RENDERED: 2018 Perodua Myvi SE – a new hot hatch?

The new Perodua Myvi lineup has ditched the mid-spec SE trim in favour of the 1.5 High and Advance models, and with that ends a whole line of sportier-looking Myvi variants that has existed in some form or another since 2007. We wondered if the Special Edition tag could perhaps be reserved for a more powerful hot hatch, and enlisted the services of rendering wizard Theophilus Chin to whip up such a car.

The end result looks really rather good, don’t you think? The additions include a honeycomb grille pattern, larger air intakes and what appear to be LED daytime running lights. There are also larger two-tone wheels, plus silver door mirrors not unlike what you’d see on an Audi S model.

At the rear, Chin gave the Myvi new tail lights that are slimmer than the previous L-shaped items, giving the rump a more cohesive look. A larger rear spoiler, a full-width third brake light and a small diffuser under the rear number plate recess complete the look.

Although a more potent Myvi sounds mighty tempting, it’s unlikely that Perodua will actually offer such a thing. The company hasn’t built anything more powerful than the 1.5 models already on sale, and the market for small hot hatches is tepid at best.

Also, these pocket rockets are best enjoyed with a manual transmission, and the company’s row-your-own ‘boxes aren’t exactly the best in the business in terms of shift feel – even though our man Danny Tan says that the new Myvi’s is better than previous efforts.

To recap, the new third-generation Myvi has been designed completely in house featuring greater sophistication, equipment levels and safety. Longer, wider but lower than before, it gets items such as standard-fit LED headlights, keyless entry, push-button start and stability control, as well as an integrated Touch ‘n Go reader, up to six airbags and autonomous emergency braking.

Power comes from new 1.3 and 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i engines from the Toyota NR family. The smaller 1NR-VE is the same engine found on the Bezza, and it makes 94 hp at 6,000 rpm and 121 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. The larger 2NR-VE, on the other hand, has been lifted from the Toyota Vios, and it produces 102 hp at 6,000 rpm and 136 Nm at 4,200 rpm. A five-speed manual gearbox and a four-speed auto is on offer.

What do you think of the new look? Sound off in the comments after the jump. You can also read our comprehensive launch report as well as our first impressions review.

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• karam singh on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:53 am

MYVI ticked all the right boxes to be the global People’s CAR. Immense potential for P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • John Merecik on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:12 pm

I think I know why the headlamp is similar to Saga.

It’s a homage scalp by Perodua to Proton Saga, a symbolic gesture over your arch rival by scalping enemy’s forehead as remembrance.

Look at the movie ending Inglorious bestards, brad pit scalping the hunter’s forehead. Same goes to countless western cowboy movies where red indians also did the same.

So kudos to Perodua! 1 million Myvi for next 10 years!!

• Animals on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:02 pm

Why everyone say headlamp same to saga is not..it same to alza..fak

• very inspired on Nov 22, 2017 at 4:41 pm

front copy honda ,rear copy kia ,interior copy honda,very malaysian favourite indeed

• Raja Celup on Nov 22, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Ertiga 100% copy paste.

Accordana 100% syok sendiri Jaguar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Ertiga and Accordana are from donor cars, deswai.
          Myvi claimed new design but copycat, fail.

• Looks the same to me since no more 2 doors.

• Someone has rendered a myvi into 2 doors. i saw it on facebook page MY Virtual Tune

• calldisc on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:57 am

not really a hot hatch, rather luke warm with less than 110bhp.

B segment hot hatch must have at least 150bhp, while a C segment hot hatch anything between 180-230bhp

• Rear looks still not sporty enough.. overall looks ok

• Mohd Ishak on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:22 pm

Perodua is such a success. They never beg billions from Government for help. Niether do they get Government contracts to buy their cars up

And yet, Perodua can do so well. So far 200,000 cars sold. Next year, it will be 300,000 cars sold.

This is what you call hard work. Bravo Perodua, your hardwork has paid off. We are proud of you.

Perodua should employ Mr Chin to produce even more better designs. Well done Theo, your rendered image is superbly looking.

Past few days, so many people who made orders from other car companies have cancelled their orders to buy the new Myvi.

Proton Persona/Saga, Toyota Vios, Honda City and Nissan Almera are casualties.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • Suggestony on Nov 22, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Add on sunroof then more Special. Tail light prefer current style. This rendered tail light look like Kia pulak. Design with more sportier bumper plzzz.

• It’s about time this dude should be designing our local cars already.

• tokmoh. on Nov 22, 2017 at 1:05 pm

What new hot hatch? Myvi had always been a hypercar, tailgate and high beam Ferrari, Lamborghini is sap2 water for Myvi.

• And the accident tragedy will happen back cause of reakless myvi driver that imagine they driving ferrari.

• For me…flat black colour much more sportier than 2 tone colour..#2centopinion

• tiadaid (Member) on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:04 pm

So now we’re ready to liberalize the car market? I’m pretty sure the new Myvi can stand up to the foreign makes easily now.

• Habislah proton on Nov 22, 2017 at 2:05 pm

New myvi really KO kaw kaw proton this time, main reason becuz proton now 50% owned by china pek and no longer genuine national brand. That’s why perodua no need to give face any more and straight away offers the best for value national car. This also proves proton is really the obstacle and burden to Malaysian, hence proton shd be closed down or fully sell to china pek.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • very inspired on Nov 22, 2017 at 4:43 pm

remember p2 is owned japs dog

• P2 already owned by daihatsu and toyota long time ago. From launch they using daihatsu engine for a long time ago and now they use the toyota engine. Compared to proton from launch they using mitsubishi engine and now they has it’s own engine.

• So what’s your point? Making own engine despite syarikat gagal is a sign of good business?

• unclechon on Nov 22, 2017 at 7:18 pm

i think perodua should introduce 6 speed cvt gearbox…same as vios o..o.o..with gear shifter…

• W C Chang on Nov 22, 2017 at 9:00 pm

Is the cruise control optional?

• Saiwada on Nov 22, 2017 at 11:08 pm

Myvi? A hot hatch? Sign me in. I really wanted a hot hatch that we can actually afford. Follow what VW have forgotten – a fast car for the people. If you want a manual, just go to toyota, they made the chr feel sportier with the manual transmission and the stiff suspension. Just a suggestion, hopefully perodua will do it in the near future *wink wink nudge nudge*

• Myvi SE? Hmmmmmm..... on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:19 am

I mean, Perodua could have use the turbo 1.2 from Toyota CH-R for a hotter version Myvi. But u know lah some Myvi owner would add bolt-on-turbo or supercharger for their Myvi.

• 30cent on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:33 pm

guess need to book … fallin wif this thing,basic also cheap,jadila kan.nk bawa anak g school je pom not to rembat on the highway

• Animals on Nov 23, 2017 at 9:59 pm

perodua should use this design much better

• Hariz Zamri on Feb 05, 2018 at 6:38 pm

Hello, Jonathan Lee. Perodua Myvi SE is now on when coming for launch here? I’ll be back soon.

• Divanesh on Feb 18, 2018 at 11:43 pm

When is Myvi SE launching?

• Sam 'john' Loo on Apr 22, 2018 at 11:05 pm

At least there’s a chance to get 1.5 Myvi with Manual Transmission with SE version (H and AV variant will remain as auto only since the eco idle system in P2 currently only cater for auto version). However, a proper temperature meter should be reinstated in next minor change version (not to say can’t drive a car without it, but very uncomfortable to drive around without a temperature meter to ‘glance’ through).