Lexus RX 350L seven-seater, NX 300 facelift range now open for booking in Malaysia – SUVs from RM312k

Lexus Malaysia is now taking orders for two upcoming SUV models, the NX 300 and the new RX 350L. Let’s start with the latter, which is new to our market.

Unveiled last month at the 2017 LA Auto Show, the Lexus RX L is, as its name suggests, a longer version of the current RX SUV. The sharp-edged crossover gets an additional 110 mm in rear overhang and a more upright rear screen, freeing up space for a third row of seats to make it seven seats in total. The result is a five-metre long car that’s only slightly shorter than the 5,052 mm Audi Q7.

The RX L’s rearmost seats fold flat 50:50, while the second row does the same in a 40:20:40 split. US buyers can opt for a six-seat version with individual captain’s chairs in the middle and walk-through third-row access, but we only get the more flexible option. Lexus claims that the RX L offers more luggage space behind the third row than its rivals (see pics below).

We will be getting the “long RX” as an RX 350L, powered by a 3.5 litre V6 with 294 hp and an eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission. Drive goes to both axles via Lexus’ Active Torque Control AWD system that can vary torque anywhere from 100:0 to 50:50, depending on conditions. It’s priced at RM475,000, which is just slightly more than the five-seater RX 350 Luxury at RM457,800.

Meanwhile, the Lexus NX 300 is the NX 200t in latest facelifted form, unveiled at last year’s Shanghai show. It continues to be powered by a 2.0 litre turbo engine with 235 hp, while the NX 300h is a hybrid combining a 2.5 litre NA petrol engine with two electric motors. Lexus Malaysia says that the 2018 NX will come in four variants – Urban, Premium, F Sport and Hybrid – priced from RM311,900.

The smallest Lexus SUV gets a revised face with changes to the spindle grille, front bumpers and rear bumpers; the latter is now made to look wider and incorporates elements of the brand’s signature spindle motif.

Lexus says that with this update, the NX’s springs, stabiliser bars and bushings have been retuned to improve both turn-in response and steady-state cornering, while new dampers improve ride quality. Inside, the cabin gets new trim and the remote interface touch pad has been redesigned and enlarged for easier use.

Imported CBU from Japan, the RX 350L and NX 300 range are scheduled to arrive in early February 2018. Buying from the Lexus official distributor means that one will get five years of unlimited mileage factory warranty, an after-sales support at seven locations across Malaysia.

GALLERY: Lexus RX L

GALLERY: Lexus NX300 facelift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 12yrsold on Jan 15, 2018 at 5:00 pm

Any vehicle that is 5 meter or longer is too long for our normal parking lot. Maybe its time parking operator or our gomen charged more for utilizing its space.

I believe the rich ppl who buy this long SUV don’t mind paying more just like all S-class, 7 series, A-8 & Q7 paying higher for road tax for bigger cc. Like john say – Tax the rich, so no problemo.

• Should have the option to use two parking spaces and pay for both if the car is too wide or long. Most car owners would welcome the extra spaces to avoid dings and dents. Some owners would still be too cheapskate to do so, though.

• Jimmy on Jan 15, 2018 at 10:45 pm

And, please impose RM 10 per entry (with maximum 5 minutes of passage time) on top of RM 40 per hour parking rate, for premium/priority lane/parking.

• Jimmy on Jan 15, 2018 at 10:46 pm

Meaning you pay RM 10 if you enter and exit within five minutes. If it is six minutes, you pay RM 50 .

• Taib Andak on Jan 15, 2018 at 9:39 pm

So overpriced. Pay so much for a plain Toyota in disguise. Better buy X5 at RM380k. Cause original X5 price is RM600,000

In overseas, the X5 is DOUBLE the price of the NX

So you buy X5 u get your moneys worth

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
    • john ohwai on Jan 16, 2018 at 11:37 am

the rich people owning cars 5 metres or longer normally have a device – it is known as ‘drivers’

• 12yrsold on Jan 16, 2018 at 12:48 pm

Driver or owner, both need to park sooner or later. If they don’t park accordingly, they take up space & caused a jam. Is you way a solution or a Problem Ohwai

• Kancil on Jan 15, 2018 at 8:27 pm

(Like) Lexus RX 350L.
    (Dislike) BMW X5 hybrid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 9
    • Taib Andak on Jan 15, 2018 at 9:40 pm

Prices are crazy…..Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world but one of the lowest GDP per capita ie pay packet in the world.

• Hahaha… wait. Arent u the same guy that said majority of P1 sales wuz from gov fleet but then PT burst ur fake news bubble when they repoted 97.5% sales comes from retail end customers?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 0
  • vVivi Zurianti on Jan 15, 2018 at 9:49 pm

Even with the high price tag, I am sure there are lots of ppl able to buy this Lexus. Syukur!!

Confirmed now that Malaysia is heading to high-income nation. In a few years, we are gonna on par with Singkapore, Okeh?

We are ready for GST 10%….

• considering japan cars are import duty free unlike other makes, umw is making too much profit. but their reasons are quite interesting, since msians judgments on cars are based on price umw felt pricing them too low against competitors wont put them in the same class.I prefer a lexus anytime against the euros as they are much more dependable and reliable. After few years, car is not worth the amount you owe at least they dont break and cost you a bomb to run.

• ex-VGM staff on Jan 16, 2018 at 11:39 am

any cars fully imported from outside ASEAN has import tax applies on CIF, this includes Japan.

• only excise duty apply for japan new import, refer to malaysia free trade agreement with japan sometime in 07. i have my ap copy to prove it buddy.