Mitsubishi Xpander coming to Malaysia in 2018 – CEO

The Mitsubishi Xpander, which made its world debut and Indonesian market debut at the 2017 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS), is coming to Malaysia next year, according to Mitsubishi Motors Corp CEO Osamu Masuko, reported by Reuters.

“We will export this car across ASEAN countries starting next February,” Masuko said of the Indonesian-made Xpander. MMC will start exporting to the Philippines, followed by Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam, the report said.

The Xpander is made in MMC’s new plant in Bekasi, West Java, with a volume of 80,000 units per year. Indonesia’s auto market, the largest in ASEAN, is dominated by MPVs, and only a quarter of the 80k total will be exported.

In the Republic, the Xpander is a much-anticipated entry into the country’s core “Low MPV” segment, one dominated by the likes of the the Toyota Avanza, Daihatsu Xenia, Suzuki Ertiga and Honda Mobilio.

The Xpander’s unique selling point is its looks, which are highly-stylised and sculptured for a car in this utilitarian class. Mitsubishi has a rich off-roading 4×4 heritage, and has of late turned itself into an SUV company – this seven-seater “small crossover MPV” plays on those points with SUV-inspired styling. That’s a trick also used by Honda for the BR-V, which the Xpander will rival in Malaysia.

The three-row, seven-seat Xpander is 4,475 mm long and 1,750 mm wide, which is 22 mm longer and 15 mm wider than the BR-V. The Mitsu’s 2,775 mm wheelbase is a 113 mm longer than the Honda’s. The ground clearance – at 205 mm – is the highest in class and 4 mm higher than the BR-V’s.

The Xpander is powered by a 4A91 1.5 litre four-cylinder engine. The DOHC MIVEC unit produces 104 PS and 141 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Power goes to the front wheels via a five-speed manual or a four-speed torque converter automatic transmission.

In its home market, the Xpander is available in five trim levels – GLX, GLS, Exceed, Sport and Ultimate – and is priced from Rp 189,050,000 (RM60,843) to Rp 245,350,000 (RM78,968). What do you think of this Honda BR-V challenger?

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Xpander Sport A/T

GALLERY: Mitsubishi Xpander Ultimate A/T

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ryder0707 on Aug 14, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Should bring in the legendary New Pajero Sport as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Exteriors looks good, until read 1.5L 104 ps and 4 speed auto!!!! Interior design doesn’t match the sport exterior….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 5
      • Operation Manager on Aug 14, 2017 at 7:54 pm

@Hello, Musang King call °¥° my spender best design across same segment !!! Civic X as well, interior can’t match with sporty exterior….

• Albert Yong on Aug 14, 2017 at 8:37 pm

Can Malaysia also sell this at RM60k? Or do we need to pay RM100k as usual?

IF this car comes in, nobody will buy China made Boyue. Oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
        • After cycling thru with all ur dupes and found them barred, now u use ur real nick eh?

Anyways, Mitsu Underwear is not competing with Boyue. Thats 1 class bigger, and has 4WD config.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:55 pm

This is a better buy than the plain looking brv…the brv will look like a servant when parked next to the majestic looking xpander..those driving brv will surely feel inferior to the extend of losing their self esteem…not to mention dignity.. pity these honda fanboys…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 17
      • Shud do ASEANNCAP test & rear crash test 1st b4 bring in here. If body like BRV tissue, then better do come here. We dun wan another moving deathtrap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
        • 12yrsold on Aug 15, 2017 at 9:31 am

Bravo john, U have manage to bash ALL Sushi & Kimchi now after hiding behind Honda to bash Toyo/Nissan/Mazda countless time, now U are bashing BRV.
          U are insulting thousands of BRV buyers who pay hard earn $$$ to own one. If our Gov have approved this BRV for sale, who are U to call the BRV a deathtrap??
          Now U can go ask our Gov to do ASEAN-NCAP test & rear crash test 1st b4 bring in here. He he he. Cheers…

• Hmm, i guess it must be wrong from ur PoV to advocate safer cars for us ASEAN pipu. U probably not even from ASEAN.

But heres some useful info. All NCAP centers testing is done independent of any govs. They themselves will purchase car anonymously (or receive donation) and crash w/o input from manufacturers, then grade it accordingly.

Heres a gud source globalncap.org/ncaps/

• CKD wait. Cheaper on Aug 15, 2017 at 9:36 pm

CBU usually high price. Wait till get eev n ckd then 60k

• Add more airbag, make the interior black, swap the physical handbrake with electronic parking brake and most importantly price it below 80K. It will provide a more competitive market by pitting it against the current solo BR-V and the forgotten Avanza (so UMW will wake up from all day sleeping session). Forget about the Livina/X-Gear because TC already surrender.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 7
    • Its a LOW MPV, what do you expect? Some high tech equipped for your ignorance? And then, asking some ridiculous price? I agree with you for bringing in black interior instead of beige, but hey, its a budget MPV, if you want Electronic Parking brake, go and buy Vellfire or Alphard. They manage to price it under RM100k also count as good already.

• the beige interior for “ultimate” type. you can choose “sport” type for black interior.

• (Like) 2018 Mitsubishi Xpander.
    (Dislike) 2018 Proton Boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 48
  • Emlan on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Should change name too…reflect new thinking and styling, maybe Mitsubishi Traverse

• WT Fuchhhh on Aug 14, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Howabout Mitsu Jitsu, Mitsu Getter, Mitsu Jeepers and Mitsu Katsu.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Aug 15, 2017 at 10:36 am

If Xpander almost sounds like spender, Traverse sounds near to transves..tite…lol

• i am ready to buy
    MMC u r welcome

i shall take the beige color interior

• jaq_z21 on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:23 pm

I hope Malaysia version will come with dark interior.

• looks like the slightly weird looking sienta and BRV will have a similarly weird looking rival.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:38 pm

The front reminds me of the Predator’s face.

• Quasar on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:38 pm

This should do well in Malaysia if the BR-V’s sales is anything to go by. What remains to be seen is the packaging and pricing in Malaysia, which hopefully will rival or be better than the BR-V in the specifications department. It already wins in several areas, such as design, telescopic steering wheel etc.

• thepolygonal on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Oh my god… (slowly shakes head)

• when asean can get better car like europe region? Don’t get me wrong, but this region always get low spec with a high price.

Like ‘low mpv’, they only throw in 2 airbags and ABS without ESC and price RM60k above.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Aug 14, 2017 at 5:59 pm

I think that it’s stupid to bring it into Malaysia because it lacks modern day safety technology.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
    • MY pipu dun care about safety. As long got jepunis badge, celup jepunis smell, light body, gud FC, and purported high RV, thats all that matters.

• Hamster face with hamster cheeks wearing Spendar.

• Yeah. They should name the car Xhamster rather than Xpander which is sound very much like spendar (malay slang for mens underware).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Andrew on Aug 14, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Is it just me or do all these ‘stylish MPVs’ look horrible? The BR-V and the new Avanza especially, they look like the product of some sci-fi show gone wrong.

• Jasper on Aug 14, 2017 at 6:10 pm

Why white interior for the top spec? This is just silly cause it will easily get dirty…

• BR-V V owner on Aug 14, 2017 at 8:26 pm

BR-V owner here. The interior features seems better than BR-V. Telescopic steering, futuristic dashboard, driver armrest compartment, middle row armrest, last row with power outlet, 2nd and 3rd row seats can put all flat.

If the price is same or less than BR-V, will be a very good option.

• Nice design ,but if full loaded? 104ps 141Nm it’s may underpower.I may think twice if 6airbag

• Mitsubishi Spander would be a better name

• Captain Coco on Aug 14, 2017 at 10:46 pm

That handbrake is a great turn off…

• pearjai on Aug 14, 2017 at 10:55 pm

Erm,better look than any competitor….it should price 70k to 80k….

• pearjai on Aug 14, 2017 at 11:06 pm

Mmc should give 4a92 1.6cc instead 1.5….. Extra 100cc can attract more buyer….

• xpanderthexpendables on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:12 am

damn…this will be nice to have…bring it all…

• kapchai on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:21 am

The Japs are getting very good at making cheap cars that the consumers in third world countries (Indo, Viet, India etc) like to buy. Its not a bad thing because its affordable and a step up from riding a motorcycle but don’t expect too much. By the way, it is these “cheap” cars that “killed” Proton…

• centurion on Aug 15, 2017 at 8:59 am

mitsubishi car bad drive, felt longgar

• Nautica on Aug 15, 2017 at 9:25 am

To have a fighting chance against Honda BRV, the pricing must be at least RM10k cheaper but with a better specced vehicle. Honda brand value is much stronger in Malaysia compared to Mitsubishi’s.
    If the difference in pricing is too close to BRV, people will automatically go for BRV.

• armandd on Aug 15, 2017 at 9:45 am

Driving this under powered van with full load surely will be very stressful.

• sam123 on Aug 15, 2017 at 12:03 pm

it looks like toyota avanza latest facelift

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 17, 2017 at 1:09 am

where is pajero sport?

• Gingping on Jan 25, 2018 at 3:31 pm

The Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia replied my email that they have no plan to bring this model to Malaysia this year. I thought the CEO said that the car will be launched in Malaysia sometime in Feb. 2018, but after a few months of waiting, it seems like BRV is the only choice I have…

• Rp 189,050,000 (RM60,843) to Rp 245,350,000 (RM78,968)…if these are the price for Malaysia, I will definitely buy!

• Che Rosenizam on May 31, 2018 at 11:58 am

When mitshubishi xpander launched in Malaysia? Can I buy this car before Hari Raya Aidilfitri day?

• now mid july 2018 d worr… when exactly coming in malaysia…?

• mitsu doesnt meet yet the demand in some country. here reservation will tke for how many months?

• Khalid on Oct 17, 2018 at 8:29 pm

Faster bring in la, no spyshot what so ever yet

• ozeeman on Feb 21, 2019 at 10:36 am

Good morning sir… I want to know when a mitsubishi xpander launched to Malaysia… Because xpander is the best car in the world … Tq sir.

• sulong on Jul 01, 2019 at 11:05 pm

wtf?! its july 2019 already!
    guess what? i messaged mitsubishi malaysia fb page, asking about the expected launch date, they replied. “so far there is no news about it, please stay tune”
    no news?! twf?

• ProtonBest on Dec 11, 2019 at 3:58 pm

Ini CEO x boleh pakai la
    hahahhahaha
    end of 2019 now