Toyota Innova 2.0X officially announced – RM132,800

UMW Toyota Motor has officially announced the new Toyota Innova 2.0X. The 2.0X is the top variant of the MPV range and is priced at RM132,800 on the road without insurance.

For that, you get one less seat than the regular Innova, but more comfortable ones with “Business Class” level of comfort in the second row. The two captain chairs in the middle row (with retractable cup holders, a seatback table and individual armrests) transforms the 2.0X into a seven-seater (2-2-3), instead of eight.

It’s also the only Innova to get leather upholstery. On the topic of seats, the driver’s chair has eight-way power adjustment.

The rest of the equipment list is shared with the 2.0G, which means that one gets a wood trim, front/rear auto air con, Optitron instrument panel with a 4.2-inch colour multi-info display, foldable seatback tables, ambient lighting, reverse camera, leather-wrapped steering with wood trim, easy closer tailgate, keyless entry with push start, and an eight-inch DVD-AVX infotainment system.

Compared to the 2.0G, the previous top variant, the 2.0X adopts a “crossover concept”. Styling add-ons include chrome trim on the front and front rear under spoilers with chrome accents. Overfenders on the wheel arches and chrome black moulding along the window sills are the other changes, along with a unique lower back and back door garnish.

The 2.0X comes with LED headlamps, LED daytime running lights and LED foglamps – they’re all LEDs at the front. Also exclusive to the X are 17-inch black alloys with 215/55 rubber, an inch up from the other trim levels.

For safety, seven airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, VSC and hill start assist are standard across the Innova range, which has five stars in the ASEAN NCAP crash test. The MPV is powered by a 2.0 litre Dual VVT-i engine with 139 PS and 183 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. Power from the 1TR-FE goes to the rear axle via a six-speed automatic transmission and there are Eco and Power drive modes.

Now available as an accessory for the Innova is a “Panoramic View Monitor” which gives the driver a 360-degree bird’s eye view around the vehicle. Four cameras around the vehicle combine images on the DVD-AVX screen to aid parking. The Digital Video Recorder (DVR) a.k.a. dashcam is also an option, along with security/solar film. Full specs on CarBase.my.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• BetterbuyBoy on Oct 06, 2017 at 6:39 pm

RM133K. Better buy 2 units exora.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 14
  • Need help. This or Exora? 2.0 road tax expensive. But goodies are good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • PlaySafeDriveSafe on Oct 08, 2017 at 9:30 am

Actually, Proton Exora is a good MPV. My brother owns one, & my office own one too, which we use for our promotional tours nationwide, that I sometimes took the chance to be behind the steering wheel. Sitting at the 2nd row is also confortable for long journeys.

My only complaint, if I were to own one myself, is the lack of equiptments, such as extra airbags for safety, auto air-cond, touch screen audio with android auto/apple carplay/mirrorlink function.

Hopefully Geely will do something for this exora range of product, coz I wouldn’t mine paying a bit more (but below RM90,000) to get all the bells and whistles added on to the exora.

• sick&tired on Oct 06, 2017 at 7:24 pm

i don’t know how anyone in their right mind can pick this monstrosity over the Kia Sorento or Carnival.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Powershot on Oct 06, 2017 at 10:23 pm

My guess it would be the price point. It is still cheaper than the two.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • david kam on Oct 06, 2017 at 10:22 pm

Not many people are buying toyota now and their sales are dipping fast. Which is also explaining why they are throwing in so many upgrades to their existing models to move sales. Finally they have stopped being arrogant.

Let’s stop buying toyota for another year or two, i’m pretty sure they will throw in even more goodies!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
  • INNOVA VS SERENA.
    IF I put aside (for awhile) the airbag. What do you think is the better choice if I’m looking very much to the (1) spacious head room, (2) 3rd row comfortable to everage adult size.

What’s your opinion? Serena or this Innova?

Price point? RM130k (Innova) vs RM140k (Serena).

Thanks in advanced.

• Serena – monocoque body (like car). Rides comfy
      Innova – body on chassis (like Hailut). Rides like Hailut.

U be the judge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
      • honestbond on Oct 07, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Consider a Exora.

• Fugley on Oct 07, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Look, innova is monster alike serena is moving fridge alike

• Ha,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,Ha,Ha,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,HaHa,Ha,Ha,Ha

Can conclude , Innova rides like a SAMPAN meaning Pening and Pusing Kepala then

Really?

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 09, 2017 at 12:09 pm

More like rattle your teeth out.

yes, improvements have been made, but body on frame will never be anywhere be as comfy as a unibody. its either going to be too soft and wallowy or ride to hard and bouncy.

Where the hell is the diesel??

At least that could make more sense if you price an entry level diesel for the small business/commercial market.

• Innova is a van on Oct 12, 2017 at 6:46 am

Ride in a Blue taxi (available around Malaysia). Likely to be an Innova. Then feel the harshness yourself. It’s really not much different from a van. The engine and exhaust noises (on a petrol engine!!), the body creaks and rolls etc.

• isengard12 on Oct 07, 2017 at 8:35 pm

Serena
      CVT, fuel efficient, takes 8 people comfortably, easy egress & ingress, 2 air bags, lots of space (humongous), maintenance really depends (you can check Serena Hybrid Owner Club in FB) there are some problems here & there

Innova
      6-speed transmission, fuel efficient than older innova, but cannot compare to serena, 7 airbags, seats 8 comfortably, egress & ingress so-so, maintenance should be cheaper

• Ben Yap on Oct 07, 2017 at 10:40 am

nowadays more and more cars have 17″ wheels and the rubbers are not cheap.

these tyre manufacturers should reduce price because they are enjoying economy of scale.

• Economy of scales dun happen immediately. These cars need to be on the road for few years and then when time to change tayar, thats when economy scale kicks in.

• Orang KG on Oct 07, 2017 at 5:08 pm

Rm 132k for new innova…better keep my unser…cakap gst semua turun??? Hahaa..

• Toyota ingat boleh jual mahal apa kena mengena dgn GST? Tunggu 1 year then 30% diskaun mari.

• James Potato on Oct 07, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Pls replace the dinosaur petrol engine with a diesel engine then maybe it’ll be ok. 2.0l with 139hp is gonna be a problem when its full of passengers and luggage. Good luck going up genting highland without being deafened by the Dino engine roaring the whole journey up

• klguy on Oct 08, 2017 at 12:31 am

i foresee the owners of this car pretending to be driving an alphard and cucuk behind other cars on the highway….

• Toyol on Oct 09, 2017 at 12:01 pm

get xtrail better

• Altis owner on Oct 09, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Ewww y so ugly

• IzzyAff on Dec 03, 2017 at 1:15 pm

Why dont you people go for Kia Sorento instead? Better whaat.