Nicol David appointed as Mercedes brand ambassador

At today’s announcement of its 2017 performance results, Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) revealed that it had appointed Datuk Nicol David as a brand ambassador. The eight-time World Open champion will be one of the ambassadors of the Laureus Sport for Good Foundation, a Mercedes-Benz CSR initiative, and will harness her passion for squash, sport and healthy living as a means to reach out to disadvantaged communities and affect positive change.

She joins the MBM family as a passionate enthusiast of Mercedes-Benz cars and the brand’s lifestyle. “I am excited to be collaborating with Mercedes-Benz as a brand ambassador. The values of the brand mirror my own, I accept nothing but the best of myself and always strive for excellence without compromise,” she said.

“Besides this, Mercedes-Benz is rich in history and makes amazing automobiles, in particular the Compact Cars, of which I am an unapologetically huge fan. The GLA has to be my favourite, being the perfect combination of practical, dynamic and great to look at. It’s perfect for my active lifestyle and can take all my squash gear with ease, not to mention convenient for zipping through the city,” David added.

Mark Raine, MBM’s vice president, sales & marketing passenger cars, said the company was thrilled to have David on board as its newest brand ambassador. “Nicol David is more than just an exceptional athelete, she is an exemplary role model to all Malaysians and a fitting embodiment of values we hold dear at Mercedes-Benz – passion, discipline, integrity, and an uncompromising determination to be absolutely the best at her game,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Bernard on Jan 10, 2018 at 7:13 pm

Nicol is just great!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 32
    • Volvo fan on Jan 11, 2018 at 7:27 am

Wise choice, german is still the most premium car than match Nicoles status.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Jan 11, 2018 at 9:53 am

Convergence of beauty and beast like performance. What else does a man wants?

• Audi Fans on Jan 12, 2018 at 4:59 pm

Even German cars like VW ,Skoda,Opel , Seat are prestiges too that matches Nicol very well too.!! The best or nothing ..

• Zack bowtie on Jan 10, 2018 at 7:29 pm

Warm welcome to the Mercedes-Benz family, Datuk Nicol David. The Best or nothing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 35
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 10, 2018 at 8:31 pm

i hope she can actually afford one of these cars…unlike certain overpaid players of another sport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 18
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jan 10, 2018 at 10:27 pm

What is the point of your comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 40
      • 12yrsold on Jan 11, 2018 at 9:26 am

His point is Squash price $$$ sucks. If she is world No1 in Badminton/Tennis, she can buy the GLC Not GLA without batting an eye.

• wawasan2020 on Jan 11, 2018 at 12:29 pm

this ia GLA45 kid …

• 12yrsold on Jan 11, 2018 at 5:27 pm

Hehehe. OK lah. Since U insist to be correct by adding 45 = GLA45, I also add 45 to GLA = GLC45 la. Now U Happy ??!

• Harry on Jan 10, 2018 at 8:52 pm

You GO Girl!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 34
    • Carrie M on Jan 10, 2018 at 9:19 pm

Please don’t be sexist. She is a woman not a girl. You wouldn’t have said boy had it been LCW? What cave did you crawl out of? Please get with the times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 78
      • Uncle apek on Jan 10, 2018 at 10:33 pm

Man that’s how it’s said in the 21st century… maybe you should crawl back into the cave if you find this offensive…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 6
      • Holofanboi on Jan 11, 2018 at 9:03 am

What the? Lol he meant that as a compliment and you took it 180 other way around.

• Is a compliment. As in go for it! What the heck is this Carrie M thinking??

• We love you Nicol. You go girl!! Mercedes is lucky to have you as their ambassador.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 32
  • spock1976 (Member) on Jan 11, 2018 at 8:17 am

Congrats Dato Nicol.

Paul, no photo gallery for this?

• johnnas on Jan 11, 2018 at 10:35 am

Proton should appoint john as their ambassador as well as Ben Yap as Honda’s.

Both have shown much of their true love for the manufacturers, not that it is wrong.

• Dun wan. Later have to handle promo for P1, Geely, VolvoCar, VolvoTruck, Mesidis, EQ, Lotus, LnC, London Cab, etc.

• Big step up from Perodua days

• kralkhan (Member) on Jan 11, 2018 at 12:05 pm

Good to see this little squash dynamite gets appointed by Benz and a big congratulation to Datuk Nicol!

• heybadigol (Member) on Jan 11, 2018 at 9:14 pm

Congratulations. Yeah, the GLA45 is a good choice, being nimble and fast, and fairly fuel efficient for an AMG. Its also tall enough to go over minor banjir. Try that in a road hugging C63S.