SPIED: G20 BMW 3 Series seen again, with interior

The upcoming, G20-generation BMW 3 Series has been spotted running road trials again, and this time we have images of its interior. The test vehicle pictured appears to be a plug-in hybrid variant, judging from the ‘Hybrid Test Vehicle’ sticker appended to its driver’s door and charging socket flap just after of the front wheel arch.

Here, we can see the adoption of a digital instrument cluster new graphics, along with a revised interior brought up to date and modelled more closely after that of the G30 5 Series. The multi-function steering wheel also get a redesign, though the final, production iteration may almost certainly see more options, especially with M Sport trims.

The centre console is home to both the iDrive infotainment controller, as well as a new gearknob design, which is reminiscent of the one in the new 2 Series. On its exterior in front, the kidney grilles appear to have its vertical slats significantly canted inwards, which could be an indication of active grille louvres. As with its earlier sighting, the test mule still wears a considerable amount of cladding.

BMW’s platform approach here is via the Cluster Architecture (CLAR) which the G30 5 Series and G11/G12 7 Series share, and the upcoming G20 3 Series here is expected to follow suit for weight reduction and technical innovations. Here, it is expected to share more with the G30 5 Series in adopting extensive use of aluminium and some magnesium, rather than carbon-fibre as seen in the G11/G12 7 Series’ structure.

Powertrain options in the G20 3 Series should include the marque’s range of three-, four- and six-cylinder engines fuelled by either petrol or diesel, with the aforementioned plug-in hybrid options to come as well; a fully-electric variant has also been tipped to be in the works.

Along with the standard rear-wheel drive layout, all-wheel-drive options should remain, and the range-topping M3 (as well as the corresponding two-door M4) is a certainty.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• i dun know on Oct 19, 2017 at 1:17 pm

3series is crampy car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 39
    • Sinister on Oct 19, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Nonsense, it is one of the biggest in its class. Don’t compare with crap Camry or Accord.

BTW, all e90 and G30 owners better sell your cars before the new model is launched if you want to get good sell price for your cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Alfarabi on Oct 19, 2017 at 3:31 pm

E90 and f30 u mean?

• Sinister on Oct 19, 2017 at 3:50 pm

yes, my mistake…

• Sir Lantis on Oct 19, 2017 at 5:21 pm

Mazda6. Performance, handling & looks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
          • Lapti nek on Oct 19, 2017 at 6:11 pm

Mazda6. Performance, handling & looks that only s mother would love

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • But not the interior space

• autodriver (Member) on Apr 16, 2018 at 11:24 am

I am awaiting the new G20 come and I buy the used F30. It is my dream car with great feature except the mighty “handbrake” make it the only awful thing to me. Haha

• WTF? I’m not gonna get a decontented pre-LCI model. BMW saves the good stuff for the LCI.

RV? I can afford it.

• Lestary on Oct 19, 2017 at 9:16 pm

Free service+repair inclusive, pre-reg G20 3 Series a runaway success story.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 19, 2017 at 5:33 pm

It’s more spacious than the B8 or W204 but comparable with the B9 and W205.

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 19, 2017 at 5:35 pm

That gearknob…the G30’s version looks a lot better. On a plus side interior width will be a lot better considering the idrive is now next to the shifter.

• UMW Ruined Toyota Lexus on Oct 19, 2017 at 6:16 pm

Wow! Finally they did a changed of a mechanical link handbrake to electronic one.

• bmw z4 roadster concept interior? hmm…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 05, 2018 at 8:28 pm

i think this is a bit of a down era for bmw…doubt the interior can fight merc