Toyota 86 facelift now in Malaysia – RM258k to RM264k

It appears the facelifted Toyota 86 has silently made its way to Malaysia – we found the refreshed sports coupé at a showroom in Petaling Jaya, as well as a full spec sheet and price list.

Enthusiasts can rejoice at the fact that as before, the new 86 is offered with a six-speed manual gearbox alongside a six-speed automatic option. Prices range from RM257,502 for the manual to RM264,309 for the auto, on-the-road without insurance and inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Changes include a heavily revised front bumper with a lower nose, a wider grille opening and fins on the new fog light bezels. The headlights are now LEDs instead of xenons and feature integrated LED indicators that were previously found on the bumper; there are LED fog lights, too.

Along the sides, the fake fender vents have been redesigned, with the new 86 badge (losing the boxer piston design) moved lower down the fender. Finishing off the changes are new 17-inch machine-finish alloy wheels, new LED tail lights and as a revised rear bumper with a wider diffuser insert that gives the car a stronger stance. A new wing-type rear spoiler comes as standard.

Inside, the 86 benefits from a new multifunction three-spoke steering wheel, as well as a revised instrument cluster with a 4.2-inch TFT LCD colour multi-info display that shows information such as G force, power/torque curves, and a stopwatch. The rev counter has also been reconfigured so that the very top of the meter says 7,000 rpm – where the engine produces maximum power.

Standard kit includes keyless entry, push-button start, dual-zone auto climate control, leather and Alcantara upholstery and a 2-DIN radio/CD player with Bluetooth and six speakers. Safety-wise, there are seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) with a new Track mode.

Under the bonnet, the 2.0 litre FA20 D-4S direct-injected flat-four engine is unchanged, with the same 200 PS and 205 Nm outputs as before. Some markets get an engine with revisions to the intake and exhaust system, netting an extra 7 PS and 7 Nm for manual versions. A Torsen limited-slip diff comes standard.

To increase rigidity, the number of spot welding points on the rear pillars has been increased – in concert with the revised springs and dampers, this provides increased steering response and ride comfort.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Periasamy on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:50 pm

OMG OMG OMG. This is a super cheap car in Australia. So cheap, even kuli also can afford. I have no idea how it come here, it can be RM264k.

I pray and hope the day will come when distributors stop cheating Malaysians.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 270 Thumb down 50
    • Kunta copypaste Samy on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:01 pm

See the same post again and again now from same pax but different identity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 117
      • SighBurger on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:56 pm

AP, AP…hai…AP, AP.

• Sama L00 on Jul 24, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Why so expensive? Ask your beloved government! They need to buy they M3/5 also, right? Who pay for them? Use your brain!

• Why so expensive u ask? It’s to reduce traffic jam of course! Deswai my boss rather invest money in public transport than turunkan harga kereta

• Iskandar on Jul 24, 2017 at 7:01 am

Ringgit falling so much. Badly managed country

• Those that complaint car expensive are always welcome to take public transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Kajai on Jul 24, 2017 at 12:51 pm

how to take when got 6 kids?

• Why have so many kids when u can’t afford a car, hmm?

• Henry on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:08 pm

The issue here is how we all can enjoy the latest car technologies without having to pay tremendous amount of extra for nothing. The engineers worked so hard to produce the car and took just a small margin for profit, and some percentage of tax is acceptable for the country’s growth but when the car arrived here the greedy capitalists made us pay twice the price of the car and they are not even being transparent about where the money goes.

If it’s about reducing traffic, not all areas are suffering traffic jams why people who are using the car somewhere else have to pay the extra? If it’s about jam then introduce a law that could reduce jams at specific area and not by charging everyone so that they couldn’t affort a good car.

Talk about solution john. Try to be a decent human being, you’ll be happier.

• stasta on Jul 25, 2017 at 2:20 pm

what public transport u talking about ? the people outside klang valley have no access to MRT / LRT / BRT.

• tiredofBS on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:15 pm

We all tot u r dead n we all started having decent conversatios here…thn obviously u appeared again under another name…we had few nice days without u spamming every single topic…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 106
    • Hamdan on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:27 pm

thank you peria for showing us the truth. how we kena con

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 6
    • Ohwai on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:26 pm

where is the mental resident here who tells us we have the cheapest cars in the world and cheapest petrol in the world?

• Sigh. The mental patient came in again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • I agree with you man. This car is price about the same as camry in Australia. But here in M’sia, it is way above the camry’s price….WTF?!!

• Pariahsamy on Jul 22, 2017 at 10:40 am

Go live and work in Aussie, enjoy paying min20% income tax, paying at least $10/hr parking rate in the town and $10 for a meals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
      • MenteriPasola101 on Jul 24, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Bolehland income tax can not reach 20℅?
        KL building parking is RM1 per hour?
        And chicken rice Rm2.50?

• Aiyooo on Jul 25, 2017 at 8:46 am

Highest tax bracket is 49% there vs 23% here. Wanna give half your salary to gomen?

• KuntaSupporter on Jul 22, 2017 at 3:41 pm

at first eyeing this 86..after test drove mx5 RF I have to admit mx5 RF is a better fun car and cheaper!

• Anti Fake News Poster on Jul 22, 2017 at 11:11 pm

We are fed up with fake news poster who says Malaysia got cheapest cars in world and cheapest petrol in world

• AYWong on Jul 23, 2017 at 10:53 pm

You are right.
      2017 AE86: AUD34k++ in Aus; MYR264k++ in Msia
      2017 Kia Optima GT: AUD38k++ in Aus; MYR174k++ in Msia
      And even though more expensive the Kia Optima GT is still selling much more units than Toyota AE86 in Australia.
      But in Malaysia the price tag for T&H brand alone is almost on par with Audi. That’s why T&H cars are sold at premium price in Malaysia as compared to other car brands and other countries.

• Poops on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:32 am

Same with Mini. Base price usd$19k in US. How become rm250k here?

• Periasamy on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:52 pm

In Australia Toyota 86 cost AUD30k. After discounts and bargains, one can even get it for AUD27k. (RM90k)

But in Malaysia, price jumps to RM264k.

Heart attack betul RM90k can jump to RM264k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 176 Thumb down 6
    • Pekemon on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Some magic to boost profits of AP grey imports…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • buy without knowledge on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:00 pm

agreed with you on this… in ozzy buyers cross buying between this, the hyundai veloster or the cerato koup.. they are all 200hp 265nm cars… here in msia the veloster n koup are priced between 135k to 150k.. but how come the 86 price 100k more? maybe coz malaysian will just buy as long as its a H or a T

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
    • Pariahsamy on Jul 22, 2017 at 10:34 am

Aud30k is RM101k, you came out from which cave still using x3.0 exchange rate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • ex-VGM staff on Jul 22, 2017 at 4:07 pm

Tax is super high if its fully imported from Japan. same applies to Lexus cars.

• Joshua Lee on Jul 22, 2017 at 8:42 pm

Compare Australia, one me Aussie 20, which is RM60. Here RM20 you’re already making noise. Talk sense please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Yea try getting the same spec for 27k on road in Australia. The numbers you are giving is ridiculous. If it’s so cheap I would buy two to park in the house noob….

• Why get this when AP is much cheaper? Even Imp is cheaper!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • Carbase on the top cakap from RM 236k-242k, but the headline says from RM 258k-264k. Harga da naik ke? Melampau naik dia.

• Freedom on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Zzz Rm257k for a manual ae86 na? Wtf you should at least with supercharged. Dont tell me your ae86 na are good in drifting. If with supercharged than only it is good in drifting. Because with it only alot of fun to drive your overprice 86. If really for that price I think I will go for Honda civic type R. I think it price worthy than this 86. What a rubbish facelift, if it facelift like civic and Elantra with new turbo than that a reason I will buy you maybe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
  • Holofanboi on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:16 pm

This is so strange. For some reason I really, REALLY like the facelift!

I know this car is overpriced and underpowered as all hell, but its so…interesting! Something about the new interior and rear-end of the car gives a very ‘refined’ energy despite how rakish the car looks.

Either that or paultan’s cameraman is too damn good. Or someone stuffed weed into my coffee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Toyota 86 makes for a little sports car, its focus more on excellent handling than power, while proving comfortable to drive on Malaysia roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • AhKeong on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Dislike the steering wheel. Should be flat bottom. Also the price is ridiculous

• Dude... on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:34 pm

RM260k Auto 86 0-100km in 8.2s, dude…. might as well buy a civic 1.5T for half the price! Or for Manual get the Impreza wrx sti for more power and slightly cheaper price, or a cheap fun manual car get the Suprima S with lotus handling.

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:58 pm

I don’t think we got a manual suprima s over here.

• funnyman on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:48 pm

some expert pretender will say heyyyy….this car is about handling…..if want handling…just get a used lotus la. still cheaper and more power and handles better.

• Farid Apandi on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Mahal nak mampos!!!

• Kenny Fang on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:39 pm

What madness is this? RM257K to RM264K for a car with a puny 207PS engine and 212 Nm of torque? Do they expect this car to sell on looks alone? The Elantra Sport can tapau this car for half the price.

• Gonggok on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:43 pm

Priced too high… Everyone would opt for the incoming civic type-r in a heartbeat. Or buy recond imported units at much lower price.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jul 21, 2017 at 7:44 pm

For those complaining about the high price, please google the price of Audi TTS and Ford Mustang EcoBoost in USA, Germany, and Malaysia. You will found out that the price is not proportional because some company wants to make a lot of profit from a small number of sale.

• The interior din age well. Even City FL interior looks more modern.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Macam tin kosong

• Still no touchscreen HU with navi & reverse camera? Ermmm

• applegreen on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:07 pm

At that price better buy lotus. Truly race car type, faster and more fun

• Bernard on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:08 pm

Way too expensive!!!reduce by 70%

• YouMDouble Insane in Da Membrane on Jul 22, 2017 at 6:14 am

Hahahaha , crazy UMW pricing . Only suckers will buy this underpowered overpriced wanna-be sports car with cheap interior quality . But there will be one sucker born every day i guess.

• Toyota suck on Jul 22, 2017 at 7:18 am

Ha ha ha only idiot will buy.. no turbo.. manual transmission..with price tag 250k over..

• Syoiknya Suka Syoik Sendiri on Jul 22, 2017 at 9:01 am

with the same amount of money, I can buy a used Godzilla…..LAGI BEST!

• A45 recond owner on Jul 22, 2017 at 9:27 am

Much better buy Mercedes A45 , 360 hp at this price

• john is otak batu on Jul 22, 2017 at 9:42 am

RM264k???!!!… sorry add 22k I go 4 Audi TT. Sorry Toyota!

• finally they ditch the ugly after market look of the old tail lamp (like from Brothers) ^^

• Uvnice on Jul 22, 2017 at 11:31 am

those compare 0-100 time and cornering speed
    this car is not for you…

this car is all about driving sensation…

• 86fan on Jul 22, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Hi Jon, has the intake been updated with the aluminium intake? How come this version doesn’t come in red? From afar it looks like black plastic, i could be wrong though.

• Tglee on Jul 22, 2017 at 12:45 pm

Simply overprice ..it should be around 190k. I think

• Atz1999 on Jul 22, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Hi if the price 250k better go for german car . If 150k go for Japonicar

• 260k for a plastic galore

• LOK CHYI YEU on Jul 23, 2017 at 5:43 pm

When I see ppl saying it underpower I really don’t kNow what they expect. This car engine 2.0 NA with 200hp and a light chassis is definitely not something u call underpower.

U want so much power for what? U must know how to handle a car not rush in straight line only

• Yes it is under power.

• 4G63T DSM on Jul 24, 2017 at 11:20 am

Perhaps you were used to weak cars, so you would think the 2.0 is adequate. But it is not. Not when a Hot hatch can leave you in the dust.

Its not like the current crop of hot hatches are ill handling.

I get the driving dynamics, but some added go with that looks would be more than welcomed.

• Kucing Siam Kembar on Jul 24, 2017 at 9:25 am

better use the money to buy a 2nd hand BMW M3…..

• Price hikes but things still same

• That amount of money, I would rather buy a conti

• Y’all need to stop talking about the damn price. Performance. The MX-5 RF has no back seat and you have to agree, it would be needed. The suspension on Mazda is softer too which has more body rolls. The GTI is boring. The Cerato Koup with 1.6t engine has the power but the transmission and handling are shit comparing to GT86. What else ? We have Ford Focus RS and A45///AMG. They cost about 100k more than these so its of the question. If you need performance and daily usage you could go for 330i with M brakes and Suspension. Only down side it has no LSD and BMW cars are not reliable. The GT86 2017 with Manual Transmission is the best choice. With a Revised ECU, Bigger Radiator and Brake Pads/Rotors then tyres. I’d say it is the perfect car. If one feels the need of extra power well there is always bolt on parts (Supercharger or Turbocharger) kits to be installed for around RM10-20k. Beside this car is build to be purchased and modify based on the owners need. Have fun guys, at Sepang not SKVE !

• Be matured on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:37 pm

U might hv a fast car but u r not a fast driver…too bad

• Danial on Sep 17, 2019 at 8:23 pm

I always hear car enthusiast say that the gt86/brz is the affordable fun sports car and can be modified heavily but wtf is this price?? Like damn are our economy that bad that they have to put high tax on cars? Don’t say the “use public transport” bs in penang we only have rapid bus ane imagine other regions especially in the deeper area… Give malaysians chance to experience good developed cars or make the public transport as efficient as Singapore or smtg ffs.

• Albert on Nov 14, 2022 at 1:59 pm

Help gt 86 accessories outlet in sybang jaya or nearby