Toyota C-HR to appear in selected showrooms from August – 1.8L Dual VVT-i engine, CVT, ROI now open

For those who have been eagerly awaiting the arrival of the Toyota C-HR, good news. UMW Toyota has announced the compact SUV will be displayed at selected showrooms from next month onwards as part of a public preview.

The C-HR first made its local appearance back in May this year, and recently, the company launched a registration of interest (ROI) page that included some information about the model’s specifications.

Under the hood of the C-HR is a 1.8 litre Dual VVT-i petrol engine, which is mated to a CVT automatic (with sequential shifter). Other features include follow-me-home headlights, puddle lights as well as a “full range of safety features,” the last of which includes rear cross traffic alert.

There’s also a shot of the car’s “luxurious interior,” which appears to host a UMW Toyota head unit similar to that on the latest Innova, as well as fabric upholstery for the seats.

The C-HR will make an appearance at Toyota Section 19 from August 4-8, before heading to Batu Kawan Stadium, Penang, in conjunction with the Toyota Gazoo Racing (TGR) Racing Festival from August 12-13. Shortly after, it will be on display at the Toyota Subang Jaya showroom (August 16-22), Mid Valley Megamall (August 23-27), Sunway Pyramid (September 4-10) and other locations around Peninsular Malaysia.

Those interested in the C-HR can proceed to the Toyota C-HR ROI page, here.

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR ROI page

GALLERY: Toyota C-HR preview in Malaysia

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Yokool on Jul 28, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Toyota equivalent of Adidas Yeezy Ultraboost, hip hip Toyota CH-R! Bring it on!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
    • Periasamy on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:43 pm

Hope our Government honours its promise to the rakyat to reduce car prices by 30%. Gomen gave this promise 4 years ago. But every year since then, car prices have been going UP UP UP UP.

Malaysia has already the highest car prices in the world in comparison to our low GDP Per Capita. Let us hope this CHR comes with a reasonable price.

Let us hope our Gomen, through their beloved UMW GLC, reduce this CHR by 30%

OR even better, bring in the 1.2 Hybrid and get tax benefit.

Why UMW bring in the 1.8 engine without tax benefit? The 1.2 Hyrbid at least will get lower tax which will benefit Malaysians

Can I ask UMW aka gomen GLC why they don’t want to sell the cheaper 1.2 Hybrid with Gomen tax exemptions?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 7
      • DS Samy on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Clean hybrid kennot drink dirty MY euro2petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
        • Timun Batang John on Jul 30, 2017 at 1:13 pm

To buy this CHR is small matter. Cause people say all Malaysians earn RM8k

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 130
        • Panjang on Jul 28, 2017 at 8:15 pm

After reduced 30%…konpem cheapest car prices in the world. ha ha

• John Multiple Dupes on Jul 29, 2017 at 8:04 am

Fed up with fake propaganda trying to fool the rakyat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
        • John Fake News Poster on Jul 29, 2017 at 2:31 pm

again fake news that Malaysia has cheapest petrol in the world and Malaysia has cheapest cars in the world.

Don’t you get bored?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
        • Mutalib on Jul 29, 2017 at 7:27 pm

john pls share your source Msia has cheapest car prices in world? Or are you lying again?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Periasamy on Jul 29, 2017 at 10:42 pm

OMG OMG MG another fake statement. Can you give us the link to verify your statement?

Everybody here wants to know whether you are sane to say malaysia got cheapest car prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
        • I am shocked our mental resident always say

1) we got cheapest cars
          2) we got cheapest petrol
          3) all saga got VSC
          4) all our gaji RM8k
          5) bikes are cheapest in the world
          6) Proton is the Best Car in World

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
          • Kunta Multiple Dupes on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:33 am

And our blind basher and his dupes always say:
            1.P1 loss 4 mil a day.
            -Got geely-P1 deal ady

2.P1 workers cannot produce 600,000 unit cars
            -2 factories vs 4
            -Older tech vs newer

So shame

• This car might not sell well cause Proton Boyue is a better buy. Anyway, why do we complain about car prices? Malaysia has the cheapest car prices in the world. Let us be grateful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 140
        • Front of Altis, side of HRV, rear of Civic ketam, price of Camry. Who wants Frankenstein mish-mash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 55
          • John36 on Jul 30, 2017 at 1:05 pm

Is it?? Wah.. u jadi la car designer. Tgk u punya design dulu.
            If u cannot afford, just zip your mouth dude.

• Periasamy on Jul 29, 2017 at 10:23 am

only a very dumb person would say Proton and Toyota is at par. Syiok sendiri. this is why people and menteri say Proton is higher quality than BMW and Volvo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • Yes. Very dumb. P1 only has higher quality than toyota, thats all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 48
          • Periasamy on Jul 29, 2017 at 10:44 pm

If proton had higher quality than Toyota, Proton won’t be bankrupt and begging for handouts and tongkat

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
          • Nokias alwiz had legendary build quality compared to ipong. Wheres Nokia & wheres Epal now?

• There is no such thing as a 1.2 Hybrid for CH-R. There is only a 1.2L petrol turbo and a 1.8L hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • When price high, u says too exp. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?

Which world u came from that has bog standard cars with super low price & super high RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 53
        • Attention people! Mr. John is a Toyota basher and hater so kindly ignore his biased opinion. He’s got nothing better to do I suppose.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
          • John is proton SA….

• Malaysia Boleh on Jul 29, 2017 at 6:01 am

TQ for the heads up JKL.
            Everyone needs to earn a living we supposed, a paid basher nonetheless. All Auto fans are welcomed here & no one is taunted to keluar dari PT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
          • Yes.
            Ive nothing better to do than to advocate for safer cars.
            Ive nothing better to do than to harangue jepunis lords that dun care about ASEAN lives.
            Ive nothing better to do than to demand them lords gip us better safety specs (which Honda lord doing).
            Ive nothing better to do than to ensure we ASEAN dun become dumping ground for them jepunis lords.

So yes, Ive nothing better to do than above. #ASEANLivesMatter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 53
          • Danny Ong on Jul 29, 2017 at 11:35 am

But your Jepunis lords sell cars with VSC and 6 airbags. It is UMW and DRB that reduce the airbags and take out the VSC.

So, when you go to Putrajaya on Monday, tell your bosses not to be greedy.

Jepunis bagi safety tapi abang abang yang keluarkan safety

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
          • Correct Danny. Greedy jepunis lords must be put in their place and warned not to treat us ASEAN like it dun matter. Honda lord & Mazda lord is starting to learn their lesson. Toyota & their minor underling lords, still tidor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
          • Periasamy on Jul 29, 2017 at 10:45 pm

just ignore the troll JKL.

• John Multiple Dupes on Jul 29, 2017 at 8:01 am

and dont forget he is also a troublemaker in this site

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
          • Lol toyota supporter sudah goyang. Still saying toyota is better than proton?

Iriz 6 airbags, vios got 2
            Preve got more HPF than 5 star NCAP jepunislord cars
            Superb handling, in stock form no need to mod here and there. For racing? It is for safety.
            Spare parts? Reliability? Let the past thing moves on. Power window etc rosam sudah basi.
            RV? You spend more you lose more nuff said? Dun belip?

Buy altis 120k after 5 years oni 75k loss 65k. Buy preve 70k after 5 years 30k loss 40k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
          • Mutalib on Jul 29, 2017 at 7:07 pm

ha ha desperate dupe. Berambus lah. People don’t want your fake news and fake dupes

• 7yrsold on Jul 29, 2017 at 11:25 pm

UNCLE john, 120k – 75k = 45k. Not loss 65k

• Hanum on Jul 30, 2017 at 2:05 pm

ha ha ha simple maths also dont know.

• MRSM Maths on Jul 30, 2017 at 7:06 pm

This kind of matematik standard expected

• sjkc teacher on Jul 31, 2017 at 10:42 am

Matematik? LOL
            Even bashing oso fail, expect that from my stupid pupil

• suomynona on Jul 29, 2017 at 7:15 pm

https://paultan.org/2017/07/27/toyota-c-hr-for-malaysia-1-8l-cvt-roi-now-open/img5/

Eh hello, advertising this as a special feature ah? Rear door handle? Like you’re the only car in the segment that has it.

Okay, so you wanna show off the handle’s design like how it looks on the H-RV. That’s not always a good selling point. r.i.p short ppl.

• One utama bila?

• YB Albert on Jul 28, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Get ready 105-120K budget,if u want to book this new CHR from UMW…..the super duper hyper premium price leader.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Maria on Jul 28, 2017 at 8:05 pm

(Like) Toyota CH-R.
      (Dislike) Honda HR-V

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 55
    • B-Segment SUV on Jul 28, 2017 at 8:28 pm

RM105K-RM120K would be a good price. Heard the crazy pricing will be RM120K-RM124K, despite not having full leather and the gorgeous rim.

• Sense on Jul 29, 2017 at 1:56 am

Come on, looks is clearly the MAIN selling point of this car and yet you decided to remove the nice rims and LED’s. And even if it came with a 2.0NA it would have been fine(at least more powerful) of course the 1.2T would be great to save road tax while providing decent torque…but the 1.8NA is neither powerful nor saving road tax…..!(Either way all engines are not particularly powerful for this car)
      Actually, this car is quite a looker, but UMW underspecc it, yet it will not be cheap too.

• Malaysia Boleh on Jul 28, 2017 at 6:56 pm

Low spec give, will see the price how much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • LOK CHYI YEU on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:02 pm

oh come on…. no price no hybrid no turbo…. like that want ppl how to buy? U got to be toyota badge lover to buy without looking at those.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • How come no Turbo? challange HR-V? sure lose!
    If got turbo, sure can hit HR-V sales coz HR-V doesn’t come with turbo /.\

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • Talkok on Jul 28, 2017 at 8:09 pm

Peugeot 2008 & Renault Captur w Turbocharged engine. How many u bought?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • camtakpro on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Peugeot and Renault? lol, might as well say how many people bought Bugatti Chiron?

Civic with Turbo how many people have bought?

• Proton oh Proton on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Maybe during CHR arrived, Honda hv change game plan n introduce HRV turbo version n win Malaysia market share haha…

• apamau on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:56 pm

HRV will come with Hybrid, with massive tax advantage, brings the price point to where CHR cannot tahan. wait n see.

• Jeffrey Ng on Jul 28, 2017 at 10:52 pm

HRV turbo will kill off its stablemate CRV, instantly.

• In your dream maybe HRV turbo. Just accept the fact that it’s fast becoming obsolete.

• My england is bad on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:19 pm

Habis la, engine underpower. This is heavier than bulky exora, how to climb genting?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Betui betui betui. At least Exora CPS 1.6l after 3800k RPM can boost power, jepunis engine apa ada? Weak VVTi macam pondan

• Operation Manager on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:20 pm

We wait Proton Boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Yup, if full spec Rm 90k, as SUV CRV size… more value of money…

• Honda Malaysia on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:41 pm

1.8 dual simcard engine..been in altis 1.8 so long times now take to CHR….. make a nasi lemak with expired rice

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Kenny Fang on Jul 28, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Where is the turbo? This is a car which looks fast but can’t go fast.

• Mr Samy Chan Abdullah on Jul 28, 2017 at 8:14 pm

Another ugly transformer.

• Without those accessories, it really look not that attractive anymore. Even the city hybrid or jazz hybrid has better engine and spec…. now 90k b segment can offer oem full led headlights, anything above 100k no offering = Not worth it.

• Kunta Abdul Katak on Jul 29, 2017 at 11:13 am

Same old technology. No direct injection. No turbo. Lousy suspension. Old useless cvt gearbox. No wonder Toyota is not selling well here in Malaysia.

• HT Mao on Jul 29, 2017 at 12:45 pm

I am very happy with my Porsche Cayenne. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
  • Jaddon on Jul 29, 2017 at 8:06 pm

No thanks. I am waiting for Subaru XV next year.

• SUX 2000 on Jul 30, 2017 at 8:22 am

Wait And See How Toyota C-HR beat the competition.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 30, 2017 at 2:06 pm

cx3 looks like a bargain compared to this….

• seancorr (Member) on Jul 30, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Wait what? Fabric seats??

• Judging by the interior picture with the steering wheel, the Malaysian model might missed out both Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) and Lane Keeping Assist. If you noticed the two missing buttons on the right side of the steering wheel. And the fact that they mentioned Rear Cross Traffic Alert as the highlight of the safety feature. That will come with Blind Spot Monitoring as these two feature works together. I might be wrong but we will see during the launch.

• Ramjet on Jul 31, 2017 at 12:55 pm

Funnily enough, if you replaced the logo with a H logo, I would have believed it came from H …. lol