New Daihatsu Altis is a rebadged Toyota Camry Hybrid

You might be wondering why Daihatsu is selling a version of the new Toyota Camry in Japan, using a nameplate reserved for ASEAN versions of the Corolla. The fact of the matter is that the small car specialist has been doing so for years, starting with the fourth-gen XV20 Camry – so it’s hardly a break in tradition.

As you can see, the Altis is virtually unchanged from the Camry, with the only difference being blue-tinged Daihatsu badges instead of the Toyota logo. The low-slung, wide-mouthed “Keen Look” design and driver-focused interior all remain identical to the donor car.

Also identical is the hybrid powertrain, beginning with the 2.5 litre four-cylinder engine with D-4S direct-injection (part of the new Dynamic Force family) that pushes out 178 PS and 221 Nm of torque. Mated to this is a 120 PS/202 Nm electric motor, adding to a total system output of 211 PS.

Strangely, Daihatsu quotes a fuel consumption figure of 28.4 km per litre, significantly lower than the Camry’s 33.4 km per litre. Unlike the Camry, the Altis is only available in mid-spec G trim, priced at the same 3,499,200 yen (RM131,600) as the Camry G.

Standard kit includes LED head-, fog and tail lights, 17-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, a seven-inch multi-info display, fabric upholstery, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, dual-zone automatic climate control with ionisation and six speakers (there’s no infotainment system as standard).

The Altis also comes with Toyota Safety Sense P, which includes autonomous emergency braking with pedestrian detection, active cruise control, lane departure warning with steering control, rear cross traffic alert and intelligent clearance sonar to protect against pedal misapplication and rear cross traffic auto brake. Blind spot monitoring is available as an option.

GALLERY: Japanese-market Toyota Camry Hybrid

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• arowana on Jul 11, 2017 at 3:34 pm

wow dat name… it’s freaking confusing!

• Cukurrr MY pipu pay lesser to own a “Altis”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • karam singh on Jul 11, 2017 at 6:20 pm

So…. Daihatsu/Toyota rebadge no bash ?
        typical malaysian.
        Put on proton logo there, u gonna see lots of comments & bash LOL.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 11, 2017 at 6:53 pm

This Camry is so cheap in Japan. 3.5 million yen.

Average salary of a mere waitress is 1000 Yen per hour. Average 10 hours per day is 10,000 YEN per day. Per month, agak agak 300,000 yen.

12 month she will earn 3.6 million yen.

So, a waitress, if she just saves and don’t eat, in 1 year can buy this Camry

In Malaysia, even doctor or lawyer also so susah want to buy local CKD Camry

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 11, 2017 at 9:06 pm

New Proton Geli Bang Bayu is a rebadged Geely Boyue………rolls off the tongue silky smooth right?

• MissingKuntaFakePost on Jul 11, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Just chose a cheaper one.. Thats it.

• Cheated? on Jul 11, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Yeah now you all know why previous ASEAN Camry is different than Japan or America’s Camry.Hahahahaha..those owned a Camry actually bought a Daihatsu! See how Toyota treats you low rank Asian? You are nothing! You are cheap.Hahahaha.I’ve told ya!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • JibCheater on Jul 12, 2017 at 10:10 am

A Daihatsu still outlast your lifetime, you lowlife

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
        • Cheated? on Jul 13, 2017 at 9:48 am

I’m 33 yo driving better cars than Daihatsu.In between my life hundreds of thousand Daihatsu already in potong potong shops in Japan,rusty and dead scrapped metal.Hohohoho

• potato on Jul 11, 2017 at 3:47 pm

so next time you walk into the showroom and say you want to purchase an Altis, make sure you specify Daihatsu Altis or Toyota Altis.

if not end up with bigger car than you expecting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • 12yrsold on Jul 11, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Ahem. You don’t walk into a Toyota showroom to buy a Daihatsu even though they are abang adik Sir.

• Henry on Jul 11, 2017 at 5:51 pm

What is there to ask? The Daihatsu Altis is not even sold here.

• alldisc on Jul 12, 2017 at 11:46 am

Its only JDM.

• potato on Jul 12, 2017 at 3:15 pm

you memang org malaysia, narrow thinking.

so you walk into a Toyota showroom, must be a Toyota showroom in Malaysia?

remember the world is not just about Malaysia. and this news is not meant for Malaysia, so why would i be talking about Toyota Malaysia showroom?

• Perodua should rebadge this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
    • Yeah. Rebadge and sell 100k

• What?? on Jul 11, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Later tak laku and discontinued after less than a year like the Nautica. They should focus solely on cars under 70k.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 11, 2017 at 9:08 pm

PNB sharks already looking forward to a 110k Myvi.

• evolva on Jul 13, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Yes, perodua should rebadge this car and in the process downgrade the name one more notch down because more inferior parts and less of the luxury accessories.

Toyota = Camry
      Daihatsu = Altis
      Perodua = Vios

So, it should be named Perodua Vios if it is indeed to be brought into Malaysia under Perodua abdge ….. :P

• Wait, u mean only now bashers got modal to compare ASEAN altis to jepunis lord altis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Perodua must rebadge this

• 12yrsold on Jul 11, 2017 at 5:00 pm

P2 cannot re-badge this. Maybe you can ask UMW/Toyota why!

• 21yrsold on Jul 11, 2017 at 6:40 pm

The shareholders of Perodua are *UMW* (38%), Toyota (25%)… so doubt the hold-up is due to *UMW*

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perodua

• ChrFanChrFan on Jul 11, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Brilliant!! Toyota Safety Sense includes autonomous emergency braking and active cruise control

• karam singh on Jul 11, 2017 at 6:21 pm

5 years later.. then UMW put it
      Stability control UMW put them after so many years.

• Nice. Bring it here and rebadge as perodua aurion at rm100k++

• Mark from Predator XR on Jul 11, 2017 at 8:38 pm

Daihatsu Altis /= Toyota Altis
      Perodua Aurion/= Toyota Aurion(Australian Market Camry)

Too confusing!

• Toyota suck on Jul 11, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Toyota suck… camry sales in malaysia plunged… even old man taukey dislike camry.. they buy mercedes…

• dstl1128 on Jul 11, 2017 at 6:47 pm

lol Daihatsu Altis mid spec has more safety stuff than MY Camry Hybrid Premium.

I would buy Daihatsu Altis instead of Camry useless low spec. Heck Toyota Altis is shit compared to Daihatsu Altis. WTF.

Now Perodua rebadge it and called it Perodua Crown. Lol

• SALang on Jul 11, 2017 at 6:58 pm

This is reade. P1 should learn this..

• Aero (Member) on Jul 11, 2017 at 9:15 pm

A lot of people are suggesting Perodua to rebadge this… joke or not, realistically, there is almost zero chance.

What will probably happen is… UMWT will just bring in the above Altis/Camry Hybrid (and the regular Camry) as a Toyota when it launches here (next year ?).

UMWT will most probably locally assemble the Hybrid version as well to benefit from the EEV rebates. I believe the current Camry Hybrid has sold very well for UMWT, far better than the petrol-only versions.

Perodua has always been a ‘mini car’ or ‘economy car’ company. All of their cars are either A or B segment. But Perodua has tried to sell ‘expensive’ cars before. Some of us might still recall the 5-seat Nautica. But because Perodua imported it from Japan, it cost roughly the same (RM90k) as the Indonesian-built, 7-seat Toyota Rush. In the end, Perodua sold only 489 Nauticas, but UMWT still sells the Rush till this day.

It would be cool if Perodua could sell the car above as a ‘Perodua Altis’ and do battle with the Proton Perdana… but realistically, it makes no sense or cents for Perodua and UMWT.

• Ford_ton on Jul 12, 2017 at 12:47 am

Will there ever be a Camry owner switching their Toyota logo to a Daihatsu logo? Just like some Vios proudly displaying a Lexus logo on theirs.

• Very strange meh? Daihatsu has been doing this for ages already.