FIRST DRIVE: 2017 Mazda 3 with G-Vectoring Control

The 2017 Mazda 3 facelift range was launched in Malaysia earlier this year, bringing minor visual updates inside out and G-Vectoring Control. Prices start from RM110,804 for the base Sedan GL, going up to RM125,804 for the Sedan High you see here. The Hatchback tops the range at RM128,804.

All models keep the same 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine with 162 hp at 6,000 rpm and 210 Nm at 4,000 rpm. The high-compression mill sends drive to the front wheels via a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. Mazda’s idling stop (i-Stop) and drive select (Sport mode) systems are also present here.

In this short video review, Jonathan Lee tries out the new Mazda 3 facelift on Malaysian roads. How much does the G-Vectoring Control system change how it drives, and what exactly does the update add? Find out in our video review here.

For more information and a detailed list of specifications, head on over to CarBase.my (hatchback here).

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:05 pm

Nobody is buying Mazda anymore. Malaysians are doing this on ethical grounds.

Cause last year, despite Malaysians suffering with high cost of living, Bermaz increased their prices 3 times.

Bermaz totally have no feelings of empathy and understanding towards Malaysians who are suffering.

Now all Bermaz showrooms are empty. Nobody goes in. Gone are the glory of CX5 days. Those days are over for Bermaz.

Now they will see Mazda like the 90s. Totally dead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 133 Thumb down 38
    • Now ur talking sober. Yup, greedy VT think MY pipu so hardup on his Mazdas when its just an overdressed overpriced jepunis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 13
      • Mikey on Jun 08, 2017 at 9:56 pm

john, FYI, VT makes his bulks of $$$(millions) from selling Off Digi Telecom & more $$$ from Berjaya Sports Toto not to mention millions more coming from Hotels/Resorts & Chains of Fast foods.

Mazda is just one of a company in his stable. I don’t know him personally or do I give a damn what have he done 2 U. If I asked U to read more about VT & his companies, U might be insulted. I’ll just leave it here for now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
        • No. He did all that AFTER he got rich. U din live long enuff to know how he got rich in 1st place. And i feel insulted JUST by knowing how he got rich and how he stay rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • jamal on Jun 09, 2017 at 8:02 am

Bila kaya, complain.
            Bila miskin, pun complain.
            Bila bailout, lagi kuat complain.

Cukurr la ckit john

• Mikey on Jun 09, 2017 at 2:23 pm

john, can U tell the truth & shame the devil 4 once that U are Jelly of VT.

• Eh? ur the one that says to read more. So why not u read more about how he build his galactic empayar?

• Henry on Jun 09, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Why are you jealous? Ask him to give you some $$$ lah.

• Mikey small kid on Jun 09, 2017 at 9:02 am

Now all umw sales man try hard to talk bad on mazda

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:13 pm

VT is 1000x more hardworking than ohwai !

• Mangosteen on Jun 08, 2017 at 10:02 pm

This Kunta fellow. He complains of all cars. Why not build your own car? Call it Kunta Motor. I bet it will be a huge success.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 9
    • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:36 pm

What do you expect Mazda is run by stingy Berjaya Group? I used to work for them and it was horrible. I wouldn’t want to support their businesses ever again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • Henry on Jun 09, 2017 at 9:53 am

Just because you are not buying nobody is buying anymore? So you represent everyone? Stop barking day and night here. Do you actually have a job at all? Just asking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
      • His job is to bash, but they paying him peanuts. So he doing a monkeys job at it.

• KK brother on Jun 13, 2017 at 12:33 pm

Silly boy, Bermaz is a business, not do charity. Now stop this rubbish and study ..i told dad about yr time wasting, he bot 1 dozen rotan’s today..bye bye

• AhPeng on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:56 pm

hopeless ahPeng commentator…kept saying same as before why need to review…boring talk absolutely nonsense

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
  • Holofanboi on Jun 08, 2017 at 9:31 pm

LOL because this was posted by Hafriz i actually paused for a moment wondering who the heck is that in the thumbnail xD.

• Nirmal on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:10 pm

Always want to hear the right review. Good one.

• transformer on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:52 pm

Is this Jonathan Lee debut video? (car segment)
    Great video with very informative review…. Good job!

paultan.org should move bikes to another segment from this website…. lets make a poll on this…

• Ben yap on Jun 09, 2017 at 12:30 am

This mazda 3 Cannot beat the civic in overall package. Wise man buys a civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 31
    • ethan on Jun 09, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Depends. I think ever since Honda Malaysia got owned by DRB, their quality control has gone down the drain. Just look at the LY Forum civic threads. A fukton of problems. Driveshaft leaking, aircon leaking until got flood, cvt grinding sound, display screen burn, head unit need to restart.

The Civic is good value for money if you don’t mind taking the possible chance that your car may need to be in service centre to replace this or that.

Safer to wait for Civic facelift in a few years time.

• The problems u describe r component issues which is unrelated to DRB hicom which only assembles the car. Its honda itself that cost cut until so many problems came out.

• Henry on Jun 09, 2017 at 2:41 pm

This is the typical reaction of someone who is afraid to try something different.

• M3 Driver on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Ben Yap, what overall package do you mean?
      You mean the top-spec Civic is more expensive than top-spec M3?
      You mean that Civic 1.5T possibly as fuel efficient as M3 2.0?
      You mean Civic does not provide full free service like M3?
      You mean that Civic don’t have sound effect like “ngek ngek”, “kluk kluk” like M3?
      You mean Civic looks nicer with Prawns at the back and more ah beng’ish look?
      You mean Civic more exclusive as it is driven by every tom dick and harry especially ah bengs?

Haha…too much time at work and felt agrieve with some one justifying their prefer car without any points. This is meant as a joke. Peace out!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 09, 2017 at 12:40 am

all the vw plates….is berjaya getting a vw dealership next?

• Mr. Octopus on Jun 09, 2017 at 8:55 am

They had it before, JV with China. They’re called CNB (China & Berjaya) Auto with showrooms along OKR & Jln Ipoh.

• tryharder on Jun 09, 2017 at 12:41 am

walaoweh i have difficulty understand your reviews.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • ToyotaSupporter on Jun 09, 2017 at 1:11 am

omg… i cant blif the actually allowed this video to be posted here.

horrible review. this dude is just too nervous infront of the cam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Video?

Lazy watch nvm

• polla on Jun 09, 2017 at 2:27 am

dowan I-stop can onot, bermaz?…just refund me RM50 will do.

• Much better presentation by Jonathan Lee compare to the Iriz video. By making more review video, i believe you can become better presenter. Would like to see you team up with Hafriz in review or Driven series video. Keep up the good work

• Henry on Jun 09, 2017 at 9:49 am

If I wanted sedan I would have bought this car. It is even better if Bermaz had brought in the 2.5L variant. But I prefer an SUV nowadays.

• Zoom Zoom on Jun 09, 2017 at 9:54 am

Yes true .. is a driver car.. but pls learn from honda on overall package especially the space. Rear space really feel cramp and unpleasant feel for the passengers. Dont just design a car just for driver and ignore the passengers..

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST on Jun 09, 2017 at 1:44 pm

Ppl who buy this car never default..no good for my businees..pls dont buy…buy honda toyota..and p1 …p2..can buy 2 ..pls support

• NightDuke on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:45 pm

This Mazda 3 interior is worst than my 2010 Mazda 3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
  • Hi Jonathan Lee, may I suggest that next time when you review a car while pointing at the headlamps, why not just switch on the headlamps first. I think its a good idea to let your viewers know exactly how it looks like at night . No , you dont have to do a car review at night, late evening at a shady spot or a covered parking lot will do too.