2018 Honda Super Cub 50 and 110 production moves to Japan, with LED lights, Pro version – from RM8,683

A motorcycle legend, the Honda Super Cub, is updated for 2018 with the Super Cub 50 and Super Cub 110, and production of both models will move from China to Honda’s Kumamoto, Japan factory. Now coming in base and Pro versions, Japanese domestic pricing, including 8% consumption tax, is set at 232,200 yen (RM8,683) for the Super Cub 50, while the Super Cub 50 Pro retails for 253,800 yen (RM9,491).

Meanwhile the Super Cub 110 is priced at 275,400 yen (RM10,299) while the Super Cub 110 Pro will set the buyer back 297,000 yen (RM11,107). New for the next generation Super Cub is LED lighting for the headlight and turn signals, along with detachable side covers for enhanced usability.

Still carrying the air-cooled, single cylinder power plant, the Super Cub 50’s mill displaces 49 cc, while the Super Cub 110 has a 109 cc engine. The Super Cub 50 has a power output of 3.7 PS at 7,500 rpm, with torque rated at 3.8 Nm at 5,500 rpm, while the Super Cub 110 clocks in at 8 PS at 7,500 rpm and 8.5 Nm of torque at 5,500 rpm.

Fuelling is by Honda’s PGM-FI electronic fuel injection, and power gets to the ground via a four-speed centrifugal clutch gearbox and chain final drive – the Super Cub 110 has a larger chain than the 50. Braking is with drum brakes front and rear, while a telescopic fork holds up the front end and twin shock absorbers prop up the back, in traditional Honda Cub style.

Based on the standard Super Cub 50 and 110, which roll on 17-inch wheels, the Pro version of the Super Cub comes with 14-inch hoops and a basket mounted over the front fender and a rear carrier, with the headlight and turn signals relocated to the front of the basket. The Super Cub Pro is designed for the needs of the newspaper and small package delivery market segment, which is still in demand in Japan.

The Super Cub 50 is available in Pearl Shining Yellow, Virgin Beige, Moonstone Silver Metallic-U, Tasmania Green Metallic, and Urbane Denim Blue Metallic. The Super Cub 110 is available in Glint Wave Blue Metallic, Classical White, Virgin Beige, Tasmania Green Metallic, and Urbane Denim Blue Metallic, while the Pro version of both Super Cubs comes in Seychelles Night Blue.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• kuriang on Oct 19, 2017 at 5:15 pm

Please Boon Siew, Im begging you. Bring it to our land. Sure laku keras

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
  • Wow. This looks even more outdated than the kapcais here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 32
    • Opinalo on Oct 19, 2017 at 7:01 pm

Special edition la bongok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 8
      • Special edition is kapcai signed by Marc Márquez. Not this rehash of an antique lah bongok. At least if want keep the old looks, change the engine to EV la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 22
  • Opinalo on Oct 19, 2017 at 7:01 pm

I’m impressed with u PT blog. Its only a cub (SE perhaps) but u write it in details including 17inch tires..

. For god sake its only a cub, special edition cub.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
    • Agreed. Nothing special at all. Come MY, can still see this era motor running in small towns.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
      • NIZZAN on Oct 24, 2017 at 10:20 am

Go somewhere else if u don’t like to read? Why waste your time on sth nothing special?

• Lucky but Unfortunate on Oct 19, 2017 at 7:20 pm

If this Kapchi electric power, lagi best. I will buy 10 units for my dispatch boys…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Maria on Oct 19, 2017 at 8:10 pm

Wow the price is high for a 110cc cub.. BTW the looks very c70 in the golden era of cub. Wish Boon Siew Honda to bring in here to replace weird looking of current ex5 dream..Hopefully

• Alek ho on Oct 19, 2017 at 8:31 pm

These are my grandfather’s models. I won’t be able to attract pretty girls riding one…only old makciks & aunties lah !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
  • After honda successful with its cubs. Now it sell the brand.
    With 10k you will get more HP and more safety with disc brake bike.
    Don’t too excited.

• Patrick Palmieri Sr on Jan 23, 2018 at 6:27 pm

I live in the USA Connecticut. and I want to buy. Honda 110 Pro
    where can I purchase it. thank you…

• Michael Hosang on May 04, 2018 at 7:01 am

Who much?

• IQBAL AHMED on Jun 10, 2018 at 6:07 am

2018 Honda super cub 50 cc is looks very smart and exceptional. I like it.

• IQBAL AHMED on Jun 10, 2018 at 6:11 am

2018 Honda super cub 50 cc is looks very smart and exceptional. I like it. May I buy one of it please. Thank you.