Mercedes-Benz GLC200 launched in Malaysia, RM288,888 – RM37k less than GLC250 4Matic

After appearing in a local dealership a few days prior, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia has now officially launched a new variant of the GLC – the locally-assembled GLC 200 Exclusive, which joins the existing GLC 250 4Matic AMG Line and AMG GLC 43 4Matic.

Priced at RM288,888 (on-the-road without insurance), the GLC 200 is RM37,000 less than the GLC 250 4Matic, and RM250,000 cheaper than the performance-oriented GLC 43 4Matic. With Agility Financing, the GLC 200 can be had for RM2,888 per month, based on a three-year tenure, 20,000 km mileage per annum and downpayment of 20.34%.

Under the hood, you’ll find the familiar M274 DE 20 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder petrol engine, which is paired with a nine-speed 9G-Tronic automatic transmission. However, the powerplant in the GLC 200 churns out 184 hp at 5,500 rpm and 300 Nm of torque at 1,200-4,000 rpm, compared to the 211 hp and 350 Nm you get from the GLC 250 4Matic.

As a result, the 0-100 km/h sprint now takes 8.7 seconds, on to a top speed of 210 km/h, compared to 7.3 seconds and 222 km/h for the GLC 250 4Matic. As you can probably tell from the variant name, the brand’s 4Matic all-wheel drive system is absent here, so drive goes exclusively to the rear wheels. The new variant also gets a slightly taller ride height compared to the GLC 250 4Matic.

Aside from the lower engine output, the GLC 200 also does without the AMG Line styling kit found on the GLC 250 4Matic (it gets the Off-Road exterior and Exterior Chrome package instead). Other exterior distinctions include 19-inch five-spoke wheels (with 235/55 series tyres) that are smaller than the GLC 250 4Matic’s 20-inch AMG multispoke units, as well as LED high performance headlights instead of Intelligent Light System units.

On the inside of the Exclusive Line interior, an Audio 20 CD infotainment system is still present, as is the seven-inch, freestanding display on the dashboard. However, a 13-speaker 590 W sound system is no longer paired with it, and the GLC 200 also receives lighter wood trim.

Unlike the GLC 250 4Matic, the new variant also comes with a conventional three-spoke steering wheel instead of a flat-bottomed one. The more accessible price tag also means the perforated front disc brakes, panoramic sunroof, surround view camera and keyless entry are removed as well (keyless start is still present – the button was removed in the car shown here).

Standard kit includes brown, white or black Artico leather upholstery, leather dash (with contrast topstitching in three colours), three leather seat colours (white, black and brown), a reverse camera, Thermotronic triple-zone automatic climate control, powered front seats (with lumbar support but without memory function), rear air-con vents, Parking Pilot with Parktronic, powered liftgate and rear sunblinds.

For more information and specs of the GLC range, head on over to CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz GLC 200

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s SUV range

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• BetterbuyBoy on Aug 28, 2017 at 4:06 pm

Better topup abit for xc90 T8

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 16
  • This price tag is what the GLC 250 4matic should wear in the first place! A total ripped off with sparsely specced ‘luxury’ brand car.
    This is 2017, not 2007 Mercedes! Buyer’s awareness and expectations are not like those days and we have better choices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • linpek on Aug 29, 2017 at 2:18 am

Wth, it’s only RM289k. I can understand if many cannot afford – that’s why it’s a luxury product.

There are many cheaper SUVs alternatives available. Don’t complain.

U want high specs but low price, dream on! Look at your ringgit value in 2007 vs 2017!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • That cheap chinese Ipad screen gets me everytime. Looks so cheap!

• heybadigol (Member) on Aug 28, 2017 at 4:42 pm

The X3 may be a tad bit dearer, but it does the century sprint faster. And it also has AWD, should you have to park your SUV at a padang for an event. And the Audi Q5, albeit the old model, is even cheaper than the GLC200, comes with Quattro AWD, and is faster to 100km/h with a higher top speed. The Q5 still looks good outside, but the inside is clearly dated compared to the GLC. But the lack of simple amenity like keyless entry (on a car closing to RM200k) on the GLC is unacceptable as even a B segment car that costs a third of the GLC’s price has it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Mikey on Aug 28, 2017 at 4:53 pm

The RM37k is for perforated front disc brakes, panoramic sunroof, surround view camera, keyless entry, 4-matic, 27 more horses, 50 more nm of torque & 20-inch AMG multispoke units, as well as LED high performance headlights instead of Intelligent Light System units.

In short, Mercedes is saying – buy the GLC250 because its worth more than the $$$ that U are paying for.

Of course for some who prefer to be more ‘conservative’, there is always a Swedish brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Meaning
      Volvo > all
      Geely > all
      LnC > all
      P1 > all
      Tokmoh > all
      ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
      • tokmoh. on Aug 28, 2017 at 11:29 pm

Ah, i see you’re a man of culture as well.

This German overpriced piece of junk, no wonder XC60 continues to be best seller in Europe.

• volvo is one category lower than german. Hardly see volvo on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
          • Jchong on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:50 pm

Didn’t know Volvo is one category lower

but I know Mercedes is use mostly in Europe as Taxis , limousines , fleet cars and Ubers.

By definition , Mercedes should be lower level than Volvo.

Hardly see much volvo use as Taxis, Ubers in Europe .

• In other words, owners who buy a spartan and sparsely-equipped Merc are not real owners because they didn’t cough up enough money to go for the real Merc models. What is the point of a “budget”-trim Merc? This is not Slovakia or Poland. This is Malaysia lah!

• Jimmy on Aug 28, 2017 at 10:06 pm

There are still some people buying for certain reasons, can we think of those reasons?

You lose too many things for a mere RM37K.

• Adrian on Aug 29, 2017 at 4:37 am

Both SLovakia and Poland have higher GDP per capita than us bro.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 28, 2017 at 5:31 pm

wait for new xc60 wait for x3…heck even the new cx5 looks better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
  • I don’t think we need an “off road package”. Why not just make it cheaper by using SE or Sport package, + using the OEM 18 inch wheel instead. And please, no AWD???

• zamer on Aug 29, 2017 at 8:06 am

super ugly interior color.
    290K for this? i think CX-5 full spec feels more premium than this junk and have 100k extra for something else

• ckcheong on Aug 29, 2017 at 10:49 am

GLC is compact inside. Outside it didn’t look wide but it looks slightly longer. I am middle size build and I felt bit narrow for me. When in long term driving like highway, my foot need some spaces for relaxing. For the power, looking on paper is not bad but in real performance I don’t feel it is a powerful car.

• Shawn on Jan 07, 2018 at 11:26 pm

Some questions:
    1) Can someone confirm if GLC200 price has increased in 2018?
    288,888 > 291,888.
    Any additional new items?

2) Will GLC250 be discontinued for the GLC350E? If yes, when is GLC350E coming in?