FIRST LOOK: Lexus LC 500 walk-around – RM940k

With its official launch last week, we can now bring you a video walk-around of the new, almost concept car-like Lexus LC 500, which arrived in Malaysia with a cool RM940,000 (on-the-road without insurance) price tag. This Luxury Coupe is all about the details, as you’ll see here.

A naturally-aspirated, Atkinson- and Otto-cycle 5.0 litre V8 is the sole engine choice here, mated to a 10-speed Direct Shift automatic gearbox driving the rear axle, which is also equipped with a limited-slip differential for the Malaysian market (optional in certain others). As you’ll surely hear in the video above, it sounds refreshingly vocal in an increasingly turbo-muffled world.

In some enthusiast circles, the wheels maketh the car, and the LC 500’s certainly look like they came straight off the LF-LC concept, with its 21-inch diameter and bespoke Bridgestone Potenza S001L tyres – L for Lexus. It even has supercar provenance; the imposing two-door Lexus is built in the same Motomachi factory in Japan as the Lexus LFA.

Hat-tips to that supercar, design-wise, include the movable digital instrumentation, and the door panel rivets that are shared with the V10 beast. As our man Hafriz Shah says, it looks like a million bucks yet you get change from a seven-figure sum – a bit of a bargain from that perspective isn’t it?

For more information and specifications of the Lexus LC 500, head on over to CarBase.my

GALLERY: Lexus LC 500 in Malaysia

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Hey,

Can you post something else rather than your pic always stand beside the cars ? lol thats funnny man, and tuck in your shirt please, else you can put a cap on top match your hip hop style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 66
    • thepolygonal on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Not cool man… he is just doing his job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:44 pm

tuck in is so old skool

• Lexus chicks on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Why dont you replace yourself with a hot chick..most of us are here for chicks onli..can ah?

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:10 pm

No offence but you have come to the wrong site, fashion advisor.

• This is a car site. Not a man site.
      Focus on the car, not the man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Subzero on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:20 pm

I think you just hate fat obese people . No worries mate , i despise them too .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • Korean Fan on Aug 05, 2017 at 8:54 pm

What a sicko. You want to control everyone life to the point you want to tell him what to post, where to stand and how to dress? Are you paying his salary or did Paul Tan pay you to visit his site?

• Kelab Kunta on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:16 pm

Toyota think they are Rolls Royce. Especially UMW. How to spend RM940k on a car when Lexus is the King of RV Depreciation?

For example, Lexus LS460L was about RM950k. Within 5 years, the car become RM90k. Used car dealers beg you to take the car even cheaper.

Champion betul RM950k can go to RM90k. Totally unheard off.

Anyway, better buy a 2007 Ferrari F430 for RM360k. Balance 600k just keep it to maintain the car.

A ferrari is a ferrari

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 71
    • Shut the F Up already. I am so sick reading your comments. If you have something good to say like if you had personally review the car you may comment. Otherwise please go to your room an J…k off under your sheets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 36
      • I like his comments. He gives the reality of things. Lexus salesman, pls J…k off under your sheets

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
        • Yeah. Cave reality. Lolz!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
        • Rahim on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:26 pm

I like Kunta’s comments. Very well written and illogical. At least he does not spread lies like Malaysia has the cheapest petrol in the world

• Well written and illogical. Yep, just like a Nigerian prince.

• Omar, or perhaps Kunta’s right hand? If you want to hurl insults at least be original. I am not a Lexus sales man all I want is for people here to at least comment on their experience with the actual car rather than go on and on without any basis. Go to some of the international car blogs and you will know what I mean. So Omar please enjoy yourself biting the pillow when Kunta is having a great time with you. Perhaps you can go back and play your PS2 car games.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Air liur kamu memang banyak, macam makcik makcik kat pasar. Talk talk talk just for the sake of talking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • KuntaSupporter on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:37 pm

kunta well said!!! we support your viewpoints! keep it up! we need to tell the truth to malaysian! a lexus is a lexus.

• konta konte on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:58 pm

Even is this Lexus sells at half price, u still not able to buy one. Lexus biscuits. Maybe. The small pack.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:17 pm

Sweet!!! The intoxicating sound of an NA engine…..

• CAR REPO SPECIALIST AND AUCTIONEER on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Nice one bro, i am getting mine soon.. . Ppl who drive this have style and money.. rest of you please work hard on buying a Myvi at least.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • kunta kurap on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:33 pm

But but but basher said normal pipu should have luxury cars!

• lexusbiskut on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:58 pm

RM940k what a great bargain!!! Similar class supercars from Aston Martin, Bentley & Lamborghini cost DOUBLE!

• thepolygonal on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Can use to offset company balance sheet to avoid tax. At the same time rotate among staffs to use the car to boost morale.

• Deadpool on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:34 pm

This fatboy looks slimmer this week

• Top class interior quality…

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:28 pm

Beautiful car that looks like a concept car just drove off a car show, with an interior that will give Audi and Rolls Royce interior designer sleepless nights. Fit and finish is typical Lexus perfection. And thats before you even start the engine. Someone who can afford a car this price shouldn’t find it difficult to cough up the RM11k road tax. The glorious sound of that V8 is worth the price of admission. Its also priced about the same as a Carrera S. The Porsche accelerates slightly faster to 100km/h, and has a higher top speed. But put both side by side, its obvious which looks more special. In the end, it depends what you are looking for. The Carrera S is supercar territory, so its brutally fast and engaging. The LC is still a GT, so it will immerse you in luxury whether driving at 2 km/h or crossing continents at over 200km/h. It will still be a hoot to drive in the twisties, but its not a supercar and does not pretend to be one.

• No worth to own, too ugly. I dun 1 the ticket to underworld

• theNewKing on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:43 pm

I like the car because it is NA and not turbo.
    I don’t like it because it is I personally don’t think it has the million bucks look.
    Mercedes GT or BMW i8 has more wow factor to me..
    this just doesn’t look like a super car. I would even take a E Class coupe for the practically and space.
    maybe this car would look better in other colors… never a big fan of that lexus grill

• I beg to differ on Aug 03, 2017 at 8:50 pm

The interior sir is soo…dated.

You want premium, you can get it in a Porsche Panamera, with all the new tech gadget inside, the S variant is faster than this piece of showy crap (literally looks like a crab too).

UMW should stop selling Lexus with the jacked up price more expensive than it’s German rival. Lexus should spell value luxury, not the way UMW is positioning it as top of the line luxury.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:40 pm

boring…waiting for new supra

• Sardine Kopi-O on Aug 04, 2017 at 11:00 pm

I better use the money and buy a GTR……