2017 Mazda CX-5 launched in Malaysia – five CKD petrol and diesel variants offered, from RM134k

The 2017 Mazda CX-5 finally makes its launch debut in Malaysia today, following an official preview not too long ago, as well as a bevy of early information before that. The C-segment SUV arrives as a locally-assembled model from Mazda Malaysia’s Inokom plant in Kulim, Kedah.

There will be five variants for customers to choose from – 2.0G 2WD GL, 2.0G 2WD GLS, 2.5G 2WD GLS, 2.2D 2WD GLS and 2.2D AWD GLS – and we’ll touch on pricing as we proceed further.

All variants will come with four-cylinder engines, including a sole diesel and two petrol units. The latter are revised SkyActiv-G powerplants that feature a higher compression ratio of 14:1 (previously 13:1), and come in 2.0 and 2.5 litre capacities.

The smaller of the two makes makes 162 hp and 210 Nm (previously 155 hp and 200 Nm), while the 2.5 litre outputs 192 hp and 257 Nm (previously 185 hp and 250 Nm). As for the oil burner, it is a 2.2 litre turbodiesel that outputs 173 hp and 420 Nm.

All engines are mated to a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission, with drive going to the front wheels, save for the range-topping 2.2D AWD GLS that comes with all-wheel drive. Mazda’s SkyActiv-Vehicle Dynamics suite, including the G-Vectoring Control system is standard across the board.

Equipment wise, we start with the 2.0G 2WD GL that retails for RM134,605.50 on-the-road without insurance. It comes with LED projector headlights (with bulb-type DRLs), bulb-type taillights and front fog lamps, 17-inch wheels (with 225/65 tyres), manual front seat, dual-zone climate control (with rear air-con vents) and keyless start.

There are also two rear USB charging ports, fabric upholstery, gunmetal trim, Commander Control and a MZD Connect infotainment system with six speakers and a seven-inch touchscreen. Safety kit on the base variant includes six airbags (front, side and curtain), ABS with EBD, brake assist, Dynamic Stability Control (DSC) and traction control.

The 2.0G 2WD GLS, which is priced at RM148,605.50, adds on LED DRLs, front fog lamps and taillights, 10-way powered driver’s seat, Adaptive Front-Lighting System (AFS), metal and wood trim, walk away lock, keyless entry, leather upholstery (RM2,900 option for the base variant) and navigation function (RM1,270 option for the base variant).

Another addition to the high-spec 2.0 litre variant is Mazda’s i-Activsense suite featuring Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), forward Smart City Brake Support (SCBS). The variant also gains four parking sensors at the front in addition to the standard four in the rear.

The only 2.5 litre variant – the 2.5G 2WD GLS – goes for RM160,996.70, and nets you larger 19-inch wheels (with 225/55 tyres). Beyond that (and the more powerful engine), it is identical in terms of equipment to the 2.0G 2WD GLS.

Moving on to the diesel variants, the i-Activsense suite is further boosted with the addition of Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS), Lane Keep Assist System (LKA), forward and reverse SCBS, Driver Attention Alert (DAA) and Adaptive LED Headlights (ALH). Both also receive a full colour 4.6-inch display in the instrument cluster instead of the monochrome one fitted to petrol variants.

Price wise, the 2.2D 2WD GLS is yours for RM164,579.10, and if you want all-wheel drive, it is RM175,179.10 for the 2.2D AWD GLS. All variants come with a five-year/100,000 km warranty as well as three-year/60,000 free maintenance package.

Keep in mind these prices are for cars wearing a metallic paint finish (Sonic Silver, Deep Crystal Blue, Jet Black and Meteor Grey), which is RM400 more than cars with solid paint (Arctic White).

For those who want their CX-5 to be painted with Mazda’s premium colours – Soul Red Crystal (an evolution of Soul Red Metallic), Machine Grey as well as Snowflake Pearl White Pearl Mica – it will cost an extra RM2,000.

For more information and specifications of the new Mazda CX-5, head on over to CarBase.my. Also check out our first look video below, where our man Hafriz Shah gets you acquainted with the Honda CR-V rival.

Mazda CX-5 2.2D AWD GLS

Mazda CX-5 2.5 2WD GLS

Mazda CX-5 2.0 2WD GLS

Mazda CX-5 specification sheets

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Sure it’s launched now? Not just another preview? Unbelievable!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Samson on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:27 pm

Wow hot looking mazda models. Cant wait to see & feel them, soft & plush interiors i heard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
    • Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:32 pm

Mazda cars are good but Malaysians now refuse to buy Mazda anymore. This is because Bermaz is unethical and raise prices 3 times last year despite knowing Malaysians are suffering with GST

Bermaz also, simply blame one day Japanese Yen and another day US dollar. Whenever it suits them, they just blame whichever currency.

Yes, the car maybe be good but Malaysians cannot forget how Bermaz backstab the rakyat 3 times last year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 10
      • Herman on Oct 11, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Just topup abit and get Volvo XC40.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
        • Henry on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Ya, right. I top up a bit I can buy the Merc GLC 2.0 instead of the XC40. Keep topping up lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • marketing 101 on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Cheap way to advertise is to make lot of preview and teasing

• Konpem habis la boyue..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
  • ayoyo on Oct 11, 2017 at 10:56 am

nice! is time to stir up the SUV market. more option, more competitive price. **please dont pop out a comment say PROTON SUV will be selling like hot cake**

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Mazdarati on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Mazda is now premium brand. Nuff said

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • BAR-yu on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:41 pm

PROTON SUV will be selling like hot cake

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
      • Henry on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Make the car first. Only then we will know whether it will sell like hot cake or not.

• Oh that one will be a hot cake for sure…a brown steaming one waiting to be flushed down the…

• Leonardo on Oct 11, 2017 at 10:59 am

Nice design car with good features. But poor sales due to uncompetitive pricing viz-a-viz Honda and expensive spare parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • hyin22 on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:00 am

Toyota Mazda Berjaya > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • while the exterior design is very clean, light colours such as white and silver make the car looks rather incomplete. love the plush interior though.

• Zoomzoom on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:23 am

Test drove the 2.0, underpowered if I may say so. Im torn between the 2.5l petrol and the 2.2 diesel. The latter could be had for 4k more with extra kit thrown in. Never owned a Euro5 diesel only car before. Any suggestions would be appreciated

• albagmane on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:34 pm

2.2 turbodiesel 420 Nm and extra kits.
      Worth every cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Get more value for money CRDi instead

• thepolygonal on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:11 pm

If you don’t mind the clattering sound of the diesel engine, then please go ahead. Today’s Mazda have enough soundproofing at the firewall to drown out the sound. Also not mentioned if this thing comes with or without DPF (diesel particulate filter) which either needs to be replace / serviced / or chopped off once it’s lifetime is up (like 3 years for mine last time doing 80km per week day mixed old and new euro standards)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • If u haven’t try the diesel cx5 than don’t talk about engine sound. While cruising it’s more quiet than petrol engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • But why the engine got whirring like CVT gear? So annoying! I thought jepunis can do better than P1

• stasta on Oct 12, 2017 at 11:46 am

obviously diesel engine clattering sound is most noticeable during idle and while its still cold . who TF gives a damn while cruising at 100 kmph at 1800 rpm? of course the engine noise will be drowned out by wind and tyre noise duhh.

• Skai-Aktif on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Ensure there are Euro5 diesel stations nearby you before getting one. I had go for the petrol version due to no Euro5 diesel nearby my area. Also, the diesel particle filter needs to be changed regularly, I think yearly. Not sure if the Taiwan/Thailand skyactiv diesel issue is evident in Msia, but do check that too before buying

• Zoomzoom on Oct 11, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Interesting. The salesperson I spoke with mentioned no requirement to change the DPF filter until 100k. I asked for the service schedule to back up his claims. I also enquired if the free 3-yr service includes DPF changing

• Lawson on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Read somewhere that modern diesel engine neeed to be run hot enough by doing highway sprint for 30 minutes every 2 weeks to burnt off carbon particlate lodged in exhaust valve and within exhaust system.

• Jürg Hölzle on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:08 pm

We drive a CX-5 Diesel since it was introduced in Thailand. The particle filter doesn’t have to be changed. The engine cleans itself about every 500 km. It takes about 10 minutes and the engine uses more fuel than normal. But it needs higher speeds (80 km/h). So the powerful Diesel is not a good choice when you spend the whole time in city traffic jam.

• Still waiting for my new CX5 2.2 Diesel. My only concern is that its very hard to get Euro5 Diesel Station in Kelantan. Although Iam staying in Penang, but sometime I do travel to east coast and I noticed that Euro5 is available at Shell Station nearby Pasir Puteh area.

• Gaviny on Oct 11, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Mazda 6 diesel owner here , no regrets at all. Just flooring the pedal and disappearing is priceless . Decide not to and cruise near silently at 1800 rpm at the speed limit. Low rpm = less stress on engine , = longer lifetime . The DPF forget about it, the car has so many sensors to detect the soot load and Will clean itself when needed. Euro 5 is available almost every BHP station , no worries. Definitely worth the spend if you can afford

• cave fact on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:04 pm

Bashers said euro5 cannot be found near caves where they live in

• Zoomzoom on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:55 pm

Does the car indicate the filter cleaning process? What if the process is interrupted ie engine shutdown. What do you think of the long term reliability (my priority) and maintenance cost ? Thanks

• Gaviny on Oct 12, 2017 at 6:17 am

The self cleaning only ever happens if you really really never bring the car on the highway ever or constantly use euro 2. Even if you only balik kampung once every few months is enough for the DPF to get cleaned. There is no indication but easily can be seen in increased idle and fuel consumption meter jumps high.

Reliability like I said the engine only ever runs between 1500-2500 rpms, hardly real stress , sometimes a struggle to even bring engine up to temperature on cold rainy days. Always always use full synthetic brand name and change on time, this engine will last longer than you are planning on keeping it.

• thefact on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:33 am

clearly stated on the spec sheet its Bulb DRL for the low spec GL, but why in the report stated LED DRL?

Other then that..this is a beautiful car/SUV.

• xenon on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:36 am

(Like) Geely Boyue.
    (Dislike) Mazda CX-5

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 61
  • passion on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:37 am

looks good. but the prices? anyway i heard the driving dynamics of Mazda is way better than most Japs. is it true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Proton oh Proton on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:42 am

Nice design… great option instead of CRV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
    • panjang on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Boyue 1.8T 200hp great option instead of CX5 and CRV…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 18
      • Henry on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Where is the car? I want to buy it now.

• Already on the road

• Henry on Oct 11, 2017 at 5:59 pm

I meant the Boyue.

The guy up there is talking about a car that is not even here. Maybe he test drove the Boyue in his wet dream. LOL.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:19 pm

If price at RM135k, who is going to buy Boyue? People rather add a bit more and buy a trusted Japanese brand. Somemore, Skyactive engine far superior than any China engine.

Malaysians will sure go for Jepunis quality as opposed to China Boyue quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • stasta on Oct 12, 2017 at 11:47 am

even the top spec model has kosong features:
      1. no power boot
      2. no heads up display
      3. no sunroof
      4. no bose audio
      5. no adaptive cruise control
      6. no paddle shifters

• willy on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:02 am

Bernaz has made CX5 a limited premium crossover without those features…

• No power boot?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Soh Lian Toh on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:08 pm

Sorento all variants power boot.

• So What on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:42 pm

if no power boot, so what..why so fussy ah..if got price is RM150k, take it or leave it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • LordLancer on Oct 12, 2017 at 8:55 am

That’s the thing. Was reading reviews of this car from Aussie and US, and they get Power Boot, Head’s up display, CBU from Japan, and a youtube review in Germany shows the car with chrome lines on front bumper lips and side skirts.

Can trust CKD of Malaysia?

Warranty also limited to 5yrs / 100k km, free servicing 3yrs 30k km. I easily do 15k km a year. Bagilah 5 yrs unlimited warranty…

• carlover on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:46 am

I “test drive” this car few days back, the 2.0 petrol .Yes, spacious , looks premium.However the NVH is average and seem to be just as good as the CRV or New Tucson.The 6 speed transmission is little slow in response.Its just a better car than the previous version, but no big comparison to other premium cars like the X1,in terms of NVH and driving dynamics as claimed earlier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Proton oh Proton on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:59 pm

Once CX40

• LordLancer on Oct 12, 2017 at 9:04 am

where did u test drove the car? I went to showrooms in KL and JB, both have the show cars but does not allow test drive. Both mentioned test drive are cars that they gonna deliver to customers, which yet to arrive. Waiting period is 3-6 months depends on colour (seemed the special colours are the late arrivals).

• Therealmaserati on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:56 am

No doubt its a good car. But the design is so generic and boring. The CRV looks a million times better, front and back. Thats why the CRV is selling like hot cakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 69
    • No 7seater no buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 28
      • john is otak batu on Oct 11, 2017 at 3:02 pm

Goo bus & drive it home then. U sure have guarantee satisfaction on more than the 7 seats u want!

• Henry on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:01 pm

More like forty seats. He can even take his whole extended family on a road trip. LOL.

• sack the designer on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:00 pm

No 7 seater coz Jepunis designers all lepak and tidur eat sushi drink sake 10x a day

Sack the designers!

• macha suda kaya on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:15 pm

front design? plausible
      back design? hell naw

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • guest on Oct 11, 2017 at 2:38 pm

CRV rear is ugliest ever. Never seen a car with such ugly design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • areusure on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:14 pm

It comes with LED projector headlights (with LED DRLs) are sure its LED DRLs for the GL variant.
    Spec sheets says otherwise.

• Beastmaster on Oct 11, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Cukuuur Mazda prihatin. Gips 3-year free servis..

• Cannot understand why MRCC adaptive cruise control was not offered even for the top spec model. It’s not even an option that we can select. The SCBS is there, it is not difficult to have MRCC as an option.

• the lone ranger on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:06 pm

I’m curious. Does high compression ratio of 14:1 mean user needs to use Ron 97 to avoid pinging?

• centurion on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:26 pm

mazda is a manja car, not bullet proof like other jepunis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
  • Ben Yap on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:54 pm

the smallest engine is quite power pack for the amount of horsepower it puts out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • New subaru XV more awesome

• sohhai on Oct 11, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Extra RM2k for the preferred colours….gila

• Noname on Oct 12, 2017 at 1:07 am

Bermaz, please return Mrcc, power tailgate, and HUD back to cx5. Why must you strip down the specs?

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 12, 2017 at 1:48 am

Wei no power boot is crap for the asking price.

• aaronblaire on Oct 12, 2017 at 7:22 am

Wow..mazda spectacular car..

• LordLancer on Oct 12, 2017 at 9:01 am

That’s the thing. Was reading reviews of this car from Aussie and US, and they get Power Boot, Head’s up display, CBU from Japan, and a youtube review in Germany shows the car with chrome lines on front bumper lips and side skirts.

Can trust CKD of Malaysia?

Warranty also limited to 5yrs / 100k km, free servicing 3yrs 30k km. I easily do 15k km a year. Bagilah 5 yrs unlimited warranty…

• sam123 on Oct 12, 2017 at 9:47 am

may i know the airbag from which company?

• mazda on Oct 14, 2017 at 1:41 pm

no head up display, paddle shifter, apple carplay??? what the f….why take these all out?

• Just got my 2.2 diesel 2wd after 3 month waiting…
    Superb power… low rpm for the high speed…

• Kenneth Choong Wei Meng on Mar 13, 2018 at 12:50 pm

Mazda CX-5 is a good car. I brought it for my wife. Mazda in malaysia is better than toyota or honda. I know cause I work with Cimb Investment bank and the data should more people choose mazda over other japanese carsw in Malaysia

• hayenadeblue on May 31, 2019 at 12:34 am

Now in 2019, on top of missing features pointed by the previous comments, they only add power boot. We also don’t get the 2.2D twin turbo with 450Nm of torque (currently with 420Nm of torque). And don’t tell me 420Nm of torque is enough. My money and I want the same spec as British and American got. Greedy or lazy Bermaz!