New G01 BMW X3 pics, details leaked ahead of debut

Details and images of the new 2018 BMW X3 have been leaked ahead of the SUV’s official debut, by BMW Hong Kong. Besides giving us a preview of the new G01 X3, the leak also confirms the X3 M40i as the top model in the range, for now.

The X3 M40i is powered by a 3.0 litre turbo straight-six petrol engine with 360 hp and 500 Nm, paired to an eight-speed automatic and xDrive AWD. 0-100 km/h is done in 4.9 seconds, as with the X4 M40i. Top speed is electronically limited to 250 km/h. That’s good enough to beat the latest Audi SQ5, which makes 354 hp/500 Nm and does 0-100 km/h in 5.4 seconds.

The Hong Kong market will also get xDrive20d and xDrive30d diesel variants, with the M40i being the only petrol in the range. Fuel consumption and C02 emissions figures are lower across the board, attributed to reduced weight and better aerodynamics.

The M40i xDrive gets sportier M Performance suspension and steering, as well as a unique grey exterior colour option, 21-inch double-spoke M alloys and blue brake calipers. A leaked video hints at some sort of semi-autonomous system at play, with the driver shown taking his hands off the steering wheel.

Other features to expect from the G01 X3 include an auto opening tailgate triggered by a foot wave, a wide head-up display and rear seats that fold via button presses. An electric bicycle makes an interesting accessory to the midsize Sports Activity Vehicle.

As for the design of the new X3, it’s exactly like how we imagined it to look like – slotting in between the current X1 and X5 seamlessly, not just in size, but in looks as well. However, one sure way to spot the X3 is at the front – it lacks the round fog lamps on the bumper between the headlamps and the lower intakes, a signature that both the X1 and X5 sport.

Slightly less angular at the edges than before, but very much an upright, traditionally-shaped SUV (those who want a sportier image can opt for the X4), the new X3 looks very much like a larger scale X1, especially from the rear. However, the location of the rear reflectors follows the X5. Inside, the G01 is light years more modern than the F25, sporting a G30 5 Series-style driver-focused dashboard.

GALLERY: G01 BMW X3 leaked

GALLERY: G01 BMW X3 prototype

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• x3 fanatic on Jun 25, 2017 at 5:16 pm

This looks like X1 with slightly bigger and wider dimensions.

• Nice looking SUV and well proportion.

• Nancy Liu3 on Jun 25, 2017 at 5:49 pm

Same Basher will come here to bash again for nothing.

• Accord Is Here on Jun 25, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Looks boring…

• BeemerFreak on Jun 27, 2017 at 9:40 am

Nice car, nice brand. Bad local dealer, Sime Darby glc.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 25, 2017 at 7:55 pm

This car won’t sell well in Malaysia anymore. Cause X4 40e hybrid is RM388k. People rather add a bit more and just get the better X5

Last time, X5 was RM588k. So, people thought X3 was far cheaper. But now the gap has narrowed.

X5 is so much bigger, better PHEV engine, more advanced, 2.0 also and not much difference.

I guess when it comes to Malaysia, BMW Malaysia has shot themselves on the foot cause X5 40e is a much better option than the X3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Copypaste again on Jun 27, 2017 at 10:03 am

Same post from you again and again. What is your intention bro? Work harder so you don’t complaint

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • 1sen per bash. 0.5sen per like of his comment. If tadak cukup quota, nanti tak bayar. So apa basher nak buat?

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 28, 2017 at 10:09 am

The current X3 petrol is selling for only RM296k, which is much cheaper than the X5 40e at RM389k. And they are not direct competition to each other. This new G01 X3 petrol, will probably cost more, but no more than RM326k I think, as that’s what it’s closest rival, the Merc GLC costs here. Even RM326 is much cheaper than the PHEV X5. But of course, there will be a G01 X3 PHEV coming later, so the price might just drop below RM300k. But you will probably have to wait a bit for that. Those who can’t wait and want new cars first, can pay the additional cost of the petrol only G30 X3 over the upcoming PHEV X3. Think it’s fair strategy from BMW. Cos there will be people who have new car itch, who will buy a brand new model, knowing cheaper variants will come later. Price is not a concern to them, image is. For practical people, it probably makes sense to wait for the PHEV X3.

• Najib on Jun 25, 2017 at 8:08 pm

That interior same as always

• heybadigol (Member) on Jun 25, 2017 at 11:37 pm

While its not ugly, my personal opinion is that the Mercedes GLC and Audi Q5 are just better looking, especially the Merc. Looks like BMW just morphed the previous X3 into the current X5, and called it a day. BMW’s exterior design has been missing their mojo for the past few years, while Merc has been going all out. Having said that, the interior looks really plush. Also, hopefully Malaysia gets the 28i version of the X3 rather than the 20i, which is rather underpowered for quite a large and heavy SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Aaron on Jun 26, 2017 at 1:06 am

This looks so, so, so, so extremely disappointing and boring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 26, 2017 at 2:00 am

finally isnt ugly anymore…a hybrid version would be great

• Applegreen on Jun 26, 2017 at 10:51 am

Looks similar except hidung makin kembang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • xem6861 on Jun 26, 2017 at 12:36 pm

While its brother X5 2.0 still a hot cake with 8 months waiting list in our market, why they go back to 3.0 for X3 again?

• Nasi lemak special on Jun 26, 2017 at 2:11 pm

It looks rather the same from my opinion. But this is BMW , the typical Bavarian car makers who follow their tradition for years, kidney grille , angel eyes , sporty design.

• sack the designer on Jun 26, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Bunch of losers design it cannot explore other way ? Sack the designers!!!!!!!!!

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 28, 2017 at 11:43 am

The x3 has always been the ugly duckling of the family.

Looks like there is little improvement with this latest attempt. They could have done a lot more considering this is an all new affair.

I wonder why they even bothered. They could very easily could have done up a 3er wagon with raised suspension, xDrive and bigger wheels ala Subie Outback….and it would have looked better. Not to mention, drive better as well.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 26, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Better looking than d previous 2 generations…not sure why x3 is always bland and ugly compared to the competitors esp q5 and nx…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • nosushi on Jun 26, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Nx? Not even close. Better put the logo into dustbin and replace with toyolta

• The designer of Nx... on Jun 27, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Look at a horseshoe crab the day when he was really high and decided that it was cool and designed it into the NX.

Sure if horseshoe crab is your thing, more power to you.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 26, 2017 at 7:32 pm

im actually rather surprised by bmw hk’s decision to sell diesels there…i havent seen many diesels there plus hk being a small city i thought it’d made more sense for petrols

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 26, 2017 at 8:31 pm

The Germans are very good in producing turbo charged cars. Just see how powerful these engines are. Toyota in other hand is moving backward with outdated, underpowered engines, the Camry is s heavy and the engine of the Camry doesn’t even have enough torque to move it. Good job Germans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Old horse on Jun 26, 2017 at 9:07 pm

GLC is killing all…xc60 probably only challenger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 26, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Much needed interior upgrade is finally here. BMWs of yesteryears are lacking in terms of quality and luxury in the interior department.

• boring beemer on Jun 27, 2017 at 8:07 am

Nothing new, pig big nostrils and same dashboard shape. China car dashboard better.

I almost vomit my breakfast

• the best looking suv is mercedes suv…full stop