SPIED: 2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class shows its face

Our spy photographers have managed to spot prototypes of the 2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class again, this time wearing less camouflage than before. These photos give us a much better view of the revised styling found on the W176 replacement, which is sharper in appearance than before.

The slimmer headlights from previous sightings continue to be present here, flanking what appears to be a diamond radiator grille. Also on display is the reshaped bumper, which results in a longer and flatter nose compared to the A-wing found on current A-Class.

Down the sides, the side mirrors are placed further away from the A-pillar, and we can see the car is slightly longer and wider as well. The 2018 A-Class will reportedly ride on Mercedes-Benz’s next-generation front wheel drive platform called Modular Front Architecture 2 (MFA2), contributing to its revised dimensions.

As for the rear, the taillights are wider and slimmer than on the W176, and they are also two-piece units. This is likely to allow for a more sizeable aperture into the rear boot space.

No shots of the red car’s interior, but other test mules have revealed a total overhaul that includes cues found in newer Mercedes-Benz models. For instance, there’s a widescreen cockpit (a la W213 E-Class) and steering wheel design similar to the new W222 S-Class.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• inb4 all other keras will follow soon. BTW rear become like audi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • Redz1 on Oct 09, 2017 at 8:37 pm

Average monthly MY income is RM6,958 so many can afford Mesidis.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • No wonder I see most cars on road are mesidis

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Oct 10, 2017 at 9:19 am

RM7k per rempit shared house 5 people, so RM1k + per rempit which is actually extremely accurate.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 09, 2017 at 7:28 pm

This A class is such a cheap car overseas. Infact most car rentals rent it out because it is a cheapo car.

But come to Malaysia, it becomes a luxury car with price tag of over RM200k.

Tak masuk akal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 9
    • Err nope. Most car rentals have econo boxes like VW, Skoda, Renault, Pijot, or jepunises. For Mesidis mostly is C/E keras.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
      • Malu Malu Malaysia on Oct 10, 2017 at 11:12 am

I have seen so many A class on rentals in Europe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
        • I see more E/C keras for normal rentals in Western EU wor. Somemore S keras is on daily rental basis. But very few A keras. Which part of EU u see, Russia kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • Kuinosan on Oct 09, 2017 at 8:37 pm

The A class have been rated avoid by most motor journalist in overseas reviews. But in Malaysia, it seems to be one of the most popular models due to its entry level price to a luxury brand, and not because of its merits. I’ve driven the hatch and sedan A class and I’ve got to say the ride is horrible to the extent it can rearrange your back bones.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • yalor on Oct 10, 2017 at 3:56 am

….and jepunis cars have sampan handling like in rough sea

• waters on Oct 10, 2017 at 6:25 am

Link to most overseas journalists that rated avoid, please?

• The Ugly Truth on Oct 10, 2017 at 2:22 pm

Why suddenly u brought out jepunis car here? Among all hatch cars I had drive, gti mk7, bmw 1 series, audi a3, Renault megane rs, this A250 is the least pleasant to drive. It’s stiffness ans rough handling cant justify the so so performance it offers. But no doubt it has one of the best looking car among all, and the 3 stars tapau them all. Lol.

So if u care about what other typical Malaysian think of you, buy a class. If not or if u are purely concern about your experience and satisfaction, all the other cars i mentioned above are way better.

• 12yrsold on Oct 10, 2017 at 8:46 am

In short, the A class is GUD if U want to rearrange your back-bones is it ?! He he he.

• Applegreen on Oct 09, 2017 at 9:02 pm

New merc suv in front of that new A class ?

• Zackyrulez on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:33 pm

That’s the venerable Mercedes-AMG GLC 63 4MATIC+ Coupe.

• applegreen on Oct 10, 2017 at 10:49 am

That one i know, but try look at the 2nd photo. There’s new suv in camouflage too

• copycat on Oct 10, 2017 at 3:58 am

Yes you can say any car, for now mesidis copied mustang front design

• Reboot on Oct 10, 2017 at 3:38 am

Low class Mercedes

Better buy other conti , jepunis , French and kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Toto4D-imensional on Oct 10, 2017 at 9:57 am

Mercedes copied Mazda 2 design. Skip.