REVIEW: 2017 Modenas Pulsar RS200 – RM11,342

Two hundreds are a bit of a weird alice in the motorcycle world. Existing because of certain countries licensing regulations, they do not offer the economy of a 150 cc machine, nor do they fit in as true quarter-litre class motorcycles.

So, why would Malaysian motorcycle manufacturer Modenas offer a 200 cc machine, the 2017 Modenas Pulsar RS200, in what is, in Malaysia, a very saturated market? If you think we’re kidding, Kawasaki alone has five models in this segment, Yamaha has the very popular R-25, Benelli makes the TnT25, Honda has the slightly out-of-date but still capable CBR250R, Naza has the N5R.

The Pulsar range – the other is the Modenas Pulsar NS200 naked sports – is something of a rebirth for Modenas, after having lain fallow for many years with mere minor updates to very out-dated models in the sub-250 cc segment. Tying up with Indian manufacturing giant Bajaj, the RS200, priced at RM11,342, is the first of three models sourced from the Indian sub-continent.

Being previously known for its scooters and kapchais, the Pulsar bikes are a new direction for Modenas, entering the “proper” motorcycle market, as it were. During the launch of the Pulsars, as well as the Modenas V15 cruiser, what made us perk up and take notice was the price point.

Now, there is cheap, and there is cheap. What we were curious about, having never ridden a Bajaj bike before, was if the performance of the RS200 would live up the hype.

Manufacturers partnering to share resource, leverage dealer networks, enter new markets and rebadge products is nothing new. Even the national car maker does it.

What makes the Modenas Pulsar RS200, and by extension, the NS200, any different? For one thing, as we said earlier, Modenas as a brand had been languishing for a while, with no real new products.

A partnership with auto maker Bajaj makes sense in that it would be the quickest, easiest way for Modenas to get a new product to market without the associated costs and delays involved in developing a new motorcycle from the ground up. And since the Indian market has a licensing regulation that allows for a 200 cc motorcycle, this is what we get.

As a full-fairing sports bike, the Pulsar RS200 does look the part, at the first approach. The upper fairing cowl makes the RS200 look bigger than what it is, almost middle-weight sized.

We do realise that this is inline with the demands of the Indian market, where “proper” motorcycles are supposed to look big and bulky. Personally the author prefers motorcycles that are slim and svelte and go round corners in an entertaining fashion, but that’s another story for another day.

Coming back to the RS200 we were issued as a review unit, the bike was painted up in a rather fetching blue and white scheme. Looking at it from the front, we were struck by the similarity of the headlight design to the Yamaha R1 superbike, with its twin projector headlights, and the daytime running lights (DRLs).

The rest of the styling for the RS200 follows contemporary design trends for sports motorcycles, all sharp planes and folded angles. The styling does fit in with the purpose of this bike though, which is targetted towards the younger rider and learner market.

A word on the rear LED tail lights, if you please. The split-lens design is certainly unique, and elicited more than a few comments from observers, but it put us in mind, for all the world, like a pair of spread legs.

Getting into the saddle, we found the seat height to be 810 mm, bringing it right up there with most sports bikes. We did not find it a stretch, and the saddle was firmly padded and cut away sharply to the front to allow riders to bring their feet down.

A fairly substantial tank pad was fitted, almost pillow-like, and we soon found out why. Starting up the RS200 brings the 199.5 cc, single-cylinder, triple-spark plug, liquid-cooled thumper to life, with the resulting vibration.

We did expect this, of course, vibration being an inherent issue with all singles, no matter what the capacity. Setting off on the RS200, we found the clutch pull to be very light, not amazingly so, but enough for us to appreciate it during riding stints in heavy traffic.

Compared to most of the 250s we’ve ridden over the course of the past 24 months, the RS200 comes in close to the Kawasaki Versys-X 250, which we found to have the lightest pull of all. Clicking the six-speed gearbox into first, we found the lever throw to be a little long, so if you intend rowing through the gears to get the RS200 into optimum cruising speed, you’re going to have to make your shifts firm and positive, or end up chewing a lot of false neutrals.

As we rode the RS200 around, we found the clip-on handlebars, which looked sporty from a distance, are actually attached to risers, and place the rider is a fairly upright seating position. This is not a bad thing, as there isn’t a lot of space in the saddle for moving backwards, the humped pillion seat limited the fore-aft seating allowance.

Perched as you are, the RS200 does allow the rider to have a head upright view, as opposed to the looking through the top edge of the visor riding position. Bringing the RS200 up to its redline of 10,000 rpm revealed that the engine does have a little power in it, some 24.5 hp worth, and 18.6 mm of torque.

These numbers proved to be adequate for around town riding, cutting through rush hour traffic, and in this role, satisfied the author perfectly well. Heading out on the open highway did call for a little patience to build up speed, and if you missed a shift along the way, there was enough time for tea and a cigarette before the engine answered the call for bells.

But, and this is a big but, the RS200 surprised us with its handling. Taking it on our usual test loop up the mountain, the RS200 would, when its neck was wrung and with a (very) firm hand at the bars, corner well, and hold the line.

It did feel a little nervous if the approach was uncertain, so riding the RS200 fast into a corner and out again requires commitment. A rider who knows what they are doing will find that the RS200 will, indeed, keep up with the usual gang of 250s, but it needs work.

The key for the RS in terms of handling performance is corner speed. Leave the brakes alone, choose your line, and dive in. The RS200 will track straight and true, and made us wonder what would happen if we fitted it with premium rubber on its 17-inch wheels.

Ground clearance on the RS200 was not that much of an issue. Nothing ground out during spirited riding, and pushing the 164 kg RS200 to the limit showed it did not really like being brought to the edge of the tyre tread.

But this is neither here nor there. In all cases, handling on the RS200 had no vices, except the vibration level would increase as the throttle was wound open.

At its top speed, with the rider tucked down behind the fairing, the RS200 would do its level best to stay with the 250 boys, and did not give much away. Let’s just say the deficiency was about 5 km/h, and unless you’re on a racetrack, this does not mean much in the real world as you would be rolling up as the other guys are just about to take their helmets off.

Cruising on the RS200 was quite nice, whether seated upright or tucked under the bubble to get out of the wind blast. If you’re not in too much of a hurry, the Pulsar RS200 would quite happily sit at 120 km/h all day, with the 13-litre tank giving you about 220 km or so in range before the warning light comes on.

A first for this segment is the inclusion of front-wheel ABS on the RS200. We like that it is standard equipment, and indeed, apart from the KTM 250s, no other quarter-litre machine in Malaysia has this.

With hydraulic discs front and rear, braking on the RS200 was reassuring, and was sure and strong. Very hard braking when strafing the corners of Ulu Yam did show a little fade, and the lever came back to the bar just a touch.

Enough to be noticeable, we doubt many riders would be pushing the RS200 as hard as we did. Rest assured, if you ride the way the RS200 is meant to be, the brakes will perform to satisfaction, just make some allowances if you have a pillion on board, or if the road surface is sketchy.

You would have to make some allowances for the buzz coming through the bars for long distance riding though. We found using leather gloves with thick pads on the palms made the issue go away, and we always recommend wearing gloves when riding any sort of motorcycle anyway.

Priced at RM11,342, including GST, but excluding road tax, insurance and registration, the Pulsar RS200 represents Modenas’ hopes in exciting the Malaysian bike market in the quarter-litre segment. There are two colour options available for the RS200 – Blue/White (as reviewed) and Black.

So, who needs the 2017 Modenas Pulsar RS200? If you’re a young rider, with a fresh license and on a budget, the Pulsar RS200 makes a good choice, coming as it does with ABS and styling that doesn’t hurt the eyes. The RM11,000 price-point is well within the reach of many young riders, and with Modenas promise of expanding its dealer network, we feel the RS200 is worth considering.

While some may say that giving away 50 cc to most of the other contenders in its class is a negative, we are reminded of the words of a good riding buddy of ours, “it isn’t what you ride, it’s how you ride it.” That the rider in question once took the author, on his 916, on the outside while riding a Pegaso 650 is perhaps adequate proof.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• hondaman on Sep 08, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Ugly rear but the front looks nice though

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
    • Kunta Kinte on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Prices should come down further. Gomen should abolish GST on bikes to help our lower income bike riders. It is unfair to impose GST on them as they are also struggling to survive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 32
      • This is not ur kapcai. Those who can afford this bike can easily afford the GST.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 35
        • Keong on Sep 09, 2017 at 2:18 pm

I can afford the bike but GST is expensive for me. So how? My children need the money for education. They don’t get freebies like you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
          • Leonardo on Sep 11, 2017 at 3:25 pm

Get a Kapchai then. It’s cheap and economical. Use the extra money for your children’s education.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
          • The bike cost 11k, the GST only amounts to 680. U sure ur kid can finish U with only 680 kah?

Pls be realistic, either u diedie try to pay for this bike- which means u not really afford it, or u just temberang here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • alldisc on Sep 11, 2017 at 10:29 am

that ugly fender is designed to prevent water/mud splash to the biker behind you as well as pebbles. ducati diavel, selling at 180k also has it.

• sub_zero on Sep 13, 2017 at 10:06 am

because diavel wasn’t designed to including tail light like most other motorcycle

yes it’s ugly and inherently it wasn’t design with splashguard at first instead it’s prominent in India where it was use to prevent saree (the indian woman traditional dressing) from stuck into the chain and the wheel, as such all motorcycles there except scooter is by standard to have that “splashguard”

and for some reason it become a style here to ditch the tail light (which was designed including the signal light to prevent water splash) yet stupid biker remove that and replace with this ugly thing

• Zoomzoom on Sep 08, 2017 at 9:39 pm

Gone are the days of Kriss. Modenas continues to impress.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • lilytan on Sep 09, 2017 at 12:09 pm

This bike is good enough but no credit what so ever to modenas. Utterly rubbish rebadging. I wonder how much of actual work that modenas put into this bike apart from sticking their badge on it. How many parts are of local origin. Even the tyres are indian. DRB n Modenas are just hopeless.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 31
      • Have you noticed that Kawasaki rebadged the Pulsar as “Kawasaki Pulsar” in Indonesia and the Philippines?

• sub_zero on Sep 13, 2017 at 10:09 am

cause they have MoU with bajaj before their break away early this year?

Bajaj also rebadged Kawasaki but they terminate their contract and now currently have tie in with KTM and very very recently with Triumph

you need to look deeper if you think you can brush what he was forsaying

• I hope these models will sell well and give modenas some capital to introduce more of it’s own design in the future.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Ossie on Sep 08, 2017 at 11:03 pm

It is known fact the technology in RS200 is origia nally from KTM and it has proven its credential and durability. As such, this new bike will be making great impact on younger motorists as well as the adults. The price comparitively is cheaper. MODENAS should be commended for the joint venture with Bajas. Just imagine the prices of underbone kapchai 150 cc (Honda and Yahmaha) is almost RM 10K, and the choice for RS200/NS200 is justifable. There is a panic now among established motor cycle companies due to emrtgence of these Modenss motorcyles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
    • Jonn Dol on Sep 11, 2017 at 8:22 am

Despite the rebadged exercise , the Modenas RS200 is a decent bike. An excellent choice for the beginner sportbikers. My only gripe was the strangely-positioned and rather ugly rear lights!

• sub_zero on Sep 13, 2017 at 10:23 am

hahahaha you’re joking right? where you get your FACT from?

KTM engine is BAJAJ base engine however the development path are different from Bajaj own and the very reason why KTM join venture and later have it biggest share bought over by bajaj.

and in case you were wondering, KTM engine mostly sourced from another fellow austrian engine manufacturer, which is the famous Rotax. and that’s why KTM motoryclce start from duke 690 are expensive to import and they decide to go cheap by join venture with Bajaj, not the other way round

and commended MODENAS? top level of lol

just because you rebadged 3 bikes to TEMPORARY disrupt the market need to be that commended up high is utterly stupid

modenas is only living on rebadged, just now they change from japanese boss no indian boss

wait till competitor truely disrupt with better and cheaper will modenas flunk

just another shitty company run by shitty people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • very good writings sir. i have a good imagination of riding this bike

• Henry Siew on Oct 21, 2017 at 7:10 am

Yes indeed, superb write-up on the bike, me , being a ride of this bike can fully agree with what was written!!

• Lai Lai Chi on Sep 09, 2017 at 9:13 am

Cukur, Modenas bikes are still within an affordable 10k price range……

• Annoynimouse on Sep 09, 2017 at 11:48 am

The triple mudguards is an overkill. First thing to be removed when bought.

• ben yap on Sep 09, 2017 at 12:19 pm

i think it is more worth it to get the 250cc bike because it’s better to buy a bike with cc as close as possible to the maximum of 250cc in Malaysia.

• why said so?, performance for this bike seem better then other 250cc

• Man3488polo on Sep 09, 2017 at 4:01 pm

The choice is based on the buyer’s hope and commitment….you chose, you pay

• any upcoming review for NS200 ?

• Indian RS200 ride on Sep 09, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Range of pulsar rs200 is 310kms before the last fuel indication goes away. It can go 400km full tank to empty tank.

• Bernard on Sep 09, 2017 at 2:40 pm

ABS, that’s good. But it is a mediocre bike. Not strong brand either.

• Why not use it as a base for a new 4-stroke Dinamik?

A sporty Kapchai with the acceleration of a 120cc two-stroke engine, but cleaner and not so thirsty.

• pozee on Sep 11, 2017 at 11:25 am

Still waiting for NS200 full Review from u guys…

• wooo a lot of professor complaining here and there. at the end still doing nothing.

• When the article read that no other bike has ABS other than the KTM 250, what about the Honda 250? i thought long time it had ABS already.. correct me if i’m wrong..

• desmonde Hong on Oct 24, 2017 at 11:18 am

Nope. Not for single cylinder cbr250 but yes for CBR250RR 2017.

• SUBNIL on Oct 24, 2018 at 4:59 pm

anyone knows where to find RS200 ON THE ROAD price bout 11k ???