2017 Volvo XC90 accessories detailed, incl 22-inchers

The Volvo XC90 is a handsome vehicle, especially in T8 Twin Engine guise, though for some there can always be room for added differentiation. A range of accessories packages have been made available by Volvo Car Malaysia, in varying specifications for a range of tastes building upon the 407 hp/640 Nm SUV, which is priced at RM403,888.

This XC90 here gets the Oden Package, which includes a set of 22-inch alloy wheels for RM20,888, inclusive of Pirelli tyres. A Silver Alloy version of the same design costs RM26,078. Also available are a roof rail-mounted, wing-profile load carrier at RM1,455, bumper protection cover at RM663, Sensus navigation software at RM7,072, seven-inch media player at RM5,315, and an illuminated tail gate scuff plate at RM2,605.

There are other packages also available for the XC90. The Hermod exterior styling kit can be had in two configurations; Package 1 and Package 2 at RM19,799 and RM33,179 respectively.

Starting with Hermod Package 1, the kit includes a rear bumper skid plate, end pipes, parking assistance software, foot motion detection for tail gate operation, deco frame, and running boards with integrated lighting. In addition to the above, the Hermod Package 2 kit adds on the Oden Pack’s 22-inch, six-double-spoke Tech Black matt alloy wheel set.

Also available is the Thor Package at RM25,999, which, like the Hermod Package, is made up of a front deco frame, end pipes, running boards with integrated lighting, rear bumper skid plate, parking assistance software, and foot motion detection for tail gate operation, though with unique styling courtesy of a body-coloured lower spoiler with fully integrated, brushed stainless steel skid plate, while a black-painted lower grille replaces the standard item.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Nice but it’s a China car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 50
    • oliver on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:44 pm

it is make by sweden !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
      • Geeton on Jun 05, 2017 at 2:56 pm

Proton is cainis car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:25 pm

Thank you Geely for saving Volvo. Because of you, Volvo is so healthy now and demand is so high.

We Malaysians hope Geely brings in someone from mainland to become CEO of Proton. For sure, the company would turnaround fast and be profitable within a year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
    • Sonyman1 on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Proudly assembled in Shah alam.ok!!!!
      Born in Sweden of course that’s why it’s nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
      • Kassim Ahmad on Jun 05, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Wait till year end to get a pre-reg 2017 car at RM340k like what Volvo did beginning of this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:52 pm

There are many goods Made in China nowadays. No one said U must buy the goods that is made in China. What is “exactly” your grouse/problem??!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
    • frodo_boys on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Nothing about this car is China made. It is purely Swedish with parts from all over Europe Only the money comes from China. Please read more so you can be educated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
    • lao yee on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:42 pm

Shall Jaguar nand Land Rover just sell in 3rd World Country then?

• Wah. KK uplike his dupe so keng. Must really not likey Volvo, huh? Not like can hurt his pitiful toyota sales pun.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
    • Pressing “like” by yourself 60 plus times does not mean people agree with you, John (you know ita the nickname for lavatory, right? )

• U must have never seen my 5K likes…

• 5K? Pls see again.

• Clicking few thousands “like” won’t make you smart, only make you look like an idiot. No wonder Proton is losing billions due to syok sendiri people like you

• kzm (Member) on Jun 06, 2017 at 8:41 am

It seem like Kunta who like to pressing “like” though. It is not hard to see such comment from him.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:52 am

oh my kzm, always blaming the world. This is why Proton is where it is and ringgit is where it is.

• When u sees a disproportionate like/dislike, u knows its a selooowww day at his toyota showroom.

• Burned on Jun 06, 2017 at 1:05 pm

It’s nothing compare to john. Look at R3 article to see what he did there. This john is an ego mania syok sendiri fella. He should be ashame of himself

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:37 pm

your own national car is now China. Kalau China tak tolong lingkup

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
  • Mikey on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:48 pm

In M’sia, U can never find a vehicle with 407 hp/640 Nm SUV that cost only RM403,888.

If the “basic” car is not enuff, U can always add if U happen to have extra $$$ lying around to make the SUV looks even better. That is entirely your choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 16
  • Pierre on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:11 pm

Where’s the B&W sound package option?

• That really make the distributor not sensible to taste, yes B&W is what needed compare to the above offered option, maybe slightly tune down engine to make it more affordable will be great, guess that not going to happen when XC60 is coming and sit in between the price. :(

• Jason on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:53 pm

Agreed. It is the premium sound system B&W that worth upgrading, not the bumper protector which extraordinary price.

• DPCraft on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:21 pm

Yea, very disappointed that B&W sound package is not offered here, current 10 330W speaker system is actually not bad up front. but the rear is kinda disappointing, there are no tweeters in the rear door(instead you get an empty speaker cover). The lack of subwoofer also means the bass isn’t as strong as you want it to be(At least for me). If the B&W sound system is offered here I will definitely opt for my XC90 for a more balanced sound throughout the vehicle.

• BMW x5e is better….actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 23
    • Kassim Ahmad on Jun 05, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Waiting list one year on X5. Must look at other options. Range rover sport is another solid suv.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • JChong on Jun 06, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Waiting list for xc90 is also more than half a year or faster since it is assemble in shah alam now.

Based on most professional international car reviews , the xc90 is better car than BMW x5e . BMW x5e seat is very hard and uncomfortable , the dashboard design is outdated. Handling is good but the comfort level cannot compare to xc90

The XC90 had won the north american truck/SUV award for 2016 and also not less than 100 numerous worldwide awards since it was launch. I never heard BMW ex5 winning more awards than xc90 meaning

XC 90 overall is a much better car than BMW xe5 currently.

No doubt about it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
        • Kimberly on Jun 06, 2017 at 11:51 pm

Tested the car. No fun driving, engine is noisy at high rpm. Only interior is unique but lack of sporty suv look.

• eeeriz on Oct 01, 2017 at 11:02 am

I know this is an old comment, but i still wish to respond to this column. Tell me, which car doesn’t scream when you whack the engine at rpm top speed? Besides this is ‘only’ 2 litre car with 320hp supercharged/turbocharged facilities.

• Saiful Ahmad on Jun 06, 2017 at 11:55 pm

What do you mean by half a year or faster? It is already ckd since beginning of 2016 and waiting list is max 4 weeks depends on color. I wonder if s90 got ex stock now since it got ridiculous price.

• Wajib on Jun 05, 2017 at 4:18 pm

Pls ask Geely rebadge it as new Poton Juara. Konfirm laku

• Tiger88 on Jun 05, 2017 at 4:20 pm

Bests ever suv made till now in terms of performance,reliability and fuel consumption.non of other suv have these abilities together

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 11:15 pm

actually would love to have r-design package

• Agreed, nak sporty XC90 it can only either be an R-Design or Polestar. This add-on nonsense by Volvo Car Malaysia is damn overpriced.

• Hayenadeblue on Jul 06, 2017 at 2:10 pm

Test drive this car today at Juru, Penang. Awesome car!