2018 Yamaha X-Max 250 preview – in M’sia end March

In a surprise reveal during the launch of the 2018 Yamaha MT-09, the covers were thrown off the 2018 Yamaha X-Max 250 scooter, which will enter the Malaysian market at the end of March. Manufactured in Indonesia and coming in as a CKD unit, the X-Max 250 scooter does not have any official pricing as yet, pending approval from the authorities.

Carrying a single-cylinder, liquid-cooled 249 cc power plant, the Yamaha claims the X-Max 250 puts out 20.12 hp at 7,500 rpm and 21 Nm of torque at 6,000 rpm. The engine follows Yamaha’s Blue Core design specifications for efficiency and is fed by EFI and transmission is a conventional automatic gearbox with V-belt drive.

Starting is electric and fuel is carried in a 13.2 litre tank, while storage space for two full-face helmets can be found under the seat. While the full specifications of the Malaysia market X-Max have not been revealed, the European X-Max comes standard with ABS and traction control, along with keyless start.

Inside the X-Max 250’s dashboard cubby is a 12-volt outlet that can be used for charging electronics and twin analogue clocks with an LCD panel for other necessary information. LED lighting is found throughout the X-Max 250, including LED position lights.

Rolling on a 15-inch wheel in front and a 14-incher at the back, the X-Max is braked with a single 267 mm diameter disc in front, and a 245 mm unit in the rear. No word on colour choices as yet, but the two 2018 Yamaha X-Max 250s shown during the reveal were dressed in white and burgundy.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Vanhoe on Jan 12, 2018 at 9:18 pm

My guess it’ll be about RM22k.

• Lim Teh Peng on Jan 12, 2018 at 9:27 pm

Traction control with keyless start. Koool

• Maria on Jan 12, 2018 at 9:29 pm

Why no new r15 or mslaz yet??

• sohai on Jan 12, 2018 at 10:34 pm

“CKD unit from indonesia”?

• Bernard on Jan 12, 2018 at 11:21 pm

If priced right, this will be a best seller here. Finally a great bike ….

• Mahdi Ahmad on Jan 13, 2018 at 2:32 pm

how nice if we had a Made in Malaysia bike and car that most of us can be proud off

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
  • casual rider on Jan 13, 2018 at 12:21 am

what a pleasant surprise from yamaha!

• shidi on Jan 13, 2018 at 10:39 am

the design look like ‘mini’ Tmax especially the headlight, very nice. glad i didn’t buy NVX

• Khairil on Jan 14, 2018 at 7:03 am

I was thinking the same. Glad I didn’t buy NVX. Should we wait more for xmax 400? haha

• Yazid Atan on Jan 13, 2018 at 10:55 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 212
    • Bernard on Jan 14, 2018 at 12:09 pm

Don’t know why?

• Baguslah. Why we need more foreign factories staff by even more foreigners here? All profits and salaries goes back to home countries in the end MY got nothing except foreigner problems.
      Best is local made brands, where everything stays in MY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 453 Thumb down 212
    • Ji Kao on Jan 14, 2018 at 6:17 pm

Levy cost too high

• In Asean, Volvo manufactured in My. Mazda and more. Try find where Merc assmbly plant in Asean are.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 1
  • Fireant on Jan 13, 2018 at 6:26 pm

If this CKD X-max from Indo..then should have ABS, traction and some other bits of goodies..just dunno if they will sell it as cheap as in Indon 55juta rupiah which is equivalent to RM16.4K

• While the full specifications of the Malaysia market X-Max have not been revealed, the European X-Max comes standard with ABS and traction control, along with keyless start.

hopefully the ABS and traction control will be standard for Malaysian market, it definitely could be a game changer if priced right

• nice…price is right wt ABS for safety(raining here & road are wet)….will bring lots of customer whom prefer a daily transport that is practical for commuting to work.

• Wahi Abdul Rahman on Feb 18, 2018 at 9:03 pm

Malaysian tak peduli pasai safety, dia mau murah saja..

• scootman on Jan 15, 2018 at 12:06 pm

wow..
    if the price reasonable..i will be one of the yamaha xmax buyers…

• noddy on Jan 16, 2018 at 10:03 am

Speaking as a current scooter user (NMAX), I have been waiting for XMAX 250 ever since I first saw it online. Partly because of its design, but also because it offers more storage space (never liked having a big box behind me), bigger fuel tank, and a more powerful engine. All plus points when going for longer rides (in addition to the daily ride to/from work lah).

However, whether I do upgrade or not will be completely dependent upon its pricing – If RM20k then probably keep my trusty NMAX.

• noddy on Jan 16, 2018 at 10:47 am

urgh… comment was truncated…

meant to say if around RM20k then can upgrade but if too far above that no point – just stick with NMAX :D

• Damn, only 20 hp? But price close to 25k.

• W m faiq on Feb 21, 2018 at 12:21 am

Indonesia put the price of 55juta rupiah which equal around 16k in malaysia. But here, based on mudah.my, they sell it for RM24k. What a huge different..huhu

• Hayenadeblue on Mar 10, 2018 at 11:02 am

Am I reading this right? Conventional auto box, not a CVT? Wow.

• Cracken on Mar 25, 2018 at 11:31 pm

Europe has been having this bike for quite sometime already. They have few variants, 400cc, 300cc. Supposed to reach Malaysia 300cc, but stripped to 250cc to accomodate our B2 License