TuneD teases its upcoming Proton Saga 2 0 rework

Back in May, local tuning outfit TuneD unveiled its first range of aftermarket bodykits and exclusive packages designed specifically to fit the three Proton models, the Persona, Preve and the Saga. Following comments and feedback about the Saga’s exterior design elements, especially with regards to the front end, the company has come up with a new reinterpretation.

A short video teaser of the Saga Tuned 2 0 project shows that the rework is bringing about a new grille and bumper in a bid to address the criticism of the initial design. Some alterations to the rear presentation have also been carried out, with a black lid spoiler and redone boot trim plate evident in the video clip.

Elsewhere, the TuneD car gets new double five-spoke wheels, presumably 16-inch units, to replace the multi-spoke design of the original restyling job. The side skirt also looks to have been redone,
with a black-coloured splitter now running across the entire length of the unit.

Otherwise, the Fierce Red exterior colour remains, as does the blacked-out pillar treatment to offer the car a ‘floating roof’ look. The TuneD modification package also introduces LED lighting, daytime running lights (DRL), push-start ignition and hood insulation.

No view of the interior for the Saga 2 0, but there should likely be very little change in this area, with partial leather upholstery for the seats already on the first time out. Based on the video teaser, the car on show in the preview should contain all the elements in the Premium package available for the Saga.

GALLERY: TuneD Proton Saga, launch version

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• kenot on Jul 21, 2017 at 12:43 pm

sorry. No matter you have do, this saga still look weird.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 36
  • Now old rempits with koyak jeans will overspeed saga shaitann cuz bodykits add +144.4hp boost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 18
  • kiddd on Jul 21, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Much better than before..
    hopefully can tune for bayu.. 19inch wheel, big spoiler, massive bumper..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Geely Pet on Jul 21, 2017 at 1:52 pm

China’s project too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • Periasamy on Jul 21, 2017 at 1:57 pm

This is a big joke. Already buyers who buy the Saga are lower income and short of money, TuneD tries to sell a bodykit for Rm5000.

Hello TuneD, pakai hotak sikit. Where Saga buyers can afford this gimmick?

Gomen also should penalise TuneD cause some buyers may cleverly put the TuneD bodykit into their loan while buying the car.

This is bad as it increases household debt tremendously.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 23
    • DonkeyKong on Jul 21, 2017 at 4:32 pm

That’s where you’re wrong. Most Saga buyers have poor financial discipline and love to waste money. TuneD is tapping into that market. Just look at any Saga FB group.. the first thing they do after they get the car is to change sport rims, change exhaust system. add bodykits, and other unnecessary stuff..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • Teropong on Jul 21, 2017 at 4:52 pm

Earn rm8143 monthly easy to afford.

• Sagaruddin Fanboy on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:56 am

Alaaa uncle.. if dont like it you got a way to go.. BTW all local car variance are rubbish tho lmao.. add up to almost Rm500 from normal standard varience price for 7-9 years rottin in malaysia driving bezza gay and saga sajat where theres lesser space for cars to drive around until die …

• Proton, please stop wasting funds on “un”potential models.
    Bring us back the Satria/Putra variants!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
    • Amarzaman Kamaruzaman on Jul 21, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Proton is actually doing what you’ve advised. They’ve stopped wasting funds on low potential models – satria/putra variants.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
      • What?? on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:48 pm

All they need to do now is discontinue the barely-selling Suprima and channel the funding into their other projects i.e Preve FL and GDI engines. They’ve already cut R3 and Lotus so why not the Suprima as well.

• foton on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:13 pm

dont forget the new perdana and inspira as well.. hardly see this two models at road.. most inspira owner x mengaku proton, change emblem to mitsubishi instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • What?? on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Inspira already stopped production 2 years ago. As for Perdana, I want to see what Proton could do with it, maybe if they put in the new engine/cvt+more standard features like LED headlights, 6 airbags and keyless entry/start then maybe it could sell better. Main issue with the Perdana was that it’s 140k but lacks a lot of features like the ones stated above.

• If Proton were allowed to fully tune Perdana, it will perform much much better than the original Accord in the ride and handling department. What to do, Honda is intimidated by Proton capability and forbid that to happen.

• My england is bad on Jul 22, 2017 at 8:33 am

Cannot see inspira with proton emblem? Of course cannot coz duduk in gua

• Another clown giving false hope. How many putra can you buy to justify the development cost? Proton so deep hole now also partly contributed by these models.

• Whoever behind this please just go back kampung and tanam jagung.

First design was awful. This one resembles Honda design language…. please. Just go home please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 10
  • Gau gao on Jul 21, 2017 at 2:28 pm

Hahaha

• instead of showing this which was not meaningfull ?? why not show how is the process for develop the geely boyue ??? sure alot ppl interest on it

• Drastically improvement by them. this design more better then previous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Henry on Jul 21, 2017 at 2:49 pm

A waste of time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • Slightly better,but still it’s a ugly rice

• thepolygonal on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:03 pm

Fulamak.. this one looks like CLA AMG. Good… janganlah macam ni… must support sikit mah

• SALang on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Anyway… Saga will still a Sage.. no matter what you do, how much you do… its still Saga..

Waste of time, waste of fund..

Better spend time and fund for something really meaningful.

• Bernard on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:07 pm

There are many criticisms here but the Saga buyers are a segment who will appreciate this no matter how horrid it may seem to the rest of the world. They have a mentality that is unusual to others. Even if no food to eat, must have body kit mentality with big exhaust and mercedes emblem in front!. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder:)

• Proton is losing potential and repeat buyers because the competitor is giving fuss free and fuel efficient A segment cars. All these kits are secondary to them. Saga engine is punchy and not smooth. The doors are stiff. Buck up proton -geely.

• How does P1 sales relates with TuneD bodykits?

• leoRNado on Jul 23, 2017 at 3:53 pm

Low no of sales means low sales of bodykits..

• But how does bodykit from 3rd party helps make or break sales of car?

• leoRNado on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:06 pm

I didn’t say bodykits can boost sales. Simple math is if Saga sold 10u a month, how could u sell bodykits 15u/mth.

• Tutup ajela whatever TuneD department or kampeni.
    Takde talent nak design bodykit nak design jugak.
    Pastu design 1 jadi sampah. design 2 copycat.
    TUUTUP AJE LAA TUNED OIIII

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
  • Mikey on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:31 pm

One should be proud to just drive/use it for its intended purpose which is to take 4/5 people & carry lots of goods to balik Kampong.

Only people with inferiority complex will want to waste $$$ on something which will not make the Saga faster/safer.

• ryder0707 on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:42 pm

When saga owners see this…they get too excited until wet their pants but when PT readers see this they get too excited to bash kaw2!!! hahaha

• applegreen on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:53 pm

The bodykit is okay well i mean better than ah beng trd vios.

But the problem is the car body and tyre or wheel arc size are not proportioned. Looks like a body builder with small feet

• Johnnas on Jul 21, 2017 at 4:33 pm

Tuned or De-tuned?

• keepskin on Jul 21, 2017 at 4:51 pm

FIRST TIME i ever see , most ugliest design made it to the big screen ,

give free bodykit also dont want, dont make me feel ashamed of myself and a laughing stock.

i come in MISLEADED THOUGH IS SAGA 2.0L

• wawasan2020 on Jul 21, 2017 at 4:58 pm

please dont scare Geely. you makes them have nightmare at night.

• Dsgnr on Jul 22, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Same same also with geely design. No design is really good nowadays

• Ceejay on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:10 pm

One thing: what does Tune meant heh?
    Powerzone, Workz Engineering is what then? Rocket science?

No wonder products like Toyota VIOS Gazoo racing sportivo ver can happen in Malaysia.

Chawdut. I told my friend my car is tuned. Because I stick Ralliart sticker to the door and changed my bumper to evo X bumper.

And you can’t see the rear disc brake, front brembo caliper is becoz my 20 inch rim spin too fast you can’t see.

It’s properly tuned yo.

• Jeffrey Chew on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Rendering only…Need for speed meh?

• Why must bash? on Jul 21, 2017 at 5:36 pm

This is a much improved design than the previous.

• Fake exhaust tips are still fake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Jul 21, 2017 at 6:20 pm

The current designers employed at Proton should be fired. Especially the chief designer! Proton should be concentrating on producing affordable value for money cars with good safety features. Why all these cheapalak ideas of making an already ugly car, uglier? You guys really got to stop this self indulging ego and start producing cars that are simple and affordable to own. Jeez!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
  • Where in the article mentioned this is from Proton? This is a local company, not related to Proton. Proton jugak kena XD

• This is really joke of the year. Poor Saga!

• choha on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:07 pm

way better than previous one

• James on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:34 pm

In my most honest opinion, this saga looks best stock. At most also just add a wing and get it lowered.

For this tuneD package which I assume will cost about 5k, I better use to to add bolt on turbo or supercharger which this car quite needs.

• oh mak lu on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:40 pm

TuneD = Tun in past tense! Game over for the whole bunch!

• blablabla on Jul 22, 2017 at 2:08 am

Push start ignition?like mercedes where u still need to insert key then push the button. Or just typical smart key in pocket then push button? If the latter, then its really waste of money.

• halim aliff on Jul 22, 2017 at 4:34 am

At the rate Proton is moving, looks like they need another 1.8 bil to stay relevant.
    Nothing has changed in P1 , business as usual with 4 tea breaks during office hours.
    Its already the end of July and still no mention of its new engine range.
    No matter how you tweak a Saga , deep down its drive train still sucks big time.

• Syoiknya Suka Syoik Sendiri on Jul 22, 2017 at 9:05 am

The car already looks silly, originally. Short wheel base with disproportioned body, silly size wheel arch……Kinda like Thomas the Train

Now bodykit??

You cant polish if it is a piece of tur*

• Abg karim type r on Jul 22, 2017 at 9:18 am

Ala toksah gaduh gaduh , janji boleh jual dah ler , asal Proton buat jer sume komplen , sekarang ni bersepah budak muda beli civic fd sekenhen lepas pakai body fd type r beli kat kedai potong , naper tak komplen , hahaha

• I.love proton but only my satria GTI… Got 200kmj n above easilly in relaxing driving. Tq proton satria GTI

• Kangkung dulu naik sekarang dah turun on Jul 22, 2017 at 7:05 pm

Wuu…it has honda grille

• Personian on Jul 23, 2017 at 8:59 am

Where to buy this tuneD? Buy at proton kah? No shop no website with stupid brand name, search google came out tune hotel or tune talk..interested change leather seat for my persona. Those expensive heavily change of exterior useless lah…5k?? Better use to buy better model or spec lah…

• leoRNado on Jul 23, 2017 at 3:50 pm

What happen to R3?. berkubur?

• kuntak on Jul 24, 2017 at 8:27 am

Please read more dun stay in cave

• leoRNado on Jul 24, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Already read. Cant find news about R3?.. What I meant was the so called bodykits shud enhance thru R3 since its already have name and reputation. Why need to create another name..

To develop this R3 dept is not cheap and yet not utilize it.

• Hairi Dein on Jul 23, 2017 at 4:59 pm

Why did proton replacing the fog lamp with DRL?