Mercedes-Benz GLC200 – end-August launch, RM289k

Another locally-assembled Mercedes-Benz GLC variant is set to go on sale in Malaysia – the GLC 200 will soon join the GLC 250 4Matic, which was introduced in August last year, in the local model line-up.

The variant is only due to be officially launched at the end of the month, but an example is already on show at a MB dealership in Kuala Lumpur.

When it goes on sale, the GLC 200 will be priced at RM288,888 (on-the-road, without insurance), which is RM37,000 cheaper than the GLC 250 4Matic.

The GLC 200 features the same M274 DE 20 2.0 litre turbocharged four-pot engine seen in the GLC 250, but with a lower state of output tune – it has 184 hp and 300 Nm compared to the 211 hp and 350 Nm seen on the latter. The mill is mated to a nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission, but unlike the GLC 250, there’s no 4Matic on this one.

The variant also omits the AMG line kit seen on the GLC 250, runs on smaller five-spoke 19-inch wheels (with 235/55 series tyres) and gets LED high performance headlights instead of Intelligent Light System units

Inside, lighter wood trim and a conventional three-spoke steering wheel (AMG unit on the GLC 250) are to be found, matched to brown or black Artico leather upholstery. The basic Audio 20 unit replaces the 13-speaker Burmester audio system seen on the GLC 250 with a standard audio system.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• That brown steering wheel is a bit too mitchie matchie….
    Too much brown!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • ingolstadt on Aug 18, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Audi Q5. we like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • Albert Yong on Aug 19, 2017 at 3:25 pm

habis la Q5, even now Audi begging people to buy at RM260k. Jatuh from RM325k. Still nobody want to buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
        • Abuden. Heres ur 30% price reduction, u still wanna complain? Why not admit ur just poorfag and stick to ur 2nd hand EX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 19
          • Albert Yong on Aug 21, 2017 at 11:35 am

my pet dog follows me everywhere!

• Like a bulldog. Once bite, never lets go. Let this be a lesson.

• Bravo to MB! Another solid selection…

• Who will buy this? The 250 is definitely a better value buy !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Sam Kunta Loo on Aug 19, 2017 at 9:15 am

And also the GLC200 performance is still a question mark (ie underpowered or not) as GLA200 that i test drove 2 years ago was seriously underpowered.

• John 2017 on Aug 18, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Everything looks nice EXCEPT the stand alone dashboard screen with thick bazel and rim design….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Don’t like interior color. I’ll take the Pre REG GLC250 at the same price.

• Kau ada wang ka? Jangan cakap cakap jer macam akan beli.

• 12yrsold on Aug 21, 2017 at 11:00 am

He he he. Betul kata hang. Tapi sekarang bukan pasal wang. Cakap Free punya ma. Tak payah ada wang. Kalau wang adalah faktor, ramai di sini x qualify bro.

• The cheapest GLC so far in mesia…kumpul duit..kumpul2

• mrhukaka on Aug 18, 2017 at 9:34 pm

still prefer GLC 250.
    the rim and interior colour,its not my cup of tea.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 18, 2017 at 9:47 pm

those rims look off…mcm those on kia rio

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr (Member) on Aug 18, 2017 at 11:08 pm

Should have been at least 10k cheaper because MBM took out quite a lot of kit and boy do the rims look fugly.

• digidigi on Aug 19, 2017 at 12:51 am

the interior design is just a disaster in this case

• ohwai on Aug 19, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Later basher comes in and say: Oh world why you dun gip me silver plate?

• tokmoh. on Aug 19, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Volvo XC60 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Takmoh on Aug 20, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Please lah bang, xc60 is not at GLC, X2 and Q5 category

• tokmoh. on Aug 21, 2017 at 9:16 am

That’s right. It’s a class above those overrated, fugly Germans.

And that’s why XC60 is still Europe’s best seller up until new gen launched this year.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 20, 2017 at 9:34 pm

honestly the new xc60 and bmw x3 is way more exciting than this overhyped car

• tokmoh. on Aug 21, 2017 at 9:19 am

Ah i see you’re a man of culture as well.

Just looking at this car’s interior edi wanna make me vomit, even China car better… o waiiiii

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 20, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Think the price is ok, considering its fellow German, rival, the also CKD X3, is a shade more expensive at RM297k but the Bimmer comes with AWD standard. The X3 also has the detuned ’20’ spec, as opposed to the 28/30 spec, which is not sold here. Yeah, the GLC does not look good with rims smaller than 20 inches. Which these 19 inch rims clearly show. But you do get a RWD SUV, which is a rarity in Malaysia. So handling should be more interesting, but does it get the same suspension system as in the GLC250? Think smaller rims and narrower tyres might improve ride quality a bit.

• Richard on Aug 22, 2017 at 1:22 am

For its price, I’ll buy it. Later tune up the similar engine to 211 hp and 350nm torque. I actually like the fact that it’s suspension is 3cm higher than the glc 250, coz i feel glc 250 ground clearance is way too low for a suv. Color wise the brown panel is my preference but i agree that the steering shouldn’t be brown.. Way too brown already. 19 inch is actually big for this suv size and in the long run, saves more money than the 20 incher, which i feel is an unnecessary size for this vehicle size.
    Other features which are lacking is the sunroof, memory driver seat and 360 camera(but compensated by 12 sensors, parktronic and rear camera). But it still retains other higher end features like collision prevention assist plus, driver Attention sensing, adaptive brake assist and tyre pressure monitoring system. Not to mention the cool centre console comand control which looks pretty cool.
    With 37 k off, i guess this model is quite a deal… Just wishing i ve more cash to own this luxury suv:)