2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class – interior revealed in full

The 2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class isn’t ready to make its full global debut just yet, so in the mean time, the German carmaker has provided an early preview of the hatchback’s all-new interior.

No, you’re not looking at a model higher up in the Mercedes-Benz line-up. This will be the interior of the new A-Class, and it is a significant upgrade from what you’ll find in the current W176.

There’s plenty to focus on here, and we start from the driver’s seat. As we’ve seen in earlier prototypes, the A-Class will come with a widescreen cockpit setup reminiscent of what you’ll find in the W213 E-Class.

Thanks to the widescreen cockpit, the cockpit cowl from the W176 is no longer present, allowing the trim to extend from one end to another near-seamlessly. Different materials are available for said trim, including open-pore wood.

Customers will get to choose from three different display setups – two seven-inch, one seven-inch and one 10.25-inch, or two 10.25-inch displays. With most of the car’s functions like infotainment, climate control, etc. now shown on the widescreen cockpit, the A-Class’ centre stack is a lot less busy compared to before, with just switchgear for the climate control and air-con vents on them.

The centre console meanwhile, is clearly separated from the centre stack by what Mercedes-Benz calls a “trench”. The brand’s new multi-function touchpad, seen in the GLC F-Cell, also makes its way into the A-Class to handle interfacing with the infotainment system.

Other new additions include a 64-colour ambient lighting system, a new steering wheel (from the latest W222 S-Class) and C238 E-Class Coupe-style air-con vents with individual lighting.

Mercedes-Benz also says seat heating, seat climate control and a Multicontour Seat package are available for the front seats for the first time. On the mention of seats, three different types are available, including the comfort seat with up to 20 adjustments, as well as a sporty integral seat (available with specific equipment lines).

Details about the car’s practicality were also provided, with the new A-Class now boasting 370 litres of boot space – 29 litres more than its predecessor (W176). The car’s new two-section taillights also create a wider loading aperture (+20 cm), while the boot floor is 11.5 cm longer.

Stowage areas have been made bigger as well, where 1.5-litre bottles or A4-sized magazines can now be stowed in the front door pockets. The rear door panels have bottle holders for 1-litre bottles. The new A-Class cabin also comes with larger dimensions compared to the old car, as shown in the table above.

This interior will likely be emulated on the upcoming A-Class Sedan as well. For now, what do you think of the 2018 A-Class interior? It certainly looks like one that punches above its weight class, don’t you think? Let us know your thoughts in the comments below.

GALLERY: 2018 Mercedes-Benz A-Class spyshots

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• So now even an A class has a similar interior like S class, those mercedes guys are so lazy that they don’t even bother to come out a new interior layout to separate the high end model and normal model lel. Good job mercedes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 46
    • Les talk on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:04 am

You jeolous? Or you think you are able to design a better interior? If it is a good design, why not replicate it. No big deal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
      • funkyMonkey on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:02 pm

The rich can afford mercy no komplen. Poor ones so jelly many da komplen. heh he

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • making a comment = jealous? Is this how u define jealousy? lel funny ur name called “les talk” but u dun even know what you’re talking about

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
        • letalkok on Nov 23, 2017 at 3:15 pm

those p1 guys are so lazy that only swap tyre rims & paint black roof

• They dont call it lazy, they call it a technology/design passing down stage from the S class to the E class,C class & finally passed down to the A class at this early stage. Good job lel

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • Zackyrulez on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:03 am

This is IT, a technological masterpiece for the young and successful. The Best or Nothing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • CBChow on Nov 23, 2017 at 4:53 pm

All Mercedes cars look the same now. What a boring car company. All who buy Mercedes are followers, not leaders. Next …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
  • The interior is damn nice, but the exterior is a turn off compared to the existing ones. The aggressiveness look is just not there to attempt.

• thepolygonal on Nov 23, 2017 at 10:35 am

Nice. I hope the next evolution is to remove the tablets altogether and display the info on the windscreen directly via transparent OLED.

• 12yrsold on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:06 am

Wow. The 5 air-con vents looks like jet turbo fins.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 23, 2017 at 11:39 am

boring interior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
    • Ryan.cch on Nov 23, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Bold statement. And u are driving a…? Bet ur drive is super majectic, no? ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Mercedes can do no wrong now. BMW and Audi struggling to catch up. Lexus is detouring elsewhere. Infiniti is still yelling ‘notice me senpai!’

Funny how this was not the case a mere 10 years ago.

• It’s just look Cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Its okay to me. At least it has baby E/S keras looks. But the LED on aircon vents is just ahbeng

• i like the dash, but not the steering, the spoke looks so ugly n will look more suitable in an Suv with the thick spoke.

• OMG , totally loving the brown leather one, freaking ossum, can sit in there all day, recently MBM had a show in midvalley, had a chance to sit in a E350e AMG , beautiful coffee coloured leather and glossed carbon fibre, n panoramic roof, it feels like absolute magic inside,

MB makes d best interiors now hands down….

• Jamez on Nov 23, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Buy.

• Leafable on Nov 23, 2017 at 2:39 pm

Looks fantastic. On par with new Volvo but different.

• wkaka on Nov 23, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Gorgeous, makes my A3 look so ancient.

• Saiful Hamdan on Nov 23, 2017 at 4:34 pm

I prefer Mazda interior. They look much nicer and cleaner. And then there is Tesla interior.

• Does GLA get the new interior too?

• Hey guys, do you think the CLA will also change next year? Because I’m seriously considering on getting one now.

• Kundur on Nov 26, 2017 at 9:32 pm

Upcoming A Class interior inherited mixed from S class and C Class. For Sure, the new A Class design to be minimalist, less is more.