Malaysia vehicle sales data for October 2017 by brand

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) vehicle sales data for the month of October 2017 saw a climb in numbers after what was a soggy September. Last month, 47,041 units were delivered, an increase of 6,085 units over September.

The association said the 14.9% increase in vehicle sales was primarily due to a longer working month in October. Year-to-date (YTD) total industry volume was 472,723 units, 1.0% up from the 466,157 units recorded during the same period in 2016.

Here’s a quick breakdown of how most brands performed last month. Four of the top five players bounced back strongly – Perodua’s sales increased by 14.9%, while Honda’s went up by 14.7%. Proton also registered an increase in deliveries, by 13.0%.

Of the lot, Toyota gained the most ground, its 6,210 units shifted last month representing a 42.6% increase over September’s numbers. Only Nissan continued to lose traction (-6.6%).

Other gainers included Mazda (+38.3%), Mitsubishi (+68.5%), Renault (+108.3%) and Mercedes-Benz (+22.3%), which jumped back ahead of BMW (-2.7%) in the rankings on the monthly chart. Brands that dipped included Volkswagen (-28.2%), Subaru (-33.2%) and Audi (-24.7%).

Click on the chart below to view a larger version.

Malaysia vehicle sales data for October 2017 by brand

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ji Kao on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:32 am

Suzuki still no sales, sigh..

• Rahim Kajai on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:16 am

Proton got 9600 workers – produce 65,000 cars

Mitsubishi in Thailand got 6000 workers – produce 320,000 cars

Life is great when you goyang kaki

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 6
      • John Gagal on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:28 am

Proton targeting 10,000 cars monthly or 120,000 cars this year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • Don’t you know Suzuki has stopped being sold in this country because of you-know-who?

• Amazed on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:27 am

wow.. had you not pointed it out, I wouldn’t have known!

I was somewhat expecting them to be grouped up somewhere at the top!

• rider on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:31 am

suzuki closed shop in malaysia last year.

• Toyota reigns supreme. Banzai Toyota!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • calldisc on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:54 am

hahaha.. while proton was shouting out loud that its sales increased by some percentage, Toyota quietly sold more cars than them in october.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • the difference between proton and toyota is a mere 6,000 units. dangerous situation for proton now. they may end up 4th position for 2017.

• Unless UMWT sells at least 20,000 cars in Nov and Dec combined, there is no way they are going to overtake Geli.

• as long as extra 3,000 units more than proton in november and 3,000 more in december will do the trick. no need 20k.

anyway, toyota and perodua both under UMW (PNB). already they are the no.1 combined sales for more than 10 years. now worries.

• Why is audi so pitiful in malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
    • Because whoever is selling audi has no idea what they are doing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
    • applegreen on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:57 am

Because all audis are imported not CKD version

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • ex-VGM staff on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:00 am

as a result of Audi poor after sales service to customers, sales had dropped by a big margin compared to 5 years back. lack of service centres, long list of service booking (some say 6 weeks ahead), low level of technical support etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 47
    • sushi sucks on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:53 pm

Every car makers or brands compete on equal footing in Malaysia. No need to feel pity for Audi

Audi sales is down meaning most buyers know that Audi brand is problematic and not so luxury badge to own.

That is why new buyers will swing to other better looking luxury brands .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 258 Thumb down 6
      • china.top on Nov 23, 2017 at 4:13 pm

Audi is not problematic. It is the best selling luxury car and SUV in Europe and China and no 1 Luxury SUV in the US. Dont compare the Malaysian market performance to Audi’s status. Malaysian market problem is because of DRB, not Audi.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 132 Thumb down 137
        • u said dont compare to US/europe/china but u compare them urself.
          why??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 10
        • reboot on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:23 pm

Buyers who bought Audi from grey importers are the one facing the most problems when it comes to servicing and spare sparts .

Reliability issues also another major concerned.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 1
  • Voltak Cheng on Nov 23, 2017 at 7:28 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 276
    • 4G63T DSM on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:32 am

Funny you would mention Audi though.

Considering Volvo sells more cars than Audi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 247 Thumb down 2
    • Malaysian still blinded on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:33 am

It is not that Malaysian prefer more “luxury” brand.

It just shows that many Malaysian buys/books without even test driving or seeing the car in person.

Volvo’s PHEVs > BMW;s PHEVs anytime when it comes to power/handling, performance and interior quality, luxury, features, safety, autonomous etc.

I was the same, considering the X5 40e without even looking at the Volvo XC90. An owner of the X3 inline 6 and was impressed with it, so went to test drive the X5 40e, but was extremely disappointed by the interior and performance/handling. Went over to Volvo to test drive the XC90 and immediately placed my order.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 274 Thumb down 140
      • Les talk on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:06 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 248
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 253
          • Malaysian still blinded on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:45 pm

What about the X5 do you like about? I’m curious to know.

For me, there were the following few points I liked about it, but not enough to win me over.

1) Split rear tailgate. Useful when you’re on outings/doing outdoor sports and need a place to sit while changing shoes etc.

2) xDrive, still superior traction compared to Volvo’s front ICE and rear EV layout.

3) Road impact noise absorption. Driving over portholes/uneven surfaces, the X5 just absorbs all the noise, don’t hear it. XC90 on the other hand, sounds like you’re breaking it.

4) The BMW badge.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 148 Thumb down 8
          • FA Saleshard on Nov 23, 2017 at 6:18 pm

The volvo sales is not picking up is the real fact. It is very unprofessional for those sales advisor to just shoot other brand. It doesnt help. Consumer is not blind, the sales data tell. Don’t insult consumers intelligence.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 27
          • Malaysian still blinded on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:37 pm

@FA Saleshard

Yes, it is the real fact about the bigger role brand prestige places in Malaysia as opposed to actual merits.

Also, I am just a happy owner of the Volvo XC90. Just voicing my opinion and being sick and tired of Keyboard Warriors just shooting it down because of the brand, and not the actual merits of the car. The XC90 didn’t win the SUV of the year for no reason.

• Malaysian still blinded on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:41 pm

That is absolutely correct, Which proves my point.

X5 PHEV is inferior in most part, except for key features such as xDrive, split tailgate and brand prestige, but yet it sells like hot cakes because of the badge.

Again, those who down voted my comment, prove me wrong. Don’t just down vote.

Those who downvoted, prove me wrong.

I stated the following:

Volvo’s PHEVs > BMW;s PHEVs anytime when it comes to power/handling, performance and interior quality, luxury, features, safety, autonomous etc.

Now, please do correct me on my statement since you all down voted me.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 3
          • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 135
          • Prereg xc90 on Nov 23, 2017 at 8:04 pm

You can get prereg Volvo xc90 at RM345k last year. Hope end of year the same offer is given

• Prospective buyer on Dec 02, 2017 at 7:23 am

The Volvos electric motor is hands down more powerful than the x5. Not to mention build, when I test drove the x5 I noticed it had plastic door handles on the interior compared to metal on the volvo

• Malaysian still blinded on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Those who downvoted, prove me wrong.

I stated the following:

Now, please do correct me on my statement since you all downvoted me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 5
      • Ahmad Tahar on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:16 pm

Bought a volvo and start telling BMW is no good. Takda standard lah bang. Respect lah other car product. Very low class and sombong altitude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
    • tokmoh. on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:38 am

Volvo dapao Audi sales edi, kek.

Apa salahan Volvo? Considering where Volvo came from, they’re making progress. U insecure tongsan brand catching up? Heh, what a pussy, so German brand owners scared of a rising star that threatens their maruah, while Volvo continues to make worldwide progress at an alarming rate.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 156 Thumb down 20
      • Thumbup own post on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Thumb thumb kid here thumb down others. It is true that Sweden volvo and saab do not work here in Asia. Soon volvo will be like saab sayonara

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
        • reboot on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:26 pm

Seems AUDI will be the first to be Sayo Nara from malaysia soon.

Audi is not received well in malaysia furthermore it is CBU UNLIKE THE MERC , VOLVO AND BMW with local assemblies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • observer on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:41 pm

Glad hear that Mercedes are use more for taxis and hotel limousines meaning it is a slight premium work horse as any ah kow or ah beng can own it to do public or tourist ferries business.not so prestige

Volvo and BMW are luxuries for individual ownership and not for public ferries usage.

Audi is glorified VW and problematic to own . Hence sales are always on the cross road and nothing to cheer about. The sales are heading south.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 2
      • I Am Tan Chong's Father on Nov 23, 2017 at 4:39 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 153
        • since paultan cater malaysia market, why u think too much about the world.

eg:vw is reliable workhorse in europe but very problematic in malaysia..so why i shud care too much with so-call world

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 18
  • Susukotak on Nov 23, 2017 at 7:52 am

without hilux. toyota will below proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • willy on Nov 23, 2017 at 7:59 am

only 101 land rover YTD, mostly on the road are recond?
    mazda cx5 helping mazda gaining some sales back

• Kuinosan on Nov 23, 2017 at 8:29 am

Mazda can scream and shout about their Skyactiv tech cars. But results shows that they are way way back from being mainstream in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
    • Mazda isn’t chasing numbers these days…they are looking increase profit per car sold …which is why they are more entry-level premium these days..like Mini.. although Berjaya won’t like this direction…that’s the direction the brand is heading….

• stasta on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:15 am

so called premium top spec mazda cx5 cost 170k , but dont have:
      1. power front passenger seat
      2. power boot
      3. sunroof
      4. premium sound system
      5. paddle shifters
      6. autonomous safety features.

most if not all of these features are available on CRV.

• I would say Proton sales figures are the most stable…. within 4-5K. No matter how many new model they release, it would be 4-5K.

• karam singh on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:58 am

you had forgotten that Proton was targeting 9k sales per month. (in order to achieve 100k mark)

• 12yrsold on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:23 am

Most stable/consistency is usually a Gud thing but consistently selling 4-5k is not Gud enuff bcos they are LOOSING $$$ every day/month. How long Boleh Tahan ??!

• Anonymous on Nov 23, 2017 at 8:43 am

Just realized Perodua’s sales a month alone already doubled Mazda’s 10 months sales. Imagine the totally different picture if all car makers are playing on the even ground.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 13
    • Perodua sells TOY CAR for the masses

Cheap and small car cannot compare with to any Mazda
      Mazda is one class above Perodua at anytime and anyday

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • autodriver (Member) on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:01 am

I think we may need a new definition of “luxury car”. Mercedes sold more than 10k units in 10 months time ranking at 6th and BMW was ranking at 8th position from the chart.

The duo European so called luxury car is outperform than many affordable brands like VW, Ford, Kia, Hyundai, Mitsubushi etc. Or maybe there are simply because many rich fella in Msia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
    • Merc and BMW selling more than Hyundai and KIA. Big slap to the korean faces. And these kimchi brands thought they can compete against Honda, Toyota, Nissan and even damn Vincent Tan’s Bermaz Mazda. All that big talk from korean diehards yelling “world class” and “great design” and they can’t even beat Subaru selling Foresters and XVs. And even more embarrassingly they cannot beat Isuzu selling just D-Maxes and some MU-X.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 24
      • ex-VGM staff on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:56 am

hyundai did very well when the sold the Sonata at the same price as Corolla Altis some 15 years ago (abt 110K)

and kia selling the spectra at 84k at the same time. putting the new cerato head to head with Civic is not a good call.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
      • powerbank on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:22 am

Also hopefully Hyundai sales will keep on dropping due to Hyundai design is worst and terrible

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 17
      • Kimchijapuneseowner on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:23 pm

DO you mentioned about world class….do you aware hyundai/kia 2016 world sales was 8.2 million cars …slightly below toyota with around 8.5 million cars….this shows that hyundai/kia has tremendously improving and on par or even better than the Jepunese ….problem in Malaysia …majority still having brand snob …

• As I wrote before, companies in Malaysia is one worst expenditure on salary, most of their budget went to companies owner and share holders!

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:02 am

As usual Haval is missing from the list. Selling quietly & you see so many on the road these days.

• Concerned Consumer on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:36 am

VW should have a red arrow..rather than a green one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • why toyota is 3rd but sales is lower than proton?

• It is based on Oct month sales. If total sales (YTD) yes Proton is above Toyota.

• Henry on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:16 am

Wow! Lexus sold 90 units. Not bad at all for this brand.

Subaru got hit by the new Honda CR-V and Mazda CX5.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
    • advance tech on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:27 pm

Mercedes one month sales is like Lexus 16 months sales volume due to substantial purchase and usage for Taxis , limousines and Ubers

People prefer this over the current Ugly Lexus brand for their whatever rides.

Till todate Lexus is still a struggling so call” luxury brand ” in Malaysia , Nothing to cheer about for Lexus brand anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
  • Ruslan Bahari on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Despite selling more than Toyota, PROTON is listed below the Japs… sedih nya…

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:54 pm

The table is sorted by October sales performance, not year to date.

• VW sales arrow should be up or down?

• Hammer on Nov 29, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Looks like the Korean Wave was all just hot air.