Volvo V40 facelift launched in Malaysia – T5 Inscription priced at RM180,888; T4 to be introduced at later date

Volvo Car Malaysia has officially launched the facelifted Volvo V40 in Malaysia, which was first unveiled during the 2016 Geneva Motor Show. Available in a sole T5 Drive-E variant, the V40 is also specified with the Inscription trim level (following the trim hierarchy set by the XC90).

Visually, the facelift introduces the brand’s “Thor’s Hammer” daytime running lights to the V40’s LED headlights. There’s also a new Inscription grille, which also hosts the sensors the car’s active safety systems, and the latest interpretation of the iconic Iron Mark logo.

Elsewhere, the car remains pretty much unchanged from before, with the V40 T5 Inscription riding on 17-inch ‘Sarpas’ diamond-cut alloy wheels finished in silver, shod with 225/45 tyres.

Buyers will get to choose from four exterior colours – Ice White, Onxy Black, Osmium Grey, and Luminous Sand – the last being a new addition here.

Inside the cabin, the previous Shimmer Graphite dash inlay has been replaced with a Milled Aluminium finish. New ‘Inscription’ tread plates have also been added, while the updated Iron Mark can be seen in other interior bits (steering wheel, Sensus display and key fob).

Under the hood, the Drive-E T5 2.0 litre turbo four-pot serves up 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque from 1,500 to 4,800 rpm. The mill is mated to an Aisin-sourced eight-speed torque converter automatic, with drive going to the front wheels.

With a top speed of 240 km/h, the V40 will also see the first 100 km/h from a standstill in just 6.3 seconds. According to Volvo, the V40 will offer a fuel consumption of 6.1 litres per 100 km (16.4 km/l).

In terms of equipment, you’ll still find eight-way powered Comfort Seats (with memory function for the driver), black leather upholstery, dual-zone automatic climate control (with CleanZone air filtration), digital instrument cluster with an eight-inch Adaptive Digital Display, and Sensus infotainment system linked to an 180-watt, eight-speaker sound system and seven-inch colour screen.

The comprehensive safety kit here includes Blind Spot Information System (BLIS), Cross Traffic Alert, City Safety collision avoidance and mitigation (works up to 50 km/h), Dynamic Stability and Traction Control, Torque Vectoring, and Active Bending Lights, and seven airbags (with a knee airbag on the driver’s side).

The new V40 T5 Inscription is priced at RM180,888 (on-the-road without insurance), which includes a five-year/100,000 km mileage warranty and five-year Volvo On Call service. Customers who are interested in the less powerful T4 variant (190 hp and 300 Nm) will be glad to know Volvo Car Malaysia has plans to introduce the variant at a later date.

For detailed specifications of the Volvo V40 T5 Inscription, head on over to CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 180k for all these safety kits is a great value!! dam..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 1
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 19, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Thank you Geely for making Volvo healthy again. Please make sure our Proton also wake up from their deep slumber.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 17
      • notakata on Jun 20, 2017 at 5:09 am

Meanwhile, nobody wants to make takata wake up from deep slumber, noone knows whether jepunis airbags working or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • John King of Dupes on Jun 20, 2017 at 8:59 am

I hope workers in Proton work hard. Too many billions soft loan

• Muntakunta on Jun 20, 2017 at 8:10 pm

I’m sick of this Kunta maniac. He is a jobless keyboard warrior lurking here 24/7

• Kopi paste kunta on Jun 19, 2017 at 10:39 pm

Interior is a bit disappointing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
      • Yeah..outdated dashboard

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:47 am

THE front design = chipmunk head
        Dashboard design = worse than 2017 perodua myvi
        180k = Failed bigtime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
      • Agree that it looks outdated in pictures. But its actually not bad if you see it in flesh. I have to say the choise of materials used are high in quality and much better than alot of its rivals at this price point.

• Facelifted exterior with the same dated interior. Tokmoh won’t approve of this.

• tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 11:18 pm

If can wait, new gen is coming by end of this year.

But a Volvo is still a Volvo, bang for buck vs Germans for what you’re getting.

• thepolygonal on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:51 am

Wonder if the coming XC40 will be around this price range… hmmm…

• tokmoh. on Jun 19, 2017 at 6:44 pm

THOR IS HERE!

Hnnnggghhh

Volvo > all

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 19, 2017 at 7:00 pm

Lucky Geely save Volvo. China brains and hard work has turn the company around.

Hopefully, Geely pump in some brains, hardwork and focus to the existing Proton workers. Then Proton too can turn around.

Enough of lepak, rilaks, minum teh 8x, minum sirap bandung dan makan ketupat whole day long. Time to work hard now!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 18
    • Now u say geely lepak, rilaks, minum teh 8x, minum sirap bandung dan makan ketupat whole day long. Apa lagi lah u nak fitnah. 1st ur competitor jepunis lord, then Swedes pulak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 31
      • Tanjung Rambutan on Jun 20, 2017 at 8:16 am

Dear john,
        By judging on your comment, we would like to invite you to our centre for a free brain checkup.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
      • John King of Dupes on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:00 am

Kunta’s pet dog follows him everywhere

• Thor Hammer on Jun 19, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Wow! More powerful than 320i and yet much cheaper too!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 2
  • Ssibal on Jun 19, 2017 at 7:14 pm

This is legit bmw merc audi killers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
    • Minyakik on Jun 20, 2017 at 11:19 am

Joke of the day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
    • Dream on Jun 20, 2017 at 3:08 pm

In your dream. German big 3 owner will ask u is volvo still there?

• tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 11:16 pm

No, because Volvo smoked them all edi. Volvo owner da balik, spend quality time with family, Germans tunggu tow truck cuz gearbox upcar again.

• Gaviny on Jun 19, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Not liking the Buick Regal face, the old square grille more sporty

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on Jun 19, 2017 at 8:09 pm

I love the V40. Had the T5 version for a long weekend. It is GTI fast with the driving dynamics of a Ford focus which it is based on. The leather is soft and comfortable. It feels so luxurious and refined compared to the unMercedes cheap feeling A-Class and problematic DSG VW Golf. I am happy to see more and more people starting to appreciate modern Volvos.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
  • Aero Tourer on Jun 19, 2017 at 8:32 pm

A bad experienced with Volvo V40CC. Door lock, cabin noise, power point, battery, aircond burning smell and etc have problems since new in 2014 till todate. These issues remain unsettled by Federal Auto. Consider before you buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
    • wanasmav on Jun 19, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Youre not alone! I’ve this problem too since day 1. Yet, the Volvo after sales service way below par! Volvo needs to do major overhaul for their after sales service. On par with Proton only…think thrice before you buy. Tired of bad after sales by Vol-Vo

• Aiyoh, didn’t know Volvo cars are like that.. Hmm, gotto think twice now

• tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 8:40 am

Sorry about your predicament, you should try get 2nd opinion from other Volvo service centre.

Plenty other happy owners out there, you should be able to fix those issues too.

• wanasmav on Jun 20, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Well noted. FYI, i did change my service center too. Glenmarie to Federal. Guess what? Even worse! Then, thought of changing to Jalan Kuching. Then, I was told, oh my, the original volvo service team no longer there, replace by ex- VW. Wow! Shall I try to send to Proton SC then? Long shot Man, Long shot…

• tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 6:43 pm

Hmm, perhaps you gotta try ask from other V40 owners.

They have an active whatsapp group, u can request to join them on V40 Msia club on fb. They may have experienced what you had and know how to rectify it.

The group seems a happy bunch, usually problem gets solved, then they continue an enjoyable ownership experience.

Servicing Volvo in a Proton SC, it may just happen in the near future lol.

Despite the nasty reputation, Proton never seemed fussy about warranty claims. Some Japanese brands are worse.

• U may have a better chance to get better servis in P1 center.

• Niamaa PT on Jun 19, 2017 at 9:22 pm

Rebadge as Potong and sell for RM45k perliss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
    • No problem, sir. W/o windows, tayar, aircon, steering wheel, engine, nor any safety feature at all. When gonna order, sir?

• Raymond Chia on Jun 19, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Waiting eagerly for the new XC60…..when????

• tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 12:12 am

They target by end of the year.

Even so, not surprised will be CBU Sweden only, CKD may need to wait longer.

• Bernard on Jun 19, 2017 at 10:06 pm

This car got RV ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
    • tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 12:19 am

U want RV, go buy property.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
    • Archer May on Jun 20, 2017 at 3:40 am

Yes. Yes it has RV. All vehicles also have RV. Bicycle, motorcycle, unicycle, tricycle, van, truck, lorry, crane, jet ski, aeroplane, tanker, hovercraft, spacecraft, helicopter etc. all have RV. Happy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
    • Heskey on Jun 20, 2017 at 11:58 am

What is RV? Some kind of turbo system?

• Why the hand brake is still on passenger’s side?!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • So exp for a CKD, and whats with the China center stack? Yuck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 12:15 am

Tell that to overpriced, underspecced Germans.

• Tristar has something called BADGE PRESTIGE, thats priceless. Beemer/Audi r just pretender like Volvo.

• applegreen on Jun 19, 2017 at 11:20 pm

This car or kia optima GT? Both around RM180k and 240hp

• JustaCarGuy on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:41 am

my vote goes for the Kia Optima GT.. it has a more “garang” look..

• Please don’t buy optima GT. You will regret!!!
      Better buy this or top up a bit for vw passat 2.0tsi(if u prefer D-segment)

• Both tadak RV, so its between EU conti feel and kimchi tadak feeling.

• tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 11:11 pm

It depends if u need the bigger space of Optima.

If it’s gonna be ur secondary car where space isn’t necessary, Volvo V40 is the better car.

• The rear light becoming more like Nissan Juke or previous gen CR-V

• zamer on Jun 20, 2017 at 8:37 am

this model is long overdue and it came with not a cheap price tag. Golft GTI is more all rounder car.

• applegreen on Jun 20, 2017 at 9:07 am

4 years ago u cant get this car at rm180k with t5 engine. Now this car is even better with more tech and refinement. Golf GTI also RM40k more expensive than V40 T5

• looks pretty much same except for the Thor’s hammer.

• Still couldnt brain out on why the handbrake on the passengers side. So funny, maybe this car is for those who drives and drifts duo-ly

• tokmoh. on Jun 20, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Imperfect LHD conversion.

Better than French, they too lazy to shift fusebox to RHD version, end up the glovebox become so small as most space taken by fusebox. Not an issue for LHD version as glovebox is on the right side of car.

A long time ago, BMW E30 didn’t convert bonnet release latch for RHD, so if u wanna pop open the bonnet, u gotta go to passenger’s side lol.

• arowana on Jun 20, 2017 at 10:02 am

disappointing interior design for this era… should have discontinued this model & introduce a brand new one instead

• boring volvo!! enough of that boring interior!! on Jun 20, 2017 at 11:26 pm

when will volvo get rid of that floating centre console? How years stuck with that console, really boring and overdone.

and still no updates on the hand brake placement, same old same old.

Next please!!!

• Johnny on Jun 22, 2017 at 11:08 am

Paddle shifterssssss!!