DRIVEN: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.3 and 1.5 review with ASA demo, 0-100 km/h, drag race, NVH and fuel tests

The Perodua Myvi is undoubtedly one of the country’s pride and joy, this time donning an all-new look that’s completely designed by local talents. There has never been a sportier-looking iteration of the popular nameplate, and the new pair of Toyota engines is by far the most efficient ones to grace the model to date.

With a raft of features crammed as standard, the Myvi punches well above its weight and receives a full five-star ASEAN NCAP crash safety rating. But is it all show and no go? Watch the video as our man Hafriz Shah reviews both the Myvi 1.3 and 1.5 in full.

Everything you need to know – such as real-world fuel economy and how ASA works – has been touched on, including details that you’d want to know, like the zero to 100 km/h sprint time. There’s also a “drag race” to see how the new model fares against the previous-generation Myvi.

For those who want a more incisive look into the Myvi, you may read our first impressions review, or check out CarBase.my for a full specifications breakdown of each individual Myvi model. For now, enjoy the video :).

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.3 Premium X (Peppermint Green Metallic)

GALLERY: 2018 Perodua Myvi 1.5 Advance (Granite Grey Metallic)

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• alldisc on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:10 am

can we compare please… between Myvi 1.3 and Iriz 1.3? between MT and MT and between CVT and 4AT. 0-400m sprint and real world fuel consumption. thanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
    • Latuk Bandar on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:41 am

Perodua cars equipped with efficient Toyota technology made Malaysia a better living place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 10
      • John Gagal on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:38 pm

Perodua now running out of salesmen to sell the already out of stock Myvi!

Any other car brand salesmen tak laku better jump join Perodua! 1 million Myvi bookings already confirm next 10 years!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
        • Jelas Ulung on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:23 pm

u mean 1000 Proton showrooms just sold 5000 units a month? 1K units to Quick Ride Sdn Bhd incl.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • John L on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Great review. Still don’t feel like throwing out my 2 year old Iriz yet. Probably makes more financial sense to drive it until the warranty expires. 17km/l is much better than my Iriz’s 13km/l, but still far from Perodua’s advertised 21km/l. Proton advertised that the Iriz could get about 15km/l, so I feel like Proton is the more honest company since what I’m actually getting is not far from that. In fact, after seeing your review for the 2017 Iriz, I feel like if I get a new car, I’m going to go for that instead. But I’ll wait and see. I really hope the development of the Iriz doesn’t stop with Geely in the picture. Hopefully we’ll see a much better Iriz (or Persona) in the 2018. The good news is that a service center told me that I can update my old Iriz’s ECU to the new settings that the 2017 version uses. Yay! Regarding the Myvi, I read from your website, that the Myvi’s ASA system uses soft braking. I don’t see any soft braking. The system brakes hard and throws its passengers forward. Alright, come downvote me, Perodua fanboys/salesmen.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 16
        • Lcians on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:40 pm

wake up dude. Iriz X relevant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 26
        • Romeo Weinstein on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Once you trade-in your Iriz for new Myvi, sure 100% you’ll feel a lot happier even smiling while you’re sleeping!!

It’s like a huge victory escape from jail! Life is full of joy & wonderfulness with Perodua!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 31
          • What doesn't kill you makes you stronger. on Nov 24, 2017 at 4:22 pm

P1 fanbois literally belips dis Roflmao

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
          • Grata on Nov 25, 2017 at 2:57 pm

I feel a lot of victory and happiness after trading in my old myvi for a Persona

• Perodua salesman payday on Nov 24, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Dude, the test was for Myvi 1.5 which is 20.1km/l not 21km/l. And the stats claimed by Perodua is including Idle Stop Start function which will improve fuel consumption by a considerable margin. Driven’s test is 400km on the highway not day to day driving with a lot of traffic lights and traffic congestions. Even so, 17km/l is impressive for a 1.5l engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • John Gagal on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:42 pm

No need to compare! Just close your eye and pick Myvi!

Tak payah fikir, tak nak pening kepala, beli jer Perodua Myvi!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
      • KL Menjerit on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:27 pm

Abang satu lg jerit sampai tekak, suara serak…. beli Iriz hoi!! Tolonglaa beli iriz….tolongg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • boooooo on Nov 25, 2017 at 12:47 am

17km/l on highway is not impressive, means at traffic light start stop cond and traffic jam onl 13km/l. Even old saga can do it

• st3wp1d on Nov 25, 2017 at 11:12 pm

Saga with mt gearbox can la..

• Sama Kunta Loo on Nov 28, 2017 at 1:54 pm

17km/l on highway – Even Honda City GM2 (facelift with VSA and 16″ rims) also can achieve same figure, maybe slightly more with sedate driving, thanks to it’s 5 speed auto gearbox.

• Kenny Tan on Nov 25, 2017 at 12:44 pm

Betul jawapan, beli je MyVi takkan rugi dengan harga berpatutan dilengkapi kemudahan ciri asas keselamatan automotif yang setara jenama lain dlm lingkungan 80-100 ribu.

• Ramesh on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:14 am

75% of all Proton sales come from Persona and Saga.

This Myvi is 100x better than Saga and Persona. It actually uses a Toyota Vios engine. Time tested vvti. Reputable and high quality.

So many now canceling Proton orders and jumping ship.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 10
    • John Gagal on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:34 pm

Yes true Perodua now seriously need new extra factory to produce the next 1 million Myvi cars.

Where to find, buy/rent existing half-empty car factory?? Shah Alam got or not??

• JDM guy on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:19 am

Please do a comparison with the Iriz 1.6 Premium against the 1.5 Advance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • Hafriz Fan on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:20 am

Hafriz looks taller!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:21 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 202
    • 12yrsold on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:42 am

Ben oh ben. U are simply asking for trouble when U compare a 1.5 NA with Turbo & a top spec Civic can buy 2 Myvi with some change.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 5
      • John Gagal on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:21 pm

Ben Yap indirectly senyap2 imply that Honda Jazz sales surely doomed but he disguised it as Civic comparison indeed!

Such an insecure and paranoid mentality!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Leafable on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:45 am

makan asap Suprima S. Civic 1.5 turbo interiors toycar plastik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 11
    • Genius of the year up there. Comparing Myvi with Civic. Sheer brilliance. Must have done well in recent UPSR exams.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • Kevin on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:48 am

That’s not even a logical comparison, completely different segment and huge price difference. It just goes to show that you’re showing off that you can afford a much more expensive car. I can also say that the new Elantra Sport can go a second faster than your Civic Tebu and cost about the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
    • applegreen on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:51 am

This is just a family car not a performer. 11.5sec is okay. For your info polo sedan 1.6L does century sprint in 12.3sec

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • MeToo on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:53 am

Comparing MYVI to Civic?

Should I compared your slowpoke Civic to my GTR?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
    • Medic on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:04 am

Bravo…i am impressed. You should audition for new Top Gear Malaysia version

• Idiozzzz on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:17 am

Compare myvi 1.5 no turbo wif civic 1.5 turbo? Idiot or wat??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • johnnas on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:38 am

ha? I just earned a beaucop from helping a friend to rid of his crap FC for the new Myvi. Says its more fun and reliable and tidier engine bay.

Son, quit taking quotes from the brochure and stop watching Youtube. Also stop kidding yourself that your FC is in the sports category.

• By your standards then plenty of cars in Malaysia are tractor standard only?

• James on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:53 am

Oh man, you know how slow Civic is VS a Nissan GTR? They would’ve finished a round at the Nurburgring and you’d still only be 50% through it. Your comparison is without a doubt the most stupidest comparison I’ve ever seen.

• Please forgive him coz he thought only compare 1.5 with 1.5, he dont know the civic is equipped with turbo, or he dont even know what is turbo.

• JDM guy on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Ben let’s be realistic here, do you plan to drag race every Myvi on every traffic lights you see? This is why drivers like you give Malaysians a bad name on the road.

• Sonyman on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:45 pm

After you smoke the myvi then come my 330e smoke you far far. Eat many many dust.

Eh wait. Why m I comparing you cheapskate prawn with the UDM ah. Sounds unfair.

• MindYourEnglish on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:32 pm

Wow, u can count dust!

• sonyman on Nov 24, 2017 at 4:32 pm

yup for mr ben Yap he can count all those dust in his Civic Tebu Prawn.

Non Of us can count.

• Hampeh! on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:18 pm

BY = Bengap Ye. Apa punya comparison la..

• tokmoh. on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:48 pm

Maslan, no need disguise as ben yap la.

Why not just topup a bit can get tesla? That can 0-100kph in under 3.85 sec.

• Oops! I think Civic does not even have autonomous emergency braking.(only brake hold right?). Correct me if im wrong. No blind spot info, cross traffic allert, auto park, lane keep assist, auto high beam, and active cruise control. (Im talking malaysian market only) Alot of civic owner claim their car is
      high tech. I dont see any high tech inside the car. Only use big LCD display does not mean it is high tech. Oh maybe the owners think the car can predict oil life is an advance tech? Lol. Handling also not so great as what i read on owners review in civic group. Also it use CVT. Hence, it is also a boring As F**K car to drive.

• abesla on Nov 25, 2017 at 12:52 am

Abes la civic, turns to ah pek and uncle car!
        Myvi turns to hipsters car!
        Iriz is still a fun with superb handling car!

• Common Sense Lost on Dec 09, 2017 at 11:31 pm

Might as well compare Hafriz’s mercedes c300 to your civic turbo. Utterly nonsense statement

• v-tec fan on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:27 am

a very good review.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • The toll reader is quite common in East Asian makes back in their home markets but applauds for introducing it a first in Malaysia…. but what about the transition to RFID?

• P2 knows it will be some time before RFID readers becomes a reality here. Just look how long it took for the highway operators to implement cashless toll payment recently.

In anycase P2 engineers probably thought of an upgrade pack for future tech.

• need to wait another 10 years for RFID in myvi

• First in malaysia? U sure? Great wall has it long before perodua bro..

• eVaz88 on Nov 27, 2017 at 2:20 pm

AVH, since you are one of the senior here, let me give u a good example. Imagine all the Luxury vehicle with Navigation. Why most of the Automotive still incorporate their lousy outdated Map / Navi and not Waze?

Not everyone will use RFID still, i bet we will still use TNG / Smart Tag for at least 10 more years.

• Michael on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:50 am

Why can’t they just write the whole review on the page here instead of suggesting readers to click on the Youtube video to find the “full review”. My internet speed is slow so I don’t want to click on the video and watch the whole thing. I prefer to read an article rather than watch a video.

Can someone summarize the review in few salient points. And perhaps put up the 0-100km/h times of the cars. A waste of time to watch the video. Just include the full writeup here for the ease of convenience for the people.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 21
    • It’s 2017. It’s your own fault if your internet is slow. Make an effort to get or find faster internet. Everything starts with a little bit of effort. The video is worth watching.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • agree…even i have unlimited data and 4G+ but i too prefer to read than to watch video, video is time consuming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • suomynona on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:20 pm

https://paultan.org/2017/11/16/driven-new-2018-perodua-myvi-first-impressions-review/

Perhaps this is the equivalent (or close) to that written review you wanted

• camtakpro on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Choose 144p and listen in 2x the speed.

This is by far Paultan’s best car review video. Nice detail and easy to follow speed.

Anyway perhaps Paultan could also have a transcript of the video inline/append in this article.

• John Gagal on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:14 pm

Hello sir, you can change the youtube video quality to 240p or 144p (for low data usage) if you prefer more on listening.

• Wong Fei Hung on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:16 am

P2, listen to me, just build us the Vious, we don’t care about your designers’ skill

• kanazai2001 on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:40 am

WHERE IS THE 1.5L MT?!
    <//3

• Eternalgl0ry on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:26 pm

Actually the new myvi 1.5 is capable of fast acceleration but perodua malaysia boleh make it impossible to turn off the eco mode. Basically your car is always running on eco mode

Let’s see how people can modify the ecu to turn on and off at will

• John Gagal on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Perodua actually helping you to save fuel from the boiling price point of RM2.50/Liter soon!

Respect and conserve petrol! God create it in 400 million years but human gonna dry it up all in less than 400 years from now! Repent you all petrolheads!

• Hampeh! on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Ayo.. modify ECU, lepas tu komplen minyak mahal.

• Malaysia boleh make myvi track mode or sport mode which will make myvi exhaust sound like nissan gtr r35 and make it go faster

• Chris on Nov 24, 2017 at 12:39 pm

How come never compare with Suzuki Swift??? People forgotten about this car already?

• John Gagal on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Swift not available here but sold in Indonesia, where the new Daihatsu Sirion (Myvi) soon will eat Swift sales for breakfast!!

• burntonce on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:11 pm

“real world fuel consumption” just like proton test constant throttle at 90km/h right ? Facepalm… refer to some standards and try to mimic them at least…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 24, 2017 at 1:33 pm

No, it was a 410 km trip from KL to Ipoh and back, including city traffic. We followed the flow of traffic on the highway, between 100 to 120 km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Romeo Weinstein on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:03 pm

The video is fine but better include more infographics especially when talk about size dimensions, features, etc. Something like arrow lines to show car body size or figures on engine details.

Anyway good job to the video team!! Kipidap!!

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:08 pm

Will keep that in mind.
      Thanks!

• Primus on Nov 24, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Totally agree on the lack of infographics in the video. Some car review channels like Alex on Autos on youtube are very good at this infographics and specs comparison with similar cars in the same segment.

• With this Myvi, all Proton cars RV will be wiped clean to the bones.

• SkullJuJu on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:30 pm

The filming and editing this round feels sub-par. New interns perhaps? >.>

• HB new godcar on Nov 24, 2017 at 2:57 pm

LOL door snap test.

• Myvi/Alza on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:15 pm

this new myvi using alza suspension setup.
    front track alza = new myvi = 1475 mm.
    rear track alza = new myvi = 1465.
    The rear torsion beam of new myvi is pre-installed from factory with anti-roll bar & lower arm bar…interestingly the torsion beam & anti-roll bar of new myvi is same/similar to alza

• Prospect on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:46 pm

You miss out 1.5Adv solar & security film features.

• tokmoh. on Nov 24, 2017 at 10:45 pm

Why shoot in 50fps? 60fps would be a lot smoother, especially during panning shots.

And nice ultra boost, ah i see you’re a man of culture as well.

• Steve on Nov 25, 2017 at 10:27 pm

Hi Hafriz, how does the smart link work? Can we just turn on the mirror link in android phones, connect the hp to the infotainment using USB cable and then turn on the smart link in the touchscreen? I wanna mirror link waze.

• What is wrong with Check Surrounding for Safety?

• OMG, whre is the water temperature gauge ? The previous Myvi has it.Now its gone. Oh Hafriz, why did you not mention it in your review ?