2017 Hyundai Elantra AD launched in Malaysia – 1.6 Turbo, 2.0 NA, three variants, from RM116k

The 2017 Hyundai Elantra is now officially launched, and will be in showrooms from this weekend. Official distributor Hyundai-Sime Darby Motors (HSDM) has previewed the Elantra AD, and we’ve seen spec sheets of the C-segment sedan, but now it’s confirmed – there will be three variants – 2.0 Executive, 2.0 Dynamic and 1.6 Turbo – priced at RM116,388, RM120,588 and RM131,488 on-the-road without insurance.

The Turbo is getting all the headlines, but let’s start from the base. The sixth-generation Elantra range starts with the 2.0 litre Nu MPI four-cylinder engine that we’re familiar with. The naturally-aspirated unit develops 152 PS at 6,200 rpm and 192 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, matched to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

The range-topping AD gets a 1.6 litre Gamma T-GDI with 204 PS at 6,000 rpm and 265 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,500 rpm. The Honda Civic’s 1.5 litre turbo engine puts out 173 PS/220 Nm, so the Hyundai’s outputs are ahead by some margin – by 31 PS and 45 Nm, to be exact. While the Honda uses a CVT, the Elantra Turbo employs an “Ecoshift” seven-speed dual-clutch automatic with steering paddle shifters. The 1.6T is classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV).

The 2.0 NA and 1.6 Turbo models also differ underneath, with the former getting a torsion beam rear suspension and the more powerful car receiving a more sophisticated multi-link rear axle. Brakes are all round discs, but the Turbo gets larger front items – 16- vs 15-inch ventilated discs. All Elantras roll on 17-inch alloys and 225/45 tyres, although the rim design differs. Eco, Normal and Sport drive modes alter the throttle, transmission and steering.

Equipment wise, both 2.0 litre variants have pretty much the same stuff, with the Dynamic variant adding on an aggressive bodykit with LED daytime running lights. The standard kit list is quite comprehensive, and it includes automatic halogen projector headlights, LED positioning lamps, front fog lights (Executive only) and 17-inch turbine-design alloys.

Also included are keyless entry with push start; suede and leather upholstery; an auto-dimming rear-view mirror; cruise control, manual air-con with rear vents; front and rear parking sensors, a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Bluetooth, Apple CarPlay and Android Auto support, a reverse camera and a tyre pressure monitoring system. Six airbags (dual front, side and curtain), ESC, hill start assist and ABS are standard across the board.

Opting for the 1.6 Turbo doesn’t just get you more power and the above chassis upgrades, but also HID headlamps, factory LED DRLs, full leather seats, dual-zone auto air con, paddle shifters, auto wipers (rain sensor) and active safety features such as blind spot detection and rear cross traffic alert (RCTA).

The Sport comes with a unique grille (chrome slats aren’t full width, discreet ‘Turbo’ badge on one side), larger bumper air intakes (note the C-shaped chrome element with LED daytime running lights) and a more elaborate headlamp design. Its rear comes with a diffuser, twin exhaust tips and a ‘Sport’ badge. Different rims, too.

Inside, there’s plenty or red. The seats are more red than black (‘Sport’ stitched on the front chairs), and that “sporty colour” is repeated on the door cards, steering/gear boot stitching and edges of the floor mats. The flat-bottomed steering wheel is the same one seen in the Ioniq, but with the hybrid’s blue band swapped for red.

Seven exterior colours are available. HSDM’s usual five-year or 300,000 km warranty applies, and the Elantra also gets a free service package for 50,000 km with a three-year validity. There’s also 24-hour roadside assist service.

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 1.6 Sport

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 2.0 Executive

GALLERY: Hyundai Elantra 2.0 Executive and Dynamic

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 09, 2017 at 3:14 pm

Ada yg dah turun..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • Hyundai vs Honda on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Elantra 1.6 Turbo(like) or Civic 1.5 Turbo(dislike)?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 160 Thumb down 36
      • There is something wrong with that underwear steering

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
        • Sgt Scoop on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Proton Waja was still competitive to the Elantra once.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
        • John Ohwai Mental Asylum on Jun 11, 2017 at 10:39 am

Old Elantra RM89k. New Elantra RM116k. Open your eyes Malaysians!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
          • Henry on Jun 13, 2017 at 8:28 am

Open your eyes, Johnnie. In 2015 USD was @ 3.30. Now it is 4.30.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
      • Kenari on Jun 09, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Ringgit turun.

• Elantra FTW on Jun 09, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Elantra turbo beats Civic turbo 9 row of streets la. Elantra 0-100km/h in 6.8s,
        Civic 0-100km/h in 8.2s.
        More than 1.4s difference not in the same league la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 7
        • Sonata L00r on Jun 09, 2017 at 11:14 pm

Betui…5year RV not in the same league la.

Civic 88k Elantra 38k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 42
          • OMG…On design aspect, Civic win all…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
          • Beli kereta utk jual @ pakai??? Jika kereta blh tahan 10 tahun ke atas tak blh simpan ka???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
          • How u know 5 years Civic Rv is 88k? No data proved, u juz talk kok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
          • hunter on Jun 11, 2017 at 9:46 pm

i own forte 1.6SX CBU 2nd batch for 7 years lah…mileage dh clock 195000++km and dah 2 tahun habis bayar..Sepanjang jd owner and pertama kali pakai kereta brand Korea i berpendapat Jepunis sales man all talk cock la…this not good la tht not good la..so wht RV rendah?? I pakai betul2 puas hati…the model still looks good on the road..and the specs tak pun ketinggalan zaman..6 airbags, start stop ignition n etc for a 7 year old car weiii …cer carik civic the same year..kesian..dah la i beli cuma below 86k new time tu…i rugi ke?…and on top of all kereta takde problem bang..so, lu org penjual2 kereta Jepunis apa cer??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 7
        • Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 09, 2017 at 9:47 am

That is why i said that if you are looking for a car, look no further than a used kimchi. Great value for money, especially a 12 month old unit

• nemesis on Aug 18, 2017 at 6:36 am

between this review and those from other pro reviewer’s overseas i can conclude even our local reviewer has a bias towards korean cars. just look at how the motortrends, or the TFL’s reviewed this avante’s sport back in the USA, how they are so impressed by the dynamis and ride comfort of this vehicle, they explained what mr biermann ex bmw m division did to this car chasis etc… here in paultan.. just a simple kancil review of the car unlike when u guys reviewed a vios or city or crv or civic.. very details

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 09, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Where is Gomen’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%? RM132k is a lot of money. Infact, it is crossing the D segment range. Nissan Teana, Honda Accord and Proton Perdana, after discounts, is around the RM130k range.

Sime Darby, being fully gomen, should start the ball rolling by reducing their car prices by 30%. After all, gomen promised to all Malaysians that they understood Malaysia had the highest car prices in the world and wanted to reduce car prices by 30% to ease the burden of Malaysians.

Ridiculous for a C segment to be RM132k. Worse still, a Hyundai which depreciates steeply. This Turbo maybe RM132k but within 2 years it becomes RM60k.

Check mudah and you can see how Elantra depreciates so fast.

Why does Sime Darby want to put Malaysians in so much debt? Cause when owners sell their cars, even after 24 months of paying loan, they have to top up ten of thousands just to settle the old loan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 17
        • kereta_lembu on Jun 09, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Post after post, after so long, you’re still asking about the 30% price reduction? Need another term or more to realized that we’ve been duped? You want 30% reduction, wait to buy 2nd hand car, at least that is more realistic than the empty promises.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 23
          • The problem is, when they gip cheap he turn around and hentam no RV.
            Silly little fella aint he?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
          • Fadzley on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:52 am

Duped? empty promises?
            Nolah, no integrity issues.
            Impeachment in some other places

• Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:39 pm

I like the blue color Elanta

• John Ohwai Mental Asylum on Jun 11, 2017 at 10:38 am

old Elanta makan minyak a lot. I hope new engine minum sikit

• When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
          Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 24
          • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 10, 2017 at 8:50 am

john oh john, still copypaste the same thing. You keep on saying your gomen has reduced X5 from RM588k to RM388k and we must be grateful. But pls pakai hotak. How many people can afford RM388k?

If gomen reduce also it must be for Saga, Axia, Myvi and Persona. Majority people can only afford RM60k and below.

bodoh tu tolong simpan sikit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
          • Boring samy on Jun 10, 2017 at 10:18 am

Copypaste same posts. Zzzzz

• Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:40 pm

amazing power coming from a 1.6 small enjin

• Saga mivi axia r reasonably affordable. Even fresh grads go straight for vios/ city/ fiesta!

But if u only affords 2nd hand EX5, well, try ukur baju di badan sendri…

• Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 10, 2017 at 9:57 pm

fresh grads from local u like to go for Jepunis. They themselevs dont sapot Proton. Proton CEO sendiri cakap

• Kunta dad on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Shut up kunta fool…go study for yr SPM…m telling guru besar.. .u need caning..

• Henry on Jun 13, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Tokkok. What has SD got to do with buyers’ debt?

Anyone forcing them to buy? Anyone forcing them to take a 90% loan with a 9 year tenure?

• Rahim on Jun 22, 2017 at 8:24 am

You know nothing about korean car. My sonata 2011, after 7 yrs can sell for the price rm65k.
          I bought it Rm143k.
          Which japs car does not depreciates.
          Japs cars getting worse n worse. Wake up man

• pok nik on Jun 09, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Preve. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 14
  • Politikus on Jun 09, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Nice interior…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • Hyundai vs Honda on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:54 pm

Elantra 1.6 Turbo(like) or Civic 1.5 Turbo(dislike)?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 24
      • Wondergirl on Jun 09, 2017 at 11:16 pm

Elantra (like) or Ioniq (dislike)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
      • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 10, 2017 at 1:57 am

You buy civic, 2 years later, still can sell RM100k.

You buy Elantra, 2 years later, price is RM60k.

Then you will cry when you have to top up your loan RM30k to RM40k.

Also, becareful of Hyundai deceit. 300,000 KM warranty is a sham and lie. My Hyundai after crossing 70,000 warranty, aircon rosak, they ask me to pay for it.

It seems, 300,000KM warranty only for engine only. I repeat, ONLY for engine.

Be careful with Hyundai Sime Darby lies

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 28
        • Henry on Jun 10, 2017 at 8:57 am

New top spec Honda Civic is 130k. A two year old one can still sell for 100k? LOL. You must be that stupid buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
        • Henry on Jun 10, 2017 at 9:01 am

You get me this turbo Elantra @ two years old for RM 60k. I will buy from you.

In fact I will pay you RM 61k for your trouble.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
          • Hehehe. KK tryin to take the job away from Samloo. Where is he? oh wait, now i geddit.

• Copy Paste John Ohwai on Jun 10, 2017 at 10:00 pm

Do try to go to work john, it will do you good!

• kakaka on Jun 11, 2017 at 6:55 pm

As we all know SL is KK

• Cerato99 on Jun 10, 2017 at 11:01 am

Aircon is Proton’s forte

• Eternalgl0ry on Jun 09, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Lol dct. Sorry I would rather go for cvt than dct for the reliability over performance

A lot of veloster turbo break down because of the dct

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 60
  • At that price? Its DoA, except for kimchi fanbois. And whats with that ah beng red seats.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
  • Why eev for hyundai is at 131k?, at least make it 15k cheaper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • Resemblance of Honda City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Hyundai owner on Jun 09, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Ok, it looks nicer and price is ok. Quality how? If CKD by Inokom confirm quality like shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Mahalnye on Jun 09, 2017 at 3:54 pm

I’m guess Korean Won appreciate higher since the last 5 years? Same as new Kia Cerato which was much more pricey than previous generation Kia Forte.

• hyundai89 on Jun 09, 2017 at 3:59 pm

The Audi of Asia has Arrive !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
  • Ben Yap on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:08 pm

With insurance the elantra turbo will set you back RM135K…. civic all the way….

5 years down the road, elantra turbo will fetch only RM50K while the civic will still hold at least RM70K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 30
  • Not Toyota Fan on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Koreans are catching up to the Japanese. But, after buying my first & only Korean car, will never buy another until Hyundai/ Kia open direct office here. Not just very poor RV but the local sole distributor is just killing the brand with poor service and business decisions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 2
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:13 pm

Very ambitious pricing.

Even considering everyone’s favourite whipping boy, Mazda for expensive prices, it undercuts this with the Mazda 3. The top model WITH the active city stop, BLIS, Active LED headlights is only about 125k, just slightly above the mid range 2.0 Dynamic.

Not sure if Mazdas price is OTR with insurance or not, but this Elantra is quoted OTR without insurance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Hyundai Fan on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:17 pm

If the 1.6 Turbo have LED Auto Headlights, instead of just HID, then it will be a perfect package. As Civic top of the range have those full LED headlights.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Also H Wat on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:18 pm

dont buy the wrong H pipu!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:20 pm

The red leather looks sexy. But doesn’t quite match the blue exterior. Maybe a silver, white or red exterior will match the red leather better. Looking forward to the performance battle against the Civic turbo. Think the hero from South Korea might hold the upper edge, having far more power and torque with DCT to control that power. DCT is easily more fun, but not as efficient, as a CVT. But that Civic is a lightweight car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Night Hunter on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:40 am

They both weigh similarly… around 1.25-1.36 tons between variants… Elantra has better power to weight ratio…

• ah loy on Jul 09, 2017 at 11:48 pm

The DCT is useless..never buy car with DCT..which is always breakdown on just on 40K mileage..cars with DCT is not reliable.

• Torsion Beam on 2.0L.. Hyundai, seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • normal_user on Jun 09, 2017 at 4:39 pm

torsion beam rear suspension for the low spec. hmm.
    good luck with that kind of pricing HSDM!

• Rocketman on Jun 09, 2017 at 5:39 pm

Can the car handle 204 PS and 265 Nm safely? The last time I drove the Elantra, the steering is vague and handling is so so only.

• Ron Chan on Jun 09, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Few months back I saw one with Singapore car plate number on North South Highway. Seeing from a certain distance behind I thought it was an Audi..but it has something which is different from an Audi. So I purposely drove near it to see more of it. Then I realized that it was an Elantra! It’s rear light looks very nice at night, on par with the new Audi A4, and certainly much better than the Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 8
  • Zoom Zoom on Jun 09, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Trust me.. with this price..total sales for this Elantra will not exceed 10% of Civic total sales. Previous elantra from RM 86k & New Elantra from 120k?? Yet most ppl still go for 85k B Segment Honda City than a 85k C Segment 1.6 Elantra. Now worst..more expensive than Civic/Mazda 3..lol. Next time Perodua can put in a 1.2 turbo into Myvi and sell for 70K+.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Ioniq on Jun 09, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Rather get Ioniq than the 2.0 Elantra. Much better specs, lower fuel, cheaper and better interior design/quality. Totally no brainer choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Morris Chan on Jun 09, 2017 at 9:24 pm

front looks like ioniq

• Jimmy on Jun 10, 2017 at 12:21 am

Does it have adaptive cruise control like ioniq?

• Hahahaha, alot of honda fanbois here, dear honda fanbois, ur civis lose to dis elantra 9 streets la, 0-100 in 6.8 secs, find me a c segment car that can go that fast at 130k, even Renault clio rs oso cost like 160k++, n civics 8.2 secs go eat shit la, civic owners b prepared to get smoked by elantra turbo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
    • zacky fuyoo on Jun 10, 2017 at 5:14 am

Fuyoo freaking fast! More faster than felali.
      Kenot belips kimchi RV drop so FAST 1….
      B prepared to get smoked by banks when trade in fast kimchis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • Preve at half the price. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Spyrer on Jun 10, 2017 at 1:47 am

Sport version looks promising. Not a fan of the red upholstery though. Hopefully, they offer the black.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 10, 2017 at 7:45 am

Congrats to HSDM on the new AD Elantra launch. Dua tangan thumbs up for 6 airbags and ESC as standard.

Good to know that Hyundai and Sime Darby have invested in local assembly for this generation as well. The C-sedan segment is not big enough these days to justify the investment costs of local assembly. Even the D-sedan segment is shrinking. Only the B- and A-sedan segments are sustainable.

From what I’ve gathered, all other ASEAN countries get the AD Elantra as a CBU Korea model. Only Malaysia gets it in CKD/SKD form.

This is good news for our auto industry, because as with the previous MD Elantra, Hyundai may allow Sime Darby/ Inokom to export the new AD Elantra to Thailand in the near future. (Hyundai-Kia has no factory in Thailand)

But the ultimate factor will be local sales itself. We shall see if the AD Elantra can sell modestly like the previous MD. But to be honest, I think many will still choose the FC Civic for many reasons… but that doesn’t change the fact that the AD Elantra is a great car in its own right.

• Wajib on Jun 10, 2017 at 8:42 am

This new elantra hp is more than new accord and new camry though smaller cc

• ChanLW on Jun 10, 2017 at 10:11 am

Having ride in the car as passenger in Singapore, I would say this car feels more solid and quieter (maybe due to it is still new and more powerful engine) than the current generation of Civic which I own. It didn’t seems to struggle like my Civic when carrying 4 adults and luggage. But my Civic has bigger rear seat space than this Elantra which is important when having passengers at the back. Asking why he chose this car instead of Civic, my relative said Elantra looks better and also feels better when he test drove both.

• Supposed to buy Hyundai 2 years ago on Jun 10, 2017 at 10:16 am

I don’t see this mention anywhere in the article but does it have brake hold function like in the civic?

• hmm base 2.0 exec looks like a bargain vs honda civic 1.8

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST on Jun 10, 2017 at 8:44 pm

yes pl buy…even u tnk u can afford…my member consis of tow truck drivers and warehouse…we are very happy with this make..plsbuy …my business needs u

• noturbonobuy on Jun 11, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Toyota SA sudah goyang. Now tell me who is going to buy your underpowered altis? Even chaplang preve tebu is more torquey.

• hyundaiahbeng on Jun 10, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Those Honda Civic FC pussies all around Malaysia will be smoked by this low RV and hated by Malaysians Hyundai.
    They dont even know that this Elantra exists. LOL
    Diorang bodoh, let them be.

• wb055 on Jun 11, 2017 at 3:57 am

Gaduh-gaduh apa la, semua bergantung atas diri sendiri, kalau suka Elantra, pakai la. Saya owner Civic 1.5 Turbo tapi memang kagum dengan Elantra baru ni, mungkin performance ada lebih sikit dari Civic 1.5 Turbo tapi overall, interior, extrior Civic 1.5 win la, without a doubt.
    ELantra macam Audi? takapa la, janji Civic tetap Civic, tu yang aku suka.
    Yang mana cakap Civic 0-100km/h only 8.2sec, kalau nak masuk drag race penting lah, ni kegunaan harian, dalam bandar, nak pecut macam lahanat yang pentingkan diri sendiri ka? setiap kali start enjin, terus nak bawak laju a.k.a nak showoff ka? takperlu rasanya..dan taklah setiap masa bawak slow ja, tengok situasi dengan mood sama, bukan nak kira tunjuk dekat orang lain.
    Aku bukan taksuka Elantra ni, cuma rasa yakin lebih dengan nama Honda ni sendiri. Kepada peminat Hyundai semua, jangan la main tembak tak pakai helmet, maybe Elantra punya performance lebih sikit dari Civic but Civic got all the packages, look, feel sporty modern lifestyle when driving, performance, smooth ride.
    Ingat, aku bukan tak suka Elantra, aku cuma pilih Civic. Kereta taksalah, orang yang dok komen komen ni yang masalah, entah entah naik wira tukar nama Mitsubishi atau myvi tukar logo Toyota ja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Keretakeretakereta on Jun 11, 2017 at 6:14 am

The elantra’s excellent ‘soundtrack’ and the better handling surely suited for people who enjoy driving more. Civic is more suitable to family guy definitely..

• C segment on Jun 11, 2017 at 10:26 am

Why so much fuss about elantra t-gdi or civic fc 1.5 T? u buy what u want to buy, elantra T is very tempting in its own way, civic fc T also tempting in its own way..so just choose wisely and ask your bank account…..please, be an adult, dont bash this and that…people choose what they want to buy…

• mercowner on Jun 11, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Both cars are for pandan, real man drives merc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
      • alex chan on Jun 12, 2017 at 9:55 am

palau pandan jauh katangah
        gunung daik bercabangan tiga
        kalau tiada wang yg banyah
        jgn cuba beli elantra

• My dad’s 40 years old Honda Cup still on the road. Hyundai make better engine? Better engine cover ada la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • sony brand on Jun 13, 2017 at 3:56 pm

First gen elantra fuel consumptions very bad, 2nd gen improved a lot but got suspensions problem just after 3 years. For the price better buy civic or altis. If wan specs canggih a bit buy kia cerato. Sime darby car assembly standard not yet reach the level as umw, honda or even naza.

• isengard12 on Jun 15, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Good for Hyundai!! Not sure if Sime Darby is up to the job of servicing such “advanced” cars (read Ioniq, Turbo Elantras).

The fuel consumption remains to be seen. Western media is praising the Elantra Turbo about it’s good driving dynamics, high level of kit, dual clutch etc. Rarely did they mention about the Elantra Turbo’s fuel consumption.

• Johnny on Jun 21, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Designed by Peter Schreyer?

• unknown880 on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:49 pm

I owned civic TC-P. I impressive by the power and torque by this 2017 Hyundai Elantra 1.6T, but from paper, interior abit… well, for me, about civic exterior. I can’t see a thing when I sit and drive my civic dailies, I will more concern interrior. Once you drive over 1 or 2 hours when go or back from work. You will know.. in daily