2017 Mazda CX-5 revised Malaysian price list revealed – five CKD variants available, now priced from RM134k

A new price list for the new 2017 Mazda CX-5 has surfaced, which supersedes an earlier one that was posted at the end of August 2017. While the number of variants remains unchanged, there have been some revisions in terms of pricing (spoiler alert: it’s cheaper than previously reported).

As a recap, the CX-5 will be offered in a total of five variants – 2.0G 2WD GL, 2.0G 2WD GLS, 2.5G 2WD GLS, 2.2D 2WD GLS and 2.2D AWD GLS. A five-year/100,000 km warranty and three-year/60,000 km free maintenance package is standard with every CX-5 purchase, regardless of variant choice.

Getting into the figures that matter most, we start with the 2.0G 2WD, which is available in base GL and GLS guises. The former is priced at RM134,205.50 on-the-road without insurance, while the GLS is yours for RM148.205.50.

Both 2.0G 2WD variants are powered by a 2.0 litre four-cylinder SkyActiv-G petrol engine, which churns out 162 hp and 210 Nm of torque. Drive is sent to the front wheels via a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission.

Higher up the range, we find the highest spec petrol variant on offer – the 2.5G 2WD GLS that goes for RM160,596.70. The variant gets a more powerful 2.5 litre four-cylinder SkyActiv-G powerplant (192 hp/257 Nm), and retains the same transmission.

Next up are the diesel variants, which feature a 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D engine that provides 173 hp and 420 Nm. If you need all-wheel drive, the range-topping 2.2D AWD GLS is your only option here, as all other variants are front-wheel drive ones. This includes the 2.2 2WD GLS, which is priced at RM164,179.10. Meanwhile, the 2.2D AWD GLS has a price tag of RM174,779.10.

Keep in mind that these prices only apply to cars with a solid paint finish, and metallic finishes will cost an additional RM400 across the board. However, if you want Mazda’s premium metallic colours – Soul Red Crystal, Machine Grey and Snowflake Pearl White – the cost option will set you back RM2,000. The inclusion of Soul Red Crystal and Machine Grey in this price list at least, confirms Bermaz’s earlier commitment to introduce Mazda’s premium metallic colours to its CKD models.

Other cost options include a navigation system for RM1,270 and leather seats for RM2,900, both of which are only available for the base variant (2.0G 2WD GL) only. So, what do you think of the pricing for the new CX-5? Will you prefer it over the Honda CR-V and Nissan X-Trail?

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Raymond Goh on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:27 am

No matter what. Malaysians want Boyue

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 66
  • What Not Mention on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:29 am

In short… Is the price cheaper now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • Cutealex on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:29 am

(Like) CX-5.
    (Dislike) CR-V

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 38
    • nemesis on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:37 am

CX-5 2.2 diesel rm174k 173hp/420nm

Sportage 2.0 diesel rm160k 185h/400nm cheaper roadtax and more powerful than cx-5

go figure!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 23
      • JB_KIA on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:21 pm

Sorento 7seater diesel > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • kimchi on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Korean spec, always overrate + heavier car overall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 13
      • balldisc on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Honda = the power of dream

Mazda = the power of Berjaya Group.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • But Sportage is smaller than CX-5

• Don’t just clouded with figured on paper. Fuel consumption, drivability, combination of gearbox and engine, weight etc are far more important that paper. Go figure!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Bro..makes sense la..if you go to Japanese restaurant you need to bring more money..sushi is more expensive than kimchi.

• Nosushi on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:28 pm

Sushi tak best, avoid at all costs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Gaviny on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:22 pm

The mazda diesel is twin turbo and doesn’t drive like a petrol, the kia diesel closer towards truck engine, more lag , low rpm redline

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
        • nemesis on Sep 25, 2017 at 8:46 am

Gaviny, i have driven the bmw 320d, a 520d and 525d f10 before (covered some 5k km approximately 3 weeks on each cars). And then i drove the sorento 2.2Crdi (2017). I can say it has better NVH and the performance is good with respect to the bmw’s. So when you said truck like, i think you are referring to the old sorento. Try the new one and you’ll be amazed. And then try book a test drive for a GLE 250d or the BMW X525d. They are of the same power range of 200-220hp/400-500nm mid-size SUV. CX5 not even in the same league.

• Dr J Abraham on Sep 21, 2017 at 10:39 am

Malaysians now on ethical grounds don’t buy Mazda despite it being a good car.

this is because, last year alone, Bermaz Mazda increased prices 3 times despite knowing Malaysians are struggling with high cost of living, high car prices and high petrol cost.

Bermaz also lies a lot. One day they blame Japanese Yen, another day they blame USD. Soon, they will blame Ruppiah

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 28
    • Madza is a bussiness body, not charity body. Nothing wrong increase the price. If they like, 10 times also ok. Question is do you afford to buyvor not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 24
    • Ethan on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Should be blaming the ones that made our Malaysian Ringgit value drop like shit. And guess who that is?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
    • Gaviny on Sep 21, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Bro, you forgot perodua also raise their prices because of forex ?

• Namaste on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:12 am

Wait for huge discount for old model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • simon on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:14 pm

already have huge discounts of 10k.

the showroom near me sees the CX-5 flying out. but its only the GL (kosong) model.

because at 118k, thats the only variant that people can afford. but they forget that the car is bloody empty and basic.

and after 1 month of buying their “new” cx-5. the NEW CX-5 launches, their “new” cx-5 price drop again.

• BeemerFreak on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:34 pm

Already huge discount ever since they announce the launch of this model. Was going about 118k for the old 2.0 since march this year

• Puvan on Sep 21, 2017 at 4:01 pm

They already giving out 11k discount

• applegreen on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:20 am

The 2.5 engine has 8hp more than previous model

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:43 am

waiting skyactive hybrid.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 21, 2017 at 11:55 am

launch aje le

• Ben Yap on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:30 pm

I bought a car that comes built-in Garmin Navigation.

It’s a waste of money and cannot beat Waze.

• WickedSwicket on Sep 21, 2017 at 12:46 pm

If i want an AWD SUV I’d go for the best & choose Subaru’s Forester.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Aaron on Sep 21, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Do not buy this cx-5.

At least, not from Bermaz.

Bermaz (Berjaya Mazda) is a straight up LIAR. Remember how they promised us Malaysians that the new CX-9 will be priced around RM250k and will come with HIGH SPECS? But hell no! It was launched few months ago at RM317k and with pathetically LOW SPECS.

Link: https://paultan.org/2016/05/16/new-mazda-cx-9-to-arrive-in-malaysia-in-q4-one-variant-only-priced-between-rm230k-to-rm250k-sa/

And yet they blame our weak currency for it.

And how Bermaz constantly increased the price of their affordable cars such as Mazda 2 while using the same excuse.

As a conclusion, the only thing that we can do now is boycott. We strive for Change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 16
    • Joe Jambu on Sep 21, 2017 at 6:21 pm

You idiot..get your facts right..the article in that link you provided is written with speculation, it is mentioned in there “estimated price of 230-250k” and “not official “..i guess you believe everything on the internet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Repo Specialist on Sep 21, 2017 at 2:18 pm

This is a good car…do consider…but do try to keep up the payments k…

• CRV VS PUG3008 VS CX5 on Sep 21, 2017 at 5:51 pm

High spec wise which is better?

• learn to read the performance curve on Sep 23, 2017 at 1:03 pm

wow msian.. u do love weak cars eh.. these are all sub 170hp300nm cars… no wonder everytime there is a long weekend… the highway choked up.. coz all drive slow cars…. dude check out the sportage 2.0crdi or the tucson 1.6turbo pls.. if ur current car sub 150hp200nm then these two pick will make u feel like driving a super car…

• aiyo… for those who owes keep blame car dealer. If can afford it, just buy…If can’t afford it just keep silent… don’t try to sabotage people, useless…

• willy on Sep 23, 2017 at 9:24 am

i’m comparing X3 vs CX5

Do anyone know the price on BMW X3(pre-owned if got)?

• Oscar on Sep 27, 2017 at 11:07 pm

No powerboot, HUD and Sunroof selling at this price, seriously go for honda CRV more worth