2018 Toyota Vios launched in Singapore, from RM272k

A new Toyota Vios has been launched in Singapore and predictably, it’s identical to the Yaris Ativ sold in Thailand, albeit with a larger, more powerful engine.

That means it gets the same love-it-or-hate-it front fascia with slim upper grille and headlights paired to a massive lower grille with integrated LED daytime running lights. The sleeker body and neater rear end with broader tail lights are also carried over.

Ditto the interior, which features a more modern design and a three-spoke steering wheel from the Corolla Altis. Two variants are available – the entry-level E, priced at SG$89,988 (RM271,900) including COE and the more generously equipped G, retailing at SG$95,988 (RM290,000).

Standard equipment includes halogen reflector headlights, front fog lights, 15-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, an acoustic glass windscreen, tilt and telescopic steering wheel adjustment, fabric upholstery, a Toyota Telematics infotainment system and a reverse camera.

The Vios G adds projector headlights, LED daytime running lights, LED tail lights, 16-inch two-tone alloy wheels, a leather-wrapped multi-function steering wheel, single-zone automatic climate control, navigation, a 60:40 split-folding rear seat and a centre rear armrest with cupholders. Safety-wise, all models get seven airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, Vehicle Stability Control (VSC) and hill-start assist.

Unlike the Yaris Ativ, which has a 1.2 litre engine to comply with Thailand’s Eco Car rules, the Vios carries over the 2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i mill from before, making 105 hp at 6,000 rpm and 140 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. This powertrain – paired to a CVT with seven virtual ratios – was introduced on the Vios last year, and is capable of a top speed of 170 km/h and combined fuel consumption of 5.8 litres per 100 km.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• John Baoteng on Dec 14, 2017 at 12:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 115
    • holeefak on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Same same Myvi engine. ahakss

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 5
      • Vios GX on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:12 pm

Toyota / Daihatsu gave lesser + / – 5 horse power {HP) and lower torque engine to Myvi 1.5Cc .. Not same engine, but same c.c…

• Sulaiman Andak on Dec 15, 2017 at 10:21 am

Even the bell boy who open the hotel door also get gaji SGD2000 a month (that is RM7000). With his tips, he gets RM10,000 a month.

That is just the bell boy. I know cause I have worked as a bell boy before.

Itu kerja kuli you know.

So I hope Malaysians think a bit before they say harga kereta mahal di Singapura

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • Celicarzz on Dec 15, 2017 at 10:31 am

TOYOTA definitely premium brand nw.

• Che Pah on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:58 am

It’s the same engine. Perodua now use Toyota engine this time around, not their own engine derived from Daihatsu. So Myvi, Vios and Avanza use the very same engine.

• ProtonGL on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Nope. i rather keep my Wira aeroback.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 7
      • Zulrafiq on Dec 15, 2017 at 10:34 am

We cannot compare with Singapore. Singapore is 1st world. Singapore is the 3rd highest GDP per capita amongst 100 countries. Malaysia is No 50.

Singaporeans earn so much that even a CHR is affordable to many people

• Persona better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Jaafar Karim on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:52 pm

Singaporeans earn about 6x more than Malaysians. BMW 530i in Singapore is SGD250k.

BMW 530i in Malaysia is RM400k

Which do you think is cheaper? Bear in mind Singaporeans earn 6x more than us.

So, double whammy. Singaporeans earn 6x more than us and their cars are “cheaper” than us.

By the way, Toyota CHR is SGD65k in Singapore. Malaysia it is RM145k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
      • How come CHR sold for SGD65K while Vios sell for SGD95K? Really?

• U forget, their cost of living is 6X higher than us. So its same same but we can still keep the car with higher RV after 10 years unlike them.

So, triple whammy. SG alredi paying highest prices in the world, plus they need to dispose it by 10 years plus due to this time limit, RV is like shiet becoz dealers knows these owners cant hold for long and need to sell off quickly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Sulaiman Andak on Dec 15, 2017 at 10:22 am

then explain why Singaporeans can travel all round the world and spend freely whilst Malaysians can only go to nowhere caus eour money got no value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Who says MY pipu dun travel around the world freely and spend lavishly? KLIA traffic just broke its own record of 50million passengers and soon to overtake JFK and Frankfurt (both international hubs, if u need to know). By end of the year, we may even beat Changi’s 2016 record setting figures.

So r we really poor or just complain being poor?

• My pipu also travel around the world. So?

• fanofthisite on Dec 15, 2017 at 2:38 pm

I assume KLIA figures include transit via KLIA and not just Msian citizens flying out

• KLIA is not ASEAN’s transfer hub, its traditionally Changi. So most traffic r coming in or going out from country. Meaning much of it is from MY pipu travelling.

• Neelopah on Dec 15, 2017 at 11:25 pm

Good job Tony Ferndez!

• Tony flies out from KLIA2 not KLIA1. Much of the traffic increase was from KLIA1.

• Boringboring on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:27 pm

This is toyota ativ in thailand. Become vios in sg?

• applegreen on Dec 14, 2017 at 12:47 pm

Wow Singapore dollar 3x ringgit. mcm rupiah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 15
    • Tok much gaga about Singapore? Kan Cheong Leh! on Dec 14, 2017 at 3:32 pm

Let’s put this dilemma straight.Sg Income percapita roughly SGD50k (RM150k) while My Income percapita RM42k (SGD14k) ..Buy a Vios in My cost you RM77k and Sg would cost you RM272k… Bolehland vs Kiasuland vs currency looks like pretty much the same to me.. Earn 3x vs Ringgit doesn’t mean anything if you still have to pay 3x higher than what are sold in Malaysia..In fact everything sold in Singapore are slightly or more than everything sold in Malaysia.. Nasi Ayam cost you RM6.50 in Malaysia but average price in Singapore would cost you SGD3.50 (RM10.50) And the taste is bland and little portion.. SGD would only benefits you when you’re travelling out of Singapore.The reason why Singaporean flocking into JB and Malaysia to shopping and leisure.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 5
  • How about bezza if it launced in singapore? It will be RM100k like sri langka?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Heres a hint https://paultan.org/2016/01/13/perodua-axia-goes-on-sale-in-singapore-rm231827/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Bejja on Dec 14, 2017 at 6:18 pm

Already sell in Singapore.. I saw a few Bezza with Singapore reg no in Bukit Indah, JB area.. Yup, the price excceding SGD 90k and it is not even full spec Bezza..

• Lihwoei on Dec 14, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Rm272K ???? Are you kidding me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Knightrider on Dec 14, 2017 at 12:58 pm

What a car…2018 car of d year ;)…can buy one unit house in bolehland

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Amylia Tan on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:01 pm

Malaysia has the cheapest vios car prices in the world. Malaysia high income country like zimbabwe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 5
    • Karam Singh on Dec 14, 2017 at 9:05 pm

Wrong. Cheapest is Saudi Arabia. Yaris sedan 1.3MT is sold at 46k riyal.

Google the website.

• Curiouslor on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Is it really vios ka? I tot this model is called Ativ? New vios look better than this.

• 272k for dugong. And they said cars are expensive here. Btfo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • azhar on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:53 pm

they dont buy in ringgit laaa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
      • kzm (Member) on Dec 14, 2017 at 6:58 pm

of cuz they dont buy in RM. bolehland pipu oso dont buy car in USD but nobody seem argue bout that. How do want to know which one is cheaper when unit is not same?

• Carazy on Dec 14, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Event with their money it still expensive vs. Any part of the world

• Pinky on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Is it just me, or does the tail lamps looks abit like the K3 facelift / Elantra MD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Operation Manager on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:28 pm

As usual mesia (asean auto-hub claimed mai.miti), will be last country to arrive. Weeks ago even Laos Cambodia oledi start selling…

• mikehighseas on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:32 pm

How is this new….looks same like the previous? Same engine as previous – and as the 1st gen? Seems like we are being taken for a ride again and again!

• 272K? I better stay in Malaysia, can get a pre registered E-class manager’s car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • krishna on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:45 pm

for locals, it is $95k. They earn in SGD ma. Actually it is more affordable to them then it is to us. You should be disgusted with our price actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 17
      • Nope. U pay only 1 time here. There u need to pay same price again after 10years just to keep using the old car. SG pipu r disgusted with their price actually.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 14
      • They earn in SGD, so their car price should be divided by 3 if using your logic. How can My pipu earn RM5K can get RM95K new vios while Sg pipu who earn SGD5K have to pay SGD95k for new vios while they only should pay for SGD30K for vios. Thier mighty SGD should make vios cheaper right???? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
        • Ng Cheong Keat on Dec 14, 2017 at 4:05 pm

The Singaporean car price is only for the car to be used for 10 years due to COE limit. Plus you cannot get 80-90% loan like in malaysia. In Singapore the car loan max is 50%.

• The point is, no use getting 3x of pay while u have to spend 3x more for the same item that were sold here in My.

• balldisc on Dec 14, 2017 at 9:07 pm

The cars will be cheaper if they opt for weeks drive ie red number plate

• ali akau on Dec 14, 2017 at 6:58 pm

you have no clue about singapore. one out of four singaporeans is millionaire. three out of four can travel freely without private vehicle. note this down in your brain

• Arizal on Dec 14, 2017 at 7:44 pm

Actually owning a Car in Sgpore is a burden because they have the compulsory scrap policy and the COE. Where else in Malaysia it’s still affordable especially the 2nd hand segment as cars here tend to depreciate fast thanks to newer models. Its only our consumer mentality wants to change Car within 3 to 5years of usage and passion for continental and high performance Cars makes us keep drowning in debts from a Car loan to another Car loans.

• Erik Wong on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:34 pm

i just vomited. disgusting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Vios2018 on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:35 pm

That front end… just wow…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • City still miles ahead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • Sgt Scoop on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Bargaintastic!

• The most expensive place to own a car on earth: Singapore. Malaysia may be ranked as first runner up.

It is quite surprise to see that the toyota safety net system is not included.

• Daniel on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:01 pm

Actually, its affordable in SG….. for SGD140+k can even own a BMW 2 series. Don’t convert, because those who buy cars in Singapore…. earn SGD…. 3x our salary here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 17
      • Earn 3x, so the car price should lower 3x when sold in SG is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Its not affordable cuz basher says vios is only 40k in other countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • SpongeWai on Dec 14, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Well, I prefer 3rd gen design especially the GX spec cause feel sporty when I drive

But today I have 2 Vios in my hse and sticking 4-speed auto

• normal_user on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:19 pm

I thought this is a reskinned Vios to for the Thai eco car market? The current Vios platform is already an extensive updgrade of the older Dugong Vios.

Sat in one, and the space feels exactly like the old one. Not as roomy as the City and ageing Almera.

• 1.5 engine on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Seriously, is this a joke of what?

The 1.5 litre same engine as the one used in 1st Generation Vios.
    That engine is about 14 years old now!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • hahaha at you on Dec 14, 2017 at 3:42 pm

wake up wake up, 2018 is coming soon

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Dec 14, 2017 at 6:04 pm

The 2NR-FE Dual VVT-i engine, introduced last year, isn’t related to the 1NZ-FE VVT-i mill used in previous generations of the Vios.

• majortomxx on Dec 14, 2017 at 2:53 pm

yucks.

• WHAT A UGLY bumper I EVER SAW… IF THIS IS THE SAME DESIGN IN BOLEHLAND FOR SURE UMW TOYOTA will loss lot of buyer.

• sabahan on Dec 14, 2017 at 3:10 pm

the grill is super ugly!
    and the engine is still as good as 20 years ago and can stand for another 20 years to come

• They should fire their exterior designer. The current generation looks better

• Nein. 1st gen looks best. Vios design gets uglier as age piles on the ancient platform.

• C.P. MOHAN on Dec 14, 2017 at 4:50 pm

If Singapore’s salary is on average 2X more than Malaysians and their cost is about the same (considering FOREX) than are they getting a Toyota for price of a MYVI (Daihatsu) or are they getting the holding instead of the subsidiary. My 2 cents thinking.

• U need to consider their one of most costliest living in the world. They basically getting a toyota for the price of lexus.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 14, 2017 at 7:03 pm

Other country that same level as Singapore don’t buy car as much as Singaporean.

• totota on Dec 14, 2017 at 4:58 pm

omg…my eyes….
    the front design…the meter design..the center console…the drl location…the rear light…good luck toyota sales man

• Bernard on Dec 14, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Cheap for Singaporeans as their earning power is great and sg dollar is powerful…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Not when u have to throw that car after 10 years. And no such thing as high RV in SG cuz following by COE expiring, all RV is like shiet.
      Earning power high but cost of living, amongst most exp. So no point. Like for like here, its just the same.

• Henry on Dec 14, 2017 at 6:06 pm

That’s why BMW is the #1 selling brand there and not some Japanese ones.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 14, 2017 at 7:00 pm

Do you ever ask them is it cheap or not?

• My pipu earn rm5k buy new vios for rm95k
      Sg pipu earn sgd5k buy new vios for sgd95k
      Basic math, dumb the currency unit and calculate the ratio. The ratio is the same is it?
      Now u know why Sg pipu keep floking to jb when weekend comes.

• loler on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:43 pm

Too bad short boring road, only going round and round only, lol

• Dylan Ch'ng on Dec 14, 2017 at 5:49 pm

2NR-FE 1.5 litre Dual VVT-i mill Euro 6 capable?

Maybe then, Perodua should sell the 1.5 Myvi in Singapore.

• KUMINTATOR on Dec 14, 2017 at 6:23 pm

getting uglier each time

• 12yrsold on Dec 14, 2017 at 6:24 pm

The reason car is expensive in Singapore is because the government don’t encourage Singaporean to owe cars as their public transport system is running well. I think most Malaysian already know that.

• Thats what tell u of cuz. Truth is, they just want their pipu’s money. Why else their COE has a time limit? Most MY pipu alredi know the reason.

• Ben Yap on Dec 14, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Top speed 170 kmph…. hahaha…. what a joke.

• Vios GX on Dec 14, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Price with COE.. After 10years, no RV..

• Correct. No dealer wants a car with a time limit unless for peanuts.

• klguy on Dec 14, 2017 at 11:39 pm

paultan.org…so u r implying that the car price is spore is so expensive by just converting their currency to ours….does this mean a fresh grad in malaysia earn RM10k when a fresh grad in spore earn SGD3k?

• Fresh grad in SG earns 3k pays 95k for vios there.
      Fresh grad in MY earns 3k pays 95k for vios here.
      Which is more affordable?

Psst! Heres a hint: [spoiler]its the same for both.[spoiler]

• live in a sardine can, just go around in circles..

• fanofthisite on Dec 15, 2017 at 2:45 pm

Prefer this rendition of the dashboard design to the current and past models. Dont fancy the side profile much, i wish the styling was more Altis like. Am even more impressed now with new MYVI styling (yes its not a sedan) but from every angle even riding on a trailer heading to showrooms the MYVI looks good. The ‘whites’ of the headlights was the right accent decision, gives the front more ‘presence’

• Bogeyman on Jan 16, 2018 at 10:27 am

So what’s All New?