GALLERY: Perodua Myvi Advance 1.5 – 2018 vs 2015

With the new Perodua Myvi now launched, attention will invariably turn to how it fares against the outgoing model. For contrast and clarity, we’ve brought the brand new car together with its predecessor, a 2015 Myvi 1.5 Advance from the nameplate’s second generation.

It’s an all-new design for the third-generation Myvi, one that has been penned completely in-house at Perodua. Here in range-topping Advance guise, the 2018 Myvi wears a bodykit comprising deeper front and rear bumpers with side skirts, and it rolls on 15-inch two-tone alloy wheels.

As for the physical dimensions, the 2018 Myvi is expectedly larger overall when compared to the previous, second-generation car – an overall length of 3,895 mm for the new car plays 3,685 mm for its predecessor (210 mm longer), width is 1,735 mm compared to 1,665 mm previously (70 mm wider), and wheelbase spans 2,500 mm versus the old car’s 2,440 mm (60 mm longer). However, the new car is 55 mm lower in overall height at 1,515 mm, compared to the previous car’s 1,570 mm.

Under the hood is an all-new engine, though both second- and third-generation range-toppers displace the same 1.5 litre capacity. A new, 2NR-VE 1.5 litre naturally-aspirated petrol engine produces 102 hp at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm, and replaces the old 3SZ-VE from before (same output figures, but peak torque delivered at a higher 4,400 rpm).

A four-speed automatic transmission – driving the front wheels – remains; it’s now the sole gearbox of choice for the top 1.5 variant – no 1.5 litre manual. Fuel consumption is rated at 20.1 km/litre of fuel with Eco Idle engine stop-start activated, compared to a claimed 15.4 km/litre for the old model.

Inside, the 2018 Myvi gets worked on too, to good effect for these eyes at least. The overall sculpting of the dashboard cuts a more angular shape, with a more pronounced drawing of lines towards the lower part of the centre console, which is where the gear lever is now located (higher up towards the dashboard on the previous car).

Controls for the air-conditioning have been updated with more push-buttons instead of rotary dials for a more modernised look. The steering wheel is also new with revised brightwork surrounding the multi-function controls, also sporting a more rounded, bulbous look. In this top Myvi variant, the dashboard features a built-in Touch n’ Go card reader located on the right-hand-side of the steering wheel.

Further along the cabin, the new top Advance variant gets revised leather upholstery, while the front seats have more pronounced bolstering. On the infotainment front, a radio player with MP3/WMA playback feature alongside USB and Bluetooth connectivity, plus navigation and a reverse camera.

Safety is where the the latest Myvi makes great strides. The new model now includes electronic stability control, traction control and Advanced Safety Assist (ASA), which comprises of Pre-Collision Warning (PCW), Pre-Collision Braking (PCB), Front Departure Alert (FDA) and Pedal Misoperation Control (PMC) to prevent or mitigate low-speed collisions. Advance variants of the 2018 Myvi now get six airbags, versus two before.

How do the price tags compare, then? The 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5L Advance is priced at RM55,300, compared to RM56,118.88 for the previous-generation car of the same variant (both prices OTR without insurance). Interested to know more about the 2018 Perodua Myvi? Read the first impressions drive report by our man Danny Tan, and learn more about each variant of the 2018 Myvi, here.

There’s also the Myvi walk-around for an audio-visual summary, which we recorded on the day of the 2018 Myvi’s launch, below. We will also publish a detailed video review of the car soon, featuring a drag race, NVH test and real-world fuel economy test against the 1.3 and old 1.5. For full specifications of the 2018 Myvi, check out CarBase.my.

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

GALLERY: 2015 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Bernard on Nov 21, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Perodua has done a great job except that no paddle shifters…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 40
    • Do you really need paddle-shifters for a 4 speed autobox designed for fuel economy?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 4
      • I Hate Left-Side Signal Stalk on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:51 am

Rather have paddle-shifters than signal stalk on left-side steering wheel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Hunter Zolomon Hunter Zolomon on Nov 21, 2017 at 10:33 pm

For what???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Tony yusof on Nov 21, 2017 at 10:57 pm

how come proton own hatchback, Iriz launched 3years earlier. no such sales numbers and public hype….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • proofWhat? on Nov 22, 2017 at 7:54 am

what you trying to proof here?

• Darus on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:18 am

First day sales shows how well this Myvi has done and how Iriz has failed. Failed so badly that they even want to give the car to Uber drivers

• Burhanuddin Helmi on Nov 21, 2017 at 11:14 pm

What a great car. No need to even think, this is using 100% Toyota Vios engine. And Toyota Vios is RM80k, this is RM50k.

Buying this car is exactly like buying a Toyota Vios. The engine is one of the best engines around. Been around for so many years and it is a proven engine.

I would be super scared to buy a car engine like Campro which drinks petrol like a Jaguar and give problem after problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 26
      • John L on Nov 21, 2017 at 11:41 pm

So many Perodua salesman on this website… Practicing their sales pitch…

I’ve heard from Bezza owners that they are only getting 13km/l or 14km/l. My 2 year old Iriz also can get about 13km/l. Not sure about the new Iriz.

Yeah, come on, downvote me to heck, all you fanboys and salesmen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 49
        • G vector on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:45 am

That’s quite low for a hatchback car

• Halim on Nov 22, 2017 at 5:38 am

That is your heard. You dont drive it.. please sold ur outdated iriz, and drive this new myvi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
        • Wah.. lucky i didnt book the other car.

• xem6861 on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:07 am

When comparing this Myvi and Iriz, my choice will goes for the later.Bigger headroom, lower dashboard for better visibility. Fuel consumption, its depends on your foot.

• In forum memang sembang kencang. How’s is the sales if Iriz? Even the outgoing Myvi sold more than Iriz in it’s final month.

• If I’m not mistaken, the 2015 Myvi lacks VSC in the first place. So there’s a slight error in this post.

• Myvipower on Nov 21, 2017 at 11:30 pm

2015 myvi 1.5 advance still look sporty and very nice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • When the “new wife” effect wears off, many irritating faults will be found in the new model. Such as difficulties in getting in and out of the car due to seat design and cloth material that grab hold of our clothing. Thick C pillars obstruct rear view and lack of front cup holder and storage etc etc……..

• suomynona on Nov 22, 2017 at 8:44 am

It’s true..where are the front cup holders? ._.

• Arm rest pls!!! on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:04 am

Why can’t perodua design a proper and nice big storage arm rest?

• dont be fooled by its dimension, the new myvi is no spacious than the old. in fact, the old is better in packaging because the body design n space is still from the japanese.
    And the ride in the new myvi is so harsh that my friend would rather keep her old 2005 myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • The old myvi is feels more like MPV. Spacious, tall headroom, better seats . it is a better city car. Only lose out in safety

• I’ll still ignore this brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • well, it looks like two different car but the same name! does not look alike at all like first gen and second gen all new model.

• sam123 on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:47 am

You guys please dont forget that 1.5 engine are from Indonesia Vios ( different engine )

Perodua, please offer 1.5 a MANUAL TRANSMISSION on 2019, we dont care what name you put gt , gti , or extreme ka.. we just neeeded MANUAL

• Akaki gear box not smooth on Nov 22, 2017 at 6:18 pm

First gear to second gear engine will rev very high. It is a kind of difficult to change gear. Lousy gear box but cheap car n reliable for everyday people.

• Marieta on Nov 22, 2017 at 10:57 am

No rear aircond vent? what a rip off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • I went into the back seat on Nov 22, 2017 at 6:03 pm

Seketul macam myvi lama. Pintunya sama saja. Panjangnya kat kepala enjin. Lepas setahun banyak alarm rosak. Safety belt. Lampu. Kunci. Yang asa ni tak tahu nak tahan berapa tahun.

• Mr Ooi on Jan 21, 2018 at 9:47 pm

Hang silap, tempat duduk belakang memang luas. Ia memang panjang sikit berbanding yg lama.

• Mr Ooi on Jan 21, 2018 at 9:45 pm

Is the new 2018 Myvi under power ? The engine sound rough as we floor the fuel pedal.

• You fail to reveal that the new Myvi is with a merely 3 cylinder engine….