2018 Perodua Myvi virtually tuned by Durian Works

The new Perodua Myvi has only been launched yesterday, but already budding artists have begun using their creative juices to visualise what a tuned version would look like. A small design concern called Durian Works has submitted a couple of sketches to us showing a sportier Myvi, and we think it looks pretty handsome, wouldn’t you agree?

Starting off by giving the B-segment hatch a bright yellow coat – not seen on the Myvi since the pre-facelift second-generation SE and Extreme models – the designer then set off providing the front end with a larger grille and air intakes, the latter featuring a mesh grille pattern. There’s also a larger front splitter and deeper side skirts compared to the standard 1.5 litre models.

Moving to the rear, a rear skirt, more pronounced faux bumper air vents and a sizeable rear wing have been added to give the Myvi a more aggressive appearance. Larger wheels inspired by the Honda Civic Hatchback fill out the wheel arches and complete the look.

To recap, the new third-generation Myvi has been designed completely in house featuring greater sophistication, equipment levels and safety. Longer, wider but lower than before, it gets items such as standard-fit LED headlights, keyless entry, push-button start and stability control, as well as an integrated Touch ‘n Go reader, up to six airbags and autonomous emergency braking.

Power comes from new 1.3 and 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engines from the Toyota NR family. The smaller 1NR-VE is the same engine found on the Bezza, and it makes 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The larger 2NR-VE, on the other hand, has been lifted from the Toyota Vios, and it produces 102 hp at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm at 4,200 rpm. A five-speed manual gearbox and a four-speed auto is on offer.

What do you think of the new look? Sound off in the comments after the jump. You can also read our comprehensive launch report as well as our first impressions review.

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Mozilla Chrome on Nov 17, 2017 at 7:03 pm

This will be the muse of most Malaysians for the next 5 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 18, 2017 at 8:56 am

why stop there. why not create a company, make that kit a reality.

i remember some time ago. Ford has its own XR series (Escort XR3i, Sierra XR4i) but still allows Cosworth to create a different bodykit (Escort Coswort, Sierra RS500 Cosworth).

BMW and Mercedez both has their own motorsports arm, namely AMG and BMW M.
      but both also have independent tuners. Merc has Brabus, BMW has Alpine.

Proton has R3 (dont know alive or dead) but we can also have TuneD. Perodua has Gear Up, but we can also have this Banana thing, cant we?

all this while the only place where we source these body kits are kedai abang’s.. and the other brothers.

• Susukotak on Nov 20, 2017 at 9:41 am

those company really do tuning. this durian im not sure. Maybe PT can define tune here.

• powerbank on Nov 17, 2017 at 7:03 pm

But Perodua is an association of manufacturers or suppliers with the purpose of maintaining prices at a high level and restricting competition cause Perodua doesnt allow other brands like Volkswagen, BMW, Mercedes Benz, Volvo, Honda, Toyota, Nissan to be at the top, only Perodua is only wanted itself to be at the top which is very selfish, highly offensive, snobbish, awful and disrespectful to other car brands. Lastly don’t buy Perodua and also hopefully Perodua sales will keep on dropping

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 392 Thumb down 89
    • Animal on Nov 17, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Lol that’s long words why do u comment if u don’t like please go jauh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 70
      • Tiao Lee Ma on Nov 20, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Easy. Trolls copy-pastes, spam and brings upvote farm. It’s blatant and obvious.

• baharin on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:34 pm

You like your own posting?
      Don’t shiok sendiri.
      Proton is damned.
      30 years of tongkat , time for a hard reboot starting with its bloated workforce.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 70
    • Samsung no need powerbank on Nov 17, 2017 at 11:35 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 185
    • Charger Cord on Nov 18, 2017 at 6:50 am

Poor Perodua.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 12
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 142
    • Henry on Nov 18, 2017 at 10:53 am

Wow! I didn’t know Perodua is so powderful. LOL.

So, brands like those you mention have to compete with Perodua to survive? Last time I check Mercedes and BMW are having record sales here. And Honda is the #1 non-national brand in Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 6
    • Vincent on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:23 am

That’s business world! Who will allow their competitor to be top? If P2 such a small company can do it without using Political Power, we should feel proud of P2!

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 154
  • Betui betui macam isi durian. Haha!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
  • Guhanandan Selvadurai on Nov 17, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Excellent job I like it Perodua needs more aggressive colour choices and bodykits 4 wheel ventilated disc as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 68
  • Bernard on Nov 18, 2017 at 9:50 am

The only problem with the new myvi is no manual transmission 1.5

Also, if there is a 1.8 Gti myvi, with paddle shifters and priced below 70k, it would be a huge success

• Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 20, 2017 at 10:36 pm

The 2 problems with the new myvi is no manual transmission 1.5 (indeed as i don’t have much confidence in 1.3, esp. Auto, manual 1.3 just cukup-cukup makan only) and also missing temperature gauge (previous myvi got XL size gauge at right side like legendary wira 1.3). However, new LED headlights, keyless push start, min 4 airbags and VSC are big welcome.

• Belasahaje on Nov 18, 2017 at 11:00 am

No need to shout at proton want to buy myvi just go and buy…dont barking abaut proton…lousy poeple…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • 4G63T DSM on Nov 19, 2017 at 9:46 am

I’m pretty much sure there will be a yellow Myvi.

Probably called the Lagi Lagi Best 1.5 Sport Advance with 5MT.

I mean it would be silly for Perodua to not make such a car.