August 2017 week four fuel prices – petrol unchanged

The latest fuel price announcement is here, and after several weeks of watching some numbers go up, there is finally some good news (depending on how you look at it). For starters, RON 97 and RON 95 petrol is unchanged, and diesel is now a few sen cheaper from the week before.

From tomorrow, August 24, RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM2.15 per litre (unchanged from last week), while RON 97 petrol is priced at RM2.43 per litre (also unchanged last week).

As for Euro 2M diesel, it now retails at the pump for RM2.01 per litre (down three sen from RM2.04 per litre last week) this week, while Euro 5 diesel will go for RM2.11 per litre (down three sen from RM2.14 per litre last week). These prices take effect from 12.01am until August 30, when the next round of fuel prices will be announced.

This is the 22nd weekly fuel pricing update since the system’s implementation on March 30. Compared to March 2017 prices, which was before weekly pricing took effect, RON 95 is down by 15 sen (from RM2.30 per litre), RON 97 by 17 sen (RM2.60 per litre) and Euro 2M diesel is down by 19 sen (from RM2.20 per litre).

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 120
    • Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:05 pm

We are overpaying gomen by about 70 sen per litre.

According to Global prices, ron 95 should be around RM1.40 to RM1.50

Calculate that with 10 million motorist. Gomen makes billions extra.

But yet universities and schools got no funding and hospitals have cut back medicine. Some even say tak ada ubat!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 2
      • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 110
        • Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:35 pm

please show us evidence that petrol still has subsidi???

Don’t you feel shy posting fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • Show us the math how do you derives fuel price RM2.80 per litre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
        • Muhd Jamal on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:54 am

Quite fed up of propaganda telling us Malaysia got cheapest petrol. Prove it!

• NIZZAN on Aug 23, 2017 at 7:48 pm

Cheapest oil in the world!! Ohwai…

1.United Arab Emirates – $0.37/liter
        2.Arab Saudi – $0.12/liter
        3.Iran – $0.11/liter
        4.Venezuela – $0.05/liter

• Muhd Jamal on Aug 24, 2017 at 10:03 am

i did not know we still have subsidi for petrol and even insurance for cars

• Harith on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Are you in the medical division to make such statement? Of course some of the medicine is not in the public hospital because they are very expensive.

• Malaysians can afford it. RM3 also no problemo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
      • Redidiot on Aug 23, 2017 at 11:11 pm

I was told we can somewhat predict our prices by using data from Means Of Platts Singapore (MOPS), 5 days average price movements, or something like that. Anyone can correct me or explain further?

• GLOBAL CRUDE PRICE DOWN A BIT on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Should be down

• unchanged means they are not willing to lower the price

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
    • Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:07 pm

OMG OMG OMG. Every week now it is going higher and higher and higher or unchanged. Never down.

And the best part is, we are an oil producing country.

All oil producing countries sell their oil very cheap to the rakyat. Look at Saudi, they sell their Ron at RM1.10 per liter.

Nearly all oil producing countries sell their oil super cheap to their rakyat, except Malaysia.

Pity Malaysians. Ringgit also got no value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 5
      • matchatea on Aug 23, 2017 at 7:39 pm

So, 1/52 countries in the world sell at that price (probably subsidised) and we should bankrupt our coffers to price match?

• Redidiot on Aug 23, 2017 at 11:06 pm

How many barrels per day do the Saudis produce and how much per barrel is their extraction cost?

• Ben Yap on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:36 pm

cukur…. tak berubah…. gov perihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
  • Kancil Hybrid on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Apa lagi? Puji la kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 35
  • Sick&tired on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Petrol station owners so pitiful dis week..Siannn

• Razer01 on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Crude oil up, fuel prices unchanged. KPDNKK formula salah again?

• Dug Ong on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Can paultan team get their hands on how KPDNKK formulate these retail prices?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Dug Ong on Aug 23, 2017 at 5:56 pm

I wonder what will the exchange rate of USD-MYR be in another year. Will it get back to 1.00USD-3.00MYR ever again?

• World oil Price around 47 to 48 the hold Week But our oil prices maintain this week , Is This Government should we trust ?

• YB Albert on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Since the whole thing regarding petroleum price fixing is shrouded in ” secrecy”,there is no hope left for the rakyat to wish for any SIGNIFICANT price dip.
    Even if international crude WTI trades below US 40/barrel,some smart guy will surface and said our Ringgit has depreciated,and petrol price may even RISE.
    Dont u rakyat notice,when there is a dip..it is 2-3 sen/litre.But when it goes up..it is almost double.
    Forget about even saving rm 1.5 to get a free roti chanai.U may only get 50-75 sen savings per full tank if there is a price dip.
    Remember,when the govn official said he will have to rework his” pricing formula’ when prices were dropping,to aid the crybaby PDAM dealers?
    Where r they? Busy playing golf and going for cun cun amoi urut,and even contemplating opening new outlets.
    Hello,it is high time the rakyat does something constructive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • SAD WEDNESDAY on Aug 23, 2017 at 6:54 pm

Damn it!!@@i lost lot of money …next week i bet u it will go up by 3 cents…must go up !

• KenJi on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:06 pm

Cannot be. Next week must go down due to raya haji. Kasi syok syok sikit maa.

• Tommy L on Aug 23, 2017 at 8:06 pm

The present geomen is pressing hard on motorist and when the price of petrol drops, it’s one or two cents decreased and when petrol price goes up it’s between three to five cents/litre. increased. Dont take us as suckers.

• Norzan on Aug 24, 2017 at 1:36 am

the best pricing petrol is 1.60 per litre.
    when u pump at station RM20 the indicator meter straits going half ..i,m very hepy to go outstation….

• carlover on Aug 24, 2017 at 7:41 am

we must be grateful to current govmt for maintaining fuel price.our govnmt is caring to rakyat.they listening to rakyat grouses.thank you again govermt.hope next week gorvmt can maintain at rm2.15/liter till year end.

• johnnas on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:58 am

YB Albert, u try hard to sound smart but really ur not. See MOPS not crude. Would have stood by ur side if u hadn’t brought up that crude oil bit.

and john, FU.

Price stays when the trend is really increasing? Obviously 31st and 1st punya hal la. But like everyone said, cukur….cukur sampai botak.

• sabahan on Aug 24, 2017 at 2:07 pm

price will definitely come down somehow
    no worry yoll. when the right time comes….
    such as election, merdeka day, malaysia day….

PS: other than those days, price will only ^^^-^^–^^^—^^