VIDEO: No spare tyre, so how does the Honda City and Jazz Hybrid’s tyre repair kit work? Here’s a demo

Unlike the regular petrol-powered 2017 Honda Jazz facelift, which comes with a space saver spare tyre under the boot floor, the new Honda Jazz Hybrid and its City Hybrid sedan sister are equipped with a tyre repair kit (TRK) – there’s no spare tyre.

While the lack of a fifth donut may alarm some motorists, it’s actually pretty normal for hybrid cars to not come with a spare wheel – my 2013 Honda CR-Z also has a similar TRK under the boot floor.

The omission is because hybrids have to fit it extra components over regular cars such as the hybrid battery and electronics, and a spare tyre takes up significant space. That’s also the reason why the Jazz Hybrid comes with a slightly smaller boot compared to the normal Jazz – 314 vs 363 litres. The City Hybrid maintains its boot capacity.

So, now that you know that there’s no spare tyre in the Jazz and City Hybrid, what should you do when there’s a puncture? Our new man Matthew shows how it’s done in the video above. Basically, there are two components, and the process requires some shaking and pumping.

The repair job is quite straightforward and nowhere as physically taxing as replacing a wheel, but there are caveats. Note that it’s only for normal punctures (4mm max) and won’t work for sidewall damage and tears.

It’s also a temporary measure, inflating the tyre up so that you can drive to a Honda dealership or tyre shop for a proper patch up job or tyre replacement. There are stickers (one on the wheel, another on the windscreen to remind you to not exceed 80 km/h) to remind you of the repair’s temporary nature. Once done, it’s good to check if the pressure holds after five minutes of driving.

The bottle of sealant is good to inflate one flat tyre, and costs RM182.85. Once used up, owners should restock the kit with a new bottle of goo. The sealant’s shelf life is up to five years, and the expiry date is printed on the bottle. Watch the video above to see how it’s all done.

GALLERY: Honda Jazz Hybrid

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Najman on Sep 07, 2017 at 4:52 pm

Price for one bottle equal to a new tyre?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 2
    • Counter Basher on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:03 am

I am sure other external brands would come out with similar product with an affordable price if there is a demand for it.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Sep 08, 2017 at 12:04 pm

In the name of cutting “dangerous” emissions, avoiding point of no return, and all climate change shenanigans, we put our safety and savings in peril. How wise.

• Woah… RM182 for repairing the tyre once… that money can buy u a new tyre ler…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • kiasu on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:22 pm

Congrats Danny Tan on your Honda CR-Z buy. 50% value appreciated from Rm120k to Rm180k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • pengayuhbasikal on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:22 pm

its double actually…

once pumped with sealant…I don’t think the tyre is repairable …need to buy new tire & the sealant refill…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • xoxox on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:40 am

should be able to use the tyre again..just remove the tyre from rim and remove all the sealant..then patch the hole..

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:26 pm

I had 4 punctures this year so far. That would have been a very expensive preposition.

One can of sealant = One brand new tyre.

Probably just going to go to a kereta potong shop and get a 2nd hand doughnut.

• David Tan on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:56 pm

I got a 2nd hand dnut which now sits snugly in my hybrid boot

• David,

Is there space under or is this taking up boot space?

Alex

• Kanasai79 on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Thank you but no thanks. So pricy and what happen if puncture the side wall? Not practical at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:45 pm

the bottle of sealant is too expensive.

I better buy those tyre patch with 5 patches inside for RM20. than i use an air-compressor to pump up the tyre. it’s way a lot cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • BB Tan on Sep 07, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Well, think about your safety.. and the hassle and the time consuming of changing tire, i think it is worth the price…. especialy if you are in the middle of no where / highway…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 22
    • Better to use RFT. Been using RFT for 5 years and love it.

• FireAce on Sep 08, 2017 at 10:08 am

Wait until you really at the middle of nowhere and this repair kit fails you (hole too big, start leaking again after some drive, etc). Then you will wish you have a good old spare tyre.

• I have just bought a new spare tyre for my Honda fit 2015 Model I just can’t trust this stuff

• Why not just call Honda Insurance helpline instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • They can take up to an hour or more depending on traffic. Tried it when car batt went flat but quickly cancelled after someone offered to jump start

• Well jump starting is a minor problem that can be quickly done, but changing tyres is major, so better call them to do it.

• Zamim on Sep 07, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Might as well get RFT tyres, expensive but no worries.

• Kaw kaw mencekik on Sep 07, 2017 at 6:38 pm

Bagus untuk mencekik, repair rm 5.00 saja,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • LOK CHYI YEU on Sep 07, 2017 at 6:48 pm

Lol the price already make ppl don’t want to use it. If nearby got tyre shop just slow drive it over.

• What??… RM183 for 1 time?

This repair kit is just good for small puncture..
    if it’s side wall tear or whole tyre rapture scenario cannot help but to call tow truck..

I rather buy a model comes with spare tyre..

Thanks Paultan for such informative news so that I can avoid the hybrid model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • HONDA IS A TOY CAR....ONLI FOR KIDS on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Thats why i always say honda is like an overpriced mistress…very complicated and expensive..fancy gadgets shoity gearbox etc…stick with the kings of kings dude…ie toyota! No frills and save..cant go wrong buddy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
    • Hyundai Ioniq come with full size spares. With Michelin too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
      • Ioniq.. sounds like a good choice.. also its a segment above City and Jazz

• The caveat is freaking exp starter battery when need to replace and RV like waterfish

• The battery capacity on Ioniq is much bigger, surely will be more expensive. To me, Ioniq performance/price or equipment/price ratio is much better than city/jazz hybrid. when come to RV, i guess all hybrid will suffer due to uncertainties on long term reliability and parts price.

• Kenny on Sep 07, 2017 at 7:47 pm

RM185 for a temporary repair is outrageous! It is almost equal to the cost of 1 tyre. Even this price cannot be expected to hold for long so in future it may cost more than 1 tyre. After the goo has filled the tyre whether it can be repaired or not is another matter. If the goo has filled up the leak which can no longer be detected than a permanent repair is not possible and it has to be replaced.

If you are a jazz hybrid owner better buy a cheap cast iron rim and a spare tyre. You do not want to use the repair kit bearing in mind its cost and it may mean a tyre replacement unless you have a flat at night in an isolated area and no choice left.

• pheRM182averted on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Had a flat tyre the other day. Lucky didn’t use the sealant. Just pump air compressor and see if it deflate or not. My case didn’t deflate so fast. So pump to 30 psi and drive. Then stop and double check no flat after 5 minute. Then drive to tyre shop.
    Point is, pump half way first, if deflate slow like 0.1psi per second, pump and get it fixed. Else you’re SOL.

• Monkey on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Wow! Going hybrid just get more complicated and expensive. Surely this is not the route to save money.

• Gaviny on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Point is why should a rm5 puncture fix cost rm182 ?

And only lasts 5 years.

You won’t appreciate how much a spare tyre means when the puncture kit fails. The inconvenience is just unbelievable

• Sealed on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:33 am

RM5 is to fix the puncture. RM182 is to temporarily patch it and you still need to drive to a workshop to get the tire fixed. 5 years is the shelf life of the sealant in the bottle, not that the temporary fix will last for 5 years.

• Just noticed that Matthew had join paultan

• Angshing on Sep 07, 2017 at 9:37 pm

Thats it, this just kill my plan to change my old car to with Honda hybrid..

• carazy on Sep 07, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Its win-win situation here, you save on the petrol, but pay a bit more with the new tire + refill. OK what? clever move by Honda.

• x3MoreEfficientThanP1 on Sep 09, 2017 at 1:50 am

Yup, 2x more efficient than my myvi. 4 trips to gas station already ‘recoup’ spare tire cost LOL.

• carrider 101 on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Make Honda and Proton win-win, everyone happy except for Perodua

• Mee Kuning Halus on Sep 07, 2017 at 11:31 pm

I rather bring along a good ol spare tyre. Gives me peace of mind and kinder to my pocket.

I could by a new decent tyre for that kinda money. The new tyre would lasts at least 3 years if I drive them well.

So, thanks, but no thanks.

• Pandai oh Honda. Can save and later maybe got new business do. After finish sealant, buy again. pandai la.

• Pakulupapito on Sep 08, 2017 at 7:25 am

But ioniq is also a hybrid and can fit full size spare….thats why it is better to design a new car dedicated to be a hybrid. Upgrading existing model to be a hybrid will results in a poor design anda awkward device placement.

• Stranger on Sep 08, 2017 at 7:44 am

Wow wow..what a business. No spare tyre for you but we give you something else, twice the cost

• MusTanG on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:45 am

aiyo. Tyre Repair Kit ni widely used by expensive cars like Merc/BMW.

They no problem using repair kit coz they super richies.

Why la Honda Malaysia try to become genius and adapt this Tyre Repair Kit on a < 100k car. Stupid ka?

• jeffwhlim (Member) on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:48 am

Just Buy the Ioniq. By placing the Battery under the rear seat, Boot space is 550 litres with FULL SIZE German Michelin spare tyre, 3 years or 60,000km free maintenance, 15,000km service intervals. ADAS (advance Driver’s Assistance System), HID with LED DRL and Cornering lights, REAR Multi-link suspension and the list goes on…

• Stan Lee on Sep 08, 2017 at 10:45 am

You are wrong about the normal petrol Jazz comes with full-sized spare tyre.

Those are not full size, they are space savers temporary use. Full size ones are like the ones found in Vios etc. Those are same size with the main alloy wheels and uses the same tire size so they can be permanent use (not temporary like the Jazz)

• RM182 for the sealant is insane. As my conti uses TRK as well, (and I have used it 3 times now), the replacement Sealant can be found @ Ace Hardware.
    Look for a product called Slime – it’s a green goo. As it’s a small tyre, a bottle of it around (RM40) should do.

Best thing, this goo has no expiry…

• Note that they are not providing any spare tyres. How about the car jack and other tools? They are trying to save on that too?

• fittohybrido on Sep 09, 2017 at 1:57 am

Those are provided. Air compressor (which cost rm100? Lazada?) also provided.

• Dari rakyat on Sep 08, 2017 at 1:09 pm

Kecian rakyat malaysia…asyik kenaaa jaaa

• Kenny on Sep 08, 2017 at 1:23 pm

What if tyre burst or side wall damage? I don’t think it can fix with this. Furthermore with Malaysia’s road, what if the rim damage as well? Without spare tyre really not practical at all.
    This is why Honda have more space, they omitted the spare tyre compartment so it gives you more space.

• Lawson on Sep 08, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Case 1. A small nail implanted into a tire and pressure dropped from 2.3barg in 8 days. Case 2. Tire pressure drops from 2.3barg to 1.5barg in 8 hours due to a screw implant itself into the tire. Case 2. Tire pressure drops from 2.3barg to 1.5barg in 8 minutes due to a larger nail or screw implant itself into the tire. In all the 3 cases the driver will be well served if there is a tire pressure monitoring system. For case 3 the sealant will be useless when a larger nail had implanted into a back tire. The driver, if driving at speed under 70km/hr, is likely to it run flat for 1km or 2km before realising he had a flat back tire. By then irreversible damage is done to the tire. In past 3 years it happened twice to me. Once in a Nissan and another in Honda Jazz.

So I installed tire monitoring system for my week old City hybrid and likely to buy a space saver tire and somehow tie it down it the large boot. Honda Malaysia should be installing TMS into Jazz or City hybrid.

Despite this major short coming it is still a better buy than the cvt driven Honda City E spec.

• Hahaha! Now Honda is following Nissan’s footstep. That’s it, I’m not touching Honda’s hybrids.

• Hon Konn Man on Sep 08, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Honda conned ppl by not giving spare.
    Honda conned ppl again for making them paying the kit.
    Honda conned ppl samore, for making them buying for repalcement kit….after tyre punctured.

Honda so pandai conn pll these days….

• Kevin on Sep 08, 2017 at 7:51 pm

For most small punctures like screw or nail the air leaks out slowly. You will normally see the tyre flat after parking many hours. For such punctures you can pump up using a portable air compressor and drive to the tyre shop. Do not remove the screw or nail as it helps to slow down the air escaping. There is no need to use the goo to repair it first. For big punctures where the air leaks out immediately I doubt the goo will help. A spare tyre is still necessary. Bad move by Honda!

• David Tan on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:55 pm

I wish the honda hybrid designer would experience getting a flat which cannot be repaired by the stupid kit.

• Chock on Sep 10, 2017 at 3:34 pm

Bodoh punya jepun,RM180+ for a sealant bottle, cost more than new tire!

• Allie on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Wondering how to put hybrid jazz in towing mode! Since new jazz come with drive by wire gearbox… hmmmm

• Zou Zou Tyng Ting on Jul 15, 2022 at 1:15 pm

Hi! I need to change tyres for my 2017 Honda Jazz Hybrid. Can you advise what was the original model & brand?( I asked Honda service centre but they said they don’t remember) Which brands & models good? Preference: good grip. I can’t find the original model name on internet, now using Bridgestone EP300 which has too poor grip for me.

• Most probably the extra weight of the batteries ment a space saver couldn’t cut it