January 2018 week three fuel prices – petrol up 4 sen

It’s time once again for another fuel price announcement, with the latest numbers likely to evoke mixed feelings for motorists. The coming sees an increase for petrol prices from last week.

From tomorrow, January 18, the price of RON 95 petrol is up by four sen, retailing at RM2.30 per litre (from RM2.26 per litre last week). Similarly, RON 97 now goes for RM2.57 per litre (also up four sen from RM2.53 per litre last week).

As for diesel, Euro 2M remains at RM2.32 per litre, while Euro 5 diesel will sell for RM2.42 per litre at the pumps. These prices will come into effect from midnight until January 24, when the next fuel price adjustment will be announced.

This week’s fuel price announcement is the 43rd since the weekly system took effect at the end of March 2017. The net difference is unchanged for RON 95 petrol (from RM2.30 per litre), while RON 97 petrol is three sen cheaper (from RM2.60 per litre), and for diesel it is an 12 sen increase (from RM2.20 per litre) since then.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Up 4-10 cent… but down 1-2 cent.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 12
    • m1ndbuster on Jan 17, 2018 at 6:19 pm

Formula is working becoz when Riggit up. Petrol oso up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 27
      • Arthur Lee on Jan 17, 2018 at 8:08 pm

Global Oil is nearly the same. But Ringgit has strengthen against the USD. Last time MEnteri said Ron got to go up becaus eRM is weak against the USD. Then 4.5

Now 3.95. Apa jadi????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • Normal Guy on Jan 17, 2018 at 8:59 pm

Nearly the same? Which alternate universe you came from? Go google the performance of Brent Crude in the past 6 months and do a simple trending analysis.

Oh wait, you can’t because you’re busy bashing brainlessly like a Zombie

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 44
        • Razali on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:07 am

4 sen increase would mean food prices wll go up even further now. the best part is, when food prices go UP it never comes down.

Even when oi goes down, food prices still remains high.

One year ago my big packet of Sunsweet Prunes was RM7.99. Today it is RM18.

• Mazali on Jan 19, 2018 at 10:59 am

Sunsweet Prunes prices are not high because of fuel prices bro. Lots of other reasons too for that. You have trade imports, production, tariffs and whatever else that causes it to be that expensive. You’d have to look at other reasons too.

• Arthur Lee on Jan 17, 2018 at 8:04 pm

OMG….4 sen. That is crazy for an oil producing country. Brunei sells its Ron so much cheaper for their rakyat.

Go up always 4 sen or above but go down always 1 or 2 sen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
      • Rightwinger on Jan 17, 2018 at 10:30 pm

We’re a net importer mate, get over it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 18, 2018 at 12:24 am

Brunei produce a lot more than they use.. bolehland in other hand produce less they use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
        • john ohwai on Jan 18, 2018 at 9:28 am

we also got lot but we sell to saudi. we dont need to be importer if we dont sell to saudi

• Auta la ko. Saudi produce more then My. They even supply it to US. WTH Saudi that have a lot of stock need My oil. Btw, Saudi price not as cheap as before. Got gst also.

• Arthur Lee on Jan 17, 2018 at 8:05 pm

Oil price still low but Ringgit strengthen to USD. Now it is 3.95

:ast time Menteri say petrol is high because of USD to RM

• kzm (Member) on Jan 17, 2018 at 8:12 pm

last week drop 3 sen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Leafable on Jan 17, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Never ending story. People still need to buy fuel even if it up by RM1 per litre.

• vVivi Zurianti on Jan 17, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Go up frequently, quickly and many cents up….
    Go down seldom, slowly but only few cents down….

Even standard one kid can see the obvious pattern.

• Normal Guy on Jan 17, 2018 at 9:01 pm

Standard 1 kid don’t know how to see the trend of Brent Crude going up for the past 6 months.

Don’t be a zombie basher, use whatever ounce of grey matter you have left.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
      • Ordinary Malaysian on Jan 18, 2018 at 8:51 am

You sounded like you know the formula to calculate on this price raise. Could you share with us how and what make you think that this raise is so reasonable? Or are you saying that you just like one of the Zombie that simply bashing brainlessly too?

• 12yrsold on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:00 am

He will probably tell U our gomen use APM method BUT after reading that method, it is more confusing bcos that is based on the Mean of Platts Singapore (MOPS) price mechanism.

The more U read, the more U get confused. If U ask him or anyone to share the formula, chances are he is as clueless as U or me.

I betcha even our Minister cannot give a clear answer bcos we have many math genius waiting in line to prove that the formula is not workable.

• shawal on Jan 17, 2018 at 6:23 pm

Diesel unchanged ??
    Show us the price calculation mechanism !!

• raveen on Jan 17, 2018 at 6:28 pm

RM to USD @ 3.95
    why need to hike fuel prices lagi ?

• Ben Yap on Jan 17, 2018 at 7:18 pm

all these petrol up and down, nowadays you don’t see people queue up to pump. people stop following and pump as and when needed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
  • Normal Guy on Jan 17, 2018 at 9:03 pm

Net change since weekly price announcement is Zero. Zombie bashers will still come out and complain, While drinking starbucks coffee, driving their C-segment cars and using their latest iPhones or Notes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 42
    • Dumb Guy on Jan 18, 2018 at 7:31 am

Malaysian love to bash. Thats in our DNA. Let us bash la, why you are so offended? You enjoy paying high fuel price is your problem, leave us alone. :(

• Johnson Amigo on Jan 18, 2018 at 10:27 am

when starbuck buy1 free 1 everybody rush to get one…when petrol up few cents everybody rush to bash bash…