Toyota Fortuner updated, now on sale – new 2.4 VRZ 4×2 and 4×4 from RM186k, standard rear disc brakes

Last month, UMW Toyota revealed the updated Toyota Fortuner, which comes with two additional high-spec diesel variants and a couple of detail changes. At the time, the company only released new prices for the existing entry-level 2.4 AT 4×4 diesel (dropping the VRZ badge) and 2.7 SRZ AT 4×4 petrol models, but now we have the retail costs of the new variants as they go on sale effective immediately.

Prices for the new 2.4 VRZ variants stand at RM185,800 for the 4×2 model and RM195,800 for the 4×4, so they sit above the hitherto range-topping RM181,800 2.7 SRZ AT 4×4. Meanwhile, the 2.4 AT 4×4 remains the cheapest model in the stable, priced at RM169,800. All prices are on-the-road without insurance, inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Changes for the 2018 model year are fairly minor, relegated to new LED front fog lights on the 2.4 VRZ and 2.7 SRZ models, plus rear disc brakes that come as standard on all variants. As for the new variants, the 2.4 VRZ 4×2 and 4×4 are pretty much identical in spec compared to the 2.7 SRZ, which should come as no surprise given the price premium over the petrol model.

Kit count includes auto bi-LED headlights with LED daytime running lights, 18-inch alloy wheels, puddle lights, keyless entry, push-button start, a 4.2-inch colour multi-info display, auto front and rear air-con, cruise control, brown leather upholstery, an eight-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, premium solar and security tint, a powered tailgate and a DVD-AVX infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen and six speakers. The 2.7 SRZ still has an upper hand by having a navigation system, but that’s about it.

Safety-wise, the 2.4 VRZ models also follow in the 2.7 SRZ with seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), ABS with EBD and brake assist and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC). The 4×4 model also receives Active Traction Control (A-TRC) and Downhill Assist Control (DAC) – the latter is also new on the 2.7 SRZ. The base 2.4 continues to offer three airbags and no stability control.

Mechanicals remain the same as before – the 2.4 litre models get a 2GD-FTV 2.4 litre turbodiesel pushing out 150 PS at 3,400 rpm and 400 Nm from 1,600 to 2,000 rpm, while the 2.7 SRZ receives a 2TR-FE 2.7 litre naturally-aspirated Dual VVT-i petrol engine that churns out 166 PS at 5,200 rpm and 245 Nm at 4,000 rpm.

All models get a six-speed automatic transmission, with the 2.4 VRZ and 2.7 SRZ getting paddle shifters. The 2.4 VRZ 4×2 is rear-wheel drive; all other models gain a part-time four-wheel drive system with an automatic disconnecting differential (ADD) as well as a rear differential lock.

New optional accessories also join the fray in the form a TRD Sportivo body kit (RM4,982), which includes an aerokit, black front grille, emblem, body stripes, specific floors mats and scuff plate. There’s also a panoramic view monitor (RM2,650) and a blind spot monitor with rear cross traffic alert (RM1,855) as well, and all these prices are inclusive of GST.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Wow. No ESC as standard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 11
    • 4bini on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Such a ridicuolus price to pay for the Fortuner. Malaysian car prices tak masuk akal. RM195k for the Fortuner. With Insurance, that is RM200k.

Something is wrong with Malaysia. Malaysians cannot be having the highest car prices in the world for our GDP Per Capita ie gaji orang ramai is small.

Car prices have gone up too much since 1985. For example, in 1985 a Toyota Corolla in Malaysia was rm20k. Today, the Toyota Corolla Altis is RM139k. Prices have gone 7 fold. 700%

But in Japan, the same Toyota Corolla have gone up 40% from 1985 to 2017.

Malaysia – 700% increase
      Japan – 40% increase.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 321 Thumb down 300
      • karam singh on Oct 06, 2017 at 9:18 pm

Yayyy!!!! a disc brake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
        • Dunno The Feeling on Oct 07, 2017 at 9:51 am

LOL!!! Toyota took 12 years to realize rear disc brake was missing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
          • Malaysia Got Free Parking on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:26 pm

I like this Fortuner. Really got good torque

• feel lucky ok on Oct 09, 2017 at 7:52 am

Better now than never.

• Ishad on Oct 07, 2017 at 9:58 am

Tak faham lah orang mengarut parkir Malaysia free dan nippon 1000x

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
          • Ghazali on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:52 pm

jangan layan fake poster. Mana My ada free parking? Dalam gua ada lah

• my england is bad on Oct 07, 2017 at 9:47 pm

If jepunis is so good, go and live there la why kunta same lorrrr susah2 nak compare

• Big cars used to be cheap in nippon and everywhere everyone has a corolla. But nowadays big cars no longer cheap, and jepunis pipu have no choice but to get cheaper crampier kei cars.

Something is wrong with Nippon. Jepunis cannot be having the highest overall car prices in the world for their GDP Per Capita ie gaji orang ramai is small.

Car ownership prices have gone up too much since 1985. For example, in 1985 a Toyota Corolla in Nippon was 1mil yen. Today, to own the Toyota Corolla need at least 1Billion yen with the high parking rentals. Prices have gone 10 fold. 1000% times.

MY – parking is free.
        Nippon – 1000% times increase.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 358 Thumb down 361
        • Yusof Haslam on Oct 06, 2017 at 11:40 pm

Another fake news. Japan Corolla price is ¥2,150,000 and not 1 BILLION yen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 24
          • How much is parking in Tokyo 24/7/365 fo 10 years? Still fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 37
          • Jemima on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:26 pm

This is the same john who says msia sells the lowest price petrol in the world and sells cheapest car prices in the world.

Pls john, get a life. Now talking abt parking

• Jemima on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:27 pm

topic is on car prices. Not parking. Stay focused.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 06, 2017 at 11:58 pm

People talking about car prices, mental patient talking about parking fee.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 30
          • Only mental patient looks at car price tag and dun consider cost of total ownership. Everything is relative, bub. Nowhere in the world owes u a free lunch.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 47
          • Jemima on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Then include gaji orang Jepun. They earn 10x more than Malaysians. Why you include selective things only?

Gaji lupa ke?

• sulaiman on Oct 09, 2017 at 1:39 pm

just ignore him, he even says petrol in malaysia is cheapest in the world

• William on Oct 07, 2017 at 9:32 am

I pay RM5 per hour in KL. Where did you get MY has free parking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
          • Rm5 per hour cant even get u parking in outskirt areas in Nippon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 33
          • Jemima on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Do we get Japanese salary? You talk about parking, which is not relevant but you should include Japanese salary also

Btw, parking in Malaysia is not free as you claimed

• Ishad on Oct 07, 2017 at 10:00 am

to own Toyota Corolla anda perlukan 1 bil yen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • Hanum on Oct 07, 2017 at 11:18 am

Same guy who says our car insurance is subsidized by the Government, cheapest car prices in the world, cheapest ron 95 in the world, all saga got VSC, Proton has no more loans to pay as all paid back

And now….Malaysia has free parking

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
          • U pay parking charges to park car at ur house/ condo/ apartment/ flat?

• Jemima on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:14 pm

so sad. Write sad and pathetic comment like mesia parking free and then like yourself 323 times

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
          • Its more pathetic to hide behind new dupes and then like urself 322 times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
          • Ghazali on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Tak tahan ketawa. Parking free? Minggu depan dia kata toll pun free

• BeemerFreak on Oct 07, 2017 at 9:55 am

Err in the 1980s MYR 1 = JPY 100
        Today MYR 1 is not even JPY 30

The goevenrment has done nothing to make our currency strong. At this rate the ringgit will be the most useless currency in Southeast Asia by 2030 and we are still voting for that pussy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 44
        • Currency up or down is not totally controlled by gov, especially nowadays with our interlinked economy. This wun change even if u vote for the other pussy. However, ADB, World Bank, Moodys and Bloomberg has acknowledged the rapid improvements on MY economy vis a vis to regional peers.

So shud we belip ADB, Bloomberg, World Bank, Moodys, etc or belip caveman basher?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 208 Thumb down 75
          • Ghazali on Oct 07, 2017 at 12:58 pm

kerana korupsi, Ringgit jatuh. Nama Msia dah busuk serata dunia.

Macam mana Singapura Dollar boleh kuat?

• John,
            The Malaysian economy has improved so much to the point that a poor nation like us is helping the richest nation on earth to be great again?

I am not to sure where you are quoting your statistics from but I bet it is a different Bloomberg machine that I am reading my news from. Cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
          • I dunno which Bloomberg machine u using, but a google of bloomberg gets u “Malaysia GDP Growth Beats Forecasts”.
            Perhaps u shud chuck that Bloomberg machine out the window.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
          • @John,

The same Bloomberg machine use by us foreign fund managers to sell down your KLCI in the previous week.
            1. If your growth in your GDP is so great why is your youth unemployment so high.
            2. Household debt to GDP levels remain high,
            3. Your currency is weak.
            Load of other indicators that shows that there is a disproportion in the country’s economic growth.

Please look deeper into how the GDP numbers are being derived. A high GDP number is not necessary a good indicator of an improving economy. By that same logic, the GDP growth of Iraq of 11%, Bangladesh of 7% and Ethiopia’s of 7.6% should be the envy of all nations.

The problem with your kind of people is that you start believing the bullshit you write.

• Emblem Also Stingy on Oct 07, 2017 at 4:22 pm

At almost 200k,UMW still want to differentiate each model less and pay more for full specs? C’mon la.. Can’t make 2 price range only? Full spec 2.4 and full spec 2.7 simple as that.It is 200k price tag for god sake!!! Emblem also reluctant to give generously.Inly UMW selling emblem and logo separately!

• Dixon on Oct 06, 2017 at 6:36 pm

(Like) Sorento.
    (Dislike) Fortuner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 20
  • Leafable on Oct 06, 2017 at 6:36 pm

“standard rear disc brakes” what is this? the 80’s? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
    • Laughable on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Drum brakes are 80’s LOL

• 4bini on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:58 pm

charge RM200k. This is already BMW pricing. But give outdated technology.

I rather buy a 2nd hand BMW X5. Now can get also for RM200k for 2014 model

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
  • ryder0707 on Oct 06, 2017 at 6:55 pm

This SUV is more Lexus than a Toyota! Modern looking design with awesome 4WD capability and freaking reliable engine that is proven to last forever for peace of mind. According to internal source, our government has ordered quite number of units for the VRZ 4×4. Who said 7-seater 4WD with is not important??? Only HM syok sndiri with the so called full specs 5-seater 2wd CRV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
    • People who buy this Fortuner want to make a statement. The statement being, “I don’t know what to do with my money, so I bought something half-arsed, underspecced and outdated.”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
      • Dodoja on Oct 07, 2017 at 8:23 pm

I am one of them

• Hj Adrin on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:25 am

I actually know what to do with my money. Got 2 wives, 2 houses, 6 kids, and Fortuner is my 4th car. Sorry no Kimchi car in my list :). What ryder0707 said is true our govt likes Toyota. Have you seen a Kementerian car with KIA logo??? Btw, full specs Sorento price is about the same as Fortuner full specs and Totoya is the most valuable car brand in the world with car engines that are proven to be rock solid reliable. Not to mention, Toyota RV is good. If you know this, why buy KIA right??? Think again…you might realize Toyota is the best option. Peace.

• norah on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Trash product…I rather get the Kia Sorento

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
  • ae101 on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Herald Toyota TNGA Golden era! CHR Camry!!

• somehow the equipment lists just keeps getting better as buyers continuously ignore them…..

As Honda Malaysia learns, majority malaysians are buying full spec cars noawadays…..

even in used car market , we are spoilt for choices

• Ibnu bakrin on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:32 pm

In August, a total of 1,062 units of Toyota Yaris Ativ already owned by our neighbor in Thailand.

UMW Toyota, will you bring this model in Malaysia?

• 1000 units cannot save toyota here

• Dylan Ch'ng on Oct 07, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Toyota shouldn’t even consider bringing in the Toyota Yaris Ativ. Though, they should consider bringing in the European Toyota Yaris.

• Not worth it on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:03 pm

With a price difference like that, better just buy the 2.7 and use the RM 14k for fuel. The 2.4 is not that much powerful anyways and maintenance costs is higher for diesel engine. Another greedy move by UMW!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • Maria on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:19 pm

They should drop the base model with no esc on RM 170K Price is a joke…Bring the 2.8 diesel on fortuner or new land cruiser prado with 2.8 GD diesel like europe then i’m sold..

• Elchino on Oct 06, 2017 at 9:55 pm

When the 2.8 model is released, it will be priced way above $200k, so no point waiting. Would have thought that with EEV status, the prices should be much lower. Just you wait, when sales are bad, they will give big discounts!

• Driver's Choice on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:49 pm

A 200k car NOW ONLY giving rear disc break?! Even a 50k+ Proton Preve already having rear disc break long ago. I better wait for the VOLVO XC40, at least XC40 road tax is cheaper than Fortuner for sure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • polla on Oct 06, 2017 at 8:56 pm

Thai mari pon mau 200k kah???

• Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Oct 06, 2017 at 10:38 pm

You know whats funnier….C-HR still not for sale, already not panas la, preview everywhere but not selling. By the time they sell it others have already bringing new model.

• abu dhabi on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:18 am

standard rear disc brakes?

more like standard UMW laughing stocks.

• Fairopinion..... on Oct 07, 2017 at 6:26 am

Sorento way much better. ….

• Ben Yap on Oct 07, 2017 at 10:41 am

Fortuner is the least value for money SUV for the price you pay. You can get a better spec car else where.

• You have to look at the whole package my fren. Toyota aftersales No.1, proven by the recent JD Power.

Toyota buyers know this, thats why it keeps selling.

• Toyota is always selling dinosaur and outdated technology and expensive.

This fortuner hardly can sell well in Malaysia now.

I and my friends had already switch to other more exciting , better and advanced technology brands .

Toyota can go to Tong Sampah for us now !!!

• Zulkiefly Omar on Oct 07, 2017 at 5:14 pm

When will UMW Toyota Malaysia brings in the Fortuner 2.8 turbo TRD Sportivo?

• Bernard on Oct 07, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Isn’t Toyota Fortuner made for third world countries? Is it sold in North America, Europe or Japan?

Hence why is bloody expensive???

• Accord Is Here on Oct 08, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Gosh… eyesore bodykits

• ESP not standard??? Hahahaha… continue to see your counterparts in Honda laughing their way to bank OK?

• ayoyo on Oct 09, 2017 at 9:42 am

WOW !!! WOW !!! WOW !!!! did you see that!!!!
    New features!!!!! standard rear disc brakes!!!!!!!
    Come on!!!! Check this out!!!!1 disc brakes!!!! REAR finally have disc brake!!!!!! GOOD JOB Lah TOYOTA!!! who can beat you!!!

• Kuinosan on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:37 am

UMW Toyota is greedy as usual, so when the irrational buying stops, so will the over pricing culture at UMW Toyota. There are other brands that is offering more for your money. Be a smart consumer!

• 2.4 diesel still not in FULL spec yet??? What will it cost to FULL spec the accessories to be on PAR with the 2.7 SRZ??

Picture illustration is without accessories. So with the 4×4 VRZ and the accessories, OTR with insurance, we’re talking about RM210,000??? And not yet FULL spec.

So I guess we will wait for 2018 for UMW to get a SRZ 2.4 Diesel 4×4. I wonder what the “PREMIUM” price be by then….

if it’s not a Toyota, or if you don’t bother the brand, my as well get the Kia Sorento or the Hyundai Santa Fe. They might throw a big big discount for your purchase. Wasting time waiting for the VRZ diesel 4×4.

• Paul tan, could you guys have a comparison between the 7 seater Diesel SUVs. Sub 200k pricing and comparison for a few models (test on the high and low specs also). Performing on and off the road. Namely-

Hyundai Santa Fe
    Kia Sorento
    Toyota fortuner

Would be a great article and I guess the entry level pricing with specs will be the Kia Sorento.

• flipper2uman (Member) on Oct 10, 2017 at 9:52 am

Paul Tan,

To add to the statement above, I think it would be great if you did a comparison on these SUV and 4×4 off-road vehicles.
      I believe a better comparison would be to do a full article or video review on these soft 7 seater diesel soft suv and also a full review on 4×4 off-road SUV. I think the Fortuner should be pit against the MUX, the 2016 Pajero Sports (should this ever come here) & Ford Everest. That way one can really compare the pros and cons of each 4×4 off-road vehicle when driven on the tarmac and out on the jungle trail.

Cheers

• chanmyae on Aug 20, 2018 at 1:51 am

I love Toyota Fortuner. I got it , ok !