LRT3 alignment from Bandar Utama to Klang shown

Last year, Prasarana launched the Light Rail Transit 3 (LRT3) project, which will be built to connect Bandar Utama in Damansara to Johan Setia in Klang. Now, the public transport company is showcasing the map of the upcoming 37 km line at the 2017 International Greentech and Eco Products Exhibition and Conference Malaysia (IGEM), giving us a better look at its alignment.

From the looks of it, the new line spanning 26 stations will pass through a number of high-density areas along the way, including Damansara Utama and Shah Alam. Set to be completed in August 2020 at the cost of RM9 billion, the LRT3 project is expected to serve 74,000 commuters daily (36,720 passengers per direction per hour capacity) and over two million people by 2025.

Prasarana, which owns and manages existing LRT lines, is promising a feeder bus service to expand the line’s catchment area. The buses will serve areas that are 3 km away from stations and travelling time will take a maximum of 30 minutes.

“I understand that a new technology known as ‘U-Trough’ will be used, which is an improvement over the conventional system currently being used in our country. This is expected to speed up the process and timeframe in terms of its implementation,” said prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak during the launch. He added that the project is expected to be completed on schedule, despite the cost limitations.

Prasarana appointed Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad (MRCB) and George Kent as the Project Delivery Partner (PDP) for the LRT3 project in September 2015. The company has also awarded contracts to Sunway Construction Group, Gabungan AQRS, WCT Holdings and Mudajaya Group last week.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Bakri on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:50 pm

Tahniah Selangor maju & berjaya !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
    • ex-VGM staff on Oct 12, 2017 at 9:18 am

building new highways alone are not the solution to KL notorious traffic jams. the same goes to building light rail transportation. we to look at how to control the number of cars instead. making people to pay for congestion charges can be a good idea. either that (say RM25 per entry per day during peak hours 7am-11am) like London or simply entitlement fee like Singapore’s COE. Malaysia registers on average 550,000 units of new cars every year. that translates to 1,500 new cars every day put on the roa @ 15k in 10 days.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
      • jinggo on Oct 12, 2017 at 10:35 am

So true…KL notorious traffic jams. While Putrajaya rilek lepak.

• 12yrsold on Oct 12, 2017 at 10:54 am

Bro, your idea is GUD but I think we are not up to mark YET. Sad to say, M’sia may take another 10 years B4 we can implement the ideas.

At this point in time, most M’sian(B40) are facing hardship even to put food on the table. Asking RM25 per entry is akin to a day meal to the poor family hence it will not work for now.

What I can say is at least U try to bring a solution to the problem unlike some. Cheers…

• err.. the project is by federal.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 11, 2017 at 6:51 pm

oh my RM9 bil for 30 over km. That is like RM300 mil per KM. Overhead is far cheaper than digging underground

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 72
    • I rather pay extra for something i can see, than pay same exact amount for a unfinished study paper i cant even smell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 40
    • Because it is sultan’s instruction to built underground tunnel around shah alam. Thats why the cost is huge

• Mahmood Razak on Oct 12, 2017 at 8:35 am

This is elevated rail, save for the one in front of the Shah Alam Palace.

There are reasons for the higher cost. People like to compare with China’s railway costs.

China has their own:
      rolling stock or trains
      tunnel boring machines
      engineers
      rail technology

Malaysia imports all of this things, some from China itself. Note also in China, land belongs to the government and they can easily acquire these things. In Malaysia, recent rail projects have used road reserve to lower acquisition costs, which is why the lines curve like crazy. MRT 1 managed to reduce land acquisition costs (RM1.3b versus budgeted RM3.0b) because then CEO Azhar Hamid introduced the co-existence concept where the land owner agrees to co-exist with the UG tunnels).

On average, based on 2013 prices, elevated lines in Malaysia will cost RM300m/km (as you pointed out), while UG lines will cost RM1.0b/km. These are good investments for the longer term in my view, and making good use of them is key for us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
  • Finally an LRT thru Shah Alam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • The picture that you took of the map is a bit small.

Next time you can ask your reporter to use Microsoft Office Lens app.

You can take a photo of the notice board and the software will align the photo correctly as though it is taken from a flatbed scanner.

The picture quality may not be high but will be much more readable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
  • Public transports > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • waterman on Oct 11, 2017 at 11:46 pm

let me guess…. 26 stations gonna take 3 hours or so to arrive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 38
    • Took me ~15min from bu to pasar seni. Get some brain moran.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • Yawned on Oct 12, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Waited ~ 2 hours shuttle bas to bu.

• stasta on Oct 13, 2017 at 11:16 am

he is not entirely wrong. if it stops at every station its gonna take 90 minutes for whole trip. malaysia should practice skipping of some stations and the train will only stop at major stations which have more passenger volumne. this will speed up the trip for most people.

• Let me guess… u havent been on an LRT b4?

• 12yrsold on Oct 12, 2017 at 11:16 am

Bro, waterman use river. he don’t have to pay tolls & there is NO traffic too.

• Hussein on Oct 12, 2017 at 7:05 am

bodoh john, always bring politik into the picture

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 11
    • Why la have to resort to name-calling? It reflects on ur upbringing. Blame the poor parenting.

• Sendri bring politik then complain other pipu bring politik. Bodo much?

• hmm LRT line seems more complete than MRT…
    so whats the purpose of MRT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • kerokeroro on Oct 12, 2017 at 10:21 am

JC, if you don’t want to use public transport, it is up to you. Don’t complaining over stuff that doesn’t related to you. FYI, i am one of the tax contributor but i don’t complaint much, except the users’ attitude and behavior.

• wow that is dumb.

both lrt and mrt completes each other. it is not the case which is much more complete than the other; but instead think of all the people who will benefit from BOTH mrt and lrt. both systems serve different locations throughout the city, and they are interlinking by connecting stations.

dude, from your comment i can tell you never take the public trans, and never do research before commenting. i bet the japanese must be facing the same problem when they were building their different train systems; people go and ask “heavy rails seems more complete than shinkansen. what’s the purpose of shinkansen?”

typical.

• sam123 on Oct 12, 2017 at 9:37 am

congrats selangor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Rafalyea Tits on Jul 12, 2018 at 4:36 pm

Tun M says defer to 2024 now, how ah? real or not. 2020 Aug is good day. 2 years, come on Tun, this rail is good but keep cost low, so keep fare low too