DRIVEN: Volvo V90 T6 AWD – looks above all else?

For a carmaker whose overriding priority is safety, Volvo sure pulls plenty of motoring enthusiasts. Yes, its cars lack the all-out driver involvement of those from Germany and Italy, but there’s an intrinsic appeal to understated, yet fastidious Swedish design and engineering – and with Saab out of the picture, Volvo is now the default flag bearer for those of a more Scandinavian disposition.

Its at times shaky financial history (not actually shaky enough to put it out of business, unlike Saab) has probably only helped it become more endearing. Originally founded in 1927 as a carmaking subsidiary of SKF, Volvo became independent in 1935 as a small, vulnerable concern that was eventually swallowed up by Ford in 1999, and was nearly shuttered as its parent company was on the verge of bankruptcy.

Chinese conglomerate Geely became its current custodian in 2010, and although Volvo fleshed out the lower end of its lineup in the interim with the V40 in 2012, it took its time to take on the premium market, developing a new modular platform, engines and technologies. A new XC90 arrived first in 2014 to replace the 11-year-old original, but the world would be waiting still for the latest in a line of iconic Volvo wagons.

Well, the new Volvo V90 has finally arrived, here to fill the parking lots of IKEAs and gardening centres once more. This, as well as its S90 sedan sibling, is probably the most serious attempt Gothenburg has made at challenging the hegemony of the BMW 5 Series and Mercedes-Benz E-Class. But will it work? We drive the stunning new longroof model on local roads to find out.

Volvo Car Malaysia hasn’t been shy with the positioning of the V90 – the base T5 comes within a whisker of the BMW 530i and the less powerful Mercedes-Benz E 250 Exclusive, at the sharp end of RM400,000. The T6 AWD you see here retails, rather ambitiously, at a snip under RM460,000. Both variants carry a modest RM5,000 premium over the equivalent S90 sedans, which seems like good value for the extra space.

That’s as it stands at the moment; later on, the big wagon will be locally-assembled (CKD) in Shah Alam, which will almost certainly bring lower prices. There will also be a T8 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid version on the way that will take advantage of tax breaks offered under the Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV) scheme, a route the company has taken previously with the XC90.

Given the significant outlay you’ll need to own one, it’s a good job that the V90 is as svelte as it is. Gone is the trademark Volvo flat roof and upright rear windscreen, replaced by a low-slung glasshouse and a rakish rear end, framed by gorgeous L-shaped LED tail lights. It’s handsome at the front, too, with distinctive “Thor’s Hammer” LED headlights that flank a thrusting six-pointed grille and oversized iron mark.

In between, Volvo has done a great job of paring back the surfacing, with the strong, crisp shoulder line being the only notable flourish along the flanks. The proportions are especially impressive – the long dash-to-axle ratio emphasises the V90’s considerable length and gives it a relaxed, laid-back gracefulness. It’s quite a break from the staid, upright look of its predecessors.

The car already looks great in standard form, but the R-Design appearance package on this T6 model elevates the styling to a whole new level. The larger front air intakes, deeper side skirts and a menacing rear diffuser with integrated twin exhaust exits give the V90 a sportier edge, without being too aggressive.

Meanwhile, satin silver door mirror caps – not unlike the metal covers on Audi S models – add an extra touch of class, and the 19-inch two-tone five-spoke alloy wheels fill out the arches convincingly. But for the full effect, you’ll need to specify the Bursting Blue Metallic paint seen here, which really makes the styling pop.

The same calm, considered approach to design can be found inside as well, with a flat fascia that doesn’t try to assault you with a myriad of angles, surfaces or materials. Instead, it’s peppered with tiny details that only reveal themselves as you go closer, such as the thin piece of metal that frames the dashboard, elegant vertical air vent slats and beautiful knurling on the controls, like the eccentric engine start/stop knob.

Also notable are several pointers to Volvo’s rich history, such as a little Swedish flag on the seats and the “Since 1959” script embossed into the metal seat belt tab, a reference to the company being the first carmaker to introduce the three-point seat belt, on the PV 544. Unfortunately, however, the XC90’s gorgeous crystal gearknob made by Swedish glass specialist Orrefors isn’t fitted here – it’s reserved for T8 models.

The R-Design-specific touches – matte carbon-fibre trim, metal pedals, thicker steering wheel – add a welcome dose of sportiness inside, while the sports seats upholstered in Nappa leather and suede-like nubuck invite you to slide in. Once ensconced, you’ll find them very supportive, with plenty of adjustment and sizeable bolsters that keep you in place in the corners – although they might be a little tight for larger drivers.

It’s the twin screens that dominate the cabin, however, starting with the 12.3-inch digital instrument display ahead of the driver, which can be configured with different themes and is able to display navigation information between the dials. The display technology, however, seems to be a generation behind its competitors, lacking the colour and contrast of the screens in the 5 Series and E-Class.

More impressive is the glossy nine-inch portrait-format touchscreen that forms part of the Sensus Connect infotainment system. Volvo has crammed quite a lot of functionality into the system – aside from music and navigation, the screen also controls the air-conditioning and plenty of other features that are traditionally operated by several hard buttons across the cabin.

Because so many functions have now been dropped into a separate menu in the user interface, the whole thing feels absolutely bewildering to use at first, as it’s fairly difficult to discern the functions of the myriad of buttons at a glance. But time breeds familiarity, and before long you’ll start to notice the benefits of having such a tall screen plastered in the centre of the dashboard.

For one, the big screen is able to provide an expansive view of the navigation map, so you can see more of your selected route – even if the map itself is less detailed or attractive to look at compared to BMW and Mercedes’ systems. Scrolling through radio station presets and playlists is also a cinch, and you don’t have to dive deep into the menus to get to the main controls.

Volvo may be looking to take the Germans head-on in terms of interior ambience, but fit and finish still leaves a little to be desired. There are plenty of leather-lined touch points and soft touch plastics on the upper surfaces, but the few materials that are neither are hard and slightly brittle. The worst offender is the piece next to the covered cupholders, which has a sharp edge that can slice your finger if you’re not careful.

Thankfully, there’s little to complain about in terms of interior space. Aside from the comfy and infinitely-adjustable front seats, those at the rear get ample head- and legroom, the former even with the panoramic sunroof that eats up space. However, the tall transmission tunnel means that three-abreast seating can be a little awkward, particularly if they’re all adults.

It’s the boot that lets the side down. Boxy wagons with massive cargo holds have been a staple of Volvo’s lineup, going together with Swedish flat-pack furniture like meatballs and lingonberry sauce. However, the V90’s sweeping glasshouse and dramatic sloping rear windscreen – designed to give the car a more lifestyle bent – cuts deep into luggage space, so it’s no longer Gothenburg’s trump card.

In fact, the V90’s boot is actually smaller than most of the wagon competition. At 560 litres, it’s 10 litres smaller than the new 5 Series Touring, and a shocking 110 litres less than the latest E-Class Estate – which itself has 25 litres less luggage space than its predecessor.

Fold down the 60:40 split-folding rear seats and space only increases to 1,526 litres, 175 litres short on the BMW and 294 litres on the Mercedes. It should of course be noted that the V90 is the only large wagon to be sold here officially, and its boot is still a fair bit larger than most executive sedans.

The Volvo also does have a few neat touches of its own; aside from the usual tie-down hooks to secure your luggage, there’s also a handy shopping bag holder that flips out from the floor on the T6, which should prove useful for your weekly Tesco runs.

As befits a Volvo, the V90 is chock full of safety kit, with both models getting the IntelliSafe suite of driver assistance features. This includes City Safety autonomous emergency braking, which operates at speeds between 4 and 70 km/h and can detect vehicles, pedestrians, cyclists and large animals.

Volvo’s Pilot Assist semi-autonomous driving system also comes as standard, incorporating Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) with Queue Assist and Lane Keeping Aid (LKA) – these keep the car in the middle of its lane and at a set distance from the car in front, at speeds of up to 130 km/h. It’s a first in the segment here in Malaysia, with the BMW 530i only coming with active cruise control.

Although the cruise control works well for the most part – taking the load off prodding the throttle in stop-start traffic – we’re not quite so sure of the lane-keeping function. In practice, the V90 veers unnervingly close to the left side of the lane to be able to put our trust in the system, perhaps because it hasn’t really been designed with our road markings in mind – systems from other manufacturers like BMW and Mercedes work much better in practice, and at much higher speeds than the Volvo.

Other safety features include Driver Alert Control (DAC), Run Off Road Mitigation and Protection with Road Edge Detection, Lane Departure Warning, Rear Collision Warning and Mitigation, Blind Spot Information System (BLIS) and Cross Traffic Alert (CTA).

All this is on top of the usual array of active and passive safety features, including six airbags; seat belt pretensioners on all seats; rear booster cushions for children; ABS with EBD and brake assist; stability control with Active Yaw Control, Understeer Control Logic and brake-operated Dynamic Torque Vectoring; hill descent control; Ready Alert Brake (RAB) and Fading Brake Support (FBS).

Forming the bones of the V90 is the Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) that also underpins the XC90, S90 and new XC60. Suspension is handled by double wishbones at the front and an integral-link rear axle with a transverse composite leaf spring to make room for more luggage.

Unlike the XC90, the V90 does without air suspension, sticking to passive springs and dampers. This T6, however, receives the R-Design setup that is stiffer and lowers the ride height by 15 mm. A scroll dial aft of the starter knob lets you cycle through the Eco, Comfort, Dynamic and Individual modes, which adjusts steering weight, brake feel and engine and gearbox response.

Naturally, a range-topping model needs range-topping power, so the 2.0 litre Drive-E turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine has been outfitted with a supercharger to boost power and low-end response. Essentially, it’s the same mill fitted to the 407 hp/640 Nm T8, but shorn of the electric part of the drivetrain.

Outputs have thus swelled to 320 hp at 5,700 rpm and 400 Nm from 2,200 to 5,400 rpm – figures that are 66 hp and 50 Nm up on the T5 model. An Aisin eight-speed automatic transmission and all-wheel drive are standard on the T6. With the addition of a not-so-frugal supercharger and all-paw system, it’s no surprise to find that combined fuel consumption has jumped from 6.8 to 7.7 litres per 100 km.

For all the shock and awe generated by those brow-raising numbers, initial impressions could leave you feeling a trite disappointed. Sure, the T6 is fast, dispatching the 0-100 km/h sprint in just 6.1 seconds, but the portly 1,883 kg kerb weight does its best to blunt the feeling of speed behind the wheel.

A closer inspection of the figures bears this out – even without all-wheel drive traction, the much less powerful, but hugely lighter 530i completes the same benchmark just a tenth of a second slower, as does the Mercedes E 300. Yet this rather superficial comparison doesn’t tell you the full story.

Indeed, the T6 isn’t the speed freak the engine outputs might suggest, but its remarkably seamless power delivery more than makes up for it. The quick-spooling supercharger provides instant throttle response from idle, after which the larger turbo takes over to punt you towards the redline – and the horizon.

You don’t feel any switchover as the revs climb, just a wave of torque that builds the instant you floor the loud pedal. Emphasising this easygoing nature is the eight-speed auto, which shifts smoothly and responds fairly quickly to throttle inputs, although the gearchanges themselves aren’t exactly the fastest.

If only the engine note was a little more sonorous. Volvo may have managed to extract the power of a multi-cylinder mill while sticking to its four-pot limit, but it certainly hasn’t replicated the sound. The T6 produces a flat drone rather than a warble from a six-cylinder engine, and doesn’t quite have the latter’s trademark creamy smoothness, with small vibrations coming through to the major controls.

That would be fine if it was at least whisper-quiet, but that isn’t the case here. The V90 doesn’t isolate the powertrain from the occupants as well as its competitors do, and while the noise coming from the front is not very intrusive, it does make itself known under acceleration. There’s also a bit more roar from the tyres than we would otherwise have liked, although wind noise is well-suppressed.

What’s more, the ride isn’t up to par with what you’d expect for something so expensive. The stiffer suspension and larger wheels conspire to rob the V90 of much of its compliancy, crashing into large potholes and sharp bumps. The good news is that the car remains composed over undulations and smaller ridges, but even here the Volvo falls short of the standards set by the BMW and Mercedes.

Not something you’d likely want to hear, especially as even with the sportier setup, the V90’s dynamic abilities still aren’t a patch on the best of its rivals. The steering is accurate and weighty enough (especially in Dynamic mode), but it’s low-geared and doesn’t give the car a real sense of agility.

What you do notice is the lack of body roll, but on the flip side the harder suspension makes the Volvo fidget over mid-corner bumps. As expected, the V90 has momentous traction owing to the all-wheel drive system, but the addition of a driven rear axle hasn’t exactly turned the car into much of an entertaining steer – push harder and it is still the front that washes wide first.

To sum up, the Volvo V90 represents a bit of a quandary. Yes, it’s very fast and capable, but it just doesn’t have the last degree of poise and precision of the E-Class and especially the accomplished 5 Series. Despite this, it’s also not comfortable or refined enough, which is borderline unacceptable for an executive car designed to cosset. Quite simply, it feels out of its depth next to the competition in terms of driving dynamics.

But while it wouldn’t be wrong to dismiss the V90 solely on its road manners, it would also be a bit unfair. Because this is a car that has been beautifully designed, full of thoughtful practical touches and lavished with the kind of attention to detail that escapes most of its German rivals. It also helps that it is positively gorgeous to behold – especially dressed to the nines in R-Design trim and in this fetching blue hue.

Ultimately, whether the V90 is right for you depends very much on what you’re looking for in this rarefied segment. As a traditional mode of business-class transport, the Volvo is just too noisy, stiff and dynamically inert to cut the mustard – so whether you’re looking to be isolated from the world or immerse yourself in the driving experience, both the BMW and Mercedes are far better options.

That’s not to say that you should avoid the V90 altogether; after all, it is the only large wagon officially on sale in Malaysia, so if you’re looking for a massive, luxurious load-lugger, this really is your sole option. And if you just want to splurge on a left-field alternative that stands out against a sea of grey sedans, you really can’t do much better than a funny-looking car with a funny badge.

Of course, if all else fails to justify the purchase, you can always just look at it.

The Volvo V90 is on sale now in two forms – the RM393,888 T5 and the RM458,888 T6 AWD R-Design you see here. Prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year/120,000 km warranty.

GALLERY: Volvo V90 T6 AWD

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 14, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Well worthy Msia national car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 14, 2017 at 6:53 pm

Volvo was near bankruptcy in 2010. But thankfully Geely took over. It gave Volvo life. Geely even pumped in US$12 billion (RM55 billion) into Volvo to give it life. Today, Geely is fully restored and in high demand.

Geely paid Proton Rm170 million for 49% of Proton. This money won’t last long. At most 2 months before habis. Geely also gave Proton the rights to rebadge Geely’s SUV. This rights is valued at RM600 million.

Let us hope the Proton SUV sales bring in some money for Proton as the RM170 million cash for 49% of Proton will finish very fast.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 36
    • transformer on Jun 15, 2017 at 8:14 am

Volvo is a world class car company, innovative, inventive, has many world first such as seatbelt, ABS, whiplash protection, many patents under their belt and their cars known to saved thousand of lifes…. those goes on even after geely acquired Volvo.

You can compare Proton with Volvo… that’s the biggest jokes like Clown has nothing to do with that 2.6Bil….

In reality, what Proton has is just mere empty land, empty factory, worker with empty brains BUT one thing for sure is FULL is their yards, FULL OF UNWANTED CARS! all over Malaysia….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 5
    • takNakP1 on Jun 15, 2017 at 10:48 am

as long as the badge is still Proton, it won’t sell.
      3 decades of fear and phobia…

• 12yrsold on Jun 15, 2017 at 11:03 am

Agree that the 170 million will be gone in just 6.1 sec. The same time the V90 T6 will hit 100kph.

• Bolestar on Jun 14, 2017 at 7:33 pm

The White Knight has Arrive !

• Prestige > all else.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 14, 2017 at 8:43 pm

soon proton v90…sedap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • Maybe things are better in the T5 variant, without the R-design bits. Did you guys take the T5 for a ride?

• Tasha on Jun 15, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Jonathan is not a proper professional car reviewer as I see it. It is a one sided review siding towards mercedes and BMW in which these German cars I do not have much interest in owning except a volvo or a lexus. He cannot differentiat between low profile tyres with stiffer suspension affecting car ride and comfort in comparing with higher profile tires and softer and higher suspension.

Every one knows polestars performance tune suspension and low profile tyres always provide uncomfortable ride plying Malaysian roads

Jonathan should have take a ride on this v90 with slightly softer suspension set up and higher profile tyres before summarised into conclusion comparing to merc or whatever damn BMW 5 series ( no interest to buy at all). It is really a one and loop sided review . I do not buy into Jonathan half baked review. Just so sorry to say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
      • You’re kidding right? What is the point of purposedly asking for a softer suspension Volvo when this is the one on sale and being reviewed?

• Jonn Dol on Jun 14, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Wagons will always be appealing to a very small group of people. Sedans still rule in most part of the world. Can’t wait for the upcoming new S40 & S60. That is if the Swedes have the confidence to take on the German giants again. I know SUVs is selling in big numbers nowadays but nothing could replace the traditional Sedan market for sheer excitement & prestige. So come on Volvo. The S90 is a promising start..

• tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2017 at 1:43 am

A disappointing review, Jonathan. Clear lack of understanding on what people look for in a wagon and Volvo.

Being the only wagon in its class, it’s a very niche segment that appeals to wagon fans. Volvo have made some of the greatest and memorable wagons in history, since Amazon wagon, P1800 ES, legendary 245, 850 R, V60 Polestar and now the V90 T6 R-design. It’s more than just about looks, it’s about a lifestyle or exclusivity that you simply ignored or gravely underestimate. I might as well review a Ferrari and be disappointed i can’t service it as cheaply as a myvi. Yea, fair points about the Volvo not the biggest in its class, but you can’t buy the rest (except through grey imports), so the argument is mute (anyway, salahan Thomas Ingenlath wanna make V90 smexy at the cost of space, but forgiven bcuz it really does look sexy). While the Germans chickened out, Volvo Cars Msia provide that option, it helped Volvo have tremendous heritage of great wagon offerings. And while I don’t like to talk RV in this segment, wagons do tend to hold their value better than sedan counterpart, and they tend to be cared better cuz only hardcore fans would buy a wagon. It’s pretty normal they tend to gather in social media and internet forums, ever happy to share their joyous ownership experience. For this exclusivity, price tag is irrelevant, if you can afford it, you just buy it. If you’re not a wagon fan, once you commit to this, it’s impossible to be disappointed. The exclusivity you bought into in fact makes you feel you got a bargain, vs conformity of a German sedan.

And lol at the conclusion, am I reading an Alfa review? So the only redeeming point of a Volvo is its design? And what an insult to wagon cult, so wagon are for eccentric funny weirdos?

You put too much emphasis on ride and handling, of which when it fell short of your expectation, you sound so disappointed, you can only think the only reason anyone would buy is because it looks good. Kek. Speaking of which, be aware in the near future as Volvo will have Lotus handling. We know what they did for Proton, imagine what they can do for Volvo, with greater resource to spend. Oh yea Germans, watch out cuz tongsan is comiiing.

You yourself noted the car is still composed, that’s good enough. Volvo owners don’t drive like maniac to nitpick like in your review, they just need power in reserve when they might need it, but otherwise, just be a smooth operator (how Swedish to be so understated). The Aisin gearbox may partly be responsible for its lackluster driving experience against the Germans, but Volvo chose them because they’re as reliable as it gets (dare anyone question Toyota’s and Lexus’ reliability?). Volvos also are much heavier, which can be attributed to it having AWD and hot pressed boron steel for maximum safety.

Volvo is still the World’s Safest Car, and in local context, it’s still better equipped than German rivals. The Mercedes E300 doesn’t even have blind spot monitoring system. The Volvo is the only car with built-in booster seats and AWD. Yea, technically AWD do contribute to a car’s safety, at the cost of economy and weight. This only get a brief mention in the review, the V90 is AWD, the only one in its class. Though the benefit is greater felt in all-season countries, additional grip is always welcomed, it makes for safer drive too. You’re underestimating the feature that’s making the V90 more special than other offerings in the market. When it comes to safety, Volvo never ever compromise.

The BMW can’t even fold rear seats, though embarrassingly, even the Volvo sedan S90 can’t either (come on Volvo Cars Malaysia!!!), hence why the V90 is the way to go.

Granted it’s a bit of a shame the V90 don’t have adaptive dampers, which could’ve change everything in your review. On the flip side, the traditional dampers may be more reliable and cheaper to replace in the future.

Oh well, there’s so much more I think I can say, it’s getting really tl;dr, but the point is, the Volvo is more than what the review is implying. The fact this car is a hotseller worldwide means it’s capturing its target market well. In fact, year to date as of May 2017, the V90 outsold the S90 worldwide.

Volvo > all
    Geely > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 5
    • The entire PT.org team sat down for an emergency meeting following this comment and will exercise more-than-the-usual care and compassion the next time they review a Volvo, if they dare…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Isengard on Jun 15, 2017 at 10:53 am

Nice. Volvo V90 Cross Country is better suited for kampung road conditions and MY driver quirks.

Given same price point, XC90 T8 more practical choice.

• tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2017 at 11:12 am

V90 CC unlikely to be brought in.

XC60 may fit the bill if XC90 is too big.

• Tokless on Jun 15, 2017 at 11:02 am

This tokmoh clown is a Volvo fan for sure. But he doesn’t know the first thing about what a person actually in market for a car in this segment and can actually afford to buy one looks for. Completely agree with the reviewers points.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
      • tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2017 at 11:14 am

You’re assuming everyone wants the same thing. You just never met enough people.

Wagon is a niche segment, and there is demand for it albeit small.

• If someone is going to buy it just because its a wagon then he will buy it because it is a wagon anyway. At least this review lets the buyer go into his purchase with open eyes what the car is really like.

• But someone above says wagon sells well here wor. So who to belip?

• Jonathan (also) on Jun 15, 2017 at 12:45 pm

I am in awe with your comment, tokmoh. Whilst it may be straying away slightly from ultimate objectivity (I could sense the emotions of a wagon owner and/or Volvo fan), I think your feedback in on point to what proper reviewing should be.
      After all, not all cars are just ‘pedal to the metal and see how they compare’; not especially when it is a Volvo, a brand which sells not only cars as a commuter, but a lifestyle / personality statement. It may not be fast, it may not be on point through the corners, it may not be as precise as the others, but those dynamics simply aren’t enough to call the car “Just worthy for its design.”

Perhaps a note to Jon Lee (if I may), we could feel your disappointment in how your review kinda went downhill after it failed to perform as you might like. But a proper review should be absent of this “writer’s preference” emotions solely because your words reach out to many. Instead, a COMPLETE review constitutes a rock-solid and appreciated journalism, and complete being in terms of not only when you are driving, touching, and using the car, but also the ownership of it (albeit through your short few days with it).
      While your ownership feeling might be personal as well, at the very least it gives an insight into what people can expect, what more when a car guy says it.

Nevertheless, I appreciate the details which you provided (sharp edges, etc.)

Cheers

• Ollie on Jun 15, 2017 at 2:22 pm

The review was well-written and well-thought out. Good job, Jon.

• Aero (Member) on Jun 15, 2017 at 6:56 am

Great review. I’m sure once Volvo starts local assembly, they will be able to price the S/V90 far below its German rivals. Especially so for the Hybrid versions. At least then, the S/V90 will have value for money working in its favour, just like the XC90 T8.

• tokmoh. on Jun 15, 2017 at 10:13 am

That’s why. The current units are for purists who don’t mind paying premium for getting CBU Sweden units.

The real deal begins with CKD Shah Alam units, but current owners need not feel alarmed. They can still bangga la their ones are pure Made By Sweden.

• Jonn Dol on Jun 15, 2017 at 10:45 am

Lower price is one thing but what we’ve seen before & maybe now, people still flocked to the German brands (sedans & hatches). Maybe with the future input from Lotus, the handling & image could be further strengthen a bit. Interior-wise , the quality & the luxury feel is there & almost close to the Germans. Same goes for the infotainment. Volvo should improve these things in the next new/facelift projects!

• Just like VW after the proposed proton-vw venture earlier, volvo sales will jump in Malaysia soon

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 15, 2017 at 9:37 am

there is something from Volvo that geely really wanted…same to proton laah…ekekkekekekekekekkee..

• arowana on Jun 15, 2017 at 1:37 pm

it’s a shame that our minister is noob about the existence of Volvo manufacturing in Malaysia since 1960’s.

We as Malaysians feel so embarrassed to Volvo’s contribution to our nation due to the stupidity of our MITI minister.

• arowana on Jun 15, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Malaysians’ “we”.. obviously you’re not Malaysian, so stay out