LONG TERM REVIEW: W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class

What is it like to own a new W205 Mercedes-Benz C-Class in Malaysia, and how much does it cost to run and maintain it? Watch our long-term review of the C300 AMG Line to find out. The video covers what the ownership experience has been like after one year, including all the costs involved – a wheel replacement, new tyres, fresh wiper blades, new bottle of AirBalance perfume and of course, the scheduled service.

Yes, the C300 AMG Line has since been discontinued, replaced by the plug-in hybrid C 350 e variants. The 2017 C 200 and C 250 models, meanwhile, have been upgraded with the new 9G-Tronic transmission. This, though, is still a good reference for those looking to buy a new or used W205 C-Class in Malaysia.

If you prefer reading rather than watching, do read our full reviews of the C 350 e, C 300 and C 180. You can also see the full range’s detailed specs and equipment on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz C 300 AMG Line

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Thanks for the review Hafriz! Have been wanting to see more local long term review!

First impression of cars are always welcome, but I have always felt that Malaysians could use more useful information such as Long Term Reviews to determine their next purchase. Keep ’em coming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:23 am

Hafriz gives excellent reviews. He articulates very well. Very focused reviews. Far better than UK Autocar mags and Top Gear UK.

Even ex Top Gear Jeremy Clarkson must come to Malaysia and learn how to write car reviews from Paul Tan and team

• Haf & Bos man knows what is true richman car.

• Beauty is on the inside... on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Darnit Hafriz, you already look so dashingly handsome. Why did you went and buy an ugly Merc to tarnish your devastating good look? :)
    In your case, unlike other Merc driver, there’s absolutely nothing to compensate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
    • medic on Jun 05, 2017 at 2:16 pm

‘Darnit’ beauty, your english is ‘dashingly’ ugly. Why did you even comment here and tarnish your ‘devastating’ english? In your case why were you even born, there’s nothing to compensate your existence

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
      • Your English teacher must be very proud.... on Jun 05, 2017 at 11:00 pm

…you’ve corrected people grammar on the comment section of a blog. Bravo! Next time please also do this for the comment section on Youtube.

Also, for trying really hard to be a grammar nazi, you missed a “for” between “compensate” and “your existence”. You have neither sense of humor nor chops for grammar.

Don’t quit your day job.

• Medic on Jun 05, 2017 at 11:46 pm

Bravo…Now wait your ‘likes’.
          Oh sorry, i forgot to add ‘for’ again…darnit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Which part of this merct is ugly?

• Holofanboi on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:57 pm

U boff quiet my english bester you twotwo landgauge bad ant stupiderest!

• Baby elephant ken ken on Jun 05, 2017 at 5:16 pm

So long as I like can la ! Enough room for me to perform for my love

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:07 pm

Great review by Hafriz with nice camera work. Was surprised to learn that the 3 Series actually has more legroom and headroom, despite being an older car (and despite the C Class having a longer wheelbase). But what shocked me most was the price of the car perfume (the expensive types was kinda expected as they are run flats). Can one just buy a cheapo house or car fragrance and put the liquid inside the bottle instead? Also, bent rims can be repaired, rather than replaced. Did it for my old ride, and it was much cheaper than buying new rims. Also, how much does the servicing cost, and how frequent do you need to service durIng the past 1 year? Were there any additional cost for unusual problems?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Nope, you can’t manually refill the perfume bottles.

I’ve only done one service at 12,000 km – bill was just over RM1.2k. The service interval is every 12,000 km or 12 months.

Additional cost? None. A few niggling issues like a door card that rattled (because the tinting shop didn’t install it back properly) were all fixed at no cost.

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 2:20 pm

Thanks bro. Keep up the good work. Been eyeing the C200 for awhile. Does anyone know if the suspension in the C200 Avantgarde (not the Exclusive variant) is same as the C250 AMG? They are both lower than the Exclusive variant, so wondering if they are the same?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:41 pm

Thanks buddy!

The C200 Avantgarde gets the lowered Agility Control suspension, not the stiffer Sport Suspension in the C250 AMG Line.

• Wish you bought the latest E-class or 5 series instead…. more age-appropriate for us uncles here. C-class for rich 20-somethings OK lah

• ZULFZAI on Oct 17, 2018 at 5:37 pm

I had a problèm with the steering rack after 20months, done replaced still under warranty or else RM15K. After 3weeks had a funny sound on the left front tyre everytime I passed a speed breaker and uneven road at slow speed 20-30km/h. I bought a Camry at abt the same time for my wife. The car is superb and has more mileage whereas mine is only 24K Km. Got to go to MB svc centre Balakong for further analysis. Is it a common issue for this class.

• Peter on Jun 05, 2017 at 6:03 pm

In 1 year only 12,000km driving only…… how did you drive this car from your house to work only. In this case you cannot compare the cost to run and maintain it? For long-term review of the C300 AMG Line….. like buy a car and keep at home for displaying only…….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
      • Khairi on Jul 07, 2017 at 1:28 am

May I know the RM1,200 bill is for what service? Only oil and filter change? MBM is not giving free service for first few ones?

• Kuinosan on Jun 05, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Nice to have these kinda long term reviews to really understand whether one can afford one of these luxury cars. But could have been a bit more brief and try not to stay on the same subject for too long. I almost fell asleep to be honest. Just make it brief and informative. Thanks.

• I wonder how much he earns because he can owns C300 and 208 GTi

• Ollie on Jun 05, 2017 at 5:34 pm

More than u for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Mikey on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:57 pm

I have the same tot but then, some question is BEST left Not asked. I think by now U get the drift. Cheers bro.

• jinggo on Jun 05, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Come la Hafriz, why u bought the Merc? its look like u r driving your rich uncle’s car la.. sorry Hafriz, 3 series really suit u.. seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
  • CHOO Poh Kok on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:38 pm

I owned a BMW 520d before “upgrading” to a E250. overall, the BWM is a better car to drive and with a lower up keeping cost.
    Example, service interval is 15,000 km and cost about RM700 for oil and filter change (done at BMW) compared to the MB ridiculous 12,000 KM service interval and about RM 1,200 oil change.

• intermilan on Jun 05, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Pokok tipu… BMW Msia gips free service BSRI.

• CHOO Poh Kok on Nov 13, 2018 at 4:55 pm

FYI, when I bought the 520d in 2013, BMW only provide free service for parts and labour till 60,000 KM.
        They increase it to 100,000 KM later.

• Warrick on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:41 pm

After 3years of Agility Financing, how much balance pymt to be paid to MBM ?

• Zackyrulez on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:50 pm

When you’re stuck in traffic, people look at Hafriz in the Mercedes as a person who has made it in society, and they will envy you.

• applegreen on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Once you go Black, you’ll never go back.

• Embee on Jun 05, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Exceellent review, all paultan journalists should review their own car. Long term reviews are the real reviews.

Readers should also let paultan review on your cars based on your long term driving exp.

• Yes like what doug demuro from motortrader did by reviewing his viewers’ cars.

• Mikey on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:09 pm

Gud advice by Hafiz when he say buy the New C-250 as it comes with Air suspension that gives U the supple ride as befitting a Mercedes beside the new 9-Gtronic transmission. This Premium feature usually goes to the flagship but now are available in a C-class.

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 9:31 pm

The C250 gets the new 9G-Tronic, but the C350e gets Airmatic suspension.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:01 am

Hafriz… Shouldn’t be doing a 100kmph in a 80kmph road…

Otherwise I really like these kind of videos.

• good review and video, hafriz. we look forward to having more of these in future.
    re the rattling door card – was the tint done through the dealer or did you do that separately at a 3rd party tint establishment?

• arowana on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:27 am

Hafiz,

IMHO, you are really not suitable to do such commentary show since the way u speak in front go camera is way not natural and normal. It feels like you’re in a panic & shivering state while speaking. Probably you’re good in writing but trust me, not speaking in front of camera.

Paultan.org has been established since such a long time, and until now they come out with such disappointing video reviews on cars, which to me is such a shame.

You guys should look for better charismatic person (of course has to be highly knowledgeable on cars) to do all these car reviews & videos in order to make Paultan.org look more professional & presentable.

Just learn from it. I’ve been hearing you guys are improving and improving but up till now, very unfortunately, I can’t see any improvement at all.

I love natural & exciting local car review but not boring & dull ones. So please Hafiz, stay away from the camera, it’s tarnishing not only your image, but Paultan.org’s image too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 11
    • kaizen on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:01 am

Hafriz, just ignore this arowana. He/She is actually having difficulties in breathing in the open space.

Keep up the good work, Hafriz!.

• regretbuyingford on Jun 07, 2017 at 7:26 am

Error 404

Hafiz not found.

On another note, SURE ANOT this not daddy’s car?

• parentsworkhardforchildrentoenjoy on Jun 07, 2017 at 7:32 am

sorry but this whole video appears to be an ego massage for the presenter.

we own a 3 pointed car too and you could have explained how its like with the service advisors, the service technicians, the service centre itself, the many outcomes of agility financing, so on so forth.

here instead we have a video which basically says my parents makes so much money i can buy something i actually can’t afford myself.

it was 20 minutes of “i can.. you can or not?”

we appreciate the long term review but its not always about how much money you need to have to keep these wheels turning.

hopefully the next long term review will be more mature from the team.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
    • Stoned on Dec 30, 2017 at 5:45 pm

Honestly, you have no idea how hard is it being a motoring journalist, the hours spent, the travelling, etc. In this case, I’m proud to say Hafriz deserves what he has because of all the hardwork that has paid off.

• Kizaar1 on Aug 21, 2017 at 10:02 pm

Dude!!!! a word about the Burmester audio. I stream a lot on Spotify. Good ? Not impressive? Comments please

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Aug 22, 2017 at 6:32 pm

To me, it’s not great, but decent enough for everyday casual use.