Petronas and SIC form Petronas Sprinta Racing, to develop Malaysian racing talent for Moto2 and Moto3

Efforts to develop Malaysian racing talent in the Moto2 and Moto3 motorcycle championships sees national oil company Petronas and Sepang International Circuit (SIC) form the Petronas Sprinta Racing team in a strategic partnership. The partnership will draw on the Petronas Talent Development Programme (TDP) and SIC Talent Development Programme (SICTD) to identify and nurture budding racers from the Malaysian Cub Prix, Asia Road Racing Championship and Asia Talent Cup race series.

This joint effort will see Petronas expand its brand visibility at the top flight of motorcycle racing, MotoGP, while SIC will focus on day-to-day team and rider management. The team roster includes Moto2 rider Hafizh Syahrin, who recently left Petronas Raceline Malaysia after a 10-year career, as well as Adam Norrodin and Ayumu Sasaki who compete in the Moto3 class, with Johan Stigefelt taking the helm.

SIC chairman Tan Sri Azman Yahya said, “both Petronas and SIC share the common goal of developing talents for motorsports. It’s high time for both companies to join efforts in doing so and we are pleased that Petronas is aligned with our vision for the advancement of motorsports in Malaysia.”

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• tiadaid (Member) on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:43 am

This is good. Take the rempits off the street & get them on the track. Soon we’ll be able to flood Moto 3, Moto 2 & Moto GP with our own talents.

• ex-VGM staff on Oct 25, 2017 at 3:21 pm

please do not take the rempits as your rider. they do not understand the concept of track racing where you need power to accelerate out of corner. for the rempits, they only have one engine tuning – that is top end for top speed. ask a arempit, any rempit and the answer will be the same. fastest bike wins them all. no such thing as the art of cornering and all.

• Rightwinger on Oct 25, 2017 at 4:53 pm

They’d be good fodder for drag and land speed record kind of stuff.

• Slirh on Oct 25, 2017 at 10:45 pm

last time I attended the CubPrix race in Sepang, they had a motor clinic facilitated by Sharol Yuzi. He did a good job tackling all the pertinent rempit questions eg how fast was your fastest corner? (ans; 250kmh, fell down but live to tell the tale cause wearing appropriate racing suit and safety gears (rib cage protector etc).
      this to me is why we need the rempit to attend the race or take them off the road and bring them into racing circuit where they can be trained and fitted with the right gears for a safe and fun outing. As for the skills, we have enough dare-devils to even scare the likeof Marc Maquez with our riding antics