New Mazda CX-5 launched in S’pore – RM455k-RM511k

Mazda Singapore has officially launched the all-new Mazda CX-5 in the republic, with the second-generation model being offered in either 2.0L 2WD or 2.5L 2WD models.

Buyers of the former can choose between Standard and Premium trim levels, whereas those who prefer a larger engine will have to decide whether they want the Luxury or Super Luxury trim.

According to the company, the list price is SG$144,800 (RM454,629) for the 2.0L 2WD Standard, SG$152,800 (RM479,747) for the 2.0L 2WD Premium, SG$158,800 (RM498,585) for the 2.5L 2WD Luxury and SG$162,800 (RM511,144) for the 2.5L 2WD Super Luxury.

In terms of output, the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G four-cylinder petrol engine makes 165 PS at 6,000 rpm and 210 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The 2.5 litre unit meanwhile, makes 194 PS at 6,000 rpm and 257 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm. Both engines are paired with a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic transmission.

On the equipment front, LED headlights, fog lamps and taillights are standard on all variants, along with leather upholstery, Mazda Connect infotainment system and dual-zone climate control. All 2.0L 2WD variants are fitted with silver 17-inch aluminium wheels, whereas the 2.5L 2WD cars get larger 19-inch units finished in gunmetal.

We’ve attached the specifications list for the Singapore-spec CX-5 below for your perusal. Once you’ve gone through it, let us know in the comments what kit you expect on the Malaysian-spec model, which is launching soon, apparently.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mazdarati on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Value buy in MY. Diedie must buy!

• Iskandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:53 am

Why don’t we convert their gaji also?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_GDP_(nominal)_per_capita

• Nasikandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:33 am

Why dont we convert their purchase/buying power too? Dont be stewwwpid Iskandar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • Yahya on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:45 am

Currency 3.2. Purchasing 3X Malaysians just on currency alone.

• Sama L00 on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:00 pm

SG high car prices is to protect local traffic. MY high car prices is to protect those ministers’ private bank account. Someone has to pay the bill, right?

• Ye le tew.. Weekend come JB to shop. Even travel to Malacca for shop. 3x purchasing power, 3x goods n services price.. back to square one.

• Jom naik MRT on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:52 pm

No spending power lor, parking rates expensive, toll expensive, public transport ok so no need cars.

At the end of day, while cars are quite expensive, it is not a must

• Darul on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:17 am

Anyway 99.9% SG population dont need cars, their public transport super efisien.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
          • Really? Try using any public transport and go down to Tuas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
      • Suhani on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:53 am

kerajaan nak tipu orang lagi kata minyAK rm6 seliter tapi lupa nak bagi tahu gaji tukang masak pun SG5000

• Kajai on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:39 am

Kerajaan sudah confirm kita akan capai “First World” 3 tahun lagi – 2020

Gaji pun kerajaan sudah confirm setiap orang akan dapat gaji RM18k sebulan (GDP per Capita USD48k)

• kzm (Member) on Jul 24, 2017 at 12:52 pm

U guys do convert n compare as per u guys convenient. HK, those small rich Arab states, Europe small rich city state..what bout them? I’m pretty sure car price is not that high as compared to Singapore.

• pok nik on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:40 pm

Chukur kereta murah, RM lagi murah.

• Lee Kum Kee on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:47 pm

MY per capita USD 11k, SG per capita USD 52k.
    So expensive, So what?

• Suhani on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:03 am

Singapore 1st world. Malaysia 3rd world. Braodband 1GBPS for half the price of Unifi 30 at RM179

• No point when each pipu need to take turn to download cuz whole country only 1 IP.

• Gopinath on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:58 pm

Mazda Malaysia made in Gurun.
    Mazda Singapore made in Jepun. Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • Nope. Depends on spec levels, it can come from either MY or overlordland. Just like HRV there comes from MY, tomyam, or overlordland depending on specs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:45 am

Slightly incorrect…not gurun but kulim….hmmm are there any mazda ckd with Bose sound system? Most have been stripped away. Will it be the same for this?

• Sure ha?

• We wait 4 Proton Boyue

• neuro on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:03 pm

harga meninggal…

• Kinte Kurap on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:24 pm

Where is the Kurap who said Malaysian car price are the most expensive in the world? Here is the news for you. Sila baca dan hadam! Sekian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 25
  • RM drop, SGD up

• Ohwai on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:28 pm

where is the mental resident here who tells us we have the cheapest cars in the world and cheapest petrol in the world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • U try finding a Mazda in MY priced 500k then only come here talk. Otherwise all u doing is tokkok.

• Rahman on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:43 pm

1957, S$150,000 = RM150,000.

2017, S$150,000 = RM450,000.
    Merdeka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Kajai on Jul 24, 2017 at 10:50 am

dont look so far to 1957. 1983 also 1 for 1. 1SGD is RM1

• MY & RM downhill so many generations, lost opportunites. Gotta Change w new Hope.

• Cheaper than Malaysia

• See what I tell u about COE being ~10X car price, cuz according to albertokuntasamy, all cars outside MY is max Rm50k only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • Your dad on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:58 am

COE pricing is derived based demand. The system was created to limit the number of vehicles on the road because Singapore is a tiny city state. Malaysian car prices are just high for no reason.

Do a simple Google search and you can see the current COE priced at ~SGD50k. So where exactly did your pluck the 10x car price number from? Bangunan Persatuan AP holders bersatu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 10
      • paultan.org/2016/01/13/perodua-axia-goes-on-sale-in-singapore-rm231827/

Heres my fact. Wheres urs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Manbai on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Toyota 86 facelift goes on sale in Japan, from RM103k.

https://paultan.org/2016/07/05/toyota-86-facelift-goes-on-sale-in-japan-full-details/

• On sale in JAPAN. Not Southoverlordland. Pls try again.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:37 am

SG earn USD55k, MY earn USD12k annum

• wawasan2020 on Jul 24, 2017 at 12:25 pm

SG no mat rempit, MY sesak mat rempit. ada kerja tak nak buat, ada mau complain?

• SG has highest cost of living in WORLD, meanwhile MY r amongst lowest in region. U earn there u use there, still suffer more than living here.

expatistan.com/cost-of-living/index/asia

• cheap RM good for exports

• Iskandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:56 am

Even when one factors COE in, cars are still cheaper in Singapore considering what Singaporean earns. PT you should check on personal attacks in your blog as many of us are fed up of comments like this

• More importantly PT shud check on fake dupes like u spewing nonsense.

• Iskandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:58 am

Still trying to lie. So if car price is SGD100k, COE should be SGD1 million as mentioned by you.

So total SGD1.1 mil

• Doesn’t matter what they launch, it will be dead on arrival

• ex-VGM staff on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Not surprising if it includes COE. Besides, SGD1 is slightly over RM3. Do the maths

• Kopi Pasta Samy on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:43 pm

CRV has better value than this.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:50 pm

Wow so cheap…all those who are so hadap with singapore can start migrating there…wah..again…soooo cheappppp

• Ketua bahagian on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Bersyukur dpt kerajaan yg tak caj tax sampai gila camtu harga

• Damn that pricing tho

• Ohwai on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:36 pm

Basher said Sinjapork pipu can buy this because their wages 10x and their money 3x more than bolehland

• Fenix on Jul 24, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Singapore is a sovereign nation not Sinjapork which is highly degrading and insulting. Would you be glad if our country is called in that way? Be mature and respectful of other countries.

• No worries. We dun need other pipu cuz we have own country pipu making fun of own country name.

• Omaihad on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:38 pm

Omaigad very nice beautiful.

I mean the models not the car

• Bernard on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Affordable for Singaporeans ….so lucky

• carcoon on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:16 pm

Wah the prices can cause kidney failure…..

• contender on Jul 22, 2017 at 12:31 am

CX-5 launched in Singapore…. but why headline price is in MYR ?? misleading …. although article shows both pricing in SGD and RM …. the price is with COE or exclude COE pricing … please be clear

• Henry on Jul 24, 2017 at 3:18 pm

It is done on purpose to attract simpleton comments for comic relief. Just read it and you will know what I mean.

• 400k++?????? Are you serious??? That’s higher than any Mazda ever sold in Malaysia history!!

• Vincent on Jul 22, 2017 at 8:26 am

For once, would be really good if Bermaz can offer a fully loaded version for those who are keen and willing to pay for.

• Bawakereta on Jul 22, 2017 at 8:30 am

Harga lebih kurang Malaysia jugak cuma jangan convert laa duit Singapire Dollar tu kepada Ringgit Malaysia.

• Bog Std on Jul 22, 2017 at 8:33 am

Kalau nak convert, convert gaji sekali. Lagi manafaat

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 22, 2017 at 8:39 am

cx5 is luxury car tau

• Fore Ex on Jul 22, 2017 at 10:06 am

The title is a bit misleading… better put SGD and MYR since the pay in Singapore is higher not only after conversion, but also in absolute value as well

• Chris on Jul 22, 2017 at 10:19 am

Please stop converting to RM.

Just report it in SGD. Cheers.

• I don’t think Mazda Malaysia can pull off what it did with the current CX5 few years ago. Not with a rejuvenated CRV leading the way. We are also tired of Bermaz’s greed shown by the rapid and regular increase in prices blaming fall in MYR and lack of cash rebates beyond a measly RM2-3k. Just look at Honda and their RM10-15k rebates

• PotatoJames on Jul 22, 2017 at 10:44 am

“Super luxury” trim really super luxury with it’s pricetag lol

• Kesian org Sing, mahal gile.

• Henry on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:12 pm

What mahal? They earn S$ and buy in S$.

Mahal only if you take your RM to Singapore to buy the car there. Are you going to do it?

• the pricing can’t be right. did they really quote SG$? must have been RM.

• malaysian spec will be 2 airbag with no vsc…huehuehue

• John Multiple Dupes on Jul 22, 2017 at 3:29 pm

Which saves more money Skyactive of CRV 1.5 Turbo?

• That cheap

• cars in SG seriously expensive. really is driving a house around.

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:46 am

Thats why when they enter Malaysia, they drive like they never have a chance to speed before

• dumbo dont convert.. use the same amt as your own country. RM140k vs SG144k. nobody ask you do buy in SG drive in MY.

• They earn a lot la bro, who work in malaysia buy car in singapore?

• Zhafri on Jul 23, 2017 at 9:53 am

why so expensive?

• MajidAbdullah on Jul 23, 2017 at 4:03 pm

Your title gives the impression that we Malaysians are lucky because cars in this country are cheaper than in Singapore. But in reality, if you factor in Singapore’s average income per capita, which is roughly 5 times the average in Malaysia, one would realise that cars in Malaysia are the most difficult to afford, possible in the world.

In the old days, taxes were deliberately raised to stratospheric levels to protect Proton. But even though Proton has been sold, the high automotive duties have been treated as a lucrative cash cow for the gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
    • No its not. U forgot to factor in 10X COE which need to change every 10 years or every new car. For Sg pipu, car is truly a luxury item

• pengayuhbasikal on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:00 am

High automotive duties deprived Malaysians of better car safety.

• Don’t forget to factor Singapore’s average cost of living per capita. It is not fair just to look for the per capita income, spending per capita also must include. Looking for the price in SGD for this new Mazda, not a really cheap car compare to their income in SGD.

• Nasikandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:36 am

You are correct Ali. A lot of pipu here dont understand the cost of living. Maybe they earn and spend only on cars every month. Never spend money on groceries, etc.

• Mazda sell 2.0L at rm454k. It seem overprice for 2.0L. At the price of rm454k , u can buy luxury car like mercedes,bmw etc. The new Toyota alphard 2.5L or vellfire more spacious and luxury at the only Rm345k only. Mazda interior design less button and look like cheap car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 25
    • Your dad on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:45 am

Please don’t comment if you have problems reading. These are launch prices in Singapore. Incredible how you compare cx5 to Mercedes then alphard. Congrats

• Sama L00 on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:08 am

Betui mister wong..buy Toyota more spacious and luxury.

• berombon on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:28 am

Aiyooh Wong,..that is the price after convert SGD into RM lah..in SG, they can charge whatever they want lah..If Mazda MY charges that much arr, aiyohh…nobody will want to buy lah..

• David on Jul 23, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Come on lah Gerard, you shouldn’t have listed the converted RM price of the car on the title.

Or this is the way you want to convince our fellow Malaysians that car prices in Bolehland is cheap?

If this is the case, please convert the car prices to RM when there is a launch of new cars in U.S.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 24, 2017 at 12:52 am

why he cant? Do u ever read basher comment? they will convert everything to RM to make their point believable.

• Ron99 on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:27 am

MOPS – Means of Platts Singapore, gahmen guna kirer harge petrol Mesia.

• PT shud “highlight” CX-5 prices in UK, US, Ozzy.
      This a new low guys

• Your dad on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:32 am

Gosh. To the paultan team – well understood that you guys are automotive journalists however you don’t have to be warren buffet to understand basic economics. The title and contents of this article is written in such a simplistic perspective, it makes me wonder what kinda message you intend to convey.

Singaporeans do not earn ringgit, they earn SGD a.k.a Singapore dollars (which stands at 3x the value of RM btw). Furthermore Singapore is a first world country where they have a GDP of USD52k as compared to USD11k in Malaysia. They earn a lot more than us on average BUT pay the same amount for the same car! (SGD160k vs MYR 160k) Why would you broadcast the price after conversion is beyond me.

Do a proper comparison on affordability by factoring in simple metrics such as average income, fuel prices and bare necessities (without converting – dollar to dollar please) and you’ll find that food, geoceries and even imported goods are much cheaper in SG. This comes from someone who travels to our friendly neighbour for work on a monthly basis.

My point is that we as a country are suffering ridiculous car prices on top of ridiculous inflation and this is irresponsible journalism (especially when your audience *not too bright* judging by the comments). Hooha! RM500k Mazda in SG, we Malaysians are so fortunate, bernaz should double the price and we are still cheap. No let’s triple it and still have RM50k savings.

Ps: to fellow commenters – please save your “if you’re not happy, leave Malaysia” BS and think of your children’s children’s future, you numb nuts. I love cars as much as you do and I sure as hell drive a better car than the majority of you. Just continue driving your accords and be happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • All i see is a wall of bollocks. If u really REALLY care about ur childrens childrens future, u wud better sapot gov efforts to promote public transports than to whine and complain about car prices here.

Mass transport & private vehicle ownership is mutually inverse to each other, so which future u prefer for ur children; public transports encouraged by even more exp cars or 10 hr daily jams cuz of cheap cars?

And driving a better car dun make u holier-than-thou. Be humble as a person and respect that, in MY, pipu have choices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • Conteng3 on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Pipu sapott zero tax private vehicle ownership, clean civil system & efficient Mass transport.

• your dad on Jul 24, 2017 at 3:31 pm

I hate it when blind supporters give credit to the government for doing exactly what they are supposed to do – public service. No other country’s’ government takes credit for DOING THEIR JOB. It is the government’s responsibility to provide public transportation. You want to give Jibby a medal / nobel prize for allocating funds towards building MRT?

Let’s not turn this into a political discussion but do you have any idea how much funds have been misappropriated to your hero’s businesses / cronies / proxies? Ask any of your banker friends and they can easily tell you.

Since this is a car discussion – go Google Malaysian minister’s cars and check out a certain bald kid’s car collection.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
        • Give credit where credit is due on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:00 pm

You never got praised in your life?
          You must be a bad person, no benefits to other pipu.

“Give credit where credit is due”

• Nobody turning it political except u. Read back what u wrote. Dun be stupidly blind.

Neither am I askin u to sing praises to gov. True, public transport was neglected under that man. But now its diff, current dude is serious about it and want a sustainable future for children, u too shud sapot gov efforts for more public transports instead of demanding fore more cheaper cars that will gridlock jam the roads, which requires more road constructions that eventually filled with even more cheap cars, that requires more roads, and on and on endlessly until theres no more land to build more roads.

Is this the future u envision for them kids? I rather have a sustainable cleaner, faster future for my kids.

• your dad on Jul 24, 2017 at 5:59 pm

My point wasn’t so much towards car prices alone but the country as a whole.

Nonetheless agreed that this conversation should be taken offline. Lets stick to cars.

• Henry Ford The XII on Jul 24, 2017 at 3:47 pm

Regardless whether it is appropriate or not to report the car prices in other countries in RM, the guys in Paultan.org team are just being consistent in their way of reporting. Here are examples of news where the car price is “cheaper” in RM:
      https://paultan.org/2017/05/09/honda-civic-type-r-launched-in-the-uk-from-rm174k/
      https://paultan.org/2017/07/06/honda-grace-facelift-revised-city-launched-in-japan-gains-honda-sensing-safety-suite-priced-from-rm67k/
      Hope to see your “this is irresponsible journalism” comment under each of those posts.

• your dad on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Being consistent in their reporting does not necessarily mean it is appropriate. Regardless of consistency it is everyone’s freedom to voice their thoughts. I am not alone in pointing out the conversion issue. It doesn’t require much effort to go by XXX launched in Singapore starting from SGD150,000 (RM450,000) as a title.

I have to admit my comment on irresponsible journalism is uncalled for. Apologies to the PT team. Still a huge fan. I am sorry.

• BetterbuyBoy on Jul 24, 2017 at 6:14 am

Expensive CX-5. Better buy Toyota CH-R !

• majority people already booked or bought cr-v… too late already

• Hhhhhhh on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:54 am

Lucky i work in singapore but buy malaysia car, house etc in jb. win win

• Kkkkk on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Lucky u wake up so dem early. no win

• To each his own. I rather not have mental stress jam hours go in and out every single day. Personally the money is just not worth it.

• Real estate agents there all drive 5 series, here malaysia real estate agents drive city

• William on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:50 am

Is good to know the price after converted but as a journalist, you should list the SGD instead of MYR in your title. Is so misleading and I don’t understand why should we look at their converted price instead of looking at their spending power vs their per capital income. The quality of your article is dropping down the drain.