game so why harp on 1 side? Besides, no gov in world owes the pipu a free ride. Gov do HAVE obligation to make it easier which they doing with public transports ongoing.

Demanding cheap cars then more roads to cater for em is an endless cycle of suffering and stupidity. If u prefer epic jams while most MY pipu dun, theres alwiz jakarta & bangkok.

Ironically their cars arent exactly cheap either, which why u so reluctant to reveal their prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
    • Meanwhile, ETCM is secretly planning to release the Nissan X-Trail facelift to fight the new CR-V. The latest facelifted X-Trail is a good looking car with full LED headlights, foglights and taillights. On the safety front the car will have 6 airbags as standard for the 5+2 seater and they have taken the wonderful step of equipping the central infotainment system with Apple Carplay and Android Auto. Suddenly the X-Trail has become a much more attractive buy while ETCM is planning a further surprise by offering a 5-seater X-Trail Hybrid 4WD under RM140k. It will be launched on….

…. oh I just woke up back in reality. In this reality ETCM product planners are still sleeping and will not put up any fight for the new CR-V and let Honda Malaysia steamroll them in the japanese SUV market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
      • What? No 7 seater for Malaysian market?
        WTF!!!
        Time to teach Honda Malaysia a lesson.

Just last week sat in a friend’s BR-V and I wonder what makes Malaysian so obsessive with it. Honestly it is a piece of junk. Plastics all around and that hand brake is so big that can fit into a lorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 20
      • That shows TCM con customer big time. Introduce less spec with expensive price and now want to introduce face lift with same price.. no jokes.

• Fughul on Jun 04, 2017 at 5:42 pm

What is fuglier than a Honda BRV?

A Honda CRV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
  • confirmed diesel version is not coming….huhuhu

• Mystvearn on Jun 04, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Is it confirmed that there will be no 5+2 seating option? Maybe Honda is waiting to make a surprise with those dark tinted mirrors

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
    • Maybe…. the 5+2 seats is a surprise for just the 1.5l turbo model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 17
  • CRV fan on Jun 04, 2017 at 2:36 pm

Was looking forward for the 5+2 seaters…disappointing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 17
  • farghmee on Jun 04, 2017 at 2:44 pm

5+2 la wei.

I doesn’t hurt to have extra seats

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 10
    • Wan Zamri on Jun 05, 2017 at 5:35 am

I have patiently been waiting for 5+2 seater of a new CRV. Very disappointed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 14
  • Boboy on Jun 04, 2017 at 3:04 pm

So whats the difference between facelifted with the pre-facelifted?

• Aiyo! This is not a facelift lah! It’s a brand new model. You cant tell the difference?

• Prospect Buyer on Jun 04, 2017 at 3:21 pm

That’s great…. top spec without the useless 3rd row seat. Waiting to test drive and interior spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 16
  • Richard on Jun 04, 2017 at 3:22 pm

No 5 plus 2 seater?? Seriously? HM.. That’s a huge mistake. Trust me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • william on Jun 04, 2017 at 3:50 pm

when honda design CRV 2017, they are design to target “aunty uncle” for 7 seater family crossover . thus, u can see the design is not as sexy as civic or city while its the best in overall comparison to other crossover.

the decision of not bringing 7seater (“HM must have reckoned that not many buyers in this particular segment “) is funny. while its funny, i believe many uncle aunties will buy since this is Malaysia, and we trust Honda !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
  • Why no 5+2 seat honda? :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 13
  • Honda on Jun 04, 2017 at 4:13 pm

So ugly the rear view.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Jun 04, 2017 at 4:25 pm

NO THIRD ROW SEATS? BOOOOOOOO. THUMBS DOWN, HONDA MALAYSIA!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 18
  • Alicia sue on Jun 04, 2017 at 4:31 pm

Only uncle and aunty will buy this junk car…why not go for hyundai or kia that will save money and grants more goodies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Uncle and aunty also customer. for 100k to 150k+ vehicle, uncle and aunty is majority customer.

• Quasar on Jun 04, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Poor decision by Honda not to bring in the 7 seater version. It would have widened the market segment to include young executives with young families who occasionally require the additional seats. The BRV is a budget product offering while the Odyssey is too premium priced. The 7 seater CRV would have slotted in between the 2 and given cars like the X-Trail a fight. With the 5 seater only, it is limiting it’s market appeal. The CX-5 would be a better drive and better option if not for its more compact interior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 04, 2017 at 4:44 pm

hide for what

• Not very impressive on Jun 04, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Can’t see inside again…just like the when they launched BR-V earlier…when the time come(see it real in Malaysia)…feeling”che…”like that only aah…

• darren on Jun 04, 2017 at 6:34 pm

boring

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 14
  • carazy on Jun 04, 2017 at 7:04 pm

bye2 honda.. no 7 seater.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 17
  • Low2215 on Jun 04, 2017 at 7:16 pm

I want a 2.0 litre 2wd but with honda sensing technology . can ah ? because i dont think i will ever uses that 4wd and i drive slow.

• HM must make sure Sense is not deactivatable. That will force drivers to USE signals and common sense when driving.

• Henry on Jun 04, 2017 at 10:21 pm

The 2.0L variant is a good bet.

• mr_3m on Jun 04, 2017 at 10:43 pm

No 7 seater option for a car bigger than BRV? And Thailand, Indonesia and Australia offers that option… what is Honda Malaysia thinking?

I am so disappointed as even as a 5+2 it will make the car more versatile

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • I’m not sure whether Malaysian second best seller now getting cocky when both Indonesian and Thailand got 5+2 seating configuration.

Why on earth we’re going​ to choose BR-V if we’re after 7 seats in CR-V?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • Disappointed to hear that no 5+2 version in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 15
  • ryder0707 on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:55 am

Small and sempit car like BRV get 7 seats​ but not CRV??? Stupid HM, suddenly Xtrail is a better choice!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Gaviny on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:03 am

Affluent are Mazda drivers , Honda are budget and resale buyers , you can give zero features but Honda badge is enough

• What a big disappointment for Honda Malaysia not to have a 7 seater option. Like most people here, I was eagerly anticipating one, as the other 7 seaters for this price segment are rubbish in either looks, features, or being an exciting car. All the cool Honda Sensing features are really nice to have stuff, but having a 7 seater option or not is a deal breaker. HM goofed up big time on this one. And can’t believe even Hafriz/paultan doesn’t understand the needs of Malaysian market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
  • Fucukyongtaufoo on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:57 am

Im gonna open shop take parts from TH and Indo to convert CrVs here to become 7 seater.. siapa mau join venture

• Henry on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:26 am

That would be illegal and contravenes the type approval of this SUV.

• 12yrsold on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:08 pm

Buy small chairs and put it at back. Tadaaa 7 seater!!!

• honda crv
    home aunty drive to pasar pagi or wet market
    max 1 maid go together sit behind…

other than this… cant see why crv

• Having followed the news on the variants available in different markets, I was looking forward to a 7-seater as all I have seen does show that the 3rd row has more space compared to an X-Trail. A bit disappointed but still did the unthinkable and plonked moolah to book one. According to the SA, there are 4 variants – 2.0, 2.4 and 2 variant of 1.5l. Launch date is sometime in July

• 3 engine variants and 4 trim levels of this car doesn’t make any sense. Should just stick to 2 engine choices.

• Awang Hamid on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:39 pm

7 seats would have penalised the rear room space like the Fortuner and some others. Even folding the seats when unused still cost space especially when one need to put something big at the back. The Honda CRV seems great value except the faked wood interior and the budget looking dashboard I seen from photos. Sigh

• Undecided on Jun 08, 2017 at 7:46 pm

This new CRV is confirmed 7 seater, rest of the markets launched 7 seater already. Anyone viewed the model? Like to know how much?

• Hafiz, father with 3 kids with their grand father and grand mother on Jun 25, 2017 at 10:31 am

Im so frustrated to hear that no 7 seater for Malaysia market. I was hoping for it as i have a big family. 7 seater car always have a good market in Malaysia. Just look at the BRV, it will be good for CRV as well. Still hoping Honda Malaysia will get the 1.5 7 seater into the market.

• Hafiz, father with 3 kids on Jun 26, 2017 at 11:24 am

Im so frustrated to hear that no 7 seater for Malaysia market. I was hoping for it as i have a big family. 7 seater car always have a good market in Malaysia. Just look at the BRV, it will be good for CRV as well. Still hoping Honda Malaysia will get the 1.5 7 seater into the market.

• Rahim on Jul 04, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Heard all new CRV launching date and pricing will be next week Wed 12 Jul 2017, Nationwide launch event on Sat 15 Jul 2017, anyone can confirm this.

• hisham on Jul 10, 2017 at 9:54 am

we want 7 seater CRV