Honda City Hybrid officially launched in Malaysia – RM89,200, slots under top-spec V in price and kit

The Honda City Hybrid has been officially announced by Honda Malaysia (HM), with a price of RM89,200 on-the-road without insurance. As speculated earlier today, that price point is between the RM84,600 mid-spec E and the RM92,000 top-spec V.

This is the same positioning HM took for the Jazz Hybrid, which is also not top of the range. Also like the Jazz Hybrid, Malaysia is the only market outside of Japan to officially introduce the City Hybrid. The Grace Hybrid, as it is known in Japan, was launched earlier this month.

As revealed, the Honda City Hybrid shares the same hybrid powertrain as the Jazz Hybrid. That means a Sport Hybrid i-DCD system that combines a 1.5 litre engine with idle stop, a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox with an integrated electric motor, a lithium-ion hybrid battery and an electric driven compressor.

The engine used here isn’t the one found in the regular City facelift, but a unique Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC unit with 110 PS and 134 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. Combined with a 30 PS (22 kW)/160 Nm electric motor, the system produces a combined 137 PS and 170 Nm of torque, as per the Jazz Hybrid.

Honda claims that the Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual-Clutch Drive) system delivers performance equal to that of a conventional 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated engine (the Civic 1.8 makes just 4 PS/4 Nm more), with much lower fuel consumption. The claimed official figures are 4.0 litres per 100 km for the Jazz Hybrid and 3.9 litres per 100 km for the City Hybrid.

For an in-depth look at the Sport Hybrid i-DCD system, and how it differs from Honda’s previous Integrated Motor Assist hybrid system, click here.

The City’s sedan body with a 536-litre boot aside (no reduced capacity for the hybrid), technical differences from the Jazz Hybrid include 16-inch wheels with 185/55 tyres (175/65 R15 on the Jazz) and a larger turning radius of 5.7 metres (versus 5.26m).

On the equipment front, the City Hybrid has slightly more kit than the cheaper RM87,500 Jazz Hybrid. The sedan gets a shark fin antenna, chrome door handles, auto folding wing mirrors, rear air con vents, steering paddle shifters and a rear armrest with cupholders. All the above are not offered with the Jazz Hybrid, as are remote trunk release and rear USB ports.

As the one below the range topper, the City Hybrid lacks the City V’s LED headlamps and foglamps, leather seats/steering/gear knob and curtain airbags (leaving four bags, front and side). Of course, it does get some unique to hybrid items such as a special instrument panel display and a hybrid-specific stubby gear lever.

Colour options are Lunar Silver Metallic, Modern Steel Metallic and White Orchid Pearl. The City Hybrid comes with a five-year unlimited mileage warranty with 10,000 km service intervals, as per the regular City. There’s an additional eight-year warranty for the lithium-ion hybrid battery.

HM expects to sell 250 units of the City Hybrid per month, a fraction of total City sales. Most would go for a “safer” fuss-free petrol City, and the company knows it. But for those tempted by the Jazz Hybrid’s tech, you now have a big-booted sedan option and manual override for the DCT.

The City and Jazz Hybrids are CKD locally assembled in Melaka. Production of the City Hybrid has already started and it will be available at selected dealerships for test drives from mid August. The Jazz Hybrid will be available for viewing at selected showrooms from this weekend. Click on the charts above for the list of showrooms with hybrid test units.

Compare the new City Hybrid with its S, E and V spec mates, or any other B-segment model for that matter, at CarBase.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:33 pm

This hybrid should benefit from tax incentive. So, Honda can sell this car below RM60k.

Looks like Honda Malaysia refuses to pass that tax benefit to us consumers.

If X5 was RM588k and with tax benefit can go down to RM388k for the x5 40e, why can’t this City also benefit from the tax breaks?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 279 Thumb down 14
    • 7yrsold on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Jazz hybrid is sole city car, city hybrid /jazz are city/balik kampung car while city v is sole balik kampung car. Your money your call

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
      • Honda City is Honda Bandar. Fullstop

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Sorry, I am not buying any City.
        Just for the sake of ‘justice’:
        1. Why only 4 airbags?
        2. Why the price is so ‘high’ despite tax relief? Relative to the equipments.
        At least give 6 airbags and leather seats lah.
        I presumed VSC is standard (didn’t do full reading, sorry for that).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
        • Rahim on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:06 am

only country in the world where a newer model can have lesser airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
          • camtakpro on Jul 31, 2017 at 7:59 am

Proton started it first:
            – Exora 2017 deduct 2 airbags
            – Iriz 2017 deduct auto power window

So by following the trend:
            – Exora 2020 will have no airbags.
            – Iriz 2020 manual window.
            – City PEV will have 2 airbag
            – City full EV will have no airbag

• Peter on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Why no one complain abt toyota Prius C, how much it’s sold?
          You all forget hybrid car is more expensive compared to its sibling in same model.
          Can you show me another japanese hybrid car cheaper than this in M’sia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
      • Operation Manager on Jul 21, 2017 at 1:07 am

I really Pity the sohai malaysian supporters that buy Honda make it non-national no.1, because in return from HM to the loyal customer is –> all EEV incentives & Hybrid tax/duty break saving supposely to make the car selling price CHEAP to RM60K suddenly become extra profit all SAPU go into HM’ left right up down front back pockets. ohh… pity sohai honda supporter/customer in msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
        • Logic Malaysian on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:40 pm

) provision of import tax and excise duty exemption from 1
          January 2014 until 31 December 2015 for Completely
          Knock Down (CKD) hybrid vehicles and from 1 January
          2014 until 31 December 2017 for Completely Knock
          Down (CKD) electric vehicles. Beyond these dates, the
          incentives will be customized based on the strategic level
          of the CKD investments as in the investment value,
          production volume, technology transfer, research and
          development activities, supply chain development,
          employment, exports programme and others.

• Operation Manager on Jul 21, 2017 at 1:17 am

I only see 1 thing —> a Jpn owned company in Msia is CHEATING msian consumer from the government given tax/duty break. Can this be a case to be report to relavent government agencies to take further action on HM …?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
        • Rahim on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:16 am

nobody can take action cause Honda Malaysia is DRB and DRB is gomen GLC. Mahkahmah will throw your case out of court.

Also spec reduced to 4 airbags and price goes up. Mana EV tax reduction??

• Business making higher profit margin is NOT a crime unless theres a ceiling price.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:17 am

Malaysian partner in company also belum buat bising. You think they don’t also happily pocket the profits ah?

So Malaysian’s cheating Malaysians?

• karam singh on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:32 am

Ask Toyota on that 1st ,
          Prius C priced at 150k no one gonna argue ?
          Hyundai Ioniq priced at 110k ?

May I ask? what the cheapest hybrid we can get in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
          • wkaka on Aug 03, 2017 at 5:46 am

Ioniq is priced great IMO, with full safety kit. Other than the cheapo HU, everything else is there.

City is B-segment, Ioniq is C-Segment.

• Rahim on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:30 am

campur insurance, sure be close to RM100k. Record broken. B segment car close to RM100k

• Bog std on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:07 pm

According to smart abang, sell low RM60k affect low RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 49
      • Thats true. He complains about RV when brands ekceli sells cheaper. So now he wants RV higher than selling price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 45
    • Samy oh samy on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:27 pm

JDM Honda Grace Hybrid DX cost 1,979,640yen (RM75,000) in Japan.

However DRB Honda decide to put extra RM10,000 as profit in lieu of tax free in order to keep non-hybrid City to survive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
      • Spidey on Jul 20, 2017 at 9:19 pm

No more national car. Still no cheap car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:48 pm

Waitress in Japan McDonalds earn 1000 yen per hour. That is RM39 per hour.

Do you know of any waitress in McDonalds earn that amount?

You cannot compare Japanese car prices with the same Japanese cars in Malaysia. Cause in Japan, people earn 10x more than Malaysians.

Ever wondered why Toyota Camry and Honda Accord is USD$22k in US, which is far cheaper than Japan?

Each country has to price their own based on the cost of living.

In Malaysia, Honda has priced their City about RM80k before. Now with Hybrid EV tax incentive, this car should be cheaper

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 4
        • Samy stop dreaming on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:14 am

So you think Honda should sell City Hybrid for RM40k and Toyota should sell Camry for RM70k because our currency less value and we earning less than Japan and US?

This is a third world country, a country that don’t have much innovation and technology yet rely on much FDI. If your currency value as high as first world country, tell me which MNC would still invest or stay over here rather than their own country or somewhere more economical.

And you’re just comparing their currency and car value, did you compare their running cost such as local tax, 3 years inspection, insurance, petrol etc? I doubt you not even know that Japanese need to show their ownership of a parking lot only can bought a car.

Yea you’re dreaming a waiters earning as much as 1000yen, the most only 500 to 800yen. But you think 1000yen can buy a complete meal? How about accommodation? Cheapest place to sleep at internet cafe cost you 2000yen for 8 hrs

Please visit Japan and read more journey and blog rather than acting smart or become keyboard warrior.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 10
          • Wow bro! U just pwnage the cave man who never came out of his gua. Well done!

• blizzard on Jul 21, 2017 at 2:33 pm

So whyevery waitress in jepunis dun have luxury cars in front of Mcd or at their porch?

• ayoyo on Aug 07, 2017 at 10:10 am

bro, you pandai leh…. can see you dont even know what is pricing strategy~~~ i wanna hear from you, so what you think this city should price.. share some laugh please..

• Rationale Typist on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:35 pm

I’m not sure about the tax incentive for local assembled car tax break.
      But ain’t the normal city already certified for EEV incentive?
      And Honda already squeezed theirs profit margin very much, as luxury car usually have far higher profit margin than volume car.Hence why BMW able to slash the price by ~30% and still profitable with relatively low sales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
    • Operation Manager on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Honda Grace Hybrid (City Hybrid) only sell JpnYen 1,769,040 (USD 15,756). Before Ringgit fall into deep dark longkang, during 2013 was USD 1=MYR 3.3 only. Base on 2017 Japan Honda City Hybrid price, is only RM 51,994 (base model). For Top-Spec City Hybrid come with Honda Sensing packages only cost JpnYen 2,236,680 (USD 19,920) or cost RM 65, 736 only. Hybrid come with Tax/Duty break, lets see how HM con the loyal Msian Honda supporter with higher price.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 14
      • Rakyat on Jul 20, 2017 at 9:13 pm

RM65k City hybrid. Nanti siapa beli Prève…heh3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • kzm (Member) on Jul 20, 2017 at 9:25 pm

don’t u think it kinda stupid using old currency value for latest product.. why don’t u just use USD1=RM2.1 (1978) even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 29
        • Operation Manager on Jul 21, 2017 at 12:15 pm

Pls learn operation cost & material cost calculation, do details study before comment then people won’t look down on you.

• Nobodys looking down on kzm comments. Only u, in ur ignorance.

• U mean like how ur toyota cons pipu with extra racing stickers for Rm10k more on top of lousy base spec vios J?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:44 pm

u know that Honda Grace aka City Hybrid in Japan cost start from RM75k n Japan don’t really have tax on car. Do u expect Honda sell City here below RM60k? be realistic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 83
      • Adib yazid on Jul 20, 2017 at 9:48 pm

RM89,200 = S$28,433. Walauwey @@

• Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:54 pm

In Japan, gaji is 10x what Malaysians earn. So, their RM75k Honda City is small kacang puteh for them.

In Malaysia, RM90k is a lot of money to most Malaysians

This is the same like when people say Singapore petrol is RM6 per litre. But they forgot to mention Singapore Government average salary is SGD8000 per month (Rm27,000) per month.

Our Putrajaya Government servant, average salary is RM1200. RM1200 vs RM27,000

The same with Japan. Honda Grace/City Hybrid in Japan is very cheap relative to Japan earning power.

You cannot give Japanese pricing for Malaysia cause we earn 10x less than Japanese workers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 11
        • kzm (Member) on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:58 am

Why don’t u ask Singaporean RM6 per liter petrol cheap or not? or car price cheap or not. post ur comment at Singapore forum then see their response. Do the same for Japan. Later post the link in paultan comment. If they say cheap i concede. That if u dare la..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
        • Samy talk kok play ping pong on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:58 am

Based on your logic every Japanese and Singaporean afford to own & drive a car even just a waiters, but wait why their commuter train so bloody pack during rush hour??

Don’t acting dumb here by comparing high level government servant earn $8,000 in Singapore with typical office clerk with RM1,500 salary la please woi..

• ayoyo on Aug 07, 2017 at 10:40 am

come on la Periasamy, im sure if you are working what you are in japan now, x 10 higher salary, you can afford to buy the car, but you dont have place to keep the car lor.. dont always only see income to judge…. see widely, there is a lots of cost to own a car in Japan.. in malaysia, if your parking cost you RM6 you already complaint, own a car in Japan?!.. i think only Bicycle you will willing to buy

• Zainuddin on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:51 am

Toshiba Notebook in Jepun is more expensive than Toshiba notebook sold in Malaysia. Jepunis sendiri come to Malaysia to buy Toshiba notebook and then fly back to Jepun.

If follow your logic, how Toshiba Jepun allow Toshiba Malaysia to sell model sama (Portege) for cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
        • Harry on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:08 am

Yes indeed. They bought Toshiba fridges & washing machines back to Japan too.

• kzm (Member) on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:46 am

Electronic in Japan most of time cheaper than boleh. I wonder why boleh pipu butthurt when local car company sell car cheaper at arab country n australia..

• Rahim on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:21 am

Pilot pen Made in Japan cheaper than Pilot Pen selling in Japan.

Why Pilot Pen Co in Japan allow Pilot Pen to sell cheaper in Malaysia

Lagipun Honda City Hybrid is CKD. Bukan CBU

Logic pandai kzm!

• Do u realise their consumption tax (aka GST) is higher than our GST?

• Dylan Ch'ng on Jul 20, 2017 at 9:07 pm

A hybrid City with basic specifications (no alloy, no colour coded door handles, no colour coded mirrors, no radio, no speakers, etc) with tax benefit could be a great car at a great price for people who wants efficiency, space and refinement.

• If you think its unfair…then boycott it…i cannot imagine if it sold under 60k..other brands will surely bungkus

• (Like) Persona Premium.
    (Dislike) City Hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 77
    • Malaysia Boleh on Jul 20, 2017 at 8:00 pm

I going to sales my Persona and change this City Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Patriot911 on Jul 20, 2017 at 9:15 pm

Change to Suprima or Inspira laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • Inspira discontinued already laaa.

Although I agree that a 1.8 Manual Inspira is a thing to drool on

• 7 years later ur City Hybrid will have same same RV as that Persona 3rd hand. Facepalm.

• My england is bad on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:55 am

Desperate salesman?

• Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:35 pm

The Volvo XC90. Supposed to be over RM600k. But because of tax break, it is sold for RM390k

The Mercedes S400h, supposed to be RM880k, but because of tax break, it is sold for RM580k

The BMW 740le, supposed to be RM880k, but sold for RM550k
    The BMW x5 Hybrid, supposed to be over RM600k but now sold for RM388k

The tax incentives benefit the rich. Looks like the tax incentive don’t apply to this City hybrid and sold for below RM60k? But it is at Rm92k

Rich get richer. Poor still suffer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 166 Thumb down 7
    • Ohwai on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Why world dun gip me silver plate? Oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Price in Japan?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • Keep Calm and get Toyota CH-R Gazoo.

• Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Gaji in Japan? Orang Jepun earn 10x more than Malaysians.

Also, how does US sell Honda Accord and Camry at USD22k, much cheaper than Japan?

• I know Japanese Yen has many extra zeros on their currency notes so is that where you get that they earn 10x more money than us? At least provide some comparison as proof instead of just giving random figure.

• Why compare bolehland and USA?

• Peria4PM on Jul 20, 2017 at 8:24 pm

33% reduced, Rm92k to RM60k!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Pls share source for Rm60k. Oh wai… cave facts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • Liddat Honda whacked P1 sales again..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
  • Maria on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Wow so fastt…Well Done Honda Malaysia..Now toyota can throw their Vios TRD SPORTIPU into the trash…hahaha…
    I just hope they could spec the hybrid as the same as V spec…What a letdown a bit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 31
    • Obama on Jul 20, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Dual-clutch, dry or wet gearbox ?

• Sportipu cannot tipu pipu anymore except bengs. So they came out with Gaztipu and con fresh sheeps to pay Rm10k more on top of ripoff spec.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Honda Fan on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Why take the curtain airbags away??? All Hybrids in this markets should have the highest spec. Does that mean that people who buys Honda hybrid models in Malaysia deserves less safety features? (Less Airbags)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:28 am

As with the Jazz hybrid.

The decision to omit the curtain airbags mystifies me. Stinks of profiteering, especially considering the car enjoys tax breaks. And this being CKD, can be fitted here.

Its not like we can add airbags later, now can we, Honda Malaysia?

• karam singh on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:17 pm

City Hybrid rm900 monthly, all can afford.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Ikekerong on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Its have DOHC engine instead of soch…

• lilytan on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:23 pm

Honda malaysia is very smart n quick to respond to market demands. Thats why hear in Malaysia they are very successful compared to other countries. Never take ur customers for granted especially here in msia where cars cost a bomb.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Honda is not giving full safety suit nor equipment for this hybrid

the Type V is a better buy on the long run , which includes resale value…

we don’t know the price of the batteries either

if you do a lot of miles and want to go hybrid….the Hyundai Ioniq is a better buy…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • lilytan on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:30 am

ioniq battery replacement at 10k is twice the cost of the hondas. Most ppl fret when paying car servicing for more than 500 ringgit. Wait till the day comes and u will regret buying it.

• Lawson on Aug 13, 2017 at 7:02 am

Now is Aug 2017. Maybe in Aug 2027 the replacement battery may still priced at RM5500 due to mass oroduction and due to technology would have 2x the power storage capacity of current gen lithium battery. Toyota itself had announce progress of solid state batteries in which deployment is possible 3 to 5 years from now. On the other hand the is one company in Singapore which could do replacement of battery cells inside the battery pack of hybrid cars. But on another note, since it dual clutch, all the drivers of City hybrid must be advised and learn not to hold the car in gear on a slope and not inching it bit by bit in heavy traffic. Let it be a one car or two car gap before move forward. The dual clutch it in must not be operate like cvt-torque convertor combo in the normal City.

• JazzOrCity on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Goddamit ! Flappy paddles ! Why do you force me to choose between hatchback and sedan… Why HM why…

• RM92k is otr with insurance for V spec. RM89,240 is without.

• While Tesla revolutionises market with EV, Honda still experimenting with hybrids….Asian brands only good at copying and Malaysians still worship Japanese brands

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • hatta on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:14 pm

Hybrid is still a better option than a full EV.
      Range , weight and charging docks availability is the main issue. Even Tesla is non committal as to the range its cars can travel with a single charge. Quoting driver drive pattern & style as compared to factory tested mileage.
      It was Honda”s decision so why are you so butthurt about the Japanese?

• Yankee on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:57 am

How you charge a tesla from 3rd floor of your puny flat?

• Susukotak on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:20 am

with 3 storey long charging cable hanging out fron the side window. wait.. 3 rd floor mean.. 5 level of car park 1st. 2nd then 3rd floor. and youbcar at level 1 of the car park.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 20, 2017 at 8:19 pm

89.2 k? might as well buy the top of the range normal city…less issues and worries

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
    • Honda Fan on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:03 pm

Totally agree with you. Also HM give less airbags (only 4 airbags for City Hybrid and Jazz Hybrid) for this hybrid model. That is totally a BIG BIG “No” for safety.

• Has more airbags too

• Hybrid cars are more expensive than normal ones, thus you don’t see them selling much cheaper compare to their petrol cars despite tax incentives… do you see BMW330e selling less than 200k? It’s the same thing..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • Nothing mentioned at all with regards to safety? I mean you don’t even find the word in the entire article. I guess it’s not important. If you want a Honda, you’ll get one regardless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Jul 20, 2017 at 8:59 pm

It has four airbags (front and side), as implied here: “the City Hybrid lacks the City V’s LED headlamps and foglamps, leather seats/steering/gear knob and curtain airbags.”

In any case, we’ve made it clearer now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Honda comes into business very positively these few years.
    Wish that the dual-clutch technology will comes into every model through out all range of Honda’s cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • The only way Honda can justify the RM89,200 price is if they can include the cost of hybrid battery replacement in total price to be spread into 5/7/9-year loan. While cars cost a bomb here, battery replacement is another major concern.

• Honda Fan on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:01 pm

Honda Malaysia, you don’t reduce the number of airbags in you hybrid cars. As if you are telling the potential buyers of your hybrid cars ” your safety is less important, because you choose to buy a Honda hybrid “. All other hybrid cars by other brands in this market has the highest spec with minimum 6 to 7 airbags.

• Will we ever get a HRV hybrid?

• lilytan on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:36 am

Most probably we will given the similarity. Same platform, drivetrain etc as the jazz n city. Why not?

• meera on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:34 pm

Wow I like it

• hatta on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:57 pm

Not all Hybrid cars come with tax exemption.Don’t forget Govt pulled back the tax exemption accorded to Toyota Prius + C in 2015.
    Our NAP since then & until today is still in cold storage, MITI still in lepak mode so what would you expect from them.
    Merc , Beemer & Volvo has special ties so only these elite breed of people get to enjoy the tax exemption.
    Don’t shoot Honda or Toyota.
    So until MITI wakes up from Hari Raya snooze and decides to draft NAP 2018 we will see investments diverted to our neighbours and Msians having wet dreams for a 30% price reduction.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
    • Dun lie. All CKD hybrids gets tax exemption. Its the only reason why we 1st outside of nippon to get jazz & city hybrid CKD.

Nak tipu tu, jgn buat dgn fakta gua.

• kiasu on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:40 pm

WTF they has to compromise the curtain airbag just because it slated below V spec? It should be standard!

• Tangent Lin on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:50 pm

Why there wasn’t a Hybrid that have similar spec with V? Very hard to choose between both.

• camtakpro on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:08 am

They should called this City Hybrid as Honda Ironic.

• Theres one that has all the spec he wants and with the name that u want. Its called Hyundai Ioniq.

• Tangent Lin on Jul 23, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Test drive before, the interior and exterior look bit cartoon. Some are like the NVM not really good, the center console city is better than, and bezza reverse camera is better than Ioniq. Hyundai Ioniq only accepted by certain Hyundai service center, not all of the service center.

• lilytan on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:32 am

Tht would push the city price to beyond 100k, a price that we all will curse all day.

• ayoyo on Aug 07, 2017 at 10:27 am

this is how they keep the V spec market lor…. and also trying to price Hybrid at affordable level (cutting cost in equipment). The price cant be too near to Civic 1.8 also… price will base on malaysian monthly payment style, not the full amount.

• How much with insurance included . . ? ? FINALLY IT’S HERE!! Honda became the best and is still the best !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Does it include spare tyre? Considering boot space is same with normal City, hybrid battery might be there.
    Could be same with jazz hybrid

• if feel price too high or don’t like than no need buy la..many more cars too choose..why always Honda Honda Honda..as if Honda giving you shares in their company..haiizzzz…

• paparadzi (Member) on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:36 pm

I am disappointed with Honda Malaysia.

People who buy hybrid cars are usually people who dare to experiment with new technology. They will not buy cars based on price alone. Those who buy cars with the latest technology will be looking at accessories that will make driving safer and more fun. These people will look at the highest specification possible.

Honda should sell both the City and Jazz hybrids with the highest specification possible, especially things like maximum numbers of airbags possible and best electronics such as Honda Sensing. Make it as an option at least. Early adopters will not settle for anything less than a top of the line product.

• John L. on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:57 pm

What to do? Unless we change the gov. New gov new policy. Or else we have to earn as much as we can so we can afford to buy the car we like.

• 3.9 litres per 100 km for the City Hybrid?? why City use less fuel vs jazz hybrid 4 litres per 100km????????

• ayoyo on Aug 07, 2017 at 5:02 pm

City Hybrid – Curb Weight 1188kg
      Jazz hybrid – Curb Weight 1158kg

City more aerodynamic than Jazz? this could be the factor.

• xMacchiatos on Jul 22, 2017 at 5:41 am

Can I ask this Honda city hybrid really 137hp?

• ayoyo on Aug 07, 2017 at 10:17 am

i think many people still dreaming, hoping one day the car price will drop like 50%, same thought for hoping property price will drop back like 20 years ago.. come on..