2018 Perodua Myvi officially launched in Malaysia – now with full details and pics, priced from RM44,300

The all-new 2018 Perodua Myvi has been officially launched in Malaysia, with minister of international trade and industry Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed doing the honours in Putrajaya this evening. We’ve been as eager as you to see this story go live, having signed an embargo agreement with Perodua in order to have pre-launch access to the car. From that, we’ve prepared a first impressions test drive report, which you’ll see here later.

UPDATE: Read our review of the all-new 2018 Perodua Myvi, here.

Let’s get straight to it. The third-generation Myvi succeeds two very popular generations of the five-door B-segment hatch, the first of which appeared in May 2005.

Interestingly, the first Myvi was intended to be a niche model in what was then a sedan-dominated mainstream market, but shot straight to the top of the sales charts. It was Malaysia’s best selling car until the end of 2014, before Perodua’s own Axia took over the baton. The Axia will soon make it three years in a row at the top.

The second-generation D54T Myvi came on stream in mid-2011, while the facelifted car has held the fort from January 2015 till today. The Myvi reached the big one million units milestone in June this year, and Perodua has shifted 42,000 units of the outgoing car in the first three quarters of the year – not bad for a six-year old car.

Local effort, homegrown design

While the previous two Myvis were largely based on the Daihatsu Boon (or Sirion outside of Japan), this new one has an upper body and interior that was fully designed by Perodua. It may look similar from certain angles, but the new Myvi is not based on the C-segment Toyota Auris (or Corolla iM in the US), or even the Thai Toyota Yaris.

The previous Myvi’s platform has been worked on to the extent that it’s 70% new for this application – the D20N’s longer wheelbase and completely altered dimensions are proof. Perodua says that it has used 2.5 times more high-tensile steel than before, with additional bracing and reinforcements in strategic areas. The increased body rigidity has translated to improved driving stability and crash performance. An acoustic windshield reduces NVH levels.

Suspension enhancements include thicker front and rear stabiliser bars, a new lightweight front lower arm, stiffer rear beam structure with new curved design and a redesigned rear cross member for better rigidity.

“The all-new Myvi is a the first Perodua model to have an upper body designed completely in-house, without foreign input. Not only is this a testament to our technology partner Daihatsu’s confidence in our abilities. It also allows the car to be tailored to suit the needs and wants that are unique to Malaysians,” said Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh, president and CEO of Perodua.

“This new model features technology that was before this only available in premium cars. It sets a benchmark for us in terms of quality, design and and overall offerings for our future models,” he added.

New shape, larger footprint

At 3,895 mm long and 1,735 mm wide, the new Myvi is 205 mm longer and 70 mm wider than the previous one. The much larger footprint combines with a 30 mm drop in height (to 1,515 mm) for more conventional hatchback proportions. The new car is more aerodynamic than before, at Cd 0.296 vs Cd 0.306. Besides the lower body, air spats, a semi-flush rear spoiler and “aeroslim” wipers contribute to the smoother shape.

The new car’s 2,500 mm wheelbase is 60 mm longer than before – this, together with greater tandem distance (937 mm between the front and rear passengers) and interior width translates to a more spacious cabin. The Myvi’s traditional top hat-accomodating head room is no more, but what’s left should still be adequate for most.

There’s more boot space than before – at 277 litres, the hold is 69 litres larger than before (Axia 260 litres). The rear seats can split fold 60:40 to reveal 832 litres of space, but the surface isn’t completely flat. Previously, the seat base can be tipped forward for the backrest to fold flush with the boot floor, but the seat base is fixed here. The seat back has a two-step recline and Perodua touts various seat configurations in the ‘8+1 flexible seating arrangement’.

Five variants are on offer, and they are the 1.3 Standard G MT (RM44,300), 1.3 Standard G AT (RM46,300), 1.3 Premium X (RM48,300), 1.5 High (RM51,800) and the range-topping 1.5 Advance (RM55,300). Prices are on-the-road excluding insurance. The factory warranty is five years or 150,000 km.

New Dual VVT-i engines

Two new engines are being offered, both from the current Toyota/Daihatsu NR family with DOHC and Dual VVT-i. The 1NR-VE 1.3 litre unit is as seen in the Bezza and Toyota Avanza, and it puts out 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm.

The base Myvi 1.3 Standard G gives the option of a five-speed manual gearbox, but otherwise it’s a four-speed E-AT automatic across the range. Eco Idle auto start-stop, which made its debut with the Bezza 1.3, is available on 1.3 Premium X and above variants.

Also found in the Toyota Vios, the 2NR-VE 1.5 litre engine makes 102 hp at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm in the Myvi. Perodua claims a fuel economy of between 20.1 km/l (1.3 AT without Eco Idle, 1.5 AT with Eco Idle, 20.5 km/l for 1.3 MT) and 21.1 km/l (1.3 AT wth Eco Idle) for the new Myvi, which is classified as an Energy Efficient Vehicle (EEV). On average, the new Myvi is 32% more efficient, P2 says. Weight, ranging from 955 kg to 1,015 kg, is largely unchanged. The outgoing Myvi 1.5L AT was rated at 15.4 km/l, by the way.

Premium features, local inventions

Now to the features. All variants get LED headlamps with auto off and follow-me-home functions, LED tail lamps, keyless entry with push start, digital air-con controls with two memory settings, 60:40 split folding rear seats and reverse sensors. 1.3L variants get four airbags (front and side) ABS, EBD and Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) as standard. There’s also a seat belt reminder for all five seats. The smaller engine is paired with 14-inch wheels (175/65 Bridgestone Ecopia EP150). A full size spare tyre is found on all variants.

As mentioned, Eco Idle is available from the 1.3 Premium X, which also adds on Hill-start Assist, front foglamps, front parking sensors and power-retractable side mirrors. Both the exterior and cabin get additional chrome/metallic trim. Inside, the 2-DIN head unit adds on Bluetooth, there’s leather and buttons on the steering wheel, and the rear seats have adjustable headrests.

Moving up to the 1.5L variants nets one 15-inch dual-tone rims (185/55 Goodyear Assurance TripleMax), dual-tone front and side skirting, two-tone rear bumper, a rear spoiler and an integrated Touch n Go reader (insert your TnG card into the car and use Smart Tag lanes without the Smart Tag). Both 1.5L variants get six airbags – front, side and curtain.

To all the above, the 1.5 Advance adds on leather seats, a touchscreen head unit with navigation and SmartLink, reverse camera and security window tint. The range-topping Myvi’s headlining feature is Advanced Safety Assist (ASA). ASA is a suite of safety features that includes Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC).

Advanced Safety Assist

These are existing Daihatsu systems and they operate through a forward-facing stereo camera on the top of the windscreen. PCW warns you when a collision is about to happen, PCB is low-speed autonomous emergency braking, while FDA alerts you when the car in front has moved on (in a traffic jam), saving you from being honked by the car behind.

PMC detects an obstruction in front, and will not allow the car to accelerate. Full explanation on ASA and its functions here. The new Myvi has earned a five-star rating from ASEAN NCAP.

“These features are a first for this price segment. However safety is still in the hands of the driver and the system is only there to assist,” Aminar pointed out. The next cheapest cars to have AEB are the Hyundai Ioniq (RM114k), high-spec Mazda 3 (RM125k) and high-spec Peugeot 308 (RM128k).

On the topic of safety, Perodua has just included child safety seats into its Gear Up range of accessories, giving young parents the option of adding the cost of the essential item into the hire purchase loan. Click here for info and pics of the child seats. Full list of Gear Up packages and pricing below.

Six colours are available, and they are Lava Red, Mystical Purple, Glittering Silver, Ivory White, Granite Grey (1.5 only) and Peppermint Green (1.3 only). The latter two are new colours.

At a press conference earlier today, Perodua announced that it has received 5,000 bookings without customers seeing the car, and amazingly, 78% of bookings are for the 1.5 litre model. The company’s sales target is 6,000 units per month. We’ve compiled a spec summary according to variant, in point form below. There are also scans of the official brochure.

Perodua Myvi 1.3 Standard G – RM44,300 (MT), RM46,300 (AT)

Gets as standard:
Mechanicals

• 1.3 litre Dual VVT-i engine (1NR-VE)
  • 1,329 cc, four-cylinder petrol
  • 94 hp at 6,000 rpm, 121 Nm at 4,000 rpm
  • Five-speed manual or four-speed E-AT
  • 36-litre fuel tank
  • 3,895 mm long, 1,735 mm wide, 1,515 mm tall, 2,500 mm wheelbase
  • 160 mm ground clearance
  • Electric power steering (EPS)
  • 4.8-metre turning radius
  • Five-year/150,000 km warranty

Exterior

• LED headlamps with auto off and follow-me-home functions
  • Manual headlight levelling
  • LED tail lamps with light guides
  • Electrically-adjustable side mirrors with turn signals
  • Aeroblade-type windscreen wipers
  • Reverse sensors
  • 14-inch alloy wheels
  • 175/65R14 Bridgestone Ecopia EP150 tyres
  • Full-size spare tyre

Interior

• Keyless entry and start
  • Acoustic windscreen
  • Power windows, auto up/down for driver only
  • Double-din head unit with radio and USB input
  • Digital air-con controls (with two memory settings)
  • Polyurethane steering wheel with tilt adjustment
  • Height-adjustable driver’s seat
  • Flexible 8+1 seating configurations
  • Rear seats with integrated headrests
  • 60:40 folding rear seats
  • 277 litre boot (expandable to 832 litres with rear seats down)
  • Side pocket on front seat (for mobile phones)
  • Shopping hook and anti-snatch handbag hook

Safety

• Four airbags (dual front, front sides)
  • ABS, EBD
  • Electronic stability control (VSC)
  • Traction control (TRC)
  • Emergency Stop Signal (ESS)
  • Five-star ASEAN NCAP crash test rating
  • Seat belt reminder for all seats (active front, passive rear)
  • Two Isofix anchors for rear seats

Aesthetics

• Silver front grille
  • No front fog lamps – black covers
  • Body-coloured door handles
  • Shark-fin antenna
  • Black interior door handles
  • Black interior trim
  • Silver trim on air-con vents

Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X – RM48,300 (AT)

Adds on:
Mechanicals

• Eco-idle automatic start-stop system
  • Hill-start Assist

Exterior

• Front fog lights
  • Front parking sensors
  • Power-retractable side mirrors

Interior

• Double-din head unit with radio, USB and Bluetooth
  • USB charger
  • Leather-wrapped steering wheel with audio, phone controls
  • Rear seats with adjustable headrests

Aesthetics

• Chrome front grille
  • Chrome trim around front foglamps
  • Chrome door handles
  • Chrome interior door handles
  • Silver trim around window controls, steering wheel buttons, gear lever base
  • Chrome trim in instrument panel
  • Chrome trim on air-con vents

Colour options for Myvi 1.3

• Ivory White (solid)
  • Glittering Silver (metallic)
  • Mystical Purple (metallic)
  • Lava Red (metallic)
  • Peppermint Green (metallic) – new, exclusive to 1.3 models

Perodua Myvi 1.5 High – RM51,800 (AT)

Adds on:
Mechanicals

• 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engine (2NR-VE)
  • 1,496 cc, four-cylinder petrol
  • 102 hp at 6,000 rpm, 136 Nm at 4,200 rpm
  • Four-speed E-AT
  • Combined fuel economy of 20.1 km per litre

Exterior

• 15-inch dual-tone alloy wheels
  • 185/55R15 Goodyear Assurance TripleMax tyres

Interior and safety

• Built-in toll reader (integrated SmartTAG)
  • Six airbags (dual front, front sides, curtains)

Aesthetics

• Front bodykit and side skirts (dual-tone)
  • Two-tone rear bumper
  • Rear spoiler

Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance – RM55,300 (AT)

Adds on:
Interior

• Leather upholstery
  • Touchscreen head unit with navigation and SmartLink
  • Reverse Camera
  • Security window tint film

Safety

• Advanced Safety Assist (ASA)
  • Pre-collision Warning
  • Pre-collision Braking (low-speed autonomous emergency braking)
  • Front Departure Alert
  • Pedal Misoperation Control

Colour options for Myvi 1.5

• Ivory White (solid)
  • Glittering Silver (metallic)
  • Mystical Purple (metallic)
  • Lava Red (metallic)
  • Granite Grey (metallic) – new, exclusive to 1.5 models

GearUp accessories – introductory prices until Feb 2018

Premium Package – RM1,250 (Myvi 1.5 only)

• Additional chrome garnish for front grille, side mirror, window line, lower door moulding, back door and rear bumper
  • Chrome scuff plates
  • Rear skirtings (black)

Executive Package – RM900

• Additional chrome garnish for front grille, side mirror, window line, lower door moulding, back door and rear bumper

Lifestyle Package – RM700

• Additional chrome garnish for front grille, side mirror, lower door moulding and back door

Utility Package – RM320

• Door visors
  • Coil mats
  • Luggage tray

Isofix child car seats

• Infant seat – RM660
  • Toddler seat – RM780

You can compare the specifications of all the new Perodua Myvi variants at CarBase.my.

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi brochure

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.3 Standard G

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 High

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi 1.5 High with Gear Up accessories

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi in all colours and variants

GALLERY: Perodua Myvi through the years

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Driver on Nov 16, 2017 at 6:23 pm

Protons management sure berpeluh tak senang duduk.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 3
    • Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:56 pm

Who is going to buy China made Boyue when you can get a full Japanese Toyota/ Daihatsu in the Myvi?

Japanese brands are time tested. Quality also superbly high. And we are lucky because we can buy the Myvi which is a Japanese Toyota/Daihatsu in disguise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 20
      • sergei on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:46 pm

Boyue for eksport 2 developing countries..

• malaysian on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:02 pm

dude 2018 myvi is homegrown in malaysia . its not japanese . please realise it already .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 29
        • Rightwinger on Nov 17, 2017 at 7:00 am

Malaysian designed indeed. But core tech came from Japan (power train, transmission, chassis).
          It’d be great if P2 could develop those in-house. As it is, P2 is a gateway to access Jap tech for smart money.
          Touch n Go slot is pure genius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
      • alldisc on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:27 pm

Aha. Persia dares to announce aerodynamic figures, the Cd drag factor. 0.29 is not too bad comparing to industry leaders of 0.25-0.26.

Still waiting for proton to announce the same for all its models since 2012

• Dont be so sure. As u can see here the car is mostly malaysian in design and parts. The last car that overly pride itself of being “fully msian” was the gen2. What a disaster it was. While perodua is no proton, i rather wait n see then be sorry.

• Bog Std on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Habis lah Proton. Sure can tutup kedai now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • John L on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:30 pm

Hahaha.. You living under a rock and not aware of all the recalls made by Japanese manufacturers?

Just that day I saw 2 canopies set up in front of a mall to replace Nissan airbags. Japanese manufacturing processes may be superior, but the human element is still there. Maybe you also didn’t read about all the corruption and financial misreporting cases involving directors in Japanese companies?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
        • Jason on Feb 14, 2018 at 4:09 pm

This is true ..everyone thinking japenese goods are tip top condition . Infact now day you can read the bad news about their goods.

• Perodua kebanggaan rakyat Malaysia. At least we can be proud of this national carmaker. Syabas P2. If you add LED DRL, Apple Carplay/Android Auto, power seats, armrest, cruise control with added improved AEB and lane keeping assist to ASA to the facelifted Myvi in the years to come, I will get one myself as a secondary urban car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • John Gagal on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:04 pm

Conclusion: Proton salesmen selling more Myvi part time than full time selling Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • suomynona on Nov 17, 2017 at 3:18 am

Ohh, remember I said that all Myvis would have Bluetooth?

The base model don’t have…I’ll eat my words now.

Still a great car! Looks something like the new Nissan Micra/March to my eyes, which I really like

• Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:01 pm

Ugly rear bumper. Kia Rio or the Picanton has better looks

• LED hearlamps, VSC, and push starts are standard from base and at the top, you get the much lauded active safety system and simple and appreciated rear view camera. No need to mention Toyota or Honda, there are some premium continental cars that struggles to keep up with what the humble Myvi has.

Sure the Myvi may not be built from the best of quality, neither will it be comfortable nor stable at high speed (and i’ll bet my ass people will still try hitting 180). But is giving what the rakyat needs at what the rakyat can afford, a truly peoples car. A car built by Malaysians and now design by one, Proton may have failed to realized this dream, but Perodua executes it with pride, truly a Malaysian car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 2
    • Actually edit, “fail to execute this dream with success…..”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
    • Cheat Cheat Malaysia on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Perodua is an amazing company. Next year sure to beat their existing 200k sales record and announce 300k sales record.

We are proud of you Perodua. We know also your sales are to the rakyat and not to Government departments and ministries and enforcement divisions.

If Perodua also is to supply cars to these departments and divisions, this year already got 300,000 sales.

• MunafikianPeople on Oct 30, 2019 at 8:55 pm

Bullshitty. When Proton introduce Iriz back then in 2014 where Proton offers all the safety stuff and tech back then no one ever realise that. Where that time Myvi is expensive as fck and no VSC at all… Even the low spec no abs. But still keep blaming on Proton

• Time to buy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:07 pm

Take a look a new Picanto. A small Bumblebee is coming!

• Picanto Under Power on Dec 03, 2017 at 11:32 am

Bang, new Picanto looks good only… buy under power, small interior, yet over price… I may cost more than Myvi 1.5L Advanced yet less safety spec… How????

• Ah Beng on Feb 19, 2019 at 12:28 pm

Admit it if u have more money to spend u will go for other brands instead of the Myvi. We buy it because it is cheap otherwise other B segment hatchback can all stop selling already

• Gidduz on Nov 16, 2017 at 6:30 pm

Wow

• bmpower on Nov 16, 2017 at 6:38 pm

For better economies of scale, can P1 showroom be converted to sell P2 car models ??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 3
  • Al Gorilla on Nov 16, 2017 at 6:44 pm

From
    “I can only afford a Perodua… Myvi pun Myvi lah”
    “Tambah sikit dapat Vios/City/Jazz/Swift kak!”

to
    “Why should I pay double for a worse car?”

Congrats Perodua for making those B-segment cars obsolete. The only reasonable excuse you would want them is for the boot. Imagine if they could make a Myvi sedan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 2
    • Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:08 pm

But the rear look of Myvi is horrible. Kia Rio has even better look than this

• They will never make a Myvi sedan for exactly that reason. The market for B-segment sedans will collapse.

• Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Jun 08, 2018 at 2:16 am

I think p2 bezza have covered there as same p1 saga..
      If they make p2 myvi sedan version.. i’m sure p1 persona preve vios and city can slowly gulung tikar meh…

• geely tologgg!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Is that new Touch N Go reader RFID ready? I know the card has to be changed but not sure if the new system requires the reader to be changed as well.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Do a driven episode comparing latest Myvi with jazz and iriz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Dylan Ch'ng on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Do a driven episode comparing latest Myvi with jazz and iriz

• jinggo on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:38 pm

Good design & premium => jazz. Best ride & handling + safety car => Iriz. Good RV & save fuel => myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
      • Myvi 1.5 Advance comes with AEB. U still gonna say that Iriz is still safer than Myvi?

But indeed the Myvi is top-notch in equipments, especially in Safety. Import it to Indonesia, rebadge as Sirion with 1.5L engine, Advance Safety Asssist and face the Jazz/Yaris/Mazda2, it’s very sure that it will lead the hatchback segment in Indonesia….

• Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Jazz V spec cost u a sedan car but Kia Rio cheaper got 6 airbags. Picanto too!

• Again, can PMC be switched off or new Mivi owners just gonna let other cilok in during traffic jams?

• buster on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:49 pm

try to look closer at https://paultan.org/2017/11/16/2018-perodua-myvi-officially-launched-in-malaysia-all-new-third-gen/2018-perodua-myvi-1-3-standard-g-02/

Manual gear car got P indicator in Meter

Is it the photo is photoshoped?

• MT lover on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:47 pm

The photographer and DI artist have no experience and see manual car before in their life (Normally for people now day)…. please forgive them! Where is my 1.5 MT?

• BeemerFreak on Nov 16, 2017 at 7:53 pm

Frankly, that’s a nice looking car….well done P2

• The engineers, designers, and everyone involved can pat themselves on the back, a job well done

Alot of thought has gone into these new peroduas , especially the neat little touches

again, congratulations to the whole P2 team

• raptor9510 on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:18 pm

This new myvi sure hantam proton from many different angles haha

• Shyguy on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:18 pm

Design like dugong..not so sport.. tech only new.. not interesred.. geely please

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 37
  • Shaan on Nov 16, 2017 at 8:44 pm

It’s a damn beautiful car packed with safety and technology. Used to be Perodua catching up to Proton but it’s the other way around now. Please Paultan, do a driven episode of Myvi Vs Jazz Vs Iriz

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 16, 2017 at 9:49 pm

beribu ribu tahniah. sincerely. good job perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Imatt on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:40 pm

The cheapest supercar on earth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Aero (Member) on Nov 16, 2017 at 10:47 pm

Perodua has accomplished many, many great things with the new Myvi, so much so that it truly boggles the mind ! As a ‘pro-Proton guy’, it pains me to say this, but I honestly believe Perodua has just launched the most desirable car on the market right now.

Many local cars have been labelled as ‘game changers’ in recent years… such as the Bezza, Iriz, Prevé etc… However, none of them lived up to the hype. The Iriz didn’t become the ‘Myvi killer’, and the Bezza didn’t become the ‘Proton killer’ as ‘fanboys / haters’ on both sides claimed. And the Prevé is a whole different story altogether.

In fact, I honestly believe that this new Myvi, with its unbelievable value for money, class-leading safety, fuel sipping Toyota engine, Euro-inspired understated styling and many other notable and unique innovations or USPs … is more deserving of the ‘game changer’ title than any other Malaysian car in recent years.

As an overall package, the new Myvi is damn near perfect. You could try to ‘throw shade’ on it, but no matter how hard you may try, deep down inside, you realise that… you just can’t ! (Trust me, I’ve tried…)

Anyway, I’m proud of what Perodua has been able to achieve in recent years, and I actually really like the new Myvi ! But at the end of the day, my heart still stays with Proton. I say this with no disrespect or hard feelings to Perodua. It’s just that my feelings for Perodua are more towards mutual respect and admiration, while for Proton, it’s more towards love and belonging. It is difficult for me to change this, even if I really wanted to. Human nature is a complex matter, and I’m no psychologist. But I make it a point to give credit where it’s due… else, why would I be here praising Perodua, i.e., ‘Proton’s enemy’ ?

I worry that Proton will have an especially difficult time ahead… with not one, but two all-new Perodua models in direct competition to Proton’s own bread & butter models. But at the same time, I believe that Proton will find ways to ‘contain the situation’ with existing models, until the Proton-Geely partnership goes into ‘full swing’ in the coming years. With Geely Group’s vast resources and funding, Volvo’s technology and ingenuity, and Proton’s untapped potential and resilience, who knows what could be achieved…

Anyway, congrats once again to Perodua on the launch of their latest Myvi. With this, I hope that Perodua will consider increasing their export presence now that they have the ideal car at hand.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • shogun on Nov 16, 2017 at 11:58 pm

reflector led or projector led?

• You can clearly see its reflector LEDs in the pictures. Same as latest hondas.

• Clearly a prelude to a MyVi Sedan to take on the main sedan market.

• Initial D Malaya on Nov 17, 2017 at 1:20 am

kenapa 1.5 Advance tiada Manual…
    plisss….make in MT for 1.5 Advance….
    demmmm…produa….
    bila dah cun tp xda spec manual plak utk 1.5Adv….harommmmjadommmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Muhammad arshad bin mustapaha on Jun 08, 2018 at 2:22 am

Dia taknak jadi mcm myvi 1.5 kuning model dulu.. stok2 manual 1.5 tau la laju je kt highway.. haha.. tp kete sekadar 1 tan bahaya bwk laju sngt.. bumping walupun kt jalan lurus highway.. cuba tetiba ada angin lintang.. perggh..

• Cantik on Nov 17, 2017 at 5:25 am

For the first time im saying this, cantik jugak MYVI ni. I never like Myvi ever since it flood the Malaysian car market. They are everywhere and also i hate all Myvi drivers, they are either noob in driving or konon driving like a F1 car after that end up in the drain or die. Anyway, i must say this could be a game changer in my perception towards Myvi, except the driver lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
  • azrai on Nov 17, 2017 at 8:31 am

Finally Geely-PROTON release the all new Saga FLX Aeroback.

• thepolygonal on Nov 17, 2017 at 9:00 am

Very well done indeed :D

• This is the best looking Perodua car so far, everything just looks perfect for exterior and interior, well done P2.

• Rauf H on Nov 19, 2017 at 11:16 pm

Exterior? Hell no the rear design is ugly. Kia Picanto is better!

• SHINJI on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:29 am

KUDOS P2! I think this time P2 team did a very good job with good market research. No wonder P2 lead the sales for straight 9 years. This all new Myvi for sure will conquer the roads in Malaysia! Myvi its a BIG name, its a BIG brand. No need to use artist to promote their product. Everybody will go to P2 by themself..Again, KUDOS P2 and Keep it Up!

• Lee Harvey on Nov 18, 2017 at 9:34 am

Say sayonara and farewell to Proton

• The F12 of Maranello on Nov 18, 2017 at 9:48 am

This isn’t what I expected. Nice job, Perodua.
    (Car Throttle: The F12 of Maranello)

• observer on Nov 19, 2017 at 1:21 pm

good job perodua in offering Malaysians an affordable hatch that’s current in design. but to those who think its a perodua in-house design, read carefully when they said “upper body only” (maybe some creases here and there) as the whole car I believe is a donor from Toyota prius c 2016 as the a,b and c pillars are a giveaway and also the shape of the car as well as the interior though slightly different. you can google for the pics. remember its still a Toyota/Daihatsu in disguise which is a good thing. kudos is given where its due not blindly.

• Diam dan amik duit ku

• Finally, finally, finally a cheap car in Malaysia gets AEB and a full suite of airbags!

• A bit of disappointment after the test drive (Advance model). No doubt it look great from outside and spacious interior but when it is on the road, you will notice the road noisy and steering vibration. Just like driving the previous Myvi. maybe because of the suspension is stiffer. Also you get the same “pulling” effect when you drive slow (when press/release the gas pedal).

• Hi Danny,

Referring to Bezza Adv (equipped with Auto Start/Stop), the cost to replace their 12V battery is a bit costlier compared to other variants that is without Auto Start/Stop.
    Can you please verify if the Myvi will require costlier 12v battery?

Thanks ya

• meran on Mar 21, 2018 at 9:40 pm

bole tolong tak. bonet belakang myvi sya tak rapat. sya cuba buka tapi tetap tak boleh. macam mana ye

• meran on Mar 21, 2018 at 9:43 pm

bonet belakang myvi saya tak rapat. dan sya cuba buka semula tapi tiada respon.