2017 Peugeot 3008 launched in Malaysia – 1.6L turbo engine, two variants available, priced from RM143k

The Peugeot 3008 has finally been launched in Malaysia, a few days after local distributor Nasim put up a registration of interest page. As revealed earlier, the fully imported SUV is available in two flavours – Active THP and the range-topping Allure THP.

Under the hood, both variants are powered by the same 1.6 litre THP 165 S&S petrol engine, which serves up 165 hp (167 PS) and 240 Nm of torque. The turbocharged powerplant is paired with an Aisin-sourced six-speed automatic transmission, and drive goes to the front wheels.

Top speed here is quoted at 206 km/h, with a 0-100 km/h time of 8.9 seconds. The 2017 European Car of the Year is claimed to offer a fuel efficiency of seven litres per 100 km following the combined cycle.

Drivers will have access to Peugeot’s Advanced Grip Control, which offers five driving modes – Mud, Snow, Sand, ESP Off and Standard – to choose from. Interaction with the system is achieved via a rotary dial located near the hill descent control button.

According to Peugeot, the system uses a package to onboard electronics to adapt to multiple road surfaces, providing optimum traction in slippery conditions. That should technically allow the front-wheel drive SUV to travel to places a four-wheel-drive SUV would previously have been able to explore.

The new 3008 also rides on the Efficient Modular Platform (EMP2), which also underpins the latest 308, 408 and all-new 5008. Dimension wise, the SUV measures 4,447 mm long, 1,841 mm wide, 1,624 mm tall and has a wheelbase spanning 2,675 mm. Compared to the Honda CR-V – 4,596 mm long, 1,855 mm wide 1,679 mm tall and 2,660 mm wheelbase – the 3008 has a longer wheelbase (+15 mm) despite its shorter length (-149 mm).

As you can tell, the new 3008 is significantly different in terms of design when compared to its predecessor, appearing more SUV-like than the MPV shape of its predecessor. Up front, you’ll find a wide, chequered grille with chrome trim with a bumper underguard and LED DRLs.

The Active THP comes with halogen headlights with LED DRLs and halogen fog lamps, whereas the Allure THP kicks things up a notch with full LED headlights (also with LED DRLs) and sequential turn signals. Both variants are fitted as standard with ‘lion claw effect’ LED taillights and 18-inch ‘Los Angeles’ alloy wheels wrapped with Continental ContiCrossContact LX2 tyres (225/55).

The Allure THP as you’d expect, gets more goodies like the GT Line exterior package, gaining items such as a different grille mesh, silver-painted front bumper underguard and chrome trim on the lower section of the vehicle’s sides.

Moving inside, both variants feature the brand’s trademark i-Cockpit interior, with the highlight being the 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster. The screen is capable of displaying the usual driving information as well as additional information depending on the selected mode.

The other display in the SUV is an eight-inch touchscreen on the dashboard, which is linked to the infotainment and climate control systems (with rear air-con vents). The former comes with a wide array of inputs, including MirrorLink, USB, plus Android Auto and Apple CarPlay connectivity.

Other points of interest are the piano-key toggle switches, rectangular-shaped steering wheel, a fancy-looking gear lever just ahead of the electronic parking brake, and six-speaker 3D Arkamys sound system. Ambient lighting is present too, but only for the Allure THP.

For the Active THP, fabric trim (on the dashboard and doors) accompanies the leather upholstery, while the Allure comes with faux carbon-fibre materials instead. Similarly, manually-operated Mistral Meco fabric seats make their way into the Active THP, and eight-way powered black leather seats (driver only with memory function) can be found in the Allure THP.

The 3008 comes with 520 litres of boot space with an adjustable boot floor (591 litres in its lowest setting) and space-saver spare wheel underneath. The 60:40 split-folding rear seats come with a one-touch folding mechanism, allowing for up to 1,670 litres of boot space when they are folded down. The front passenger seat can also be folded flat for super long items, a unique feature in its class.

Safety kit is identical on both variants, with six airbags, ABS, EBD, Emergency Brake Assist, traction control, Dynamic Stability Control, Electronic Stability Programme, Hill Assist, lane departure warning, blind spot monitoring system, front and rear parking sensors, with a reverse camera all coming as standard.

Very modern LCD instrument panel on the #Peugeot #3008. #iCockpit

A post shared by Paul Tan's Automotive News (@paultancars) on

Finally, the big question, how much is it? The 3008 Active THP retails for RM142,888 on-the-road without insurance, and the Allure THP goes for RM155,888. These prices include a five-year/120,000 km warranty as well as a 24-hour Peugeot Assistance service. Buyers will get to choose from five exterior body colours – Metallic Copper, Magnetic Blue, Amazonite Grey, Ultimate Red and Pearl White – the last two requiring an additional RM1,590.

So far, 200 bookings for the 3008 have been received, and Nasim is targeting 400 sales units for the SUV this year. This will contribute 22% to the company’s overall sales target of 1,800 units for 2017.

For more information and specifications of the new Peugeot 3008, head on over to CarBase.my. Also check out our first look video below, where our man Hafriz Shah gets you acquainted with the French SUV.

GALLERY: Peugeot 3008 Allure THP

GALLERY: Peugeot 3008 Active THP

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 12, 2017 at 9:50 am

Good option for those who thinking instead of Sushi brand and if not much care about RV…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 7
    • Holland Thompson on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:25 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 170
      • Tokyo boy on Sep 12, 2017 at 11:07 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 167
        • 1.8exi on Sep 12, 2017 at 11:50 am

From cx5, better upgrade to Proton Boyue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 24
        • Optimus Prime on Sep 12, 2017 at 1:22 pm

You i’ll regards buying this, unless u not intent to sell off after 1-2 years

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 43
        • Jchong on Sep 12, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Why not you summarised too,
          This car looks better than any BMW , AUDI , MERCEDES , LEXUS TOO.

Built quality is better also .

Yeah will get CX5 next time forget CRV ,Xtrail and forester TOO.

All car makes are useless except Mazda?

Oh poor Tokyo boy . please be constructive on your comment next time

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 8
          • Cipek on Sep 12, 2017 at 8:51 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 134
        • Honda fans on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Looks like u u guys havent seen the latest xc60. This pigeon 3005 looks terrible seriously with halogen lights somemore?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 7
          • Jchong on Sep 13, 2017 at 3:24 am

Cipek,

FYI, Volvo SUV WILL COST TWICE OF PEUGEOT 3008 . BUYING A PEUGEOT IS LIKE DOWNGRADING FROM VOLVO

You seem to lack judgement and common sense

Obviously volvo suv is much better looking and more high tech than any peugeot SUV.

No doubt about it

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 110 Thumb down 4
      • NO PEUGEOT FOR ME PLEASE!!!!!!! on Sep 12, 2017 at 3:07 pm

But be prepared for possible breakdowns spare parts issues no car for months poor resale value warranty issues expensive parts etc etc etc…dun believe just Google

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 53
    • Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:28 pm

Wow what a car this 3008 is. But i’d prefer the Sorento. 7 seaters, best in its class!

• ryder0707 on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:01 am

Cant wait to see this on 5008 SUV! Went to the showroom, the moment you seat on the car, you will feel the premium is similar to Audi cars…WOW!! Seriously as a Honda car owner, i’m totally sold by the quality, something that has been missing in Japs car these days… even Honda Civic interior is not really premium…hard plastic is everywhere!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 6
    • Haslizam on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:54 am

(Like) Peugeot 3008.
      (Dislike) VW Tiguan

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 104 Thumb down 36
    • If you ask me European car are really value for money in terms of built quality. I just bought a HONDA, the built is nothing to shout about.
      When to the showroom sit on the ACCORD than CIVIC than CITY. I don’t feel any premium even I’m sitting in the ACCORD. End up i opt for CITY, cause i don’t see any difference at all. If the EURO car 2nd hand value and after sales service is good I think many will go for EURO car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 21
      • Mazdarati on Sep 12, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Mazda are really premium and value for money in terms of Euro built quality. Good 2nd hand value and after sales service.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 71
      • wawasan2020 on Sep 12, 2017 at 1:36 pm

i tested Axia ,Myvi and Perdana. i don’t feel premium even i sitting in Perdana. end up i opt for Axia,cause i dont see any difference. lol bro. u just brighten up my day.seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 20
        • In another words, u sat inside Perdana for the feelz but reality bites ur fresh grad pocket and u silently, mopingly went for Axia instead.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 4
      • actually you wanted to buy City in the first place but since you were already at the showroom might as well tried other models right? come on there is world of difference between Accord and City. Just say your budget allows you for City but you fancy Accord..simple.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
        • You guys are so Shallow. Buying a CITY is not just the only car i buy. Sushi car for my daily use, European car for my weekend use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
          • CL Tan on Sep 12, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Why not just buy one 24×7 would like to serve you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
      • Queen on Sep 12, 2017 at 5:02 pm

Lol. Ya me too.. went to showroom sit in S-class then E-class then C-class. at the end i booked A-Class cos i dun feel any different at all in S-Class. Can I afford S-class? no! Im saying that to comfort myself that my A-Class is as good as S-Class. No regret! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 40
        • To be honest with you, thats what i did when I’m in Merc Showroom. But i didn’t buy the Merc, I went and get my 911 instead.

• SiangSiang on Jan 04, 2018 at 3:08 pm

Cool, you actually bought a 911 in a mercedes showroom :) what a comment..

• ninja turtle on Sep 13, 2017 at 12:02 am

i wanted to buy a ferarri to go caw lui, but then i using cup jai also can caw lui so might as well buying a cup jai …

• Boleh tahan komen KING ni…next i wanna test X6 end up buying X1 coz got X anyway…wanna cheaper option, go buy iPhone X

• True. I also not really like the quality of japanese car nowadays.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 0
    • Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:29 pm

Better get Sorento or the Sportage GT!

• kereta_lembu on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:04 am

The car looks awesome inside out with its bold and daring design, coupled with high quality materials and specs. However, I still can’t understand why Malaysians will deny buying a great value car in terms of design, safety and technology because it has poor Resale Value compared to Japanese cars. Who decides how much a car depreciates anyway? I find it weird that a ‘better’ car has lower RV compared to others due to its origin or brand. If Peugeot can raise its game by providing better after sales service and parts compared to the Japs, then maybe one day we’ll see their resale value becoming stronger and closer to the Japs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 3
    • Peugeot on Sep 12, 2017 at 11:09 am

That is because in Malaysia, cars are expensive. Better resale value car actually help as d/pymt for next car to upgrade in the next 7 years. Is sad when dealer can only take this car for 20k+ after 7 yrs as compared to crv 60k+.
      Not to say the lousy dealer & bad after sales service. Reliability, parts availability really sucks..and the parts are damn expensive. unlike Honda and Toyota, there are plenty of stockist out there.Not sure about this model, my cousin Peugeot 308 most of the time stay in workshop and he sold the car in less than 2 years with huge losses. There must be reasons why ppl go for Japanese. Not just RV.. Is experience..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 21
      • Casey on Sep 12, 2017 at 11:55 am

Lesser money, for better car & RV. the CHR

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 55
      • rchoo on Sep 12, 2017 at 1:22 pm

I prefer it that way so that I get to buy Peugeot at a reasonable price and not buy at a artificially jack up price which is created by more buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
      • kereta_lembu on Sep 12, 2017 at 1:26 pm

You have valid points and I totally understand why people choose a higher RV car compared to certain makes. However, I find it is kinda sad where people buy new cars not thinking about what they like or are passionate about, be it the looks or performance or technology offered BUT thinking to get something maybe they don’t like that much and already worrying about the day they sell it even before buying one. If the person likes a Jap/Korean car for what it is, then fine, go ahead…but to purposely buy a car for RV value is just sad.

You’re also spot on about parts and after sales service. If only car manufacturers see the importance of having reliable and reasonably priced parts, then maybe customers will switch over to Conti cars. You do so much to make the car competitively priced vs an Asian make but at the end of the day, people will shy away if it is not cheap enough to maintain and keep. Shame, such a shame.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 9
        • You just answered yourself though.

People value convenience and value for money over “passion”. You can be passionate on the weekends, but every weekday you try to go to work and your car breaks down, you feel pissed. Even if it’s one day in the shop, it will inconvenienve you like hell to send the car, wait, pick up the car. Imagine if one week to wait for parts. Or to pay up the nose for parts.

• Dat steering wheel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • How is the reliability and spare parts costs/availability vs Honda CRV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Can’t wait to see how the lion will behave on the road.

• Ben Yap on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:37 am

nice design and pretty fast car too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • Honda fans on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:43 pm

Fast my arse, a lot of suv nowadays can do sprint better than this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
      • rchoo on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:34 am

Speed is one thing, confidence and stability at high speed i another, this is something Honda CRV cannot match with Peugeot 3008. CRV tweaked (via ECU) a 1.5 to a artificially high acceleration which inevitably caused a significantly higher fuel consumption, they dare not even print out the figure. Fast must come together with good around. Not just tweaked the ECU and bump up the figure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • rchoo on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:25 am

Yes, it is really fast at a optimum fuel economy, unlike Honda CRV which dare not print out their fuel consumption after jacking up their sprint figure of 0-100 by tweaking their ECU.

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:51 am

naza dont dare to CKD the cars anymore. all CBU only.

• Naza normal tactic: CBU 1st, then CKD with cheaper prices to boost sales.

• Anonymous on Sep 12, 2017 at 12:54 pm

I have a fully CBU 308 from france , i think its much less reliable than ckd 308 because the parts isnt tropicalized to suit malaysian weather

• my peugeot 207cc which was a CBU served me well for 7 years without any issues, plus i parked that car under hot sun as my work place doesn’t provide shaded parking, even the cabriolet roof mechanism never gave any problems

doesn’t suit Malaysian weather it seems, duh

• Henry on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:58 am

Sales ratio of this car vs the Honda CRV will be like 1:100.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
    • 1:1000000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:34 pm

Typical Malaysians. Why buy a famous brand if the specs are useless? Just compared the Sportage vs HRV vs CX5. Sportage is better but people dont look at the value for money Sportage has

• rchoo on Sep 12, 2017 at 10:58 am

Very well aesthetic, practical design, good material, good built I will surely buy but probably not this one, wait for the 7 seater 5008 instead.

• Bujang on Sep 12, 2017 at 11:00 am

RM143k = Brunei $45,440.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • applegreen on Sep 12, 2017 at 11:04 am

Shame to Motor Image after they put RM145k price without insurance for new XV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Superdriver on Sep 12, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Tried the xv and forrestor,not as good as the pug…no kick

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • alldisc on Sep 12, 2017 at 4:00 pm

the reason 3008 is European car of the year, no joke for such an award.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • Have you touched the plastics in the Subarus? Feels like what you get in a myvi

• RM 145K? too pricy for this low resale value car.

After 3 years the car become RM 50K.

I think the pricing should be around RM 100-110K (HRV range of pricing) with 3 years free maintenence if they intend to sell well. otherwise, keep at the stock yard and wait for big discount. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
    • Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:36 pm

People like you should just keep quiet. HRV is useless. Very low spec car but price is Rm100k+. This 3008 is the same level as the Sportage GT

• thepolygonal on Sep 12, 2017 at 12:35 pm

A handsome looking car packed with good features. Hope it does well this time around. This should be Singapore’s national car because got singa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Longan king on Sep 12, 2017 at 12:45 pm

12month old Peugeot 3008, rm100k..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 12, 2017 at 4:10 pm

nice but service…takut

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
  • CL Tan on Sep 12, 2017 at 5:32 pm

The car of the year based on puretech engine or what?

• Naeem on Sep 12, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Im going to waite for new 5008 7seater.any news pleas share here.tq

• Apple CarPlay laaaa

• TigerKuat on Sep 12, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Thanks, but I am fine with my Exora. Cheap and nice for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • Ricardo on Sep 12, 2017 at 8:57 pm

Looks wise it’s a beauty indeed. But parts and after sales is questionable.
    I would opt for the Sorento anytime.
    200 hp with 400 nm torque and a 7 seater AWD
    the choice is crystal clear.

• No moonroof anymore for 3008? thats kinda weird sems new puretech 2008 rm96k+ now got moonroof…

• Peugeot owner on Sep 13, 2017 at 1:50 am

Many people are condemning Peugeot cars CKD quality, however I have a Peugeot 308 VTi and a Toyota Corolla, both year 2012, and I have to say the 308 quality is much better, interior wise, seats, dashboard, paint… still feels like it was bought last year. The corolla however can see that the car seats, dashboard quality, and paint have deteriorated, note that both cars when parked are always in sheltered garage. However it’s true that Peugeot is more expensive to maintain, having said that I have only spent RM10k in 2 years on intercooler, gearbox, and ECU after warranty expires, and the Corolla maybe RM3-4k on other breakdowns. Quality wise Peugeot definitely beats many other Japanese brands hand down, however reliability and maintenance wise it’s on a slightly higher side like any other European brands, but definitely still much cheaper than a BMW/ Mercedes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 4
  • This car is same standard as
    BMW X3 , AUDI Q5 AND MERCEDES GLC too !

Resale value is almost the same for most continental

Furthermore 3008 is cheaper to repair compare to X3 , Q5 AND GLC . X3 is having more computer software glitches .

Peugeot 3008 is even more luxuries and better looking for the price compare to X3 , Q5 AND GLC .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 1
  • JJ3863 on Dec 01, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Such a beauty! Has anyone saw this car on the road thus far?

• JJ3863 on Dec 01, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Has anyone saw this beauty on the road so far?

• Ng Jun Jie on Dec 03, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Anyone saw this beauty anywhere on Malaysian road?

• I will buy it if there is black colour available.