GALLERY: BMW 530e iPerformance plug-in vs 530i

BMW 530e iPerformance (left), BMW 530i (right)

Last week saw the launch of the BMW 530e iPerformance plug-in hybrid, which joined the regular petrol-powered 530i as the second member of the G30 5 Series family. We’re now providing you with an in-depth photo gallery to show what exactly you gain and lose with the addition of electric power.

The biggest gain (or is it loss?) is the price – the 530e Sport Line retails at RM343,800 on-the-road without insurance, making it RM45,000 less expensive than the 530i M Sport. To give you a sense of perspective, the Mercedes-Benz E 350 e range starts from RM392,888 for the base Exclusive model.

Although you get the same engine under the bonnet – a B48 2.0 litre turbocharged four-cylinder – it only makes 184 hp from 5,000 to 6,500 rpm and 290 Nm of torque from 1,350 to 4,250 rpm, rather than the 530i’s 252 hp and 350 Nm. However, the 113 hp/250 Nm electric motor bumps total system output up to 252 hp and 420 Nm, identical in power and an increase of 70 Nm compared to the 530i.

The electric motor is integrated to the ZF eight-speed automatic transmission, which allows the ratios to be used in all-electric mode and negates the need for a torque converter. This helps offset the additional weight brought on by the motor and the battery.

All this means that the 530e is capable of sprinting from zero to 100 km/h in just 6.2 seconds (identical to the 530i) before hitting a top speed of 235 km/h. Combined fuel consumption on the European NEDC cycle is rated at 2.0 litres per 100 km, while carbon dioxide emissions are quoted at 46 grams per kilometre.

Under the rear seats is a 9.2 kWh lithium-ion battery, cutting boot space from 530 litres to 410. This enables the 530e to run in electric mode at speeds of up to 140 km/h, with an electric range of 48 km – 13 km more than the smaller 330e. Real-world range in hybrid mode is pegged at 644 km. Charging the battery is claimed to take under five hours from a domestic socket, or under three hours with the 3.7 kW BMW i Wallbox.

Onwards to the kit the 530e loses compared to the 530i. The main difference is that the 530e doesn’t come with the M Sport package, which adds sportier front and rear bumpers, side skirts, blue brake calipers and a unique three-spoke steering wheel. There’s also piano black instead of aluminium hexagon interior trim, beige headlining instead of black BMW Individual Anthracite and standard rubber instead of alloy foot pedals. No leather trim on the centre console, either.

Also gone are adaptive LED headlights with their distinctive hexagonal corona ring daytime running lights, although the standard units are still bi-LED. Other notable omissions include a sunroof, the Gesture Control system, the touchscreen BMW Display Key and the 16-speaker Harman Kardon sound system. Adaptive cruise control, which was deleted from the 530i with the move to local assembly, is also missing here.

The rest of the equipment remains, including LED fog lights, 19-inch alloy wheels (in a different V-spoke design), BMW Individual satin aluminium exterior trim, Comfort Access keyless entry, power-adjustable sports seats with driver’s side memory, four-zone auto climate control, sunblinds for the rear windows (manual) and windscreen (electric), 11-colour ambient lighting, a hands-free powered bootlid and Dynamic Damper Control.

You also get the upgraded Professional navigation system with a 10.25-inch touchscreen, along with a full 12.3-inch multifunction instrument display, a reverse camera and Park Assistant for automated parallel and perpendicular parking manoeuvres, plus a 12-speaker, 205-watt HiFi sound system.

Safety-wise, the 530e comes with the Driving Assistant package that adds Approach Control Warning and Person Warning with City Brake function, operating at speeds between 10 km/h and 60 km/h for pedestrians and 80 km/h for vehicles. Other features included in the pack include Lane Departure Warning, Lane Change Warning, rear collision prevention and rear crossing traffic warning.

Buyers can choose between Glacier Silver Metallic, Alpine White, Mediterranean Blue Metallic, Carbon Black Metallic and Bluestone Metallic exterior colours, while black (with contrasting white stitching and piping, instead of blue stitching on the 530i) or Cognac Dakota leather upholstery feature inside.

Read our in-depth international review of the new G30 BMW 530e iPerformance here, and you can also browse full specifications and equipment, and get the best deals on a new car, on CarBase.my.

GALLERY: BMW 530e iPerformance Sport Line

GALLERY: BMW 530i M Sport

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• NIZZAN on Jan 24, 2018 at 1:26 pm

Volvo S90 320hp yo’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
    • Muthusamy on Jan 24, 2018 at 1:51 pm

Volvo no RV abang. More like normal family car. Professional here like car with strong character and easily to sell with higher RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 18
      • Technically speaking, none of these 3 cars (530e, E350e & Volvo T8) has high RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
        • Lcians on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:47 pm

On the hindsight, the CRV, HRV and BRV surely have RV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
        • Richard Lam on Jan 24, 2018 at 4:34 pm

Thank you for this car. Now the 2017 530i will drop to RM250k.

Already now many have said they saw 2017 530i for RM288k

Now with this 530e out, 2017 530i will be RM250k.

Not bad, hardly 1 year old, already nearly lost RM150k in RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
          • seancorr (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:50 pm

Boss where did u see the 288k price for the 530i? Got a friend looking for it but lowest seen is 330k for the CBU unit

• U want high RV? Buy property and a cheap P1.

• Richard Lam on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:33 pm

Cheap P1 got no RV. Proton is King of RV Depreciation in Malaysia. Within 2 years, 50% of the price wiped out.

Better you buy Myvi. Buy RM50k, use 3 years also can sell for RM40k.

• Leafable on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:04 pm

Not 320hp. Its 408hp.

• Sawitman on Jan 24, 2018 at 3:13 pm

BMW Malaysia sells a few thousand units of brand new BMWs to Hertz (now called Sime Darby Car Rental) Hertz then leases the cars back to Sime Darby as company cars for their VP and SVP staff. This 5Series alone amounts to few thousand units per year as the group has over 100,000 employees nationwide.

So, is there really sales when BMW Malaysia is actually selling back their cars to within their organisation (Sime Darby group) for the use of company cars

• peter on Jan 24, 2018 at 7:41 pm

Malaysian logic: u buy the car to sell it.

• Nancy Tan on Jan 24, 2018 at 1:31 pm

With 530e , s90 price shall drop 35%. Merz e drop 10%. Audi a6 drop 10%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
    • How nice if u r the CEO of one of those car co, we can then buy cheaper car.

• U r wrong about S90. S90 has more standard kits especially safety kits compared to 530e, so it’s actually more worth for value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • seancorr (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 1:33 pm

All those missing kit sums up to the 45k price reduction so BMW Malaysia is pocketing all the extra EEV incentives from the government. This car should only cost around 300k. At 343k one can get a pre reg X5 40e with some pocket change.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • bmpower on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:42 pm

530e at pre-owned price 280k, might hv some takers. Else BMW Malaysia needed to add Adaptive cruise control, M Sport package, adaptive LED headlights DLR, sunroof, Gesture Control system, BMW Display Key, 16-speaker Harman Kardon to justify its 343K pricing.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:53 pm

Yep 280k maybe if the car is a same year pre reg vehicle but seriously BMW Malaysia stripped too much kit from the hybrid model.

• Leafable on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:03 pm

What went wrong BMW? Paying RM343k for an empty car? Boycott them. May be BMW fanboy/girl will still part their money even its a shit deal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Lokman on Jan 24, 2018 at 7:46 pm

Park side by side 3 series or c class and s90, people still look at 3 series/c class more class.

• sick&tired on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:19 pm

better get the 530i. Hybrids doesn’t seem to have good resale value.

• Definitely a car for the BMW faithful.

I can’t see this offering attracting any fence sitters eyeing to purchase a prestige vehicle.

Very disappointing that they reduced the kit by so much. I’m not sure if the hybrid badge and lower price will be enough to influence the 530i buyers to move over.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 24, 2018 at 5:56 pm

No 530i owners will move over for the matter and potential customers will be put off by the empty car.

• 12yrsold on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:33 pm

If U have read the latest charging time of just 15 minutes for EV, U will not even bother to look at this 530e which Charged the battery under 5 hours from a domestic socket, or under 3 hours with the 3.7 kW BMW i Wallbox.

After 3 years, your neighbor made in China car will look more modern than this 530e & that will be adding insult to injury.

• Pauline Tan on Jan 24, 2018 at 2:55 pm

The significant kit reduction phenomenon of the 530e by BMW Malaysia is a really sad news for potential customers.

The cycle repeats itself – company’s management first has the mandate to grow at all cost to capture market share (BMW 330e, BMW X5 40e, BMW 740 Le) despite having lower profit per unit. Thereafter, once the results of growth is delivered, the Board then notices that the YoY profit margin has significantly decreased, and gave management a new mandate to boost profitability.

The 530e is probably the first casualty of this profit-margin expansion strategy.

So really, the only way to make the decision makers understand the spirit of competitiveness and putting customers first, is to NOT BUY BMW for the time being, until they feel the pressure and the need to be competitive again.

Let the voice of the consumers be heard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 92
    • Spot on, Pauline.

This goes across the board, though. All local manufacturers that severely reduce specs should be hit with the same stick.

It has gone on for far too long in this country.

• Romeo & Juliet on Jan 24, 2018 at 9:39 pm

Stop offense to BMW, It just the issues, I know that BMW 530e Sport Line doesn’t have some of the specs as comparing to BMW 530e M Sport that M Sport having much specs than Sport Line. PROVE IT that BMW Malaysia WOULD ALSO BRING BMW 530e M Sport to sell in the showroom so that many potential customers will buy for it or even BMW Malaysia WOULD ALSO NEED TO ADD MORE Specs for BMW 530e Sport Line like Adaptive Cruise Control and Other Additional Specs so that many potential customers will buy for it

• Ya agree fully. I was all seriously considering to put my money on the 530e, but after doing my sums and realising that potential buyers will be badly short-changed with the drastic reduction in kit level for the price, I have decided to hold back making any decision for time being.

• Leafable on Jan 24, 2018 at 3:33 pm

BMW UK’s 530e (same spec) http://www.bmw.co.uk/vc/ncc/xhtml/start/startWithConfigUrl.faces?country=GB&market=GB&productType=1&brand=BM&locale=en_GB&name=j9d5l6y6#CURRENT_CONFIG
    £50k = RM270k including all taxes.
    BMW Malaysia’s 530e
    RM343k = £63k including all taxes.

Volvo UK’s S90 T8 (same spec) https://www.volvocars.com/uk/car-configurator/saloon/s90/inscription-pro/t8-twin-engine/summary?s=9yLoQ
    £65k = RM351k including all taxes.
    Volvo Malaysia’s S90 T8
    RM388k = £71k including all taxes.

So Volvo only put an extra RM30k. At the same time BMW want a whopping extra RM70k for nothing (actually big profit for BMW Malaysia). If you think just the BMW badge worth that extra RM40k by all mean its your money.

• kereta_lembu on Jan 24, 2018 at 3:49 pm

This is an automotive site to talk about new cars, new technology in cars etc. This is not a used car site that talks about RV. Apart from car salesmen and certain brand fanboys, I’ve never seen or heard a car manufacturer boast or promote about their cars using RV as a selling point. Plug in Hybrids and Autonomous cars looks to be the future of the automotive industry. For those who are against them because of resale value can stick to pure petrol/diesel cars until they become obsolete.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Ekceli, its in Toyota sales SOP to promote their mythical higher RV.

• BMW hardcore fanatics will never buy these 2 junk cars. Can afford brand new BMW, buy M5 straightaway. Nuff said. No more comparison with these useless models and the crappy M-sport basic 5 series. Same with standard and boring basic Mercedes and AMG models. Got money for a new German car, whats the problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • Romulus on Jan 24, 2018 at 8:30 pm

So, that”s it, only 530i, what about 540i. Come on BMW Malaysia

• Yeah, 6 cylinder rule! But I rather wait for the M5 cause it more expected comes to Malaysia than the 540i.

• For the current options available, 530i is still a better buy as higher spec and of course it will be higher demand in used car market. Buying this car should be affordable with pumping more fuel and don’t really need to spend time to plug everyday to recharge, right? Future trend is EV but this is interim stage where charging is not convinient as expected.

530i will soon be limited edition, just like 330i. As this 2 models not suppose to conflict each other in marketing. Once its discontinued, 530e will comes with M-Sport package, in similar price range. Then BMW Malaysia can opt to bring in CBJ 540i to fulfill some premier customer.

So those who wants a 530e, can consider to wait for some time to get a 5er in very high spec since hybrid model should have this advantage here in MY.

• Johanian82 on Jan 24, 2018 at 11:24 pm

The 530e is basically a 520i
    with hybrid technology.
    Whereas, the E350e is a E250
    (rather than E200) with hybrid technology.

The base engine tuning is different.
    Very disappointing that BMW Malaysia also stripped away so much kit that it is difficult to see how the government incentives are passed on to the consumer.

• DPCraft on Jan 25, 2018 at 12:04 am

The 530i looks much more macho, while the 530e looks nerdy.

• I’m just wondering lah. Why buy luxury hybrid to save on fuel when you’re already paying top dollar to own one. You know, the insurance cost isn’t cheap, monthly instalment isn’t cheap either. And then you save maybe 200 ringgit a month on fuel.

But come to think about it, when you can afford a luxury car, you don’t need an excuse for anything. Who cares, right?

• How much is it to fix 530e sport spotlight glass